We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Matahari Lodge

Hostel | 58-1, Jalan Hang Kasturi, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia 50050

87.5% Overall Rating

598 out of 633 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/01/2015)

ALEX KULLEH thinks…

"Strategic location for touris.... And near to public transit station and it will make touris easy to travel."

Read all Matahari Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kuala Lumpur?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kuala Lumpur

Leo Leisure Hotel
17.75 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Agosto Inn
6.95 USD

Guesthouse 81.6% 11 reviews
Backpackers Travellers Lodge
5.56 USD

Hostel 66.0% 12 reviews
The Explorers Guesthouse
9.18 USD

Guesthouse 89.9% 72 reviews
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
12.52 USD

Hostel 89.3% 401 reviews
Reggae Guest House
9.74 USD

Hostel 81.5% 364 reviews
Arenaa Mountbatten Hotel
8.76 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.2% 14 reviews
Fernloft KL @ Chinatown
5.56 USD

Hostel 78.3% 101 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.5%

Overall Rating

598 out of 633 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Matahari Lodge'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
88.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 544 of 567 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alessandra Merlino

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2015 Alessandra would recommend this property

Liked: Location, very clean, free breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

ALEX KULLEH

As a family with children

Family Holiday

04 January 2015 ALEX would recommend this property

Liked: Strategic location for touris.... And near to public transit station and it will make touris easy to travel.

Disliked: Need to improve the accommodation such a toilet/bathroom...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julian Boenigk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2015 Julian would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally located. Beds are really comfortable.

Disliked: Julian left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!

Disliked: Dorm has no window and poor ventilation

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mathias Goebel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2014 Mathias would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and calm. Friendly staff. Had a really nice stay.

Disliked: Mathias left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: chilled place. wish i could have stayed longer but was just passing through KL

Disliked: n/a

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is only one stop away from KL Sentral and only a few steps away from the Central Market. Even a breakfast (toast, peanut butter and marmalade) is included. The hostel is very clean and the staff is extremely friendly. The bathroom/showers are very clean. I would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I always stay in Matahari Lodge when I come to Kuala Lumpur. The lodge is very good situated near métro and easy to reach Kuala. sentral. It's friendly, clean , Nice single room and very good wifi. The single room are really not expensive. You have also a lot of clean bathrooms. I am always happy to stay there. I really feel at home.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chi Fung Hui

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2014 Chi Fung would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and friendly.

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Pennell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

22 April 2014 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Location close to train station and Chinatown,,,, helpful staff. They had not record of my booking, but were happy to accept my record, and allowed me early access to room

Disliked: N/a

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast and very helpful staff. Quick wi fi

Disliked: We only had 1 plug in our room which didn't work and didn't really want to leave My iPad and phone out in the hallway.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2014

Liked: The staff were friendly enough and the room was clean but...

Disliked: Overall it was pretty dark and dingy and not exceptional. When returning to the hostel in the evening there were a few people sleeping rough on the doorstep and I did not feel very safe in the vicinity of the hostel. The location of the reception area is out of the way (3rd floor) which doesn't help the safety/security element. Also, the walls are very thin and there are big gaps under the doors so a single room does not mean a quiet night sleep.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Willy Studemann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2014 Willy would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, just next to a LRT station at 1 min walk. The rooms are very clean also, as well as the bathrooms

Disliked: Willy left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Margaret Lloyd

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2014

Liked: The staff were friendly.

Disliked: My room had no window. The bedding was one fleece blanket.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kine Marlene Berglund

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2014 Kine Marlene would recommend this property

Liked: Decent sized rooms, nice lounge area, clean bathrooms and the central location. Had our clothes washed there as well, came back clean and nicely folded. Staff was very nice.

Disliked: Room was dusty. The walls are paper thin, luckily for us the guests weren't noisy. Wifi connection in room is bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mark cotton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2014 mark would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and friendly. Very close too the centre of city. Highly recommend for A budget hotel.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to main attractions and markets.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good energy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Propery is clean and ideally located next to the LRT station. The rooms are a little bit simple but everything that you need for your stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good located, helpful staff and clean rooms. All you need!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice with friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yury Tyunyagin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2014 Yury would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in Chinatown next to LRT station and KL Sentral

Disliked: Yury left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Ernst

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 January 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: We had a nice and very pleasant stay at the lavender lodge. We booked just one night, but the staff arranged it to extend our stay for 3 more nights without any troubles. Clean rooms and friendly staff, who also answered all of our many questions. We really could recomend this place.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Saurabh Sata

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2014 Saurabh would recommend this property

Liked: Backpacker's Paradise...wonderful place, great location at a budget price - If you are on a budget travel, look no further. In my opinion, you won't get a better place at such price. This place is located at a 2 min walking distance from the Pasar Seni station. Reaching Pasar Seni from KL Sentral by LRT will cost you only RM 1. Buses get you to KL Sentral from the Airport charging a fare of RM 8-10. China town, Petaling Street, Central Market, Little India etc. are in close proximity. Moreover, goKL Free Service buses leave from the Pasar Seni station to Bukit Bintang (Shopping Delight). The stop for the hop on-hop off buses can be accessed by a 2 min walk. - Great staff, friendly, co-operative and informative as well. - Peanut Butter/Jam Toast is also available in the mornings from 8 to 12. - Wifi is good enough to address your emailing needs.

Disliked: The walls have ears ;-). So be careful when you converse loudly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Jenkins

Alone

Relaxation/spa

30 December 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to stop in KL. Big place, but cheap and conveniently located!

Disliked: Ian left no negative feedback.