HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Kaunas hostels

Reviews of R Hostel

Hostel | Vytauto pr 83, Kaunas, Lithuania 44238

95.1% Overall Rating

82 out of 83 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/05/2014)

CHANG MIN LEE thinks…

"i stayed at R hostel for 3days. it was nice stay and stuffs were very helped. location is really nice..from bus station just walk for 10mins easy to find hostel. and i can go main church just 1…"

Read all R Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 7.75
  • Towel USD 1.36

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kaunas?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kaunas

Litinterp Kaunas
23.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Daniela
60.42 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
The Monk's Bunk Kaunas
13.28 USD

Hostel 96.9% 145 reviews
Hotel SFINKSAS
77.53 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Metropolis Hotel
23.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.1% 190 reviews
Hotel Alanta
38.76 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Babilon
27.91 USD

Hotel 83.3% 6 reviews
Solo B&B
32.95 USD

Guesthouse 92.4% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.1%

Overall Rating

82 out of 83 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'R Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
99.2%
Staff
96.0%
Value
96.8%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 74 of 80 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CHANG MIN LEE

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 CHANG MIN would recommend this property

Liked: i stayed at R hostel for 3days. it was nice stay and stuffs were very helped. location is really nice..from bus station just walk for 10mins easy to find hostel. and i can go main church just 1 block from hostel. Kaunas is small city you can walk everywhere. this only one..first night there was many children hard to hang out and relax. but it is not their fault.. Thanks to all stuff

Disliked: CHANG MIN left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jozef papcun

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2014 jozef would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpfull staff, good location, cleanliness. I would stay again.

Disliked: jozef left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

vadym makovetskyi

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

02 April 2014 vadym would recommend this property

Liked: hostel is nice and cleane. the guy on reception helped me a lot

Disliked: vadym left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Petrie

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

11 December 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostel stays we have ever had, they arranged a hotel pick up for us and had a 24 pack of beer waiting for us when we got there. We stayed for two nights and showed us all of the good bars to drink in which were really good and quite cheap. The staff here are the best, with great advice about where to go, leading us adapters as we had forgotten to bring them. They even let us sleep in a bit on the last day as we had a later flight out of town. The guy and girl were the nicest people in the world!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marco Boerner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2013 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my time in Kaunas, planned only to stay for a few days, turned out to be two weeks. Met amazing people, locals, other travelers. Enjoyed the nightlife, experienced how crazy Kaunas and Lithuania can be, and always had a 'home' at R Hostel where to come back to, usually in the early morning hours. Thanks to all the staff for the great time!

Disliked: I wish there would be an R Hostel in every city I would travel to! ; )

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big dorms rooms, very clean, helpful staff, really close to both the bus station and only a 10min walk into the old town

Disliked: No oven in Kitchen

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Neil Johnson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2013 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, modern, bright, airy and comfortable. A nice roof terrace.

Disliked: It was a bit too quiet for my liking; i felt it lacked a sociable atmosphere though of course that has as much to do with the other guests as the hostel itself.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Corrin Walters

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2013 Corrin would recommend this property

Liked: Then was quite a lot of space in the dorms there were not too many people crammed in

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place to stay!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chieh Fang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Chieh would recommend this property

Liked: internet access, and staffs are friendly and helpful!

Disliked: Chieh left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zdravko Grigorov

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2013 Zdravko would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, clean and comfortable beds, pretty nice location!

Disliked: Zdravko left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything! the best hostel I have ever stayed in! :-) very nice rooms, this hostel has a really beautiful character and atmosphere, very well equipped and the staff was very friendly and helpful!

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a lovely place to stay. Welcoming, clean adn felt instantly at home. The clientele may be out for partying but they were very quiet returning at night.. Kitchen is small but has everythign needed, place to sit/read/play table football. really impressive.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were upgraded from a private double room to a two bed apartment for free which was fantastic, ir was very clean, comfortable and spacious! The guy who checked us in was fantastic, very cheerful and helpful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

João Maia

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2013 João would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, who allowed me and my friends to crash in the waiting room of the hostel and sleep there when we arrived at 7 am! Rooms are very spacious, and our room, for 12 people, had a large oak table in the center, ideal for meals. Staff didn't mind us partying until very late. In addition you can even sign the walls of the corridor and leave a permanent sign of your passage through the hostel.

Disliked: Very tiny kitchen and only two showers for the whole hostel would be a definite downside. Also the location, that despite being close to the train and bus stations is kind of far of the city centre.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Vernone

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2013 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff. Free printing was great. We were in a private double/twin and had a tv and dvd selection!

Disliked: The kitchen was tiny and only had 1 hot plate and microwave I can imagine that would be a problem when busier. There was only 1 computer, again could be a problem when busy.The double that was advertised was actually 2 singles pushed together. Although this is often the case in hostels and usually not too much of an issue, they were metal beds on laminate floor so constantly slid apart.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in hostel apartment/studio just around the corner which was modern, clean and right on the main street in Kaunas. Run by the delightful Tony and Vilma who were happy to help us and give us tips and also took us for a night on the town. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice and friendly service, cozy place and very stylish decoration.

Disliked: I would have liked to have Student discount.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neil Sargent

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 November 2012 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: We did not stay at the R Hostel we stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment(owned by R Hostel) in the old town close to restaurants pubs and clubs..Not far to the new town about 20 minutes walk where R hostel was situated also close to pubs and clubs and very close to the new shopping mall.Big thanks to Willa for picking us up and dropping us back very early in the morning and showing us around..

Disliked: Neil left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gerald bailey

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

17 October 2012 gerald would recommend this property

Liked: excellent staff vilma showed me about and all the questions i asked she allways answered with a smile

Disliked: n/a

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great dorms, nice communal spaces. Friendly staff who also printed my tickets for me!

Disliked: The kitchen is minuscule!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, nice commonspaces to chill out, including the roof terrace!

Disliked: Well, it is a quiet place, but then again I think it's because the city is so small.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Charlotte Hutchison

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 September 2012 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: This place has character, great staff and a rooftop terrace. It is close to the bus station, you can easily walk there. It is a little further from the old town but still definitely walkable.

Disliked: The dorm room is on a very busy noisy road which is a bit unfortunate. The maps the hostel provides are pretty poor too.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roman Herda

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2012 Roman would recommend this property

Liked: everything, probably the best hostel I ever stayed. Terrace, staff, facilities, everything was perfect

Disliked: everything


See all Kaunas hostels