We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur

Hostel | 49-59, Jalan Tun H.S Lee, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia 50000

93.5% Overall Rating

369 out of 382 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/09/2014)

"The pod beds are nice for some privacy. Bathrooms and bedrooms really clean. Massive lockers that fit a big backpack. Great hostel for solo traveller as rooms are big so will always meet someone. And there is always the…"

Read all Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 24.41

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Passports need to be presented upon check-in & Property reserves the right to refuse entry to the hostel. WE DO NOT ACCEPT GROUP BOOKING ONLINE. BOOKING MADE ONLINE WILL BE CONSIDERED NULL AND VOID. (10 or more) PLEASE TAKE NOTICE BEFORE MAKING A BOOKING • Wheel chair is not accessible since our hostel has no lift. • Reggae Mansion is a backpacker and a party music hostel. We have an age limit to 50 years old above. • We do not accept online bookings from Malaysia, India and middle east countries. Bookings made and paid online by these countries shall not be refundable. We accept walk in check in only for these countries and it is subjected to the room availability. •.Backpackers Party Dorms-(Backpackers party dorms discounted rates up for grabs!!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kuala Lumpur?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kuala Lumpur

Chill Inn
21.34 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Arenaa Mountbatten Hotel
9.55 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.2% 14 reviews
Serai Inn & Hostel
10.06 USD

Hostel 82.2% 237 reviews
Matahari Lodge
9.15 USD

Hostel 90.1% 628 reviews
Leo Leisure Hotel
16.77 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Agosto Inn
8.84 USD

Guesthouse 81.6% 11 reviews
The Explorers Guesthouse
10.06 USD

Guesthouse 90.3% 71 reviews
Backpackers Travellers Lodge
6.10 USD

Hostel 68.8% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.5%

Overall Rating

369 out of 382 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
90.4%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 332 of 369 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Carolin Afsali

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2014 Carolin would recommend this property

Liked: good location, great rooftop bar, good air condition

Disliked: rather loud (both people and door slamming throughout the night), rooms without windows

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pod beds are nice for some privacy. Bathrooms and bedrooms really clean. Massive lockers that fit a big backpack. Great hostel for solo traveller as rooms are big so will always meet someone. And there is always the rooftop bar if no one in your room is very social.

Disliked: It is a bit more expensive than other hostels in south East Asia - but you get what you pay for.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice dorms, everything is clean an new. Very friendly stuff!

Disliked: Music is a bit loud till 1am if you want to go to bed early

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop bar, friendly and free breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Howes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything about this hostel- the friendliness of the staff, the atmosphere and the hostel itself was amazing. Everyone had there own private space and the dorms were massive.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bunker beds

Disliked: Too noisy. Unfortunately the music at the bar is not the best to sleep to jaja

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel where I have ever been! Big beds in the dorm, calm, big locker, big room with sofa. I totally recommand this hostel!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful stuff!!!

Disliked: NOTHING!!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joeri Willems

Alone

City break

07 August 2014 Joeri would recommend this property

Liked: I came in on my birthday, and the whole team spontaneuosly sang a song for me, held me with an excuse (sorry your room is not available yet but we will arrange it in 5 minutes) and then came back with a cocktail for me. Wow! Impressive! This place lives up to its reputation, surely! Great hostel by the way, everything is really tidy and in excellent conditions.

Disliked: Only minus point: the rooftop bar and the restaurant - managed by a different team and manager - are very unfriendly and even rude.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great atmosphere. Dorms are really clean, nice, and cozy. Also provide a lot of privacy. Bar is fun and the movie theatre is awsome. laundry service is great and super fast! Felt very safe and homey. All rooms had a code.

Disliked: The price is a little high for a hostel.. Also the location could be a bit better. One of the security guards at night was very rude. No sir conditioning in halls or bathrooms :(

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daniel Isaacs

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Decent rooms

Disliked: Overpriced roof top bar.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monica Tanaka

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014 Monica would recommend this property

Liked: roof top

Disliked: ants

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aimee Fairgray

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Aimee would recommend this property

Liked: Second stay at Reggae - staff are fantastic and so helpful. Accommodation is clean, modern and funky and there is a great rooftop bar with a fab view of the city.

Disliked: Aimee left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meike Petermann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2014 Meike would recommend this property

Liked: everything, one of my favourite hostels i asia! amazing food in the restaurant (besides the breakfast but I don't want to complain becaue it is ijncluded haha) i love the girls dorm. even if it is big you dont realize there are other people

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kerstin Witte

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 June 2014 Kerstin would recommend this property

Liked: located in chinatown, close to the excellent food stalls on the night market very clean and safe not too noisy although it describes itself as party hostel

Disliked: Kerstin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mitchell Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 June 2014 Mitchell would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I have stayed in. The dorms were very private with the curtain so it was easy to keep to yourself if you wanted and easy to meet people too. The bar every night was awesome for watching football and listening to music. Reasonably priced drinks too. Free breakfast is a nice gesture and is pretty good. Very very clean hostel too. Overall very good hostel cannot fault

Disliked: If you we're really conservative you wouldn't like the music playing late at night but its barely hearable from the rooms so I wouldn't think this is a problem.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean with great facilities and helpful staff

Disliked: It is rather expensive

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dylan Pyle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2014 Dylan would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, awesome place to meet people

Disliked: Roof only opens at 6

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ilka Westerhoff

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2014 Ilka would recommend this property

Liked: everything, nice rooftopbar

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the sofas to chill out on outside my room, very secure with code to get into room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tori Pollock

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2014 Tori would recommend this property

Liked: It is an awesome place to stay because the atmosphere is amazing you don't even need to leave of an evening because of the rooftop bar, people from outside the hostel come there as well. Dorm was good your bunk is like your own little room with shelf, mirror, lamp, curtain and it's spacious. Breakfast is included.

Disliked: Quite pricey and the reception staff can come across as sarcastic/patronising at times. I didn't find them the most helpful (although not rude). When checking in I has to find my way to my own room and no help with my bag up the stairs, for the price you pay the least they could do is show you to your room. Stairs to top bunks very steep.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vidal Benoît

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Vidal would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Comfortable. Location.

Disliked: Too loud roof top music late night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ALEJANDRA GARCIA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2014 ALEJANDRA would recommend this property

Liked: clean, helpful staff, good food, good location, quickly check in, wifi everywhere.

Disliked: ALEJANDRA left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daniel Ley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of options like tours/bar/food all there if you want to shell out the cash. Staff were super friendly and helpful. Colorful personality too, joked and talked with travelers. Rooftop bar good view and start/end of an evening.

Disliked: Very commercial development, this isn't a mom n pop hostel or guesthouse for sure. Food/drink was pricey, but that's typical of Kuala Lumpur beer and any western food in East Asia.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shannon Bane

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2014 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: Stylish converted mansion, very well managed with friendly and efficient staff, great chillout areas. Dorms are excellent value for money with pod's providing privacy and huge lockers. There are loads of bathrooms with extras like body wash and are super clean.

Disliked: Cant enter the rooftop area during the day which is a shame. Personally the music is not good! The backpackers menu could do with adding some vegetarian items as fried rice was the only option available. The free breakfast is pretty lame but its free :) Also none of the 5 computers were working for all 4 days I was there!