HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Vilnius hostel

Hostel | Sodu str. 8, Vilnius, Lithuania 03211

71.4% Overall Rating

86 out of 124 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/09/2014)

Susan Lee thinks…

"The best thing about this property - and admittedly the reason I stayed - was the uniqueness of the pod beds. They were amazingly cosy and comfortable, each with it's own reading light and wall…"

Read all Vilnius hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Vilnius?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Vilnius

Hotel Panorama
30.99 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.6% 18 reviews
B&B Florens
18.34 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 98 reviews
Comfort Vilnius Hotel
37.32 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.3% 5 reviews
Hotel Alexa
34.67 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
A Hostel
12.52 USD

Hostel 60.9% 446 reviews
Hotel Rudninku Vartai
32.85 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 86.9% 12 reviews
Hostel Jamaika
11.39 USD

Hostel 88.8% 27 reviews
Mikotel
21.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.4%

Overall Rating

86 out of 124 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Vilnius hostel'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
72.8%
Value
76.0%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 95 of 118 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Susan Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

19 September 2014 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about this property - and admittedly the reason I stayed - was the uniqueness of the pod beds. They were amazingly cosy and comfortable, each with it's own reading light and wall outlet. The rest of the property was like a throwback to the 70s in terms of decor - it was a funky place to stay, that's for sure! It takes only a few minutes to walk to the bus/train station and just on the edge of Old Town so the location can't be beat! A large grocery store is within a five-minute walk.

Disliked: There was no place to cook in the tiny kitchen. Although there were two refrigerators there was only a microwave and a kettle but no stovetop. Some of the staff seemed a bit gruff and unfriendly.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Adrianna Michna

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2014 Adrianna would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely the location as he hostel is 2 minutes walk from the coach station. The staff was helpful although spoke very poor English.

Disliked: Bathroom was a bit messy and there was a problem with the shower. Strange noises during the night - my roommate said it was probably a mouse or a bat somewhere between the walls.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

DarrenDarko El Gonzo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2014 DarrenDarko would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and central, walking distance to all the centre attractions and station. Plenty of showers for everyone to use. A super funky kitchen area to chill with a drink. At first i was a little apprehensive about the capsule beds but actually they were quite nice, with a light in each one and power socket.

Disliked: there were a few locals staying here who erm, shall i say werent exactly the backpacking type, an alcoholic who drank all day. Another old man was led in at one point and was a homeless tramp, comlete with stinking filthy clothes and beard, stumbling around. they laid him in bed and he slept. Im not especially complaining here, i like a bit of weirdness and a good oddball or whatever, but this guy was a tramp and i wasnt too happy about sharing a room with him!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Raman Bondarau

Alone

Shopping

19 July 2014 Raman would recommend this property

Liked: yes

Disliked: no

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Caedmon Gould

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 July 2014

Liked: It is near the train / bus station. The dorm room was clean and the pod beds are novel.

Disliked: When I arrived I went to no. 8 across the street and was told I had to go to a building across the road because I had booked a 12 dorm bed. They gave me terrible directions and didn't help me find it! The dark-haired lady on the reception when I finally find it was friendly and spoke good English, but she didn't offer any suggestions of places to visit or engage with guests, which was my experience of Monk's Bunk in Kaunas and Jimmy Jumps in Vilnius and is a nice welcome. I couldn't get the shower to work in the morning and didn't feel comfortable asking the grumpy blonde on the reception desk. I later asked her if I could leave a bag to pick up later and she finally agreed I could (costs 3 litas to rent a padlock plus 10 litas deposit). Also be prepared to have cash on you for the deposit for bed linen and towel (I overheard the lady in the morning getting into an argument over 1 litas with another guest mainly because there was a language barrier). I stayed in the basement, which felt depressing as there was very little natural light. The kitchen only had a fridge, toaster and kettle (no cooker or microwave). The hallways were dirty (a "shoes off" policy would help with this). The only reason to stay here is because it is near the station. However, you are better off walking a further 10 minutes and staying at Jimmy Jumps.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014

Liked: it was cheap and close to bus/train stations and not far from old town

Disliked: poor first impression, did not appear to know we were coming. Told our room was not available, showed us two other rooms before then confirming our room was indeed available. showers not great. Not that clean and the auto.shower stops switching on after a few.switches. Room extremely hot.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Lukasz Garbera

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 January 2014

Liked: Not much

Disliked: HORRIBLE! No warm shower! Extremally unhelpful stuff, they felt insulted by my demand of hot water in the shower! Room smelly, old furniture, mold on the walls and ceilings. Worst hostel I have ever been to. Don't go especially in the winter time, unless freezing cold shower is what you enjoy normally.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness and location

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ron Lavit

With my spouse / partner

Shopping

21 October 2013 Ron would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money.Close to railstation.

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and decent rooms.

Disliked: The name on hostel is AAA Hostel and not Vilnius hostel so it was a bit confusing to find it. Sound isolation was not so good so from early morning sounds in the corridor wakes u up.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Steve Pabst

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2013 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: was cheap

Disliked: no lockers for storage

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Corrin Walters

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2013 Corrin would recommend this property

Liked: The pod beds are quite cool, it is easy walking distance to all the main sights and the train and bus stations.

Disliked: The staff were a bit unfriendly

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Andrei Lazuk

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

01 August 2013

Liked: Located near the Railstation

Disliked: Everything is old, broken and dirty sometimes.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Viacheslav Radionov

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 July 2013 Viacheslav would recommend this property

Liked: Simple hostel near the railway station: cheap, clean, with dfferent interesting rooms

Disliked: Some of the rooms on the second floor has a very low ceiling (attic), and you can accidentally hit a head

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ELENA RYCHKOVA GALINA RYCHKOVA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 ELENA RYCHKOVA would recommend this property

Liked: Близко к ж-д вокзалу. Есть кухня, холодильник (можно положить свои продукты).

Disliked: Все номера находятся на 2-м этаже, куда ведет очень крутая лестница. Если у вас неподъёмный чемодан -- это реальная проблема!

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jade Halford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013

Liked: It was close to the train station so we could quickly escape.

Disliked: Everything

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eric Mas Casas

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2013 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: close to bus and train station 5 minutes to the old town

Disliked: not very clean bathrooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

marian lucey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2013 marian would recommend this property

Liked: You coulddnt get a hostel closer to the bus/train station and still a short walk into town. Staff very nice. Funky lay out of beds. Very safe big storage for belonging s.

Disliked: Only one shower and toilet working upstairs. We stayed in the sister hostel to the main one so there was less of an athmosphere.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Zdravko Grigorov

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

21 June 2013 Zdravko would recommend this property

Liked: Its located very close to the bus station and far away from the Old Town.

Disliked: It was a bit dirty, but not so bad for the money you pay.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kevin Joaquin Seedorf Medina

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 June 2013

Liked: Location and price is fairly good

Disliked: Staff was not very helpful and in the mornings they were yelling. Also the kitchen is in such a bad condition and the decoration is just terrible.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: japanese style bed-pods were the best! :-)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful

Disliked: Some rooms looked old. Furnitures in the corridor.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Vilnius busstation. Quite clean and comfortable room.

Disliked: Located in a basement so no daylight at all. Bed linen were rather worn out.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Michael Haxby

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The pod beds do provide a fair bit of privacy, good location very close to the train and bus station and within 10 min walk of the center,

Disliked: the stupid automatic showers and stand infront of the shower and it should come on stand still for 2 seconds and it goes off again. when i arrived they said that they had no idea of my booking even though i made it two months before and i had my reservation to prove it so for one night i had to have a fold out bed in the corner of a room full with school kids

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds really cool and comfortable. Good for crew of crazy young ppl.

Disliked: They have not possibilty to leave suitcase in hostel after check out and Bathroom.