HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of BackHome Kuala Lumpur Kuala Lumpur Hostel

30, Jalan Tun H.S. Lee, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 92%

Location 92%

Safety 98%

Staff 98%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 27.11USD
  • Towel 1.13USD

Important Information

6 and 8 bed dorms:
As 6 and 8 bed dorms cost the same, we wish to remind you that if you have booked any of these dorms - we reserve the right to change your booking from a 6 to 8 bed dorm, or vice versa. This is to ensure that we have the flexibility to make sure all our guests' requests are fulfilled.

Group Bookings:
BackHome cannot guarantee that your group will stay in the same dorm.
We will always try our best to keep groups together. However, this is not always possible.

Check in Time:
Please take note that our normal check-in time is at 3pm and check-out is at 12pm. Request for early check-in/out is subject to bed availability.

Late Arrivals:
If you are arriving at BackHome between 11pm and 7am, please email us ahead and we will try our best to accommodate your request. Passport Will be kept at Front Desk

Please remember that when you say that you are arriving after midnight on eg. Tuesday 12th October, you are in fact arriving on the NIGHT OF Tuesday 12th October, and NOT after midnight on Monday 11th October. If you didn't realize this, and booked on the following day, please rectify your booking as soon as possible.

Deposits:
We charge a deposit of MYR10 per person upon check-in. This fee will be refunded to you upon your check-out.

We reserve the right to turn away guests we deem unsuitable. Booking fees with Hostelworld are non-refundable.

From 1st of April, 2015, we will start charging the 6% GST tax fee.

Passport/Identity Card:
Malaysian: Valid Identity Card is required upon check in
Non-Malaysian: Valid Passport & Arrival Visa is required upon check in.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kuala Lumpur?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 95%

Facilities 92%

Location 92%

Safety 98%

Staff 98%

Value 94%

Showing 1-10 of 42 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Clean place with everything you need as a backpacker.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: As good as it looks in the photos!! From the warm welcome, efficient staff on the front desk who also gave a quick tour on arrival and showed me up to the room, to the quality of facilities and generous well thought out spaces of the dorms and common areas - faultless!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Rooms are very spacious. it's perfect if you're traveling on your own because you can easily meet a lot of people, they have a nice area where you can hang out. The staff is very friendly. Super clean.

Disliked: Beds are very small, unless you get the deluxe bed, which is more expensive. If you're above 5.11 (1.79 cm) you won't be able to fully extend your legs. The problem is solved if you sleep in an upper bunk. There's no toilet/shower in the rooms, you'd have to go outside.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: I liked that there are deluxe rooms, where you can choose to have a double bed. And the staff were very helpful.

Disliked: No benches in the showers

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating


09 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Spacious rooms, good beds

Disliked: Doorms smell of mould, paint comes of the walls and the bathrooms could do with a bit of maintenance as well.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I very much like the deco, and everything else.I will visit again

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything but mostly the staff

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This is the best hostel I've stayed in. The standards delivered by the staff exceed that of some very good hotels I have stayed in in my professional life. The hostel's boutique approach is great and I was genuinely disappointed to have to move on.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Backhome KL has stony walls, but it is what lends it the character, a bit of cool and makes it easy to clean. An incredible oasis amidst busy streets of china town, with spacious rooms and helpfull staff.

Disliked: The street in which Backhome is located smells a bit.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean and new building. Staff were nice. Beds were super comfy.

Disliked: Little sterile and not much vibe going on. Not a lot of info on getting to next destination and the tours they offered were very expensive.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability