HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of A Hostel Vilnius Hostel

Sodu str. 8, Sodu str. 17, Vilnius, Lithuania

Atmosphere 63%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 60%

Location 86%

Safety 69%

Staff 74%

Value 75%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vilnius?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 63%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 60%

Location 86%

Safety 69%

Staff 74%

Value 75%

Showing 1-10 of 29 reviews

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Shopping

Liked: No positive expirience

Disliked: Everything was disappointing.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: n/a

Disliked: room

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: nothing

Disliked: I didn't get a towel. in fact I didn't even get blanket cover

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Definitely the location as he hostel is 2 minutes walk from the coach station. The staff was helpful although spoke very poor English.

Disliked: Bathroom was a bit messy and there was a problem with the shower. Strange noises during the night - my roommate said it was probably a mouse or a bat somewhere between the walls.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: The best thing about this property - and admittedly the reason I stayed - was the uniqueness of the pod beds. They were amazingly cosy and comfortable, each with it's own reading light and wall outlet. The rest of the property was like a throwback to the 70s in terms of decor - it was a funky place to stay, that's for sure! It takes only a few minutes to walk to the bus/train station and just on the edge of Old Town so the location can't be beat! A large grocery store is within a five-minute walk.

Disliked: There was no place to cook in the tiny kitchen. Although there were two refrigerators there was only a microwave and a kettle but no stovetop. Some of the staff seemed a bit gruff and unfriendly.

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: It is near the train / bus station. The dorm room was clean and the pod beds are novel.

Disliked: When I arrived I went to no. 8 across the street and was told I had to go to a building across the road because I had booked a 12 dorm bed. They gave me terrible directions and didn't help me find it! The dark-haired lady on the reception when I finally find it was friendly and spoke good English, but she didn't offer any suggestions of places to visit or engage with guests, which was my experience of Monk's Bunk in Kaunas and Jimmy Jumps in Vilnius and is a nice welcome. I couldn't get the shower to work in the morning and didn't feel comfortable asking the grumpy blonde on the reception desk. I later asked her if I could leave a bag to pick up later and she finally agreed I could (costs 3 litas to rent a padlock plus 10 litas deposit). Also be prepared to have cash on you for the deposit for bed linen and towel (I overheard the lady in the morning getting into an argument over 1 litas with another guest mainly because there was a language barrier). I stayed in the basement, which felt depressing as there was very little natural light. The kitchen only had a fridge, toaster and kettle (no cooker or microwave). The hallways were dirty (a "shoes off" policy would help with this). The only reason to stay here is because it is near the station. However, you are better off walking a further 10 minutes and staying at Jimmy Jumps.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: it was cheap and close to bus/train stations and not far from old town

Disliked: poor first impression, did not appear to know we were coming. Told our room was not available, showed us two other rooms before then confirming our room was indeed available.showers not great. Not that clean and the auto.shower stops switching on after a few.switches. Room extremely hot.

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Not much

Disliked: HORRIBLE! No warm shower! Extremally unhelpful stuff, they felt insulted by my demand of hot water in the shower! Room smelly, old furniture, mold on the walls and ceilings. Worst hostel I have ever been to. Don't go especially in the winter time, unless freezing cold shower is what you enjoy normally.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cleanliness and location

Disliked: None

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping

Liked: yes

Disliked: no

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability