HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Riga hostels
See all Riga hotels

Reviews of The Naughty Squirrel Backpackers

Hostel | Kaleju Iela 50, Old Town, Riga, Latvia LV-1050

95.4% Overall Rating

793 out of 807 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/03/2014)

"The clean room and shared bathrooms and of course the friendly and helpfull staff."

Read all The Naughty Squirrel Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note! We only accept groups up to 12 people. The Hostel does not accept any Stag Parties. ALL GROUPS OF 4 PEOPLE OR MORE ARE NOW REQUIRED TO LEAVE 15Euro PER PERSON SAFETY DEPOSIT FOR THE ROOM upon check in!!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Riga?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Riga

Hotel Monte Kristo
29.61 USD

Hotel 4 star 94.0% 18 reviews
Wellton Centrum Hotel and Spa
42.10 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Seagulls Garret Hostel
12.42 USD

Hostel 94.8% 21 reviews
Hostel Camel
20.71 USD

Hostel 74.3% 12 reviews
Riga Old Town Hostel & Backpackers Pub
13.80 USD

Hostel 80.6% 79 reviews
Hotel Forums
27.61 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.0% 3 reviews
Westa Hotel
19.36 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.5% 11 reviews
Red Nose Hostel
16.57 USD

Hostel 92.7% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.4%

Overall Rating

793 out of 807 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Naughty Squirrel Backpackers'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
93.6%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 655 of 705 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 26 | 27   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and spaceous. Helpful staff :)

Disliked: None.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room, atmosphere, and location were great!

Disliked: Anti-Russian sentiment is very visible by some of the staff. I understand if that's a personal feeling but when working in customer service you should tone down your prejudice.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The clean room and shared bathrooms and of course the friendly and helpfull staff.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darren Wright

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2014 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable, friendly, heaps of options provided for tourist options, cheap but value for money

Disliked: Darren left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great for relaxing but also partying.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

24 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots to do.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

samanta stain

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2014 samanta would recommend this property

Liked: Really great staff, great location, great hostel!!

Disliked: samanta left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Holly Kershaw

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has everything a hostel should have. Clean dorms and bathrooms, welcoming common areas, good kitchen, and the best staff! It is the type of hostel that quickly becomes home, and is really hard to leave.

Disliked: I had to leave to soon!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly atmosphere, excellent location, clean and quiet. Our hosts took us out for a Latvian dinner and then drinks, which was a great way to experience the Riga nightlife during my very short stay.

Disliked: Shower could do with a cabin rather than just a curtain (bathroom floods when you take a shower).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maksim Malyshev

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Maksim would recommend this property

Liked: Just near bus station, close to the center, super clean, good atmosphere

Disliked: Maksim left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jonathan Rousseaux

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2013 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very good and our private room size was more than ok. Even if we didn't spent too much time at the hostel, staffs were friendly and smiling (specially Ellin).

Disliked: Extra fees if you want to pay with credit cards. More a wish than a dislike but I would have liked if there were some places to hangs clothes in the room or to dry the towels.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oliver Hughes

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2013 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, helpful staff. Great atmosphere. Excellent selection of activities to do such as bobsled and bar crawls. Very good value for money! I can't recommend this place highly enough. Thanks for making our stay in Riga so fantastic!

Disliked: Oliver left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and supportive staff

Disliked: it was little bit cold in the room

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Kershaw

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2013 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Great friendly staff and helpful. Met some cool people here. One of the best hostels I've stayed af recently!

Disliked: Mosquitos

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

WAN FUNG CHUNG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2013 WAN FUNG would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Clean room, toilet and shower room. Good decoration of corridor and wall. Common area is big enough. Good location to hang out. Very detailed information for food and sightseeing when checking in. One very good thing, beer sold at reception is really cheap, only LT 1.60 for 500 ml, very good value for money. :)

Disliked: Sometimes it's too tired to climb the stairs to third floor (English counting, Lativan local counting as fourth floor) If the kitchen can be bigger and more tables would be nice. If accepting AMEX card would be nice.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vitor Alcantara

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2013 Vitor would recommend this property

Liked: The place is really nice decorated and has a special character. They have a small bar and serve an amazing robust latvian beer, which costs just one lat in happy hour time. I made good friends at my very first night there. I had some problems with another guests in my room and when I asked for the staff help, a tattooed girl whose name I cant remember the name managed to get me a better room immediately and dealt with the "problem" with surprisingly agility. That was really nice.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DR DIPAK DESAI

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

14 November 2013 DR DIPAK would recommend this property

Liked: ITS THE MOTHER OF ALL HOSTELS IN RIGA

Disliked: DR DIPAK left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere here. Cheap beer at the hostel bar. Friendly staff. Good bar crawl.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tasha Hayes

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2013 Tasha would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Staff is super friendly and helpful and the facilities are super clean. Rooms are spacious and the small things like a personal light, charging points, key cards, and a place to lock your belongings up are fantastic. Kitchen is well stocked and has everything you need and the common rooms are great. And on top of that the location is amazing!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kwong-Ning Chan

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2013 Kwong-Ning would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is brilliantly located in the Old Town and a minute from the bus stop which takes you to and from the airport. The atmosphere is great and this is helped by the staff who are fun and knowledgeable and the two common rooms. Dorm rooms are a good size and there are plenty of showers and toilet facilities.

Disliked: This wasn't an issue for me personally but some hangers for coats and other clothes would have been useful.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Martin Sears

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: the location right next to the airport bus stops, 2 supermarkets, and lots of bars And restaurants was brilliant. the room and bathrooms were very clean and i liked how many showers and toilets there were. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, chatted to us and gave us advice and a map, and got involved in the social activities, such as leading the pub crawl. most of all I loved the homely vibe in the common room, with the foosball table and beanbags. all in all, the most enjoyable hostel stay I have had.

Disliked: I can think of a few small details that would have made the stay even better. firstly there were no lockers, so belongings had to go in an unlocked cage drawer under the bed. you had to either buy your own padlock or give any valuables to the staff to look after. and there weren't even any wardrobes, hangers or hooks in the bedroom to hang clothes, so my shirts and coat had to be folded up under my bed. both these problems could be fixed by the hostel investing in some tall lockers with hanging rails inside, as I have used (and much appreciated) in other hostels. the rooms are nice and big so there is plenty of room for them. Even some hooks on the wall with hangers would be a big improvement. also some of the board games in the common room were missing lots of pieces. I would also have preferred a bigger range of music in the common area, as the same few songs kept repeating again and again.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mari Jones

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2013 Mari would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel of whole trip, great atmosphere, both for chilling and party, love the bar in the reception and the happy hour, clean, great location, great staff!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ENRIQUE GOMEZ PEDROZA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2013 ENRIQUE would recommend this property

Liked: The enviroment was very good, the room was very nice and It was really helpful the amount of showers, Also the pub crawl was really fun... And Maya is really beautiful

Disliked: Everything was good... Just the girl that was on the night shift at the reception was a little but rude but u guess because of the amount of people

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is fantastic - ery close to the main station and in the Old Town. I had a single room which was quite good, with a big bed. The girls working at the reception were all hardworking and cute.

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is close to old town and to bus station. Close to grocery store. Kitchen facilities are good. Free towels. Staff are helpful and arrange activities for ech day. Free wifi was fast and reliable. Spacious rooms.

Disliked: The showers didn't have any hot water on my first night. The hot shower they offered me on another level then smelt like someone had used it for a toilet. I wouldn't stay in a dorm here if you want to get any sleep.


See all Riga hostels
See all Riga hotels