HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nairobi hostels

Reviews of Nairobi Airport Stop Over House

Guesthouse | Oluvimu Road, Nairobi, Kenya 00100

76.8% Overall Rating

26 out of 33 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/01/2014)

"We were escorted by James when we needed to go out to get meals which was very helpful. Staff were also willing to store excess luggage for us while we were away traveling in other areas. Hotel is relatively close to…"

Read all Nairobi Airport Stop Over House reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room
  • Infant bed

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nairobi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nairobi

Ambassadeur Hotel
67.24 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Central Park & Conference Center
39.22 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Downtown Backpackers
10.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Embassy - Nairobi
16.81 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.4% 10 reviews
Khweza Bed and Breakfast Nairobi
30.82 USD

Guesthouse 81.6% 80 reviews
Bermuda Hotel Nairobi
28.02 USD

Hotel 68.4% 15 reviews
Wood Avenue Towers
33.62 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Aquarium Guest Resort
16.81 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.8%

Overall Rating

26 out of 33 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Nairobi Airport Stop Over House'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
90.4%
Value
78.4%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 27 of 30 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Thomas Mooney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable accommodation. Very helpful staff. Enroute to the airport.

Disliked: 0

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2014

Liked: We were escorted by James when we needed to go out to get meals which was very helpful. Staff were also willing to store excess luggage for us while we were away traveling in other areas. Hotel is relatively close to the airport.

Disliked: As above. It's dirty, run down, unhealthy, breakfast is barely edible. Felt disgusted by the environment and uncomfortable while there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jonathon bryant

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

20 November 2013 jonathon would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

denise cordeau

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2013 denise would recommend this property

Liked: the specialty of this house is the staff. always smiling and ready to help you for everything you ask. thank you very much to that staff. the breakfast too is awesome and very good.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michelle Riley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

27 September 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Grace who worked there was so nice and helpful! The beds were comfy and it was a good distance from the airport but not too far on a matatu to the city centre.

Disliked: Nothing it was good value and cheap!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ZOLTAN HARI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2013 ZOLTAN would recommend this property

Liked: I especially liked the friendly and helpful staff, who provided breakfast even at 4 am.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great night here! Its all very clean and the staff is very helpful and freindly! The Breakfast was really nice too!;)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rajesh Merchant

Alone

Business / conference

17 June 2013 Rajesh would recommend this property

Liked: Good Atmosphere & Service i recd from the Staff of Stopover House.

Disliked: Nothing like dislike about the Property.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is near to the airport.

Disliked: Poor WiFi connection and thefe is no wardrobe but for an overnight stay, I can live with that.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They made us a great breakfast and were very kind. They arranged a good price on a taxi to the airport for us. They accept USD and KES in cash, but no credit.

Disliked: Although this is probably the closest affordable place to the airport, it is still not particularly close.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2013

Liked: Absolutely nothing.

Disliked: Everything! It was terrible value for money and I couldn't wait to get out of there..

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

greg FIETZ

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2013 greg would recommend this property

Liked: Very conveniant on bus route 10 minutes to the city centre and very quiet surrounded by upmarket Nairobi Hospital grounds and staff, also has three excliusive US$4 main course a-la-carte cafe/restaurants in the same street with security gaurds on all entrances of street. Feels very safe.Modern characterless building.

Disliked: Mostly the other guests are African unuversity students or interns with few European backpackers. All polite and educated decent people. Not a good place to meet other backpackers. No water after 10 pm !!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff, safely protected

Disliked: far away from city center (30mins walking)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location if you just need a place to stay near the airport. Free WiFI, can arrange a ride to or from the arport. Friendly helpful staff that got me a very early breakfast. Hot shower.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Heather Irvine

As a family with children

Family Holiday

28 April 2012

Liked: The staff were very helpful and doing the best with what they had available to them. Staff were the only good thing about this place.

Disliked: The hostel was very run down - toilets didn't flush, holes in mosquito nets and many mosquitos, lightbulbs did not work,, drinks fridge empty, not the cleanest place. We were a family of four. The childrens room was stifling hot at night - no fans. We had the front room by the front door. The door banged open/closed all night and very noisy. Th owner needs to spend some money to upgrade the facilities to make it the standard they are advertising on hostel bookers.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Rachael Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2012

Liked: Zipporah and the other people that worked there were really nice. They arranged a taxi to pick me up from the airport which is great especially when travelling on your own. This seems to be the only accomodation close to the airport (about 15-20mins away).

Disliked: They leave the front door of the house opened at night so the room was full of mosquitos although they do have mosquito nets on the beds. The room i was staying in was by the front door so was very noisy and didn't help that the tv is left blaring when no-one is watching it. There is one communal bathroom with a separte toilet, both of which look like they have never been cleaned. I would only stay here again because it is the only place closest to the airport, so is convenient for short transits. If i have more time i would probably stay somewhere else.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They arranged to taxi from/to the airport, the shuttlebus from/to Arusha.

Disliked: As we had to leave very early (5u30), we didn't get any breakfast.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

RAYMOND SAVOIE

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2012 RAYMOND would recommend this property

Liked: Taxi driver was waiting for us at the airport as requested. Shuttle bus from Nairobi to Moshi was all arrange as requested. Breakfast was very good. Staff was very helpful in staying with us until we were on the shuttle. Davanu's Shuttle bus staff and drive were very helpful at the Tanzanian border with Visa applications for their passengers.

Disliked: Upon our arrival our booked room was not vacated therefore the staff provided us with a hotel room a few building over from the Nairobi Airport Stop Over House. The quality of the room was the same as we had book.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Arthur Schaub

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2011 Arthur would recommend this property

Liked: This is a close stay to the airport so you can avoid main Nairobi - The woman who runs the place is professional and helpful - the staff was friendly and accommodating. The room was large and clean and bed comfortable

Disliked: the neighborhood is not great and there is not a whole lot of character to the dwelling

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Work / volunteering

14 December 2011

Liked: Got Food although they didnt offer any, which was nice. but they charged me 500 KSh for Ugali and Beef, which should be around 250Ksh.

Disliked: many moscitos, not close to Kenyatta Airport but also not close to city center. Beds make noises, they dont offer food, I couldnt pay with credit card, for the same money I slept in a way better hostel (called khweza or something...)

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

nathaniel taiwo

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

17 October 2011 nathaniel would recommend this property

Liked: Quite a safe and secure place with very friendly staff who are always ready to make your stay enjoyable..

Disliked: nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

05 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, close easy access to the airport and any destination south of the city.

Disliked: Not a great place to hang out and meet other travelers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

savitha balasubramanyam

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2011 savitha would recommend this property

Liked: I must say being a single woman traveller am so lucky to have found this place. The people hannah, esther and zipporah make it so special for u. Its a home away from home. For me i loved chatting up sharing stories about africa and india. So many folks told me stories about how unsafe nairobi is but for me i feel so safe and secure at this beautiful home. Its a pleasure to be here.

Disliked: Alls excellent...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david silverstone

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2011 david would recommend this property

Liked: great value, quiet, close to airport, clean, friendly, good breakfast. big comfy room. hot shower.

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: welcoming, handy for airport and as expected for price

Disliked: bathroom needed a good clean!


See all Nairobi hostels