We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Reggae Guest House

Hostel | 156, 1st Flloor Jalan Tun H S, Lee, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia 50000

85.6% Overall Rating

345 out of 361 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/08/2014)

"It is a clean hostel, the staff is helpful and the rooms are nice! Tea, coffee, water and breakfast are included and the location is good; in Chinatown."

Read all Reggae Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 39.64

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that guests are required to inform the Hostel about the expected time of arrival (ETA) when making a room reservation. Cancellations should be 3 hours before ETA. For late check in, guests are asked to inform us via email or phone. Please note that the use of the luggage room is free only during your stay and until 6PM on the day of departure. After this period guests are kindly asked to pay RM 10/day/piece.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kuala Lumpur?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kuala Lumpur

Bunc@Radius Chinatown
11.89 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Le Hotel Chinatown
11.89 USD

Hotel 2 star 58.1% 3 reviews
Backpackers Travellers Lodge
6.10 USD

Hostel 66.0% 12 reviews
The Explorers Guesthouse
10.06 USD

Guesthouse 90.3% 71 reviews
Hotel Chinatown Inn
12.18 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.2% 159 reviews
Hotel Chinatown 2
7.62 USD

Guesthouse 69.7% 193 reviews
Ocean 77 Hotel
13.11 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Agosto Inn
7.62 USD

Guesthouse 81.6% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.6%

Overall Rating

345 out of 361 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Reggae Guest House'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
84.8%
Value
84.0%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 327 of 345 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 13 | 14   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a clean hostel, the staff is helpful and the rooms are nice! Tea, coffee, water and breakfast are included and the location is good; in Chinatown.

Disliked: When we were there it didn't have the real hostel feel, because other travellers weren't that chatty. But that can differ obviously.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Charlotte Gilmartin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2014 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in china town to the market and next door to the a good bar. Good location to the train from the airport and getting around the city- only one stop from KL central and easy to get to the local transit line. Clean rooms and helpfl staff.

Disliked: Private standard twin room has a very dodgy bunk bed that felt like it was going to collapse! Rooms can be noisy due to location to market/main road in china town but this is expected.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, central location in chinatown, good security (entrance is through 2 doors with an electric lock and pin code access, individual rooms are locked with a standard yale lock).

Disliked: the AC didn't work in our room. Because we were only there for one night we didn't ask anyone about it, but I'm sure if we had they'd have fixed it.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014

Liked: It is quite cosy and has pretty good amenities. The staff seemed friendly enough and they had a free water filter which is a big plus

Disliked: The bed I slept in for all of two hours was crawling in bed bugs, I now have bites all over my body.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jan Vogel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2014 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: quiet, good price, nice and helpfull staff

Disliked: beds could be a bit longer (but i am 1,93cm), 6bed dorm ist very small

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easily reached from KL Sentral (1 MR by train), which is the gateway to KLIA as well as LCCT, trains to Singapore and Thailand. Free city bus nearby. Short walk to the food court in the Central Market.

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carrie Hill

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014 Carrie would recommend this property

Liked: The room is clean and spacious, the beds are comfortable, and the bathrooms are constantly cleaned and well taken care of. There is always toilet paper on hand. The staff are friendly, provide solid advice on directions, have plenty of information about their city available, and are willing to help if extenuating circumstances happen (like staying an extra 2 nights because of a flight change). Not to mention the double door of security and the 24 hour front desk. Fantastic place!

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Eli Seifer THIRUVENGADAM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

05 January 2014 Samuel Eli Seifer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean and good staff

Disliked: Bunk beds were too small .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natacha Ravier

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping

17 December 2013 Natacha would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice location and you can get a free bus to Times Square. Breakfast included which is always good! The showers were hot so very nice and the staff are helpful.

Disliked: Natacha left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location right beside the market in Chinatown, and within walking distance of attractions like Central Market, Islamic Arts Museum and KL Bird Park. Super friendly staff. Right beside Reggae Bar but I didn't hear any noises from my dorm room. Clean and air-conditioned.

Disliked: The bunk beds were a little wobbly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Lewis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 September 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was helpful and easily accessable.

Disliked: I don't drink beer anymore!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Till Immanuel Hauser

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2013 Till Immanuel would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, Helpful and friendly staff, complimentary breakfast and coffee, good wifi

Disliked: Uncomfortable and shaky bunk bed, Aircon is very loud, no energy sockets next to the bed, tiny lockers and many of them unusable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

11 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very simple but also very clean, the staff was very helpful and friendly and the location was very convenient

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Massimo Rivetti

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2013 Massimo would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right in the middle of Chinatown, close to transport and food/drink retails. They kept my luggage for a couple of days while I was away, free of charge.

Disliked: Make sure you ask for a receip when paying. I've withnessed a couple of cases where reception and guests were claiming a different number of nights had been paid for... Rooms don't have windows. It's not an issue with me, but I realise it could be for some people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anubhav Mishra

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 June 2013 Anubhav would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the location and atmosphere of the place. Very relaxed and chilled out. Exactly what I was looking for after a tiring few days in another place.

Disliked: The way up to the reception stinks because of the shoes which guests are requested to remove before entering the rooms area. It could be ventilated.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Standard rooms, toast provided and water. Great location.

Disliked: The rooms were pretty small and the hostel did not have the best vibe but good for the price.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel in excellent location near Chinatown

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Andrea Gutierrez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2013 Laura Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: Its a small guest house so its quiet and nice, very clean and in a perfect location.

Disliked: Laura Andrea left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anil Chopra

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

03 May 2013 Anil would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, free internet access, good location.

Disliked: AC wasn't great. Was a bit too warm in the large dorm.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

juan zhou

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

22 April 2013 juan would recommend this property

Liked: it's a good hostel.nice location.friendly stuff. everything is great.

Disliked: juan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff, clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

XIAYI DONG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2013 XIAYI would recommend this property

Liked: location is very good and close to subway station; easy to find delicious food neaby; room is clean and confortable to live.

Disliked: room is a little small and no box to put my bags, no locker

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timo Sorri

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2013 Timo would recommend this property

Liked: Good distance to everywhere.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ELLIE MACKAY

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2012 ELLIE would recommend this property

Liked: This guest house has it all - great location, clean, comfortable rooms, amazing service, friendly staff. I can see why they call it a guest house and not a hostel - you do feel like you are a very welcome guest in their friendly home. The beds are very comfortable, it's surprisingly quiet even though it's right in the heart of chinatown and above the worlds best reggae bar. I was staying there on my own and was made to feel very safe and welcome. I will definitely be returning to KL regularly and every time I will stay at the Reggae Guest House - I cannot wait to go back!

Disliked: Nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Przemyslaw Charzynski

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

02 December 2012 Przemyslaw would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: rooms without windows.