HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Backhome KL

Hostel | 30, Jalan Tun H.S. Lee, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia 50000

92.3% Overall Rating

30 out of 32 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/03/2014)

Ruben Toh thinks…

"I stayed in the deluxe room, and it was spacious with big lockers available. Handy side table with lights too, with individual plug for each bed to use."

Read all Backhome KL reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.53

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note regarding PASSPORTS: Only guests with valid passports or Malaysian I.C.s will be allowed to check in. We reserve the right to turn away people without valid documents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kuala Lumpur?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kuala Lumpur

Hotel Surya
27.54 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Swiss Hotel
18.15 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Serai Inn & Hostel
10.10 USD

Hostel 82.2% 237 reviews
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
14.69 USD

Hostel 93.4% 343 reviews
Chill Inn
21.42 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Frenz Hotel Kuala Lumpur
26.01 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Arenaa Mountbatten Hotel
9.59 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.2% 14 reviews
Submarine Guest House
9.18 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.3%

Overall Rating

30 out of 32 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backhome KL'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
97.6%
Value
92.0%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 25 of 32 reviews
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruben Toh

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

18 March 2014 Ruben would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in the deluxe room, and it was spacious with big lockers available. Handy side table with lights too, with individual plug for each bed to use.

Disliked: Lack of privacy for individual beds. There should be curtains like other hostels I've stayed in Europe.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Nice Environment. Comfortable bed.

Disliked: No

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leanne Lin

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014 Leanne would recommend this property

Liked: Back home is one of the best hostel that I have ever stay. The building is amazing, the furniture is super modern. Will stay here again when I travel to KL for sure.

Disliked: It was a little bit noise during the night since I can hear some bass, maybe from a clubbing? But it doesn't matter for non sensitive person.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacob Tranberg Bloch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Jacob Tranberg would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and awesome location

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice atmosphere with nice and cozy beds. Staff was also very friendly and helpful to get around KL. One of the better places in Asia we have visited in the last 3 months. Would defintely recommend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Christina Krause

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 October 2013 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: It is very professional. Good organisation, very friendly and helpful stuff, very clean beds/dorms and good internet. If you want to book something, where you can be sure what to expect, book here, but you can get cheaper places with similar conditions.

Disliked: I think it is a bit overpriced and you have to pay extra for everything (computers, towels). Furthermore my dorm was a bit smelly (like mold, even though there was nothing to be seen). It is not a very social place (which is no fault of the hostel, but it is just not).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KAO CHIA JUNG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2013 KAO would recommend this property

Liked: location is really good, just 3 mins walk from train station(without lagage).Tha staff is also really friendly,gave advise for your schedule, the best part is the 24hrs air condition and the light in front of my bed, so i can do everything without effect others.

Disliked: KAO left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2013

Liked: The location was great, the design very nice, and breakfast sufficient (peanut butter/fruit/bread)

Disliked: Because the commons area is entirely open-air, it's also entirely a smoking zone. And as a non-smoker, this renders them non-communal. Also, I stayed in a room on the ground floor that had a very strong, very offensive mildew odour,and now all of my clothes smell of mildew(it was THAT bad). Lastly, the hostel does not provide locks for their lockers (much less towels). In sum, I didn't think this hostel justified the price. It's a place I'd visit to admire the design, but not stay.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Immaculately clean, brand new high quality furniture, sturdy and comfortable beds, amazing raincloud showers, shared bookshelf, free breakfast, efficient laundry service, good location near the LRT station. Each bed gets its own shelving unit with reading light and electrical socket. Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Unless you're lucky with who's in your dorm it's not always the easiest place to meet people as it's quite quiet with people just reading or using the internet in the communal areas. There is a cinema room though which I didn't have time to properly check out.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Melissa Lau

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2013 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful, facilities are clean, comfortable and modern with airconditioning in the rooms and lobby/computer/chillout room. Breakfast was simple toast and coffee/tea but if you want something else, its easy to find delicious street food nearby! Excellent location down the road from Chinatown and instructions were easy to follow from the airport. This place has a much more relaxed vibe so if you're looking for a party place I'd recommend looking elsewhere.

Disliked: Melissa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Johnson

Alone

City break

14 April 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are really nice, the bunk beds are really spacious so you don't hit your head endlessly! Near to a major subway station so really easy to get around.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stanimir Kosev

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 April 2013 Stanimir would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel!! The staff is incredible warm, friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful , the rooms spacious and clean, the bathrooms are spotless, and it is a great value. I really felt like at home here. It was conviently located close to Chinatown and no more 20-25 minutes by foot to KL TV Tower , Petronas Towers and Bukit Bintang shoping district. P.S. Special thanks to the girl of Indian origin , who helped me with my credit card when I had a problem with outside ATMs !!!

Disliked: Everything was fantastic !!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013

Liked: - The staff at BackHome KL were some of the nicest, most helpful people I've encountered traveling, particularly the girl that worked the afternoon/evening shift. - The area seems to be safe. Not glamorous, for sure (it's more in the "Little India" area), but close to the train/metro with a decently good selection of restaurants nearby, particularly Indian and Chinese a little further south. If you're coming in by train or airport express, you'll end up at KL Sentral and the nearest metro stop, Masjid Jamek, is just two stops up the line and costs merely 1.60 ringgit for a one-way journey. - The rooms were excellent. The beds had regular twin mattresses that were spacious and comfortable. Their bedside cabinet and light system was very useful as well. The lockers were the biggest I've seen yet - think of a 4ft tall by 2ft wide by 2ft deep cabinet and that's what you're working with. There was plenty of room to store even large backpacks in there and use your own padlock. The lockers also had organizational dividers to help keep your stuff separate. - In-room sinks and mirrors were pretty useful for brushing teeth or just washing your face. - AC in rooms was pretty good though I wouldn't ever say it got "cold". - Reasonably priced for a 6 bedroom dorm, especially considering the quality of the rooms - LOKL cafe next door had very good food for a decent price and new guests at BackHome KL got a coupon for a free lemon tea with their meal. - Kitchen has free tea & coffee all day, simple breakfast of toast and peanut butter/jams, and a water filter machine for hot and cold water.

Disliked: Only the bedrooms are really air conditioned or "inside" for that matter. There's a central courtyard that runs the width of the property, parallel to the street, with the bedrooms on the street side and bathrooms/maintenance rooms on the other. All non-bedroom areas are essentially open to the outside air meaning that bugs (and even a small lizard I saw) can get in, though I didn't see many. If you have a room with a window on the courtyard, you can get cigarette smoke coming in from people smoking at the tables. Also, you'd probably not want to walk around barefoot too much. The bathrooms: as I mentioned they're basically covered but outside, sort of like campground bathrooms, perhaps nicer. They seemed clean and there generally wasn't any kind of line (the top floor had two toilet stalls and 4 shower stalls, if I recall correctly). However, there was no shower gel or shampoo (get what you pay for I suppose). The toilets were clean, though several times there was no toilet paper when I used them. Being essentially open to the environment as they were, you couldn't ever really dry off or cool down completely. Even if you ran a cold shower the heat and humidity would be right there after you finished and you'd just start sweating again. The sink for the bathroom didn't have any hand towels (don't suppose they'd dry much anyway) and was sort of a long cement trough. Beware, turn the faucet on too much and the water will splash everywhere out of the shallow sink. Finally, the back wall of the property seemed to be more of a metal grate, open to the ally behind. They put up plenty of palms and vines to block it, but it seemed odd, particularly at night, that here was a kind of dark void just a few feet away. It's a shame the bathrooms weren't up to par with the rooms. Common area: others here have complained about not meeting many people or there being no real common area, and that's a fair criticism. Though I met some really nice people there, the downstairs is split into a narrow lobby with a few computers and bean bag chairs and then the kitchen is through a doorway. Beyond that there's a kind of media room with a TV and games but sometimes it was closed and sometimes it was open - not sure what the deal was with it but I didn't really have the downtime to check it out. Thus, unless you smoke and gather with the other smokers in the central courtyard, there's no real common area. One girl I saw on my first day was laying down on the concrete hallway with her laptop plugged in. Not sure if the floor was just cool or what, but it was an interesting sight to see. Dishes: as in other hostels, the common glassware and dishes were hand washed and dried and a staff member usually went through all of them when breakfast was over. This isn't really a negative, exactly, but be aware of it if you haven't stayed in many hostels before.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Conveniently located close to the end of Jalan Tun H.S. Lee, this hostel is a great place to stay in KUL. It's a good place to explore China town and Little India from. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Not very convenient to hang clothes.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael McMillen

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and the rooms were very spacious, clean and well designed. Free breaksfast was also a good start to each day!

Disliked: n/a

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its clean and neat and the staff are very helpful. great location, close enough without being in the middle of the street so a little bit safer coming and going

Disliked: there is no bar or any real common area, so its kinda hard to meet people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katriina Grigsby

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2013 Katriina would recommend this property

Liked: It is very clean and safe, and the environment is great for making friends.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lucia urquia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2013 lucia would recommend this property

Liked: the place is clean, the staff is awesome... the location is good, near menara tower y petronas.

Disliked: the atmosphere is ok.. not a lot of travellers to meet there.. so maybe this isn't the best hostel is you are travelling by yourself.. also, sometimes the AC is too high... so it's a bit chilly inside...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff, free wifi (or cheap computer use), fresh fruit sometimes, nice outdoor areas to meet other travellers, free tea and coffee all day.

Disliked: They were having problems with their hot water, but really who wants a hot shower in that weather!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome rooms!

Disliked: Internet hard to connect sometimes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katy Rose

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2012 Katy would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! The only place you should stay in KL. very modern. Excellent sized dorms (please don't change this!!!) with a sink and lockers big enough for your backpacks. They have lockers you can rent if you want to go away for a few days so you don't have to take your whole backpack. Coffee shop attached to the hostel and a courtyard area for smoking, relaxing and eating and meeting great people! Free Wifi. Free basic breakfast. Free tea and coffee all day. Internet was cheap if you needed to use their computers. Near to the LRT so good transportation. Very helpful polite staff! Excellent.

Disliked: Nothing. But maybe could do with sheets instead of blankets on the beds as it can get a little hot.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff makes this HOME! Really positive, energetic and always helpful.

Disliked: Too small lounge areas ... felt cramped all the time. Rooms are spacious.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dorms

Disliked: Breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Law Kam Sim

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

07 May 2012 Law would recommend this property

Liked: I love the atmosphere. The location was perfect in the heart of the city, however you can have a quite place to stay on. I do recommended.

Disliked: Law left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious room, good air con, nice big lockers (use your own padlock) in bed rooms for security. Nice rotis for breakfast!!

Disliked: Could do with laundry facilities