HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Riga hostels
See all Riga hotels

Reviews of Riga Style Hostel

Hostel | Alfrēda Kalniņa street 4 - 11, Top floor, Riga, Latvia -

87.3% Overall Rating

45 out of 48 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/07/2013)

"Our ensuite room had great decor. Staff were friendly and helpful with ideas for what we could do and see. Hostel is bright, cheerful and clean. Great location near old town and bus, railway station."

Read all Riga Style Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Riga?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Riga

Cheap & Good Apartments
13.61 USD

Apartment 70.7% 12 reviews
Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel
12.43 USD

Hostel 94.3% 230 reviews
Big Bed Hostel
7.00 USD

Hostel 68.9% 10 reviews
Riga Hostel
7.25 USD

Hostel 89.4% 49 reviews
Tiger Hostel
9.72 USD

Hostel 85.4% 58 reviews
POSH Backpackers Hostel
12.43 USD

Hostel 56.6% 82 reviews
Elizabeth's Youth Hostel
13.81 USD

Hostel 77.0% 75 reviews
Funky Hostel and Apartments
13.81 USD

Hostel 94.3% 108 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

45 out of 48 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riga Style Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
90.4%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 39 of 46 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: TV lounge and kitchen.

Disliked: Stairs - no lift.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013

Liked: The kitchen was about the only good feature of this hostel.

Disliked: Compared to all other hostels I have stayed at, this was by far the worst one. I cannot think of one good thing to say about it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our ensuite room had great decor. Staff were friendly and helpful with ideas for what we could do and see. Hostel is bright, cheerful and clean. Great location near old town and bus, railway station.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Almost everything was perfect, probably the best hostel I've ever been to (and I've been to many). Many bathrooms, a spacey and comfy kitchen full of dishes, a fridge, a huge TV in common area, etc.

Disliked: We were 3 travelers, but I made a reservation for a room for 4 people (the one with a bicycle - they call it "Amsterdam"), because I wanted some privacy. The Hostelbookers provided a room description with photos of that specific room and did not allow me to make a reservation for three travelers, forcing me to make a reservation for four beds. I completely understand this, cause one extra unpaid bed would be a loss for a hostel. HOWEVER, when we arrived, that room was already occupied, although I had a reservation letter with me. The receptionist was able to offer only a dorm type 8-bed room, which was luckily occupied only partly. We had to agree with this. It might be a mistake somewhere on Hostelbookers reservation page, cause a receptionist said that "4-bed room" was under reservation for quite a long time. So if you made a reservation, I would advise you to contact Hostel directly, asking them to confirm if your desired reservation is really valid.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Maxim Generalov

Alone

City break

24 June 2013 Maxim would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfort rooms, helpful staff, personal wallplate near every bad.

Disliked: A lot of stairs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tatiana Shurpyak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

14 May 2013 Tatiana would recommend this property

Liked: Very stylish hostel, free lockers and towel, outlets and lamps for every bed - great! Nice wifi, comfortble bed.. Easy to find following recommendations given. I stayed on 13th of may - the hostel was half-empty.

Disliked: If you have huge luggage - do not choose this hostel: 6th floor with no elevator. The lamp beside my bed was out of order, however, i could choose another bed.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We just finished a month-long trip in Europe, and this was our favorite hostel of all that we stayed in. The hostel is very cozy, and the staff are extremely helpful. I was surprised by how nice it was given how inexpensive the prices are, and we were able to walk everywhere. We stayed in a private room for one night and then extended our stay for three more nights in a dormitory. We slept very well in both rooms.

Disliked: The laundry was a bit expensive, and there is not much space to dry clothes. There was not a sign saying that it cost to use the machine, and the receptionist was a little rude when I used it before asking (even though they did not tell us it cost extra when we checked in).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent, very close to train station and close to bus station and also to Old Riga. Close also to supermarket and internet cafe. My dorm was spacious, the beds were comfortable, bed linen clean, each person has a big locker and each bed has a personal plug and bed lamp which is very useful. The design of the hostel is also very nice and modern. Kitchen with a fridge very practical. Good price.

Disliked: The common areas, especially the bathrooms and showers, were not clean!!!! I stayed 4 nights at this hostel and I didn't see anyone cleaning them and it really felt like it was never cleaned during my stay. The garbage cans were up to the max, the sinks were dirty, toilet paper and soap were missing and the towels to dry your hands were never changed. Sometimes even bad smell coming out of the toilet bowls. No computer to use for the guests.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexandra South

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2012 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for the price. The five flights of stairs are worth it.

Disliked: Alexandra left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was excellent!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

OLEKSANDR NEZAMUTDINOV

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2012 OLEKSANDR would recommend this property

Liked: There were many showers, which doesn't create lines in the morning.

Disliked: wifi didn't cover the kitchen. the kitchen wasnt very clean. The check in is very late (2 pm). The stairs are the pain in the neck if you have to carry heavy luggage.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was very clean with good location. Short walk to Old Town and few really nice parks just around the corner for enjoying breakfast or just for hangin' out. Also liked the easy and calm atmosphere in the hostel.

Disliked: nothing really...ok, too many stairs for my taste.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Secure, locations close to central station not to far away from old town, comfortable beds

Disliked: bathrooms and kitchen were a little dirty

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vladas Sapranavicius

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

14 May 2012 Vladas would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was not crowded - almost empty. Staff was flexible and polite.

Disliked: Wifi did not work one day.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2011

Liked: close to center

Disliked: showers, walk on smelly staircase

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel!!! Very near train and bus station and also the old town. Big, clean. Great place to stay :)

Disliked: Nothing at all, everything was ok

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location first of all and friendly staff secondly

Disliked: nothing to dislike, honestly

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juraj Huserka

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 Juraj would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff, excellent location, hostel is new and so are all facilities, everything was clean

Disliked: unpleasant smell on the staircase leading to hostel, but hostel is located on the top floor and there's no smell inside it

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

István Puskás

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2011 István would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice rooms (all with their own theme) and a soft mattress in every bed - it was heaven to sleep on. The place is clean, modern and you can see that it's a very new hostel. Great price/quality!

Disliked: The fact you have to climb a very long stair to get to it - not a problem without bags but when you first arrive with all your stuff it's one hell of a work out!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen and computer to access the internet was good, plus it's very centrally located. The hostel is newish with a nice feel to it.

Disliked: The atmosphere is poor. During my stay (in August) I could only find two guys to talk to, and the hostel was fully booked. Almost everyone else seemed to be Russian and friends with the staff, which really killed the backpacker/traveller feel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were nice, location was good (a few minutes walk to old town), great atmosphere and character.

Disliked: Breakfast was not included in the price, but self-catering facilities are included where you can prepare your own food.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decoration

Disliked: Is in the topfloor of the building (5th level)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel looks really nice, is clean, good facilities and well located. And all of this for a very good price ;)

Disliked: Wi-fi problems


See all Riga hostels
See all Riga hotels