We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Twin Pines

Hostel | No 2, Jalan Mentigi, Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands, Malaysia 39000

78.1% Overall Rating

121 out of 154 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/04/2014)

"The location was OK. It is near the bus station, the main road and the night market."

Read all Twin Pines reviews

Facilities

  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 1.52
  • Towel USD 0.61

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Our guest house consists of 2 buildings (old and new block) which are about 300 metres from each other. Depending on your booking, your room can be in either building. You will be advised during check-in

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cameron Highlands?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.1%

Overall Rating

121 out of 154 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Twin Pines'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
82.4%
Value
78.4%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 111 of 119 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laszlo Szigetvari

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Laszlo would recommend this property

Liked: Good accomodation for backpackers.

Disliked: Lack of warm water in a morning.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Showers were ice cold Bathrooms were gross, toilets were blocked and overflowing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hannah Rowley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 June 2014 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Great value, nice clean rooms and a great garden area

Disliked: The outside fountain can disturb your sleep but earplugs worked for us

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was OK. It is near the bus station, the main road and the night market.

Disliked: It's was quite old.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erica Vaught

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2014 Erica would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly staff, in the center of town

Disliked: the walls are paper thin so you can hear everything and everyone around you, it sounds like they are in the room with you

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Vigliotti

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was lovely with a beautiful melting pot of guests and a courteous staff. The facilities were what you can expect for the price and were on par with typical southeast Asian hostels. Only a block from the main street, Twin Pines served as a perfect home base for our adventures in the Cameron Highlands. A quaint canopied social and dining area was a great shelter from the rains and a nice spot to chat with other travelers. The breakfast fare was great value for our money too!

Disliked: The building needed some repair. Rainwater was seeping through a ceiling tile and down to our electrical outlet and light switch, which caused me some small concern, but repairs to some of the leaky spots were underway even as we stayed there.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2014

Liked: Helpful staff

Disliked: Thin walls. Private twin room was not nice.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Schöner gemütlicher Garten, gut zum erholen!

Disliked: Undichte Fenster; wenn auf der Terrasse gesprochen wurde war es sehr laut im Zimmer zu hören

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For the money the place was clean and tidy does what i needs to.

Disliked: The walls are very thin here take earplugs.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: center of city

Disliked: no free wifi

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nicola Heeley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2013 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Unsure about staff, only sold breakfast

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite clean for a hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The girl who works at reception is sooo friendly and chatty. The room was clean and they cleaner sprayed down the room with repellant to get rid of the mozzies. The garden is nice to sit around in. It is quite easy to find this location and it is also away from the main street so you can avoid the noise of the town.

Disliked: Breakfast is quite expensive, but nicely prepared.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Pugh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: There were plenty of showers and toilets for rooms without facilities. Not all the showers had hot water though and hot water is appreciated in this cool climate. The manageress was incredibly helpful.

Disliked: They have a beautiful garden but they are a bit picky about bringing in outside food and drink, despite having a very limited menu. A good policy for guest houses should be, "If we don't sell it, bring it in".

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price and location. Staff were very friendly also.

Disliked: The accom is very basic but otherwise ok. We found our room to be a bit noisy, the shower in our room had no hot water and the chef didn't know what French toast was (despite is being on the menu).

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, lovely garden

Disliked: The staff couldn't organise themselves out of a paper bag. Truly hopeless

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Basic rooms for what you need when you are spending most of your day out trekking.

Disliked: Charges for wifi etc and general dull character.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jing wei Zheng

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Jing wei would recommend this property

Liked: the location is quite good, in the middle of the town. besides, it has a nice garden, which make you feel quite comfortable.

Disliked: does not offer breakfast, and even a coffee charges money. moreover, the quilt is too thin.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susan Blythe-Goodman

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

19 July 2012 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: The amazing staff.

Disliked: Susan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MOHD EZUAN HUSNI

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

09 July 2012 MOHD EZUAN would recommend this property

Liked: persekitaran & kebersihan

Disliked: MOHD EZUAN left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2012

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful. I had left my hiking shoes outside and it started raining so I went outside to move them only to see one lady putting them in the sheltered area. That was very considerate of her. And we got towels

Disliked: It was very dark and very basic. Also not particularly clean. I have stayed in better places forthe same amount of money. I have also stayed in less comfy places but the overall impression was better.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, lots of backpackers, nice atmosphere

Disliked: bed sheets weren' t clean

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: definitely situated in a good location! takes only 5 minutes walk to reach the bus and taxi terminal. It offers a cheap and affordable price.

Disliked: The blankets look old and quite dirty...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

PEI CHAO CHEN

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2012 PEI CHAO would recommend this property

Liked: friendly stuff

Disliked: room is too small , roon and bathroom is not clean, no water and kitchen for travellers

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Douglas Newby

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2012 Douglas would recommend this property

Liked: looks scary on the outside but has a nice patios, horrible bathrooms, but good location

Disliked: Douglas left no negative feedback.