HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Cosmopolitan

Hostel | 4th Floor, No.73 & 75, Jalan Haji Hussein, Off Jalan Raja Muda Abdul Aziz Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia 50300

68.8% Overall Rating

266 out of 299 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/06/2014)

alexander cousins thinks…

"those wishing to travel to the east coast, it was 5 minutes walk from the bus station"

Read all Hostel Cosmopolitan reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.58
  • Towel USD 0.63

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Once the booking is received, the hostel will process pre-authorizations on the guests' cards. If this fails, the hostel will contact the guest for alternative card details and if this is not provided then the booking will be cancelled without the refund of the deposit.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kuala Lumpur?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kuala Lumpur

Yellow House KL
7.56 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Smile Boutique Hotel Sdn Bhd
12.67 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
City Park Hotel Kuala Lumpur
16.54 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Kuala Lumpur International Hotel
26.15 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cititel Express Kuala Lumpur
18.43 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Yija Hotel
18.59 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Citrus Hotel
23.47 USD

Hotel 4 star 77.9% 8 reviews
Hotel Wilayah
7.48 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.8%

Overall Rating

266 out of 299 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Cosmopolitan'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
68.0%
Value
75.2%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 266 of 279 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014

Liked: Thé roomates

Disliked: The toilettes

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

alexander cousins

Alone

Shopping

16 June 2014 alexander would recommend this property

Liked: those wishing to travel to the east coast, it was 5 minutes walk from the bus station

Disliked: alexander left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, comfortable, good wifi, very good value.

Disliked: The safety lockers might be too small.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

08 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has many helpful services increasing its value (big living room, lots of travel guides to take references, computers, spaceous bedrooms, etc.).

Disliked: Two things I disliked: 1) The dirty and old toilets. 2) You have to pay more almost for all (Wanna toilet paper? Pay. Wanna padlock for the locker? Own yours or buy it to them. Wanna watch a movie? Pay. Blanket and towel the same).

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

19 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One computer and the tv

Disliked: THREW MY FOOD AWAY!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

11 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was brilliant, always taking care of everything needed.

Disliked: As almost every hostel in kl, even they have bed bugs.. :( but not so much and they come and clean the rooms as good as ever possible to try and get rid of them.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

grace wong

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2013 grace would recommend this property

Liked: THIS PLACE HAS A LIVING ROOM WITH A CABLE TELEVISION. I CAN KNOW THIS COUNTRY MORE AND ALSO KNOW WHAT IS GOING ON IN MY FAR AWAY COUNTRY.

Disliked: MY FEMALE DORM ROON NEED A LOCK, I PUT LOCKS IN MY HOUSE EVEN I STAY BY MYSELF ALONE. CAN YOU STAY IN YOUR BED ROOM WITHOUT LOCKS? WITH MEN AND SO MANY PEOPLE AROUND THE WALK WAY?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

27 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: enjoyed my stay..friendly staff, clean place and so close to the monorail station...will definitely stay there each time i'm in kuala lumpur

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Philip Hill

Alone

City break

15 April 2013

Liked: N/A

Disliked: BED BUGS!! EVERYWHERE!!!

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was expecting something much worse based on the reviews at the price. The hostel is cheeerful, nice wooden floors, free wifi and a tv area. I've stayed in much worse believe me! It also has a kitchen, and lockers for your things (though you have to purchase the lock). The staff were quite hospitible and friendly.

Disliked: Everything that you need is an extra cost- toliet roll, blankets, locks etc. Still, based on the extremely low price, this is to be expected. The bed I stayed in was a bit wirey, not the most comfortable but not too bad. The girl in my room complained about bedbugs, and got bitten again during the night, though I didn't. Perhaps your own sleep sheet would be a good idea. Slight smell of cat pee in some areas.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

peter michaud

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2013 peter would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful. My bus let me off at 4 am , they let me check in early. Clean ,comfortable and honest.

Disliked: If you want to be where the clubs are at then prepare to take a walk or small rail to bb area or golden triangle.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very cheap

Disliked: some bed bugs. my friend got some skin itchiness minutes after they lied down. good thing they transferred to a different bed and they changed the bedsheet

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Lukasz Brzozowski

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2013

Liked: It would be a nice place if (see dislike)

Disliked: Plenty of bedbugs. The two of us were terribly bitten all over the body. We left after the first night

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

luca santarcangelo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2013

Liked: the monorail station is just 100m away from the hostel

Disliked: the hostel was quite ok but in my room ( and even in the room in front of mine), there were bed bugs.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Julie Evans

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2013 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Good location to the metro link

Disliked: Julie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RONEL SEPDITANNE LONGULO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

09 January 2013 RONEL SEPDITANNE would recommend this property

Liked: easy for find

Disliked: notting

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ROLIZA MEDINA

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2012 ROLIZA would recommend this property

Liked: the proximity to Chow Kit Monorail station, the dining places, and the night market... owners/managers are friendly and accommodating... however, though guests can freely use the internet at the common area, wi-fi signal is NOT accessible in the two private rooms where we stayed. hot shower is only available at the common bathrooms, NOT in private bathrooms.

Disliked: ROLIZA left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2012

Liked: Value

Disliked: unfriendliness, uncooperative, everything about money, luggage policy of MR 3/5 per baggage per day,

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was clean and comfortable.

Disliked: We had only cold shower but it was not a big problem. In fact, it is a good beginning of the day!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A perfect cheap place to stay with many freebies. Locations is excellent, just 2 mins walk to the Monorail station. Will stay here again definitely. Highly recommended. staff always helpful, available 24 hours.

Disliked: Nothing really, all is good.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at cosmopolitan are all very friendly and helpful. It's clean, has air con and no bugs! It's right near a train station so it makes it really easy to travel around!

Disliked: Was a little bit difficult to find, would definately print off the map suggested to show your cab driver.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Blessie Jerrys Villegas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2012 Blessie Jerrys would recommend this property

Liked: Clean :) and friendly staff.

Disliked: Blessie Jerrys left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Chris Carey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 October 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Well equipped kitchen, comfy beds in private room with ac.

Disliked: Some staff need to learn how to smile, people outside hostel(a guy made lewd remarks to my girlfriend), lone female travellers should be careful in this area!!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Julia Greculescu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2012

Liked: Not much.

Disliked: The place is infected by bed bugs. I tried 4 different beds and all of them had bed bugs. There were also other people when i was there that also complained about the same thing. Also the hostel is located in a bad area of KL. Think twice before you book such a hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, safe, easy to navigate KL from location in Chow Kit. Showers on 3rd floor are better than 4th.

Disliked: Nothing really.

The property's response is...