We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia

92.7%
63 reviews Book Now 
1

masada backpacker

Hostel
No.9, 1st Flr,, Jalan Masjid Lama, Bandaran Berjaya, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia 88000

61 out of 63 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend masada backpacker

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 95% Facilities - 93% Safety - 95%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 93%
Luke Turner
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Luke would recommend this property 11 August 2014

This hostel is a great place to stay in kk... we actually travelled through 3 times and stayed here everytime! It is clean, tidy, has good sized rooms and decent wifi. The breakfasts are great and available all morning (most of the time all day too!). Good location within kk and easy to get around.

Georgia Layton
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
97.1%
Georgia would recommend this property 17 June 2014

Very clean, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful! They can give you small discounts for certain things such as boats out to the islands. The rooms are great, nice and clean with comfy beds.

91.2%
244 reviews Book Now 
2

The Lavender Lodge

Guesthouse
1st-3rd Floor, No.6 Jalan Laiman Diki, Kg. Air Sabah, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia 88804

239 out of 244 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Lavender Lodge

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 92% Facilities - 85% Safety - 93%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 92%
Claire Hurlstone
As a family with children
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture
68.6%
Claire would recommend this property 16 August 2014

Very central location. Good clean plain rooms.Helpful staff.Simple breakfast included. Good as a base.

Marius Novak
With friends / other travellers
City break
91.4%
Marius would recommend this property 07 August 2014

Es war wie beschrieben, doch wer ein Hostel wie man es aus Europa kennt erwartet wird man enteuscht. Es ist mehr wie ein kleines Hotel, aber dafür sehr lobenswert. Wer einen großen Aufenthaltsraum erwartet wird entäuscht. Aber ganz ehrlich für diesen Preis ist mehr als genug geboten. Ich kann es wirklich empfehlen wenn man KK den Tag über besuchen und nachts was sicheres sauberes und gutes zum unterkommen brauch.

85.5%
12 reviews Book Now 
3

Tempurung Seaside Lodge

Hostel
Tempurung Village, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia 88200

10 out of 12 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Tempurung Seaside Lodge

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 90% Facilities - 78% Safety - 91%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 75%
Melissa Wood
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing
88.6%
Melissa would recommend this property 23 October 2011

After a busy couple of weeks climbing Mount Kinabula and visiting the rain forest this is the perfect place to come and relax, chill out and do absolutely nothing. The 1.5 hour transfer is worth it - you completely get away from the hustle from KK and the sea breeze is nice and refreshing. The beach is absolutely beautiful and lovely and quiet and all the rooms have a great sea view. The staff are incredibly friendly and the food was delicious!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 26 June 2011

peaceful, quite place to escape from the world, hidden paradise, friendly stuff, awesome meals, especially the vegetarian ones

83.3%
63 reviews Book Now 
4

North Borneo Cabin

Apartment
1st and 2nd Floor,, No.74, Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia 88000

57 out of 63 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend North Borneo Cabin

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 84% Facilities - 78% Safety - 83%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 81% Value - 87%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 12 December 2012

Staff was very very nice and helpful. The girl at the reception called a lot of tour operators when a made a last minute decision to want to climb mount kinabalu so I got the best deal. Breakfast and fast wifi included.

Dexter Silva
Alone
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation/spa
94.3%
Dexter would recommend this property 27 November 2010

I would like to share simple lines to people who are planning for their vacation to Malaysia to hang up your travel stay in North Borneo Cavin. Staffs were so approachable and fun to talk with. It seemed like your just roaming around in a space not like no other than a home. Thanks for the great service and hello to my Pinay and Malayans friends working in the aforementioned Hostel...Hi to Nanay an old nice Malayan woman for taking pictures.....Go their folks!

80.4%
23 reviews Book Now 
5

Step~in Lodge Sdn Bhd

Hostel
1st-3rd Floors, Lot 1 Block L, Sinsuran Complex, Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia 88000

19 out of 23 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Step~in Lodge Sdn Bhd

Atmosphere - 74% Staff - 80% Facilities - 75% Safety - 84%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 83% Value - 77%
Customer review
Alone
City break
74.3%
Customer would recommend this property 27 September 2013

They have big bathroom and washroom, Provide nice coffee and unlimited hot and cold drinking water.

CLARK MCCOLGAN
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
CLARK would recommend this property 26 January 2013

Proximity to everything, light breakfast included, this helps if have early morning tour etc. We went to Tawau stayed in 4* and received bad service, rip off food prices and depressing atmosphere! I wish I could take Step in Lodge every where l go. It has an open air feel with comfortable couches to rest on and chat with other travellers. The staff couldn't be more helpful. It's the only place l would stay in KK! We actually came back and stayed 4 nights more.

80.1%
163 reviews Book Now 
6

Akinabalu Youth Hostel

Hostel
1st, 2nd, 3rd 4th Floor, Lot 133, Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia 88000

138 out of 163 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Akinabalu Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 76% Facilities - 78% Safety - 82%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 79% Value - 80%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 18 July 2014

Really nice social area with TV and DVDs. Loads of places to sit and it was very full the night I stayed. Good for solo travellers.

Matthew Beardsley
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway
88.6%
Matthew would recommend this property 18 April 2014

3 min walk from main bus area. Very central to shops, travel agents etc. Staff very friendly and helpful.

79.8%
17 reviews Book Now 
7

X-Plorer Backpackers

Hostel
1st floor, No 106 / 108, Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia 88800

13 out of 17 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend X-Plorer Backpackers

Atmosphere - 72% Staff - 83% Facilities - 68% Safety - 84%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 71% Value - 83%
Lee Feng Quan
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
91.4%
Lee would recommend this property 25 March 2014

Liked the over-looking balcony on the second level into the carpark and the late night live performances , bar and band nearby . Central local in Kinabalu for tourist .

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 16 July 2013

Good economy choice in the heart of the tourist section. Nice rooms in terms of decor though they could use a place to put your clothes and such. Outdoor seating area. Lots of food choices, bars, banks etc nearby. They do a good job setting you up on tours.

79.1%
34 reviews Book Now 
8

D'villa Rina Ria Lodge

Guesthouse
Kundasang, Ranau, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia 89308

29 out of 34 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend D'villa Rina Ria Lodge

Atmosphere - 79% Staff - 81% Facilities - 74% Safety - 76%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 70% Value - 79%
Ross Boaden
As a family with children
Family Holiday
94.3%
Ross would recommend this property 06 January 2014

Clean, comfortable, great location close to national park, awesome views from balcony, friendly and staff. great atmosphere, good restaurant.

Steven Evans
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
68.6%
Steven would recommend this property 02 October 2013

Nice jungle location. The views were great. The hammocks were comfortable. The longhouse dorm was really beautiful and the bunks were spaced well apart.

78.2%
19 reviews Book Now 
9

Rainforest Lodge

Guesthouse
Lot 48 Ground Floor & 1st Flr., Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia 88000

13 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Rainforest Lodge

Atmosphere - 71% Staff - 83% Facilities - 75% Safety - 81%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 65% Value - 77%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
48.6%
12 January 2013

Good location in town. If you're in Borneo to party, and not experience the wonders, then this is a great place.

Angie Lemmer
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Angie would recommend this property 30 June 2012

You couldn't want a better spot. In the middle of everything that you could ever need for a fun & interesting time in Kota Kinabalu. I have stayed in a few places in KK & you can't beat it for the location. The staff are friendly & very helpful. Due to the awesome location it can be a little noisy around the Rainforest Lodge so bear that in mind, me I thought it was the ultimate :)

76.9%
10 reviews Book Now 
10

Hotel Holiday

1 star Hotel
Lot 1 and 2, Block F, Segama Shopping Complex, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia .

9 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel Holiday

Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 90% Facilities - 66% Safety - 78%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 76% Value - 80%
Suzanne Balima
82.9%
Suzanne would recommend this property 14 March 2010

It's onveniently located, and cheap for what it offered.It was pretty clean too. Although our flush had a little problem...

James Paterson
85.7%
James would recommend this property 22 April 2008

Centrally located, very friendly and helpful staff, walking distance to water front, market, ferry pier to islands, and other close by attractions in KK.

Kota Kinabalu

25 Hostels from 4.57 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Kota Kinabalu hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Kota Kinabalu. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.