We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Schaan hostels

Reviews of Schaan-Vaduz FL Youth Hostel

Hostel | Untere Rüttigasse 6, Schaan, Liechtenstein 9494

74.6% Overall Rating

71 out of 82 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/08/2013)

"It has a nice yard, with hammocks and a small football pitch; the breakfast was ample; it was well-enough located, just a 5min walk from the bus station. Staff were friendly, and the place was very safe feeling.…"

Read all Schaan-Vaduz FL Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Prices correspond to guests with member card. Member card for one day CHF 6.- per pers./night or CHF 12.- per family/night. Please do not reply to this e-mail. This message was generated automatically for your information. Hostel contact details schaan@youthhostel.ch Tel: +42 3 232 50 22

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Schaan?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.6%

Overall Rating

71 out of 82 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Schaan-Vaduz FL Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
75.2%
Value
61.6%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 62 of 65 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Brian Ludwig

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014

Liked: They served breakfast, which is nice, seeing as it isn't close to anything.

Disliked: Just about everything. Price was high (although everything else in the area is higher), the hostel itself had the feel of a mental hospital....very cold and institutional. Staff was not friendly and while they did answer questions and help out, it seemed very forced. Could not escape soon enough!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Good beds

Disliked: Check in hours aren't really long

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean

Disliked: Expensive

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a nice yard, with hammocks and a small football pitch; the breakfast was ample; it was well-enough located, just a 5min walk from the bus station. Staff were friendly, and the place was very safe feeling. Overall, I had a pleasant enough stay.

Disliked: Very institutional atmosphere. It is also very overpriced compared to the rest of Europe! Also, no guest kitchen, which is particularly annoying in such an expensive country, where it would be really nice to cook for oneself. Mattresses are very bad.... Walls are also thin, so the sound of other guests carries through them.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Property was clean and breakast was included

Disliked: Kinda on the outskirts of town.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

christopher daniels

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2012 christopher would recommend this property

Liked: This is a typical Youth Hostel style hostel. Quite big, well organised, clean and with good facilities. Excellent breakfast and very good games room with pool table. Good views of the mountains too! As this is the only hostel in the town (I think also in the whole country), then your only choice is to stay here anyway ; )

Disliked: The reception only opens after 5 pm!! - this can make things difficult if you arrive earlier in the afternoon. There wasn't much atmosphere when I was there - but there were only a few people there at the time so maybe this isn't always the case.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Trista Phillips

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Trista would recommend this property

Liked: Stunning views

Disliked: The directions were pretty poor. When you get off at the bus stop it said "walk 5 mins" which isn't clear enough and had to ask for directions. After getting off the bus, head toward the traffic lights and turn left. Follow this road and turn right at the cows then first left. Hostel is on the eight of this street.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jeff Olshan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 Jeff would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast on Saturday was great. Clean and secure, cheap for Lichtenstein

Disliked: The reception hours are crap. The staff is not the friendliest and are rather curt. Breakfast on Sunday was lacking the same spread and not replenished after things ran out. And even for Lichtenstein it`s not really near to anything else. Also internet was 4.50 Swiss Francs and hour! Get real people. Internet is free in the best hostels (or a euro an hour), this is not one of them.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Vincent Bullard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2012

Liked: It was in an excellent area, right between Schaan and Vaduz, on the edge of the city and right next to some pleasant farmland. The building is a large, comfortable structure and the common rooms are very nice. The complementary breakfast in the morning is awesome (mix of different meats, cheese, fresh bread, fresh jam and butter, many different cereals with milk and yogurt, juice, coffee), there are secure lockers for your valuables, each bunk has it's own individual light/ power outlet.

Disliked: First of all, the reception area is ONLY open from 5pm to 9pm? 4 hours per day... are you KIDDING me? I have never even heard of anything like that. It's terrible. I arrived there at 3:30pm, and there was nobody around to even help me put my luggage somewhere, let alone check me in. For the preposterous prices you pay for this hostel, this complete lack of service for all but what amounts to 7 hours per day (it's also open from 8-10am) is outrageous. The counter woman was unfriendly and seemed to take great pleasure in telling me my YHA card was expired and i'd have to pay 6 Francs PER DAY fee, in addition to the already ridiculous cost of the hostel. So I ended up paying nearly 40 US dollars per night for a dorm bed, which I just still can't believe. There was also no kitchen, and the internet was terribly slow, when it worked at all. For a hostel this expensive, you would expect a heck of a lot more.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good complimentary breakfast

Disliked: Not very easy to find. It is really 5 min walk from a bus stop but direction should be clearly described.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel. Nice city.

Disliked: A little far of Vaduz. Lobby is not open between 11 and 17hs.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was lovely, with nice views over the Swiss Alps. Only a 15 minute walk to Schaan or Vaduz, or frequent buses to both. The hostel is really spacious, with lots of social space, large dorms with full sized lockers (no padlock required) and the breakfast buffet is one of the best I've ever seen at a hostel. There is wifi (which must be a new feature given previous comments) which is free but rather slow and erratic. Still, better than nothing. The receptionist was kind enough to lend me an adaptor for the sockets as they don't use the standard European plug here - my normal adaptor wouldn't fit.

Disliked: If I hadn't have printed off a map it would have been very difficult to find based on the directions provided. The opening times of reception are rather restrictive - only open between 5 and 9pm for check in, which is rather annoying. Rather strick breakfast times - I had to leave to catch a bus at 7:30am so asked if I could grab something quickly from the half-set up buffet at 7:20 but was told I would have to wait until 7:30, so I had to miss breakfast that day. Hostel seems expensive for what it was. But it is still probably the cheapest place in the country.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kylie Watson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2011 Kylie would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and quiet, good breakfast

Disliked: Opening hours of reception, location was far from town!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Robert

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: free parking lot, wifi, and brekfest, calm

Disliked: a little bit in middle of nowhere,

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a good breakfast. My niece cannot eat anything with gluten in it, but there were enough other things that she could eat.

Disliked: The directions to the hostel were difficult to follow.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lieuwe Boersma

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 April 2011 Lieuwe would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has one of the best views of all the hostels I have visited so far. Got a free upgrade from a 6-bed to a 2-bed room.

Disliked: Its quite far away from the city center

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

David Pos

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: The huge showers and warm rooms.

Disliked: The 5pm check in time. The unfriendly staff.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, good breakfast, comfort.

Disliked: Very expensive for the offered services: there was no WiFi but a internet station (quite expensive) instead; there was no kitchen service, and the dinning room was closed at 9 pm.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, breakfast included in price...

Disliked: Bed's are too short, no WI-FI...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vladimir Plazinic

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2010 Vladimir would recommend this property

Liked: clean and safe

Disliked: unkindly Staff

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aaron Walker

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2010 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: A very clean and bright building, very impressive. I was especially impressed with the positive attitude of the staff and locals. The whole area and this hostel in particular felt like the safest place in the world.

Disliked: It was overall very positive. If I had to pick one negative feature it would be that the location is a bit tricky at first without a map. There are no obvious signs. The locals are extremely helpful though and printing a map voids this problem.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jackie Harris

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2010 Jackie would recommend this property

Liked: It was a decent hostel. I would stay there again if I were in Lichtenstein.

Disliked: The front desk is closed between 10 am and 5 pm so if you need anything between those times or want to rent a bike or something you're out of luck,

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds have individual lights and outlets. Beautiful views.

Disliked: A bit difficult to find, a little far from city center, but not terrible.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

17 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its a typical YHA where there are more families and school groups around than backpackers. The breakfast was fantastic and the place is very well set up and very clean. The location is pretty easy to get to and the buses in Liechtenstein are really easy to use. They even have a fridge and jug to boil water which is handy if you are on a budget.It was a nice enough hostel and the only one in Liechtenstein so I was pretty happy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Kate Sullivan

12 May 2010 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: It was very difficult to find as the signs are small and not so easy to understand. Once we had arrived the remaining amount we owed was more than the website stated, because we had to pay an amount because we weren't not a YHA member (but this means breakfast is included) and you also have to pay a tax to stay in Liechtenstein.Facilities were clean and the staff helpful.

Disliked: Kate left no negative feedback.


See all Schaan hostels