We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Backhome KL

Hostel | 30, Jalan Tun H.S. Lee, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia 50000

95.5% Overall Rating

58 out of 61 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2015)

Stijn Overkamp thinks…

"Great athmosphere, staff and rooms. The little 'garden' inside the building and the movie-room are fantastic. There are also 2 iMacs available for general use."

Read all Backhome KL reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 28.69
  • Towel USD 1.20

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note regarding PASSPORTS: Only guests with valid passports or Malaysian I.C.s will be allowed to check in. We reserve the right to turn away people without valid documents. From 1st of April, 2015, we will start charging the 6% GST tax fee.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kuala Lumpur?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kuala Lumpur

Hotel Surya
21.51 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Swiss Hotel
15.30 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Serai Inn & Hostel
7.05 USD

Hostel 80.9% 239 reviews
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
11.95 USD

Hostel 87.7% 420 reviews
Frenz Hotel Kuala Lumpur
18.53 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Arenaa Mountbatten Hotel
7.93 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.2% 14 reviews
Submarine Guest House
5.98 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Matahari Lodge
7.17 USD

Hostel 88.1% 635 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.5%

Overall Rating

58 out of 61 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backhome KL'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
94.4%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 49 of 61 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stijn Overkamp

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2015 Stijn would recommend this property

Liked: Great athmosphere, staff and rooms. The little 'garden' inside the building and the movie-room are fantastic. There are also 2 iMacs available for general use.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place. Helpful statt, clean, good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Achim Schmieder

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2015 Achim would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is just great about this place. Great location, very friendly staff everything is clean and the beds are the best I had in all over south east asia so far. It's also pretty easy to meet people because there are organized events like the food tour experience. It' s easy to reach from Pudu Sentral if you come by bus and the metro is only 2 minutes away. Most of the attractions are in walking distance and McDonalds and Burger King are also a few minutes away. (If you miss western fast food) One tip: If you stay 6 nights you get 1 for free ;)

Disliked: Nothing so far

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was close to Metro Station and in a good spot.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Backhome is a very nice hostel with friendly staff. The rooms are big, the beds comfortable. everyone has got his own locker and his own power socket. The Hostel very clean. And the facilities are in a very good condition as well. And the check out time is at 12:00 which is very very nice.

Disliked: -

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

04 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Modernised areas absolutely delightful - showers nice and powerful - bed extremely comfortable - staff incredibly friendly and helpful - good price - good location - I would definitely recommend despite the few cons. You will get them everywhere so as long as you can put up with my gripes, you will thoroughly enjoy your stay there.

Disliked: Modernised outside and within (to some extent). Photographs depict very modern and decorated accommodation, however the room I was in seemed half finished, which is not necessarily bad, but I was a little disappointed. Additionally there was an awful smell around the shower/toilet area, but it's likely to be from the street behind, which cannot be helped and you somewhat 'get used' to it. I additionally had requested a trasnfer from KL to the hostel, however I was told they required 48 hours notice, which became rather disheartening once my transfer organised for the return to KL seemed to simply involve a short telephone call to a local taxi driver. Also, their activities option allowed for a handful of people and therefore became booked very quickly and in advance.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Solid big beds and great showers!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

malina Boecker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2015 malina would recommend this property

Liked: Super hilfsbereite und freundliche mitarbeiten und Super sauber (sowohl Zimmer als auch bad)! Über die Lage kann man auch absolute nicht meckern ! Würde immer wieder kommen !

Disliked: Gibt nichts auszusetzen !

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 March 2015

Liked: Beautiful design and nice cafe

Disliked: This is a party hostel. You can't get any sleep.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Collin Cunning

Alone

City break

07 March 2015 Collin would recommend this property

Liked: My flight got in reeeeally early and even though my bed wouldn't be ready until check-in, they were super helpful and accommodating, allowing me to stay to use the WiFi and catch a few z's in the lounge, basically allowing me to check-in before checking-in. Don't get that at alot of places.

Disliked: Nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was good, staff was extremely helpful, everything was clean and rooms were spacious! Probably the best hostel I've ever stayed in! Big plus for the water station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Howes

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2015 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: good secure lockers, close to markets and other transport to get around KL.

Disliked: shared toilets and showers - clean enough just a pain having to use during night outside room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexis Donovan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2014 Alexis would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Clean, great atmosphere and full of nice people. Highly recommend.

Disliked: Breakfast was just ok

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Pfingstl

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2014 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Sehr sauber. Große Betten mit je einem nachtlicht und einer eigenen Steckdose. Gute Atmosphäre. Eigener Innenhof mit Tischen.

Disliked: Nichts

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LAUREN BOWEN

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break

15 August 2014 LAUREN would recommend this property

Liked: Back home has such a "homely" feel to it! We loved the courtyard and upper floor areas! This place is spacious bright and relaxing! The rooms are very big and bed is super comfy! The staff here are full of smiles! Definitely will be staying here again in the future! :-)

Disliked: I cannot fault anything here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cristian Ingargiola

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2014 Cristian would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean, friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Samuel Griffin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

05 July 2014 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: rainfall showers

Disliked: smelled a little musky in the rooms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, Spacious. Nice and chilled

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoy my stay at the hostel. Dorms are very cool. TV room was great for the world cup. My tip is to do the Pub Crawl thats advertised by the hostel. Had a great time both nights (Thursday and Saturday night) and meet a lot of people during them.

Disliked: n.a

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alexander Koll

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance to the Petronas Towers. nice neighborhood with plenty of delicious Indian restaurants. interesting style with exposed concrete. overall very good

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Wei Jiang

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

23 May 2014 Wei would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly, its easy to find, value of money

Disliked: the bathroom and toilet part can be improved if possible, and if there is curtain for each bed will be good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything: staff, atmosphere, room...

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The layout of the rooms and communal areas are great. There showers are powerful and the bathrooms well maintained. The free breakfast is adequate with a good selection of spreads for your toast. It was very close to the MRT and various tourist sights and they helped us organise a tour(7 Wonders tour from Reggae Mansion - Highly recommended) .There is a great TV/Movie room that was usually empty. It has a unique feel and vibe that makes you want to stay longer. We tried to stay longer but they were fully booked (not 1 bed was free) so they recommend a good alternative 1 street away. The cafe next door serves good coffee, cake and a small selection of meals.

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruben Toh

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

18 March 2014 Ruben would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in the deluxe room, and it was spacious with big lockers available. Handy side table with lights too, with individual plug for each bed to use.

Disliked: Lack of privacy for individual beds. There should be curtains like other hostels I've stayed in Europe.