We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Step Inn Guest House Hostels

Guesthouse | No 37 Jalan Pudu Lama, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia 50200

86.1% Overall Rating

110 out of 124 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2015)

Lars Auerbach thinks…

"Perfect, if you want to stay in clean, budget hostel with good connection to public transport. No matter if you like just to sleep there or socialise over a couple of beers it's a great spot for most…"

Read all Step Inn Guest House Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room
  • Sofa

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kuala Lumpur?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kuala Lumpur

Mayview Glory Hotel
8.72 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.7% 304 reviews
Citin Seacare Pudu Hotel
15.47 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Cintamani Travellers Lodge
6.75 USD

Guesthouse 80.2% 32 reviews
AnCasa Express @ Pudu
16.66 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Submarine Guest House
5.95 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Naka Hotel
18.88 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Tropical GuestHouse
7.14 USD

Guesthouse 72.6% 28 reviews
Ancasa Hotel and Spa
47.60 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.1%

Overall Rating

110 out of 124 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Step Inn Guest House Hostels'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
96.8%
Value
88.0%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 112 of 123 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location ! Reasonable price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lars Auerbach

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2015 Lars would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect, if you want to stay in clean, budget hostel with good connection to public transport. No matter if you like just to sleep there or socialise over a couple of beers it's a great spot for most of backpacker demands.

Disliked: Lars left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GYU SEONG PARK

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2015 GYU SEONG would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

esty herliyanto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 February 2015 esty would recommend this property

Liked: staff is very friendly, clean and secure

Disliked: once of the day,, their staff came to our room without excuse.. it was make us unconfort.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very welcoming staff, amazing location in the middle of everything, active common room to meet other travellers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are all having great hospitality customer service skills. They always try to resolve problems or complains. Location is great. Short walking diatance to the bus terminal, chinatown, central market, bukit bintang.

Disliked: All the facilities get cleaned very well everyday however I found the place gets lots of bugs and dust from outside all the times and also facilities are very old so I didn't feel comfortable using their facilities including bed, bathroom, fridge, couch, table...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2014

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness

Disliked: Cleenliess

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ekaterina Dracheva

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Ekaterina would recommend this property

Liked: I booked 2 nights and stayed for week more. Very helpful and friendly staff and owner Alan, they make this simple place my second home in KL. Guesthouse is close to Bikut Bintang area, bus station, China town and metro, 7/11 shop and couple of local cafes - what do you need more? :) They provide toasts with jam for breakfast and tea-coffee (for free) during the day. Also you can cook own food if you wish. For sure, any time I'll be back I will stay with them. Thank you very much guys for your hospitality!

Disliked: Can be too much moscitos during the night (i guess from constarction next door)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Service

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nadezhda Tochinova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2014 Nadezhda would recommend this property

Liked: Очень удобное расположение- автобусный вокзал и метро совсем рядом, идеален ак транзитный пункт. Очень доброжелательный персонал. Попросите рассказать, что посмотреть в городе и получите исчерпывающую информацию.

Disliked: нет такого.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Loechel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: The very helpful staff, the kitchen, very close to china town and bukit bintang.

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rebecca Chapman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, hostel was well located and free breakfast is always a plus!

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was extremely helpful and friendly. He went through a local map with us for at least 20 minutes highlights the good spots and always asked how we were and whether we needed anything.

Disliked: Rats, unfortunately there were lots in the courtyard below and outside the hostel. The Bathrooms could have been cleaner.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Niklas Maximilian Neumann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2014 Niklas Maximilian would recommend this property

Liked: The owner and all staff are very friendly and if I had any questions, they helped me lots of times. The room was clean and tidy. Free Breakfast and the common room has a big TV with a lot of programs. Max

Disliked: Niklas Maximilian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucile Arnaud

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2014 Lucile would recommend this property

Liked: It si like a backpacker so really good. People are nice and really smiling. You have a place to relax with coach and a fast internet. And the localisation is perfect. We're staying more longer in this accommodation. + free breakfast !!!

Disliked: Too hot even with the fan but it's not really because of the accommodation... And a lot of mosquitoes but I think it's the same everywhere.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the room was small but good for sleeping, price was very low so good value for money. nice kitchen and self/service, very helpful and nice staff!

Disliked: the shower was a bit uncomfotable but as said you cant expect much more from a cheap hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daryl Walsh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2013 Daryl would recommend this property

Liked: If you are looking for fantastic value for money and a really chilled out hostel where the staff are really helpful then this is the place for you! Alan was so friendly the entire time and always happy to help and give you all the advice and tips you need for your stay! The rooms are dated and simple but really clean and the bathrooms are clean too. There are lots of common areas for you to chill in and the free breakfast (although only toast and tea/coffee) is such a good idea. This is the first hostel we have come across in months to offer this.

Disliked: Daryl left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jasmine Jacquier

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

16 September 2013 Jasmine would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms and friendly staff.. No thing to add i recomend it! There is free wifi too..don't hesitate mostly for the price :)

Disliked: May be not enough showers... But really it is still ok!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The helpful tips given by the staff

Disliked: The wifi connection kept dropping in and out

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ha Tran

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2013 Ha would recommend this property

Liked: We rent a family room for 5 persons and I'm very satisfied with our room.The price is reasonable,the room is clean and big enough. The location of the hostel is good because it takes under 5 mins to walk to Pudu sentral and Bukit Bintang. Although not being mentioned on the website,the hostel also provides free breakfasts and the staff are helpful and friendly. I especially recommend the family room type

Disliked: The bathroom is a little bit small but the price contains the towels then it's ok

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

md atique ul islam

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 md atique ul would recommend this property

Liked: friendliness of the staffs

Disliked: no wifi in the room and the ceiling fan wasn't strong enough. i felt like staying in a prison room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ulla Borgenström

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2013 Ulla would recommend this property

Liked: Simple and functional, chilled and nice as a normal hostel should be. Good location, super easy to find with the directions given.

Disliked: Ulla left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

08 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean , great kitchen.

Disliked: No TV in room, WiFi signal not strong, bed very soft, smokey common areas.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

LIBIAO YE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 LIBIAO would recommend this property

Liked: The local is the most near by Pudu UTC. It is convient to Chinadown, KL Tower etc.

Disliked: Wifi is too slow, there are mouse in the yard.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely character, windows in all(?) rooms, kitchen available. Owner pleasant. Rooms cleaned well after each guest. Still best value in KL for me.

Disliked: Quite hot on the top floor even with fan. Caused me to reconsider my usual distain for air-con!