HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel Riga

Hostel

Merkela 1, 3rd floor, Riga, Latvia

Atmosphere 99%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 98%

Location 95%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 98%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reading Light
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Riga?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 99%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 98%

Location 95%

Safety 94%

Staff 98%

Value 98%

Showing 51-60 of 76 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's in a great location right in the heart of bustling Riga. Nice beds, good lockers, nicely decorated, beer fridge, comfortable common area for socialising. They allowed my friend who wasn't staying in the hostel to hang about and have drinks with the other guests which was nice of them.

Disliked: The single bad thing, and it made a big difference, was that there was a large group of lads staying there, and while they were ok and not a problem, they totally dominated the common area and it killed the atmosphere and opportunities for hanging about with other solo travellers. I hate it when this happens!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the place is located near train and bus stations, 10 minutes far from the centerpeople are friendly and you have great time with other travellerseverything is clean and you have a lot of things lended

Disliked: Rooms are noisy because on the main roadit could be very hot when the weather is warm because you cannot open every windows...

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This place felt really homey and was also really nicely decorated inside. There was a nice kitchen with everything you'd need. The common room was cool and just like a living room.All the staff were friendly and attractive people.I even met the owner (Cinnamon Sally) and she was lovely.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff is really nice, everything is really clean, the beds are good, the lockers are big, the location is perfect, and the waffles are also great.. :-) I would surely come back.The staff was always helpful :-)

Disliked: 1) The first thing I didn't like is that they have no reception and make everything on the main room. I felt very uncomfortable sitting around with all the other guests while I gave my passport, made payments and answered questions in front of everybody. I don't know... I'd like a litte bit of privacy at "check-in" :-)2) The "towel"/carpet" on the shower is not very nice. It looks dirty. 3) The kitchen/fridge are small :-)

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location in a walking distance from everything, very nice and helpful staff, comfy beds, good common area that allows interaction between guests, spacious lockers, waffle breakfast

Disliked: Showers could be a bit better maintained, especially the shower head hangers

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's is a very social place to meet interesting new people, The staff is very nice and helpfull and the waffles are great

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location and nice common room. Good internet.

Disliked: When we were there the other guests were very odd. There weren't other backpackers or likeminded people. There were mostly old men and people who'd been staying for a long time. They sat quietly in the common area so it felt very solemn. The atmosphere would have been better if the guests were different. I think there'd be other hostels in Riga that would've better suited what we wanted to get out of our time here.


The property's response is

Sorry you had such a bad luck with fellow hostel guests, usually we have a good bunch of travelers staying here. Long timers are gone now, in summer we have reintroduced 1 week maximum stay rule. Thanks for the feedback, this helps us getting better! Safe travels, Ieva, the Boss Sally

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location - very close to bus and train stations as well as to the city centre, showers were good, bed in double private room was comfortable, hostel was clean and kitchen well-equipped.

Disliked: The main problem with this hostel was the atmosphere (or lack of). The staff were friendly but didn't try to interact with the guests. Guests often sat silently in the common area due to stale and strange atmosphere there. Also only two toilets, so had to wait for these at times.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Sorry for the lack of effort from our side, we will make sure it wont happen again. If was a bit hard to shake and move the crowd in these days. Thanks for your feedback, we are taking it seriously. Safe travels, Ieva the Boss Sally

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location which is near all u need : bus station, train station, old town and supermarket. Great atmosphere and the staff's are friendly and helpful. Free waffles are provided for breakfast . Room is spacious. Excellent indication given by the hostel.

Disliked: Only two toilets for 40 ppl is not enough though they hv 4 sinks. The bathroom should install more hangers and they should be cleaner and better ventilated.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean rooms and comfortable beds. Nice common room / kitchen. Very nice staff - always willing to help and I've noticed them even washing dishes after some lazy people

Disliked: Would it be possible to get a bigger fridge? Or maybe clean this one more regularly and throw stuff belonging to the people who left? Please make sure to communicate beforehand that the people who want to leave before 8.30am should get their key deposit back the night before (I didn't notice the small paper on the wall). The internet didn't work for me (IP conflict), but other people seemed to be connected fine

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability