We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Tropical GuestHouse

Guesthouse | No.2, Tengkat Tong Shin, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia 50200

72.6% Overall Rating

16 out of 28 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2014)

"The decorations at the entrance is nice. It is made with bamboos and look welcoming at first."

Read all Tropical GuestHouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.52

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kuala Lumpur?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kuala Lumpur

Naka Hotel
23.63 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Forever Young Guest House
7.62 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Sahabat Guesthouse
15.09 USD

Guesthouse 93.0% 45 reviews
Star Castle
15.24 USD

Hotel 4 star 62.9% 3 reviews
Hotel Rae
19.51 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Funky Town Guesthouse
15.24 USD

Guesthouse 68.3% 12 reviews
Zodiac Golden Palace Hotel
12.88 USD

Hotel 1 star Not yet rated
Serenity Hostels
6.10 USD

Hostel 77.1% 128 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.6%

Overall Rating

16 out of 28 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tropical GuestHouse'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
72.0%
Value
67.2%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 18 of 21 reviews
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The decorations at the entrance is nice. It is made with bamboos and look welcoming at first.

Disliked: The receptionist guy at the entrance was very cold and unwelcoming. The owner who is supposed to be nice was away. The AC is nice but we didn't have any remote so I got sick because it was extremely cold. The bathroom is clean but needs some work out cause there is a big leak.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Peter Roellig

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2014

Liked: Location is ok

Disliked: Service poor, interest for guests not existent.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ni Putu Gianitri Widyashanti

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2014 Ni Putu Gianitri would recommend this property

Liked: Small, cute interior. Hungry? Just walk and u'll find heaps of choice, indian either chinesse food.

Disliked: I stay on the 2nd floor and it just have 1 bathroom and 1toilet. Wondering if there'll be some crush time when people need to use toilet either shower.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gergely Simon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

11 February 2014 Gergely would recommend this property

Liked: The vibe

Disliked: Small rooms

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 June 2013

Liked: Air condintioning. Warm shower. Location is good. Everything is in walking distance. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The rooms are too small. You can barely turn around. Forget about opening your suitcase. That is really annoying and exhausting. We didn't have anything in our room, not even a mirror. The walls are extremely thin, you can hear everything!! Also, there is no breakfast included. Kitchen doesn't have fridge only sink and microwave. Wifi doesn't really work upstairs. And you have to take off your shoes. .

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Luke Thomas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 March 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Very small rooms

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mike Plavonil

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2012 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: Guesthouse tres bien située et peu chère. Elle se trouve á 3min á pied du monorail (prendre sortie gauche. Au KFC tourner á droite puis á gauche, aller tout droit et c'est au bout de la deuxieme á gauche). Toutes les commodités sont proches (bouffe, massage, discotheque, shopping...)

Disliked: Mike left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of staff. Close location to public transport and hotspots. Very good value for money

Disliked: Lack of facilities and services, e.g. access to a computer, tours

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jessica Tan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely love the location! My other friends stayed in a hotel across from times square on the other side and every time we decided on an activity we ended up back in the area where this hostel was. The streets adjacent and in front/behind this lodging are full of street food and even a lively night spot-pubs/bars just round the corner. What else could you want more than to experience these in KL? There is also a really strong wifi signal! It's amazing. :D

Disliked: The rooms were not really soundproof, as I was situated on the first level, I was easily awoken by the sounds of the street hawkers/vendors setting up and talking loudly with one another bright and early in the morning. As early as 530am. I also didnt like the shared bathroom as i hated waiting for my turn to use the washroom at times. But that is hardly the issue. Because after all, it was still nice and clean!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed our stay here, the staff were friendly and helpful. It was full when we were there and we never had to wait for a toilet or shower.Wifi worked well upstairs as well as down. It is a budget hostel, so you pay for what you get. Perfect for backpackers on a budget in a good location. We would stay there again.

Disliked: A bit noisy at night due to surrounding bars, but nothing ear plugs couldn't fix.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

INEKE SUNJOTO

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2011 INEKE would recommend this property

Liked: THE STAFF is very friendly,,,the cost of taxi fare from KL SENTRAL is only RM 13...you will feel the atmosphere of tropic in bukit bintang, KL..they have microwave and hot water,,,

Disliked: the bathroom is in the outside,,and the bedroom is very small so I can't open my luggage in that room,,

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location

Disliked: Not suitable for those who want just rest. A lot of people drinking in lobby till very late so you can either have fun with them or strangle to sleep in the noise.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

goater stephane

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2010 goater would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: only cash for paiement

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nazmul Hussain

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing

15 October 2010 Nazmul would recommend this property

Liked: I will start with location, it is very close to KL Sentral & all the buses come to KL Sentral from airport. Exterior design is good with wood & bamboo, interior also have wooden & bamboo crafts & pebble stones. Interior space is well managed & it is very neat & clean. I enjoyed my stay here.

Disliked: Though the rooms are not as big as other hotels but the space is well managed.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Violet Bennell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2010

Liked: The place had fun decor.

Disliked: We booked a double decker, which was basically a bunk bed in a broom cupboard. The bed also seemed like it was about to collapse! It was also almost in the reception area, was extremeley noisy as they left the front door open all night. The staff on reception played loud music and were really noisy too. A great place if you dont want any space or any sleep. Oh and like cold showers!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2010

Liked: Good location and quirky design.

Disliked: Very, very noisy - staff didn't seem to understand we wanted to go there to sleep, not to hear awful late '90s trance played in the reception late at night.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 June 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: air conditioner, clean room and bed, friendly staff, especially Nadeem, close to shopping complex.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lissie duncan

05 May 2008 lissie would recommend this property

Liked: located centrally, close to all shops, restaurants etc

Disliked: lissie left no negative feedback.