We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Riga hostels
See all Riga hotels

Reviews of Riga Old Town Hostel & Backpackers Pub

Hostel | 43 Valnu Str., Riga, Latvia LV-1050

82.9% Overall Rating

72 out of 85 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2014)

Jay Wiwchar thinks…

"The staff was absolutely great. The place is essentially a bar with rooms to stay in. Absolutely great atmosphere and I will definitely stay again, here given the chance."

Read all Riga Old Town Hostel & Backpackers Pub reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Riga?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Riga

Hotel Forums
71.20 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.7% 4 reviews
Hostel Camel
19.42 USD

Hostel 74.3% 12 reviews
Seagulls Garret Hostel
13.59 USD

Hostel 95.7% 30 reviews
Hotel Monte Kristo
29.90 USD

Hotel 4 star 94.0% 18 reviews
The Naughty Squirrel Backpackers
15.53 USD

Hostel 95.4% 861 reviews
Westa Hotel
18.42 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.5% 14 reviews
Wellton Centrum Hotel and Spa
44.27 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Avalon hotel
67.31 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.9%

Overall Rating

72 out of 85 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riga Old Town Hostel & Backpackers Pub'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 71 of 81 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big room

Disliked: Too few toilets and showers Quite much noise from outside & from the bar

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ilja Staruhhin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Ilja would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jay Wiwchar

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Jay would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was absolutely great. The place is essentially a bar with rooms to stay in. Absolutely great atmosphere and I will definitely stay again, here given the chance.

Disliked: Its not a dislike at all really. I would only mention that the very cool spiral staircase could be difficult for people carrying large luggage. Also, i dislike that i didnt stay longer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

10 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spent three nights here and one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Rooms were clean and of a good size. The washing facilities were cleaned down regularly. The bar is amazing and the staff very friendly. They taught us to play novous a local Latvian game one day and we were all addicted. Laius recommend to anyone.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ming Zeng

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2014 Ming would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs are very friendly, and good location, near bus station and central market.

Disliked: A bit noisy because of the pub downstairs.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jan Mikolajczak

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

24 February 2013 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, the best value for money

Disliked: Jan left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is right by the station and so perfect for getting around, with the bar providing a wonderful focal point for any stay in Riga - we spent most nights enjoying the happy hour prices and excellent music! The dorms are pretty basic but this hardly matters if all you need is somewhere to sleep, and while the kitchen is a bit dingy it does the job. The staff were really helpful (we were even given free shots when we had run out of money on our last day!) and were more than willing to recommend places to visit.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, excellent staff

Disliked: Rooms a bit shabby. Needs work done

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the centre.

Disliked: Bathroom was not clean.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location & price were excellent.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. It is close to the airport bus stop.

Disliked: Groomy kitchen

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff good location cheap

Disliked: sheets too tiny for the size of the bed dirty staircase to get to rooms noisy at night because of location and railway track

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Juan Nunez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2012 Juan would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Bathroom not clean. Overbooking, and we have problem with our checkin !! They didn't give us the room booked, but we didn't accept.....!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

David Weser

Alone

City break

16 July 2012 David would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good. The staff is friendly.

Disliked: It is not very clean.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2012

Liked: we had a private room which was very nice and location was great

Disliked: the smell was just awful, we looked in the back room behind the kitchen and there was a whole room full of rubbish and garbage and it absolutely stunk the whole kitchen and dining area out, I couldn't go down there as it made me feel sick!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's in the old town and walkable to the bus station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timothy Filer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2012 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: Very cool hostel, really sociable bar where I met loads of other travellers. I love the book case entrance to the hostel. Dorm rooms are spacious and beds are solid. The staff are great and the manager was very generous (especially with the black balsam). I highly recommend this to other genuine backpackers.

Disliked: Very little to complain about.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Yaroslava Tarakhtiy

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 February 2012 Yaroslava would recommend this property

Liked: Location is really great! Friendly stuff and, in general, nice rooms.

Disliked: The building , where the hostel is situated smells really bad. But it's the problem of all old buildings. The rooms were clean and it was the main point, cause we were travelling with a little baby. The kitchen is situated in another building, but the guys from the reseption gave us a kettle, so it solved our problem with prepearing food for the baby

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

13 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and Staff

Disliked: Shower and Cleanliness

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The most pleasing part of the stay was kindness and friendliness of the staff. The two brothers at the reception were amazing and it was very nice spending time with them. The location of the hostel is the best you can expect as well.

Disliked: The only thing i did not like was a weird smell.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Yulian Shchukin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2012 Yulian would recommend this property

Liked: Good location right near the bus and rail stations and in the center of old town. Friendly staff and free tour to alternative view to Riga for tips is good. But: 1.On 3t 2th flor didn't work wi-fi(no signal) and then on 2nd day it stop working at all. 2.Not clean and very warmy in room. 3. In toilet is the same and the toilet was watering from itself... it isn't nice. So, it can be a place for 1-2 nights cause of very good location, but don't excpect more.

Disliked: 1.On 3t 2th flor didn't work wi-fi(no signal) and then on 2nd day it stop working at all. 2.Not clean and very warmy in room. 3. In toilet is the same and the toilet was watering from itself... it isn't nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Back

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 December 2011 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome stay! Was in the apartment which was cleaned daily! The pub is good and cheap as well. Would definitely go back and stay here again!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ivan Pugin

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 October 2011 Ivan would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very convenient - close to everything

Disliked: The smell during the night from the facilities was awful

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

16 August 2011

Liked: location is really perfect

Disliked: dirty and smelly shower and toilet. also very loud at nights as next to hostel there's a bar and all night long they play loud music and people that go for a cigarrete out of the bar they make a big noise on a street

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alexandre de Oliveira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Alexandre would recommend this property

Liked: Nice price, close to the center but if you want to have a quiet night to sleep this isn't the place to be.

Disliked: Nice price, close to the center but if you want to have a quiet night to sleep this isn't the place to be.


See all Riga hostels
See all Riga hotels