HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Top Rated Hostels in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Sunshine Bedz KL 96%

1. Sunshine Bedz KL

Hostel
65 B, Jalan Sultan Ismail,, Bukit Bintang,

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 92%

Location 98%

Safety 96%

Staff 98%

Value 98%

60 out of 62 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sunshine Bedz KL

07 Apr 2016 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 25-30

The price is good. It is very central in KL and the staf is very kind. Also there is a free GOKL bus 50m from the hostel.

would recommend this property

29 Mar 2016 83%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year
Age Range: 25-30

Central

would recommend this property

Read all Sunshine Bedz KL reviews
BackHome Kuala Lumpur 95%

2. BackHome Kuala Lumpur

Hostel
30, Jalan Tun H.S. Lee

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 93%

Location 93%

Safety 98%

Staff 98%

Value 95%

75 out of 78 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend BackHome Kuala Lumpur

30 Mar 2016 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: City break Sightseeing & culture
Age Range: 25-30

Clean place with everything you need as a backpacker.

would recommend this property

07 Jan 2016 100%
Travel Type: Alone

As good as it looks in the photos!! From the warm welcome, efficient staff on the front desk who also gave a quick tour on arrival and showed me up to the room, to the quality of facilities and generous well thought out spaces of the dorms and common areas - faultless!

would recommend this property

Read all BackHome Kuala Lumpur reviews
Moon Eleven Near Klia and Klia2 95%

3. Moon Eleven Near Klia and Klia2

Hostel
44-1, Jalan Warisan Megah 1/4, Taman Kota Warisan, Sepang, Selangor

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 93%

Location 90%

Safety 98%

Staff 100%

Value 98%

8 out of 8 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Moon Eleven Near Klia and Klia2

27 Feb 2014 91%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year Sightseeing & culture

I've stayed here on all my many layovers in KL and for its price, convience and location it's the best value hostel you'll find near KLIA.

would recommend this property

06 Feb 2014 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

The house is comfortable and clean.no

would recommend this property

Read all Moon Eleven Near Klia and Klia2 reviews
The Explorers Guesthouse and Hostel 92%

4. The Explorers Guesthouse and Hostel

Hostel
No 128 & 130 Jalan Tun H.S Lee

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 84%

Location 94%

Safety 93%

Staff 94%

Value 92%

74 out of 78 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Explorers Guesthouse and Hostel

08 Jan 2016 94%
Travel Type: Alone

The location was great. So close to the metro and walking distance to other sites. I turned up really early because of my flight and they let me have an extra day of free breakfast. The rooftop terrace is great too.

would recommend this property

22 Sep 2015 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Sightseeing & culture

China town location

would recommend this property

Read all The Explorers Guesthouse and Hostel reviews
Rainforest Bed and Breakfast 91%

5. Rainforest Bed and Breakfast

Hostel
27 Jalan Mesui off Jalan Nagasari, Bukit Bintang

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 86%

Location 94%

Safety 97%

Staff 86%

Value 93%

194 out of 208 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rainforest Bed and Breakfast

17 Nov 2015 91%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Save and clean

would recommend this property

04 Nov 2015 100%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Djjjd

would recommend this property

Read all Rainforest Bed and Breakfast reviews
Swiss Inn Chinatown Kuala Lumpur 91%

6. Swiss Inn Chinatown Kuala Lumpur

Hotel
62, Jalan Sultan

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 86%

Location 94%

Safety 91%

Staff 94%

Value 86%

7 out of 8 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Swiss Inn Chinatown Kuala Lumpur

14 Feb 2014 63%
Travel Type: With friends / other travellers
Trip Type: Shopping Sightseeing & culture

I liked their buffet breakfast. The food were great.

would recommend this property

06 Jan 2013 100%
Travel Type: As a family with children
Trip Type: Family Holiday

Describing The Swiss Inn as merely 'good' value for money is not doing it justice. The location in the heart of Chinatown; easily accessible by LRT - just one stop from Sentral and a modern , clean and air- con room, makes this a great choice, if you want to be in the real Malaysia. We love it!

would recommend this property

Read all Swiss Inn Chinatown Kuala Lumpur reviews
Orange Pekoe Guesthouse 90%

7. Orange Pekoe Guesthouse

Guesthouse
No 1-1, Jalan Angsoka, Off Jalan, Bukit Bintang

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 81%

Location 93%

Safety 92%

Staff 95%

Value 92%

133 out of 139 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Orange Pekoe Guesthouse

22 Oct 2015 100%
Travel Type: As a family with children
Trip Type: Family Holiday Shopping

Great value with friendly staff who really help. We are regularly transit through KL on our family trips to S.E.A and can say that the Orange Pekoe is an excellent option. We booked a family room, large enough for our needs, clean, bright, with private bathroom and A/C. Very close to action of Bukit Bintang with as much shopping and eating as you can handle. I would recommend printing off the location details as it could be a little tricky to find. Guesthouse area is not the prettiest but is safe and locals are very friendly and welcome our business at their cafes/shops and restaurants.

would recommend this property

04 Jul 2015 77%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: City break

The hostel was good value for money in relation to its location. The staff seemed very organised and it was easy for us to get around.

would recommend this property

Read all Orange Pekoe Guesthouse reviews
Matahari Lodge 90%

8. Matahari Lodge

Hostel
58-1, Jalan Hang Kasturi

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 88%

Location 97%

Safety 92%

Staff 97%

Value 90%

175 out of 186 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Matahari Lodge

27 Dec 2015 100%
Travel Type: Alone

location, breakfast, lift, kitchen, terrace

would recommend this property

18 Nov 2015 100%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Shopping Sightseeing & culture Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

great location near LRT and bus center.. Staff helpful and friendly. Love the room to myself.. Near many restaurants and shopping

would recommend this property

Read all Matahari Lodge reviews
Sahabat Guesthouse 90%

9. Sahabat Guesthouse

Hostel
41, Jalan Sahabat,, Off Tengkat Tong Shin

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 85%

Location 93%

Safety 95%

Staff 88%

Value 93%

40 out of 41 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sahabat Guesthouse

10 Sep 2015 46%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner
Trip Type: Backpacking / gap year

Clean, simple

21 Dec 2014 80%
Travel Type: Alone
Trip Type: Events / festivals

x

would recommend this property

Read all Sahabat Guesthouse reviews
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur 90%

10. Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur

Hostel
49-59, Jalan Tun H.S Lee

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 91%

Location 92%

Safety 96%

Staff 85%

Value 86%

414 out of 440 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur

10 Jan 2016 100%
Travel Type: Alone

Clean location staff style

would recommend this property

24 Dec 2015 94%
Travel Type: With my spouse / partner

Reggae mansion is pretty special! We decided to treat ourselfs to some luxury over Christmas as we have been on a very basic budget and i'm so glad we did! We got there after a long day of travelling and had our free dinner (and juice) and was told to go upstairs for the Christams eve party! Just what we needed! The bar staff were excellent and the party was great (free santa hats!) The hostel is right next to a train station and a 5 min walk from Chinatown for amazing food and shopping! There is also a local market near the train station we loved, where we had the best curry puffs and roti chana! The hostel its self is spotless and pretty impressive in terms of facilitys. We got our washing done in a few hours for 15RM (two huge bags) you also have your own pod style bed with curtain, light and power point (be careful on the top bunk stairs!)All the staff are great. The friendly reception staff (who are also very helpful in terms of trains and moving on from KL) and the restaurant and bar staff are very smiley as are all the cleaners and even the laundry man! I'm really glad we stayed here this Chrismas, it made being away from home very easy! We also a saw a very cool cinema within the hostel and they have good chill out sofas and computers for use on the right hand side of the building. If you are looking for a bit of backpacker luxury then Reggey Mansion KL it is! Thankyou for a great time, we will be back! Merry Christams and Happy New Years!

would recommend this property

Read all Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur reviews

Why book with hostelbookers?

Thousands of beds and private rooms, close to the things you’re planning to see and do.
With great value hostels and cheap hotels, everything you want to see and do is just a step away.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kuala Lumpur?

Contact us directly

Our top-rated Kuala Lumpur hostels have only been scored by hostelbookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Kuala Lumpur. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

Guide to Kuala Lumpur

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Kuala Lumpur. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!