We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Serai Inn & Hostel

Hostel | 2nd Floor, 62 Jalan Hang Lekiu, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia 50100

82.2% Overall Rating

205 out of 237 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/07/2013)

Nicole Chen thinks…

"The bathrooms were so clean; the hallways as well. I liked that there was free wifi. I liked the free (cooked!) breakfast; would stay there longer if I didn't have a flight to catch. :P Will probably…"

Read all Serai Inn & Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kuala Lumpur?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kuala Lumpur

Arenaa Mountbatten Hotel
10.77 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.2% 14 reviews
Chill Inn
21.34 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
14.63 USD

Hostel 93.7% 385 reviews
Leo Leisure Hotel
16.77 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Matahari Lodge
9.15 USD

Hostel 90.1% 628 reviews
Backhome KL
14.63 USD

Hostel 94.7% 45 reviews
Agosto Inn
7.62 USD

Guesthouse 81.6% 11 reviews
The Explorers Guesthouse
10.06 USD

Guesthouse 90.3% 71 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.2%

Overall Rating

205 out of 237 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Serai Inn & Hostel'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
92.0%
Value
78.4%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 193 of 197 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

10 July 2013 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The bathrooms were so clean; the hallways as well. I liked that there was free wifi. I liked the free (cooked!) breakfast; would stay there longer if I didn't have a flight to catch. :P Will probably stay again, since it's within walking distance from the bus terminal, and from the LRT station. The manager(?) was really friendly too, gave me helpful directions.

Disliked: nothing much really.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kevin Hughes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2012 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are tiny but ac is good.

Disliked: Kevin left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great value for the price you pay.Within walking distance to Chinatown(less than 10 minutes) Serai Inn offers very small,but also very clean rooms with AC.Most rooms have no windows. Also the common showers and toilets are clean.The helpful manager is great,he does everything for us.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Generally good. Staff were helpful. I appreciate their flexibility when we checked out early (spur of the moment decision to head to Thailand early) giving very little notice.

Disliked: Location wasn't great but transportation was close.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the common room and super friendly staff. Wifi internet was great too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: AC, good location

Disliked: i dont know if it's because it was low season, but that place was empty, so not good to make new friends!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff is very helpfull and friendly; aircon; good connected to public transportation

Disliked: Its common in hostels to use very thin walls between diff rooms. But so far this hostel has the thinnest I have seen

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Gabor Levai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2012 Gabor would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it's in a great location, very easy to travel to and all the sightseeing attractions are walking distance...

Disliked: We just called it the plastic hostel... The walls are made of plastic, so there is no privacy from the room next to you. no lockers in the rooms. Otherwise OK.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Yudha Indrawirawan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2011 Yudha would recommend this property

Liked: Strategic Locations, facilities : AC, hot water, free WiFi, breakfast, value for money

Disliked: Yudha left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Stevenson

As a family with children

Family Holiday

23 October 2011 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, the showers flowed at a nice speed and even had a nice hot shower. The beds were comfortable and the staff were very helpful and informative.

Disliked: The staff were not easily available at times but wasn't a huge issue.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

21 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is rather good...staff was very very helpful and they helped us in many ways.

Disliked: Rooms are too small and not comfortable enough..

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean even though there were some ants

Disliked: Very thin walls... One can hear everything in the next room or in the hall

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Si Jia yan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2011 Si Jia would recommend this property

Liked: cheap.staff is very nice.friendly.helpful.he gives me a lot of suggestion.very good.very very good. ^ ^

Disliked: dorm is not very clean

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lisa Firth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2011 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Nice common room and very helpful staff

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were extremely friendly and helpfull, super clean, great wee common area / outside rooftop spot

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lili Liu

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 May 2011 Lili would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place though very small room. Helpful staff. Very clean. Location is good.

Disliked: No lift. Had to drag my big suitcase up to third floor!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: See 2 above

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its a very good value hostal: location, cleanliness, good service for a good price.

Disliked: Maybe the wifi conection is not the best, cause falls down so many times. And the breakfast is ok, but could be much better with more food.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sarah Doble

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

22 April 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: This was a good stop over place. Connections to and from the airport (LCCT) from Serai is very good. and the directions given on hostel bookers was accurate and made everything easy. For a hostel it was fine. The staff was helpful and able to answer any questions.

Disliked: The walls are a little thin.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2011

Liked: helpful info, reasonable price

Disliked: noise, bumpy bed, small unhygenic bathroom

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

simon wills

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2011 simon would recommend this property

Liked: super friendly staff!

Disliked: was all good....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Vincent

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2011 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: staff were amazing made settling in to KL very helpful. Genuinly nice owners who spent 15 mins highlighting and advising on a map some ideas and sights 2 see on r visit. Great location 5 min walk to train 2 get about and we found out you could walk most sights straight from the here without any transport. Plus lliked clean bathrooms. Also liked that it included free wifi in rooms, breakfast, Air con very good and made returning back to room pleasant after the heat of KL. Also we arrived at 8 am and they (free of charge) stored are luggage so we could explore untill are rooms became available to check in :D

Disliked: room size a little small and basic but very clean and comfy beds. also the walls quite thin but noice level was fine on are stay. room only had one window looking out to corrirdor but privacy was fine with frosted glass and curtain. definitly good for the price.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

zarouri fatiha

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2011 zarouri would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, clean place

Disliked: No Windows , room walls very thin

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Damien Trevenen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

28 March 2011 Damien would recommend this property

Liked: Location really good, staff friendly and helpfull, clean, air con, Wi-Fi.... all you need really.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, clean rooms, free breakfast

Disliked: Smallish rooms and no en-suite bathrooms available.