We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Riga hostels
See all Riga hotels

Reviews of Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Merkela 1, Riga, Latvia LV-1050

94.2% Overall Rating

265 out of 268 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/07/2015)

"Hey, this is the place to stay in Riga. Great location, clean and nice, the staff are grate, this is not common, but I can actually say that each one and one of them are very nice and helpful. You know.. sometimes the…"

Read all Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Riga?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Riga

Big Bed Hostel
6.59 USD

Hostel 71.4% 26 reviews
Riga Hostel
7.69 USD

Hostel 93.4% 68 reviews
Cheap & Good Apartments
13.73 USD

Apartment 70.7% 12 reviews
Tiger Hostel
9.38 USD

Hostel 81.5% 70 reviews
Riga Style Hostel
8.79 USD

Hostel 86.9% 52 reviews
Mr. Hostel
15.63 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
POSH Backpackers Hostel
9.88 USD

Hostel 56.1% 88 reviews
Elizabeth's Youth Hostel
10.98 USD

Hostel 77.0% 75 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.2%

Overall Rating

265 out of 268 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Cinnamon Sally Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
94.4%
Value
93.6%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 224 of 262 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel is gorgeous. it is very very clean and the staff (Dace) is so frendly and helpful.

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hamish Low

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2011 Hamish would recommend this property

Liked: Being my 2nd time in Latvia it was an easy decision to know exactly where i was going to stay...of course Cinnamon Sally's. This hostel is everything and more, and its difficult to describe just how well run this place is. I was quickly reminded of this on arrival at 5am...and to my surprise find the owner (Ieva) remember me by name the moment i stepped in the door. From there, all I can say is that my stay went from 2 days to 5 days. Riga's a really interesting city and all the better when you stay at somewhere that definately feels like home. The best part of CS is without a doubt the staff, youll get to know Daiga and Da-te who are not only friendly and welcoming but genuinely interested in you and your travels. Thanks again CS, I had a fantastic time, theres no doubt I'll be back.

Disliked: Hamish left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cecilia Alvarez

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2011 Cecilia would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great! Loved it!

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything, there could be a TV with a selection of movies to watch when the weather is bad, but that would really just be luxury. The hostel is great as it is.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henry Tallott

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2011 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've stayed at in 5 months of travels. Unbeatable atmosphere and excellent showers, facilities and location. Thanks for the homemade apple crumble, cinnamon rolls, thursday night bar crawl and great haircut!

Disliked: Because of its close proximity to Cinnamon Sally's, McDonald's was a difficult hazard to avoid on the way home...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

cumhur otay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2011 cumhur would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are very kind and friendly.

Disliked: There is no social activites such as pub crawl or sth else.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chan Diep

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2011 Chan would recommend this property

Liked: great staff, outstanding atmosphere, it fells almost like staying with friends

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Chesher

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff, so clean, comfy beds, great recommendations, great location, really good social area, toilets in separate room to showers, small more intimate hostel...would highly recommend

Disliked: Nothing really, kitchen area is small but has everything you need and GREAT equipment/utensils

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mairi Kikkas

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Mairi would recommend this property

Liked: A very cosy hostel. Loved the free cinnamon buns and hairstraightener in the room. The girls working there were extremly friendly.

Disliked: The smoking are should be cleaned, throwing cigarette buds on a dead fir doesn't look very good. Could also use a bench, as you have to take your shoes off before entering.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tina Green

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 October 2011 Tina would recommend this property

Liked: It's generally cosy, warm and welcoming. Not your average hostel experience.

Disliked: The entrance to the hostel is between a McDonalds and a McCafe, so everything smells like fries when you're going to you room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere especially in the living room, clean rooms & bathrooms, very friendly staff and located in the city center! recommended to everyone! :)

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very stilish hostel and a nice atmosphere in the common room. Cleanliness was also astonishing - I have never seen such a clean hostel anywhere else.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Homely atmosphere!

Disliked: Nothing per se!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place! One of the best hostals I´ve ever stayed in!!! Nice people, nice staff just perfect!

Disliked: Absolutly nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Conveniently located within walking distance to old town and major shopping centre. Ever helpful receptionist who dishes out advice on the must visit in Riga. Macdonalds is also located downstairs.

Disliked: Nil

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Olga Korshak

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2011 Olga would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the style and cleaness and STAFF

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

miss b mckennedy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2011 miss b would recommend this property

Liked: Quite simply the best hostel we have stayed in so far. great staff and Ieva is the most lovely owner very very friendly and helpful. They were so detailed with the info they give you, lovely pre made beds & spacious rooms and they were constantly cleaning so the place was spotless!! The communal area is like a lounge of someones house they've spent years making their own, soooo cosy and the perfect space for people to proper chill in, hence the atmosphere amongst the travelers where everyone wants to chat over a beer or cider sold at the hostel.. 100% on everything, met some lovely people there. Oh and perfect directions, really easy to find!!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!! Seriously!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best backpackers I've ever stayed at. Good community feel about the place, would totally recommend.

Disliked: --

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

amelie rolland-lamothe

Alone

City break

11 October 2011 amelie would recommend this property

Liked: I can't think of anything negative about this place. It's all good! Super clean, good showers, full kitchen, safe in the rooms, rooms not too crowded, great location, staff is fantastic, and a very nice common room where you'll definitely meet with everybody staying at the hostel. I've stayed in an incredible amount of hostels, and this one reaches if not the top, definitely top 5 bests in the world!!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel and great great staff. Have a lot of fun with other guests.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff, atmosphere, cleanliness

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff allways present

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the staff were fantastic. The bunks were by far the best we've ever slept in. The place was also very clean, thanks to the shoes off policy at the door - really made it feel like home!

Disliked: Overall, nothing too serious. However the kitchen utensils could do with an upgrade in our opinion (as we are fussy cookers!).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Doris Velan

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 September 2011 Doris would recommend this property

Liked: The most a like is that is really cheap, and for that small prize you get great location, great stuff happy to help you, free internet and free telephone calls to any country, free linen and towels, clean bedroom, showers and toilets, really pleasent common room, tea, coffe, comfortable beds...

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere. very friendly and informative staff. great location, met some nice people. kitchen facilities were good. tip for all salmon lovers: make sure you go to the market hall to buy some salmon (lasis in latvian), we cooked some in the hostel and it was AMAZING. thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Disliked: NOTHING

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nghiem Dac Vinh Bui

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2011 Nghiem Dac Vinh would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpful

Disliked: Hmm, almost nothing


See all Riga hostels
See all Riga hotels