HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Step Inn Guest House Hostels

Guesthouse | No 37 Jalan Pudu Lama, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia 50200

81.9% Overall Rating

98 out of 110 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/04/2014)

Jonathan Loechel thinks…

"The very helpful staff, the kitchen, very close to china town and bukit bintang."

Read all Step Inn Guest House Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 30.60

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kuala Lumpur?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kuala Lumpur

Mayview Glory Hotel
13.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.8% 303 reviews
Citin Seacare Pudu Hotel
41.30 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Cintamani Travellers Lodge
8.67 USD

Guesthouse 80.0% 31 reviews
AnCasa Express @ Pudu
16.06 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Submarine Guest House
9.18 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Naka Hotel
23.71 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Tropical GuestHouse
9.18 USD

Guesthouse 71.0% 26 reviews
Ancasa Hotel and Spa
61.19 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.9%

Overall Rating

98 out of 110 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Step Inn Guest House Hostels'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
88.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 102 of 110 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Loechel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The very helpful staff, the kitchen, very close to china town and bukit bintang.

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rebecca Chapman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, hostel was well located and free breakfast is always a plus!

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was extremely helpful and friendly. He went through a local map with us for at least 20 minutes highlights the good spots and always asked how we were and whether we needed anything.

Disliked: Rats, unfortunately there were lots in the courtyard below and outside the hostel. The Bathrooms could have been cleaner.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Niklas Maximilian Neumann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2014 Niklas Maximilian would recommend this property

Liked: The owner and all staff are very friendly and if I had any questions, they helped me lots of times. The room was clean and tidy. Free Breakfast and the common room has a big TV with a lot of programs. Max

Disliked: Niklas Maximilian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucile Arnaud

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2014 Lucile would recommend this property

Liked: It si like a backpacker so really good. People are nice and really smiling. You have a place to relax with coach and a fast internet. And the localisation is perfect. We're staying more longer in this accommodation. + free breakfast !!!

Disliked: Too hot even with the fan but it's not really because of the accommodation... And a lot of mosquitoes but I think it's the same everywhere.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the room was small but good for sleeping, price was very low so good value for money. nice kitchen and self/service, very helpful and nice staff!

Disliked: the shower was a bit uncomfotable but as said you cant expect much more from a cheap hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daryl Walsh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2013 Daryl would recommend this property

Liked: If you are looking for fantastic value for money and a really chilled out hostel where the staff are really helpful then this is the place for you! Alan was so friendly the entire time and always happy to help and give you all the advice and tips you need for your stay! The rooms are dated and simple but really clean and the bathrooms are clean too. There are lots of common areas for you to chill in and the free breakfast (although only toast and tea/coffee) is such a good idea. This is the first hostel we have come across in months to offer this.

Disliked: Daryl left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jasmine Jacquier

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

16 September 2013 Jasmine would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms and friendly staff.. No thing to add i recomend it! There is free wifi too..don't hesitate mostly for the price :)

Disliked: May be not enough showers... But really it is still ok!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The helpful tips given by the staff

Disliked: The wifi connection kept dropping in and out

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ha Tran

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2013 Ha would recommend this property

Liked: We rent a family room for 5 persons and I'm very satisfied with our room.The price is reasonable,the room is clean and big enough. The location of the hostel is good because it takes under 5 mins to walk to Pudu sentral and Bukit Bintang. Although not being mentioned on the website,the hostel also provides free breakfasts and the staff are helpful and friendly. I especially recommend the family room type

Disliked: The bathroom is a little bit small but the price contains the towels then it's ok

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

md atique ul islam

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 md atique ul would recommend this property

Liked: friendliness of the staffs

Disliked: no wifi in the room and the ceiling fan wasn't strong enough. i felt like staying in a prison room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ulla Borgenström

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2013 Ulla would recommend this property

Liked: Simple and functional, chilled and nice as a normal hostel should be. Good location, super easy to find with the directions given.

Disliked: Ulla left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

08 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean , great kitchen.

Disliked: No TV in room, WiFi signal not strong, bed very soft, smokey common areas.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

LIBIAO YE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 LIBIAO would recommend this property

Liked: The local is the most near by Pudu UTC. It is convient to Chinadown, KL Tower etc.

Disliked: Wifi is too slow, there are mouse in the yard.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely character, windows in all(?) rooms, kitchen available. Owner pleasant. Rooms cleaned well after each guest. Still best value in KL for me.

Disliked: Quite hot on the top floor even with fan. Caused me to reconsider my usual distain for air-con!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

fakhri basilim

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

09 May 2013 fakhri would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Helpful and warm staff, I come on midnight and front office is still wide open for, Location is perfect, food stall almost everwhere, Hommy kitchen & atmospheric communal Room, Still Cozy same as Mr. Kumar used to offer. You can find a friendly ppl arround . . .

Disliked: hmmmmm I dont know, almost nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013

Liked: The price.

Disliked: I know you can get a much more better place in KL, for a very shallow price difference.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Sean Pritchard

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2013

Liked: Nice atmosphere and characteristic building.

Disliked: Unfortunate loud building works going on next door which look like they could go on for a while. Take some ear plugs!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2013

Liked: Good location for the bus station, and for access to the metro system. Nice friendly Slovenian guy behind the counter at reception.

Disliked: It was just very unclean. The kitchen particularly was filthy, and whilst it was nice with the offer of free tea all day, and toast in the morning, the sugar bowl was full of grit and dirt which certainly didn't make anyone want sugar, and the walls and utensils seemed generally unpleasant. The bathroom wasn't great either, with questionable locks on the doors, and if you're showering in one shower with someone in the one next door their water would flow into your shower which could be nasty. Another thing was the bunk beds, whilst comfortable, if the person on the top bunk moved, the whole thing wobbled potentially disturbing the person on the bottom. And finally, not enough plug sockets. Most hostels seem to have a socket for each person in a room, but this hostel did not, and only a couple dotted about in general, which was a minor annoyance.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

11 March 2013

Liked: Staff helpful, nice kitchen area with free tea and coffee and filtered water. Room had a fan and aircon.

Disliked: I got a double room for myself as the price was cheap by hostel standard but it was horrible. Dark and dingy, smelled of mothballs, bathroom/shower room was a hotchpotch of wires and pipes. Sink emptied onto the floor and when the toilet flushed it also emptied into the floor. Pay a tenner more and get a 3 star hotel across the road - no matter how tight your budget its worth it.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great price great location

Disliked: A little grimy and no real vibe

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Samantha Shepherd

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2013 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: -Right by the bus station, metro, and good restaurants -Decent kitchen, breakfast provided

Disliked: -No wifi access in our room -hostel staff was a bit indifferent

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Julie Buisson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2013

Liked: Nothing in particular

Disliked: No hot water. Dirty

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dale Julius

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2013 Dale would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for all the main sights and attractions in KL. staff very pleasant and very willing to help and answer any questions.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cloé De Garie Fortin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2013 Cloé would recommend this property

Liked: everything !

Disliked: Nothing!