We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Backhome KL

Hostel | 30, Jalan Tun H.S. Lee, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia 50000

95.5% Overall Rating

47 out of 50 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/03/2015)

Collin Cunning thinks…

"My flight got in reeeeally early and even though my bed wouldn't be ready until check-in, they were super helpful and accommodating, allowing me to stay to use the WiFi and catch a few z's in the…"

Read all Backhome KL reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 32.61
  • Towel USD 1.36

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note regarding PASSPORTS: Only guests with valid passports or Malaysian I.C.s will be allowed to check in. We reserve the right to turn away people without valid documents. From 1st of April, 2015, we will start charging the 6% GST tax fee.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kuala Lumpur?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kuala Lumpur

Hotel Surya
24.46 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Swiss Hotel
17.39 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
13.05 USD

Hostel 90.6% 399 reviews
Chill Inn
19.02 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Frenz Hotel Kuala Lumpur
21.06 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Arenaa Mountbatten Hotel
9.01 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.2% 14 reviews
Submarine Guest House
8.15 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Matahari Lodge
8.15 USD

Hostel 87.5% 633 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.5%

Overall Rating

47 out of 50 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backhome KL'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
96.8%
Value
92.8%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 40 of 50 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 March 2015

Liked: Beautiful design and nice cafe

Disliked: This is a party hostel. You can't get any sleep.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Collin Cunning

Alone

City break

07 March 2015 Collin would recommend this property

Liked: My flight got in reeeeally early and even though my bed wouldn't be ready until check-in, they were super helpful and accommodating, allowing me to stay to use the WiFi and catch a few z's in the lounge, basically allowing me to check-in before checking-in. Don't get that at alot of places.

Disliked: Nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was good, staff was extremely helpful, everything was clean and rooms were spacious! Probably the best hostel I've ever stayed in! Big plus for the water station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Howes

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2015 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: good secure lockers, close to markets and other transport to get around KL.

Disliked: shared toilets and showers - clean enough just a pain having to use during night outside room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexis Donovan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2014 Alexis would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Clean, great atmosphere and full of nice people. Highly recommend.

Disliked: Breakfast was just ok

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Pfingstl

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2014 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Sehr sauber. Große Betten mit je einem nachtlicht und einer eigenen Steckdose. Gute Atmosphäre. Eigener Innenhof mit Tischen.

Disliked: Nichts

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LAUREN BOWEN

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break

15 August 2014 LAUREN would recommend this property

Liked: Back home has such a "homely" feel to it! We loved the courtyard and upper floor areas! This place is spacious bright and relaxing! The rooms are very big and bed is super comfy! The staff here are full of smiles! Definitely will be staying here again in the future! :-)

Disliked: I cannot fault anything here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cristian Ingargiola

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2014 Cristian would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean, friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Samuel Griffin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

05 July 2014 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: rainfall showers

Disliked: smelled a little musky in the rooms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, Spacious. Nice and chilled

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoy my stay at the hostel. Dorms are very cool. TV room was great for the world cup. My tip is to do the Pub Crawl thats advertised by the hostel. Had a great time both nights (Thursday and Saturday night) and meet a lot of people during them.

Disliked: n.a

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alexander Koll

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance to the Petronas Towers. nice neighborhood with plenty of delicious Indian restaurants. interesting style with exposed concrete. overall very good

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Wei Jiang

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

23 May 2014 Wei would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly, its easy to find, value of money

Disliked: the bathroom and toilet part can be improved if possible, and if there is curtain for each bed will be good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything: staff, atmosphere, room...

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The layout of the rooms and communal areas are great. There showers are powerful and the bathrooms well maintained. The free breakfast is adequate with a good selection of spreads for your toast. It was very close to the MRT and various tourist sights and they helped us organise a tour(7 Wonders tour from Reggae Mansion - Highly recommended) .There is a great TV/Movie room that was usually empty. It has a unique feel and vibe that makes you want to stay longer. We tried to stay longer but they were fully booked (not 1 bed was free) so they recommend a good alternative 1 street away. The cafe next door serves good coffee, cake and a small selection of meals.

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruben Toh

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

18 March 2014 Ruben would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in the deluxe room, and it was spacious with big lockers available. Handy side table with lights too, with individual plug for each bed to use.

Disliked: Lack of privacy for individual beds. There should be curtains like other hostels I've stayed in Europe.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Nice Environment. Comfortable bed.

Disliked: No

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leanne Lin

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014 Leanne would recommend this property

Liked: Back home is one of the best hostel that I have ever stay. The building is amazing, the furniture is super modern. Will stay here again when I travel to KL for sure.

Disliked: It was a little bit noise during the night since I can hear some bass, maybe from a clubbing? But it doesn't matter for non sensitive person.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacob Tranberg Bloch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Jacob Tranberg would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and awesome location

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice atmosphere with nice and cozy beds. Staff was also very friendly and helpful to get around KL. One of the better places in Asia we have visited in the last 3 months. Would defintely recommend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Christina Krause

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2013 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: It is very professional. Good organisation, very friendly and helpful stuff, very clean beds/dorms and good internet. If you want to book something, where you can be sure what to expect, book here, but you can get cheaper places with similar conditions.

Disliked: I think it is a bit overpriced and you have to pay extra for everything (computers, towels). Furthermore my dorm was a bit smelly (like mold, even though there was nothing to be seen). It is not a very social place (which is no fault of the hostel, but it is just not).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KAO CHIA JUNG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2013 KAO would recommend this property

Liked: location is really good, just 3 mins walk from train station(without lagage).Tha staff is also really friendly,gave advise for your schedule, the best part is the 24hrs air condition and the light in front of my bed, so i can do everything without effect others.

Disliked: KAO left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2013

Liked: The location was great, the design very nice, and breakfast sufficient (peanut butter/fruit/bread)

Disliked: Because the commons area is entirely open-air, it's also entirely a smoking zone. And as a non-smoker, this renders them non-communal. Also, I stayed in a room on the ground floor that had a very strong, very offensive mildew odour,and now all of my clothes smell of mildew(it was THAT bad). Lastly, the hostel does not provide locks for their lockers (much less towels). In sum, I didn't think this hostel justified the price. It's a place I'd visit to admire the design, but not stay.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Immaculately clean, brand new high quality furniture, sturdy and comfortable beds, amazing raincloud showers, shared bookshelf, free breakfast, efficient laundry service, good location near the LRT station. Each bed gets its own shelving unit with reading light and electrical socket. Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Unless you're lucky with who's in your dorm it's not always the easiest place to meet people as it's quite quiet with people just reading or using the internet in the communal areas. There is a cinema room though which I didn't have time to properly check out.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Melissa Lau

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful, facilities are clean, comfortable and modern with airconditioning in the rooms and lobby/computer/chillout room. Breakfast was simple toast and coffee/tea but if you want something else, its easy to find delicious street food nearby! Excellent location down the road from Chinatown and instructions were easy to follow from the airport. This place has a much more relaxed vibe so if you're looking for a party place I'd recommend looking elsewhere.

Disliked: Melissa left no negative feedback.