HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Travel Hub

Hostel | 15 Jalan Balai Polis, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia 50000

84.7% Overall Rating

406 out of 446 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/07/2014)

Marco Toffali thinks…

"The Travel Hub is next to everything you need. Behind China Town but far enough to avoid the noises. Travel Hub's staff is super pleasant. They will give you a hand in everything you need and make…"

Read all The Travel Hub reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.91

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kuala Lumpur?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kuala Lumpur

Suzie's Guest House KL
8.08 USD

Guesthouse 92.0% 194 reviews
City Hotel
10.98 USD

Hotel 3 star 66.3% 5 reviews
Raizzy's Guesthouse
7.62 USD

Guesthouse 84.7% 64 reviews
Hotel Petaling
7.47 USD

Hotel 3 star 69.5% 3 reviews
Eclipse Guesthouse
7.17 USD

Guesthouse 68.1% 6 reviews
The Longhouse
6.24 USD

Hostel 82.3% 70 reviews
The 5 Elements Hotel Sdn. Bhd.
24.70 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Ocean 77 Hotel
13.11 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.7%

Overall Rating

406 out of 446 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Travel Hub'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 409 of 438 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isabel Sharratt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2014 Isabel would recommend this property

Liked: Nice homely atmosphere

Disliked: A more sociable communal area could have been nice

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great community vibe and very helpful staff.

Disliked: While the hostel is located very close to the train station, it is located near Chinatown, which isn't safe late at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marco Toffali

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: The Travel Hub is next to everything you need. Behind China Town but far enough to avoid the noises. Travel Hub's staff is super pleasant. They will give you a hand in everything you need and make your stay unforgettable.

Disliked: None.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jordan Wilson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 June 2014 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, hostel location hidding from nightlife and tourist atrractions but taxis are cheap lol rooms clean and comfotable. Overall a nice and relaxed place to put your head down

Disliked: Sometimes at night when quiet gheckos and rats would enter kitchen area but didn't bother me much.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Igor Dedkov

Alone

Visiting friends or family

27 April 2014 Igor would recommend this property

Liked: The best atmosphere ever. Staff friendly and nice. One of the best hostel in KL, but a bit hard to find the place.

Disliked: Small bathroom/toilets

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tessa van der Wijst

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Tessa would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and free breakfast

Disliked: I slept in a private room, but could hear everything throw the walls.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed here before. They do their best at budget level KL prices. Facilities are good.

Disliked: Can't say I have any.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Kraakman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2014 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities. Not too expensive drinks .Nice roofterrace. Good english and information.

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to city center

Disliked: paper walls

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexander Simbirtsev

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 March 2014 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: the place is well located, provides affordable private rooms, staff is friendly

Disliked: private rooms are really small, some don't have outside window, breakfast is toasts with jam, bathrooms could be cleaner

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Kim Black

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2014

Liked: not much

Disliked: lack of anything to do

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2014

Liked: Good location near the metro and monorail stations.

Disliked: In comparison with other hostels in which I stayed in SouthEastern Asia this hostel wasn't the best one. I did not like the atmosphere there and I had to pay for the towel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Francesca Andrews

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2014 Francesca would recommend this property

Liked: Really close to the train station. We got a taxi from KL Sentral for 10MR just so we didn't have to walk around trying to find the hostel but it is really close. We stayed in the deluxe double which is just a double bed in a room but it served its purpose. Helpful staff and great location for getting around KL.

Disliked: No safe in the room but not too much of a problem as it was a private room which locked.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2014

Liked: It was average.

Disliked: They ripped me off for one night. I had informed the desk I was leaving a day early 24 hrs before, they said it was okay, then in the morning when I was leaving they said there was no approval for a refund so I was out of luck.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Firstly most of all the staff were fantastic helpful, friendly and informative. Ihmram was a really nice guy and chatted away to you so did navid. The cleaner provided some more secure plastic bags for me to carry my foodstuff for the long train journey to Penang. Just really nice. The accomodation was excellent just what I required. You were able to meet and speak with other travellers in the common room. agreat place to meet others over breakfast or during the course of the day. No complaints what so ever. Access to the monorail was only 5 minutes and this made it also accessable to KL Sentral for a quick getaway if need be. Some good cheap local eating places with Chinatown just a block or so away.

Disliked: No issues.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jennie Payne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2014 Jennie would recommend this property

Liked: easy to get to, helpful staff, great price for central location

Disliked: Jennie left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice sofa lounge area, we had nice double room, freindly helpful staff

Disliked: gave us 2 tiny towell sized sheets for a double bed instead of one decent sized sheet, bathroom miniscule, showerhead over toilet bowl made it interesting to shower, one of 2 bathrooms had broken tap and other barely worked

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff, took us out to Batu Caves one evening - amazing! Place was very clean and comfortable!

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere and surrounding.

Disliked: Really small shower room...and occupied most of the time. A staff is not very friendly, while i am paying at the reception, its like he didn't give a damn and press me on for RM0.50 when i am short of RM0.50 when i say i'll get it from my room. One other staff is even more funny. When i came in to the hostel to collect my luggage to leave at the last day, he asks his friend at the reception if i have pay yet in malay language. Guess he thinks i didn't understand, Well i do, in case you are reading this right now.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Grant

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here for a 24 hour stop over in KL. I wanted to see some of the city and the Travel Hub ticked all my boxes. Great location in china town. Easy to get to from the airport. Easy to see the sights of KL, and good cheap street food nearby. Price is good and there are other travellers about. I stayed in a private single, lodgings are basic and clean, good for a no fuss traveller. Highly recommend.

Disliked: A window in my room would have been nice, but there's plenty of sun outside!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Zaharuddin Hj Abd Rahman

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 January 2014 Zaharuddin would recommend this property

Liked: Love the atmosphere..

Disliked: Zaharuddin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was just minutes away from petaling street and pasar seni monorail station, it was very easily accessible with a lot of food stalls halal and non halal nearby. The staff at Travel Hub were also very friendly and helpful. One of the staff, Iman, he went out of his way to accommodate us the best he could and it was seen that he did the same for other travellers too, excellent customer service and such good company! The room, pantry, hall and toilets were all clean. it felt just like "home" (:

Disliked: nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great place to meet other travellers. Very friendly owners.

Disliked: The toilets were sometimes wet especially when someone used the attached shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ramaswamy Balasubramanian

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2013 Ramaswamy would recommend this property

Liked: An Amazing place to be. The staff make you feel like Family. Naveen was exceptional! He took time to actually bring us for trekking and provided all other information to ensure a great stay at KL. Will definitely recommend this place to others. A must stay place for anyone visiting KL

Disliked: nil

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ben Thompson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2013 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Staff we knowledgeable and extremely helpful

Disliked: The fact that my door didn't lock was not ideal, but they assured me they were getting it fixed.