We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur

Hostel | 49-59, Jalan Tun H.S Lee, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia 50000

86.2% Overall Rating

395 out of 412 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/07/2015)

Claire O Callaghan thinks…

"Welcome drink on arrival much appreciated after our long flight! Very friendly helpful staff. Comfortable rooms. Nice powerful showers. Lovely tooftop bar with great views over the city."

Read all Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 20.98

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Passports need to be presented upon check-in & Property reserves the right to refuse entry to the hostel. WE DO NOT ACCEPT GROUP BOOKING ONLINE. BOOKING MADE ONLINE WILL BE CONSIDERED NULL AND VOID. (10 or more) PLEASE TAKE NOTICE BEFORE MAKING A BOOKING • Wheel chair is not accessible since our hostel has no lift. • Reggae Mansion is a backpacker and a party music hostel. We have an age limit to 50 years old above. • We do not accept online bookings from Malaysia, India and middle east countries. Bookings made and paid online by these countries shall not be refundable. We accept walk in check in only for these countries and it is subjected to the room availability. •.Backpackers Party Dorms-(Backpackers party dorms discounted rates up for grabs!!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kuala Lumpur?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kuala Lumpur

Arenaa Mountbatten Hotel
8.26 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.2% 14 reviews
Serai Inn & Hostel
7.74 USD

Hostel 80.9% 239 reviews
Matahari Lodge
7.87 USD

Hostel 87.7% 634 reviews
Leo Leisure Hotel
16.73 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Agosto Inn
6.03 USD

Guesthouse 83.3% 13 reviews
The Explorers Guesthouse
12.06 USD

Guesthouse 88.7% 73 reviews
Backpackers Travellers Lodge
5.25 USD

Hostel 62.9% 13 reviews
Backhome KL
15.21 USD

Hostel 95.4% 57 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.2%

Overall Rating

395 out of 412 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
72.8%
Value
80.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 355 of 398 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire O Callaghan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 July 2015 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Welcome drink on arrival much appreciated after our long flight! Very friendly helpful staff. Comfortable rooms. Nice powerful showers. Lovely tooftop bar with great views over the city.

Disliked: The included breakfast of toast with either jam or peanut butter wasn't at all tasty. Some fruit would be a very welcome addition!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location close to LRT station, pod bed with own power socket, light, mirror, curtain and underbed locker, working aircon, good wifi, hot water available in shower.

Disliked: Reception staff a little blunt and not particularly helpful or happy. The disclaimer you need to sign on arrival that states if you leave a negative review about noise etc then it will be removed by them - isn't the point of a review leaving your personal opinion for others to take into consideration when looking for somewhere to stay??

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andres Dsilva

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2015 Andres would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, with loads of nice people.

Disliked: nothing bad

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop Bar , friendly staff, near chinatown and Central market

Disliked: Breakdance, Showers

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sophie Wilkinson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2015 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: the 24 bed dorm was amazing, best dorm ive ever stayed in!

Disliked: the security are super keen!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Nabillah S

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2015

Liked: I literally love their dorm! Each of the beds comes with a curtain, lamp, 1 powerpoint, mirror. I love their exteriors with a classy deco, as if I stayed in a 5-star hotel. Plus point about this hostel is that there's story books for you to loan and read up whenever you're bored!

Disliked: Well to be frank, their customer service is neutral for me. Toilets are acceptable. Same goes to their breakfast which is a self-service of toast, orange juice, coffee and 3 diff kinds of spreads-- peanut butter, butter and strawberry jam.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Heidi Brick

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2015 Heidi would recommend this property

Liked: It is extremely easy to meet other travelers in this hostel, especially in the large mixed dorms. The beds are cozy little "huts" and the location was right in the middle of everything.

Disliked: Breakfast was EXTREMELY basic. Just toast and tea/coffee. The bathrooms on our floor were constantly closed for maintenance so it was a little inconvenient to keep searching the building for toilets/showers we were actually allowed to use.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is good if you are alone as at the rooftop bar you can easily make friends. The hostel is so close to the train station which helps for getting around. I read that the hostel can be loud and in my experience i managed to sleep well, maybe just take ear plugs if you are just staying in and want to get an early night.

Disliked: Some of the staff don't seem very helpful or interested, which can make it difficult when you need some help. It is not all the staff just the ones at reception never seemed bothered, which did come across quite rude.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Enyo Humphrey-Ackumey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2015 Enyo would recommend this property

Liked: It is by far the nicest place I've stayed in South East Asia. We stayed in the 24 bed dorm and every bed was a double bed with a plug and light. There are also 3 fans and 4 aircon units in the room so there's no chance of it getting hot like other large dorms. The staff are also very friendly and give us lots of tips and directions around town

Disliked: The only thing I disliked was how it advertised a cinema on it's property but you still had to pay to use it even as a guest

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Capsule style beds, good showers

Disliked: Moldy smell in the bed room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

cindy chimal

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2015

Liked: Good hostel and great rooftop

Disliked: Not clean bathrooms as never flushed Not pleasant and helpful people at the lobby

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

17 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Feel very safe, the rooms are clean and facilities are excellent!

Disliked: The staff weren't as friendly or helpful as they could have been

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Geissler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2015 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel i stayed at in the Last 3 Months. Really clean and the Female dorm is so cool :)

Disliked: Girl at reception was Not really friendly and helpfull as all the others.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robert Hoare

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2015 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and safe hostel. Good location.

Disliked: Breakfast was terrible. Staff very ridged and not very friendly.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vitaly Mishchenko

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2015 Vitaly would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location. Many sightseeings in the walking distance. Interesting places with local food is also near the hostel. Bar on the roof creates warm atmosphere with other backpackers. Bar is not such loud as some feedbacks writes, just take room not upper than 2nd floor and music doesn't bother you at all. If you OK with little sound, it's even no problem on 3rd. The bed is very comfortable, it's like your own personal cave. All facilities are very clean. Stuff is friendly. WiFi is fast. Enough outlets in your bed to charge your phone, laptop/tablet and camera. You can leave it charging and go to walk (no outlet blockers).

Disliked: Upper bed's is little too high, even for tall guy like me, so if you drunk or weak you can fall from ladder and get trauma (but I don't think it's common ocassion here). Breakfast time is strict, so if you missed time sleeping - you missed it. No excuses. Lockers is rental, so recomend to bring your own or buy one at nearest market. They use an ink cartrige printer, so every printed page costs 1 ringit. No windows in the room, but i don't miss it anyway.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Food is very good and cheap, beds are private and lockers are big and safe!

Disliked: Beer is extremely overpriced! Cinema is not free!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2015

Liked: Clen

Disliked: You have to buy everything in thr hostrl.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Niklas Hammarström

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2015 Niklas would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop bar, cinema (though I never watched any movies there), free breakfast with fruit, fired noodles and toast, private bed with outlet, lamp, curtains.

Disliked: As it says in the description, it can be very loud to live under the rooftop bar, you have been warned though, just bring earplugs and you'll be fine.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

04 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very decent, clean, well put together hostel.

Disliked: Super slow wifi.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really comfortable beds, super cool building, so unique compared To any other hostel I've stayed in. Right near the LRT stop so everything is just a few stops either way

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sheree considine

Alone

Shopping

20 December 2014 Sheree would recommend this property

Liked: Nice building with rooftop bar

Disliked: Sheree left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kylie Sutton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2014 Kylie would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my stay at Reggae Mansion. The people, the location, the facilities and the staff were amazing! There is never a wait for the bathrooms, the ensure you have full privacy (even in a 16+ person dorm) and the level of service is beyond great. I've made great memories and enjoyed time wito all on the rooftop! Thank you :)

Disliked: Kylie left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bed was comfortable with curtain for privacy, very good location close to train station and sights nearby, very good free breakfast, nice rooftop bar, tours offered, could stay in a guest lounge and drop off baggage before check-in

Disliked: Top bunk bed was more than 2m up with only a few ladder rungs; dangerous to get up or down, especially after partying! I broke something that I accidentally knocked from the top bed. Not very diverse in terms of type of guests and place is pretty big, so not a particularly close feeling with other guests. Was put in a 8-bed room, expecting a 4-bed. It would have been nice to hear so. Often bathrooms on the floor were all occupied.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Carolin Afsali

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2014 Carolin would recommend this property

Liked: good location, great rooftop bar, good air condition

Disliked: rather loud (both people and door slamming throughout the night), rooms without windows

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pod beds are nice for some privacy. Bathrooms and bedrooms really clean. Massive lockers that fit a big backpack. Great hostel for solo traveller as rooms are big so will always meet someone. And there is always the rooftop bar if no one in your room is very social.

Disliked: It is a bit more expensive than other hostels in south East Asia - but you get what you pay for.