We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nairobi hostels

Reviews of Wildebeest Camp

Campsite | 151 Mokoyeti Road West, Langata, Nairobi, Kenya 00100

88.1% Overall Rating

186 out of 193 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/03/2014)

"Very nice property, almost like an oasis. After 6 weeks of overlanding from Cape Town, this is probably one of the best camp sites in Africa. Everything seems to be brand new. Very good breakfast. Lightning fast wifi…"

Read all Wildebeest Camp reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room
  • Children's play area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 27.62

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note our cancellation policy is 100% for all bookings cancelled within 30 days of arrival. Please ensure that you have adequate travel insurance or are willing to accept these terms. Cancellation charges may be charged to your credit card without notice.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nairobi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nairobi

Bush House & Camp
18.00 USD

Hostel 81.6% 67 reviews
Wood Avenue Towers
33.08 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Jobcamp Guest House
10.48 USD

Guesthouse 78.6% 4 reviews
Nairobi Airport Stop Over House
13.23 USD

Guesthouse 77.4% 34 reviews
Aquarium Guest Resort
16.54 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Embassy - Nairobi
16.54 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.4% 10 reviews
The Clarion Hotel
50.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Ambassadeur Hotel
66.16 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.1%

Overall Rating

186 out of 193 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wildebeest Camp'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
91.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 166 of 177 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice property, almost like an oasis. After 6 weeks of overlanding from Cape Town, this is probably one of the best camp sites in Africa. Everything seems to be brand new. Very good breakfast. Lightning fast wifi (free)

Disliked: Location is not for backpackers on a budget. To get to the city centre (KICC) costs you 1500 KSh, to the airport 2500Ksh.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenny Ellinghaus

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2014 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel with an excellent breakfast (real coffee!)

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wildebeest is great! Beautiful setting, relaxed atmosphere and a great place to meet other travellers. They also offer lots of extras like a restaurant, bar, laundry service, tours, etc, etc so it's a great place to start or finish an east African trip.

Disliked: I was happy with the location as it's close to the elephant orphanage, giraffe centre, national park, Blixen museum and other attractions and the grounds are big and beautiful to relax in. But people should be aware that it's a little way out of the centre of Nairobi. So if you really need to be down town it might not be the best option for you although it is easy to catch a bus or taxi down town.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beautiful surroundings, the opportunity to share meals with people all around the world, the very helpful and obliging staff.

Disliked: No lights in the shared toilets and showers

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Sargent

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 November 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Wildebeest is a beautiful camp situated in lovely grounds and with friendly, helpful staff. Having previously had a terrible experience staying at Bush House and Camp, I decided to try somewhere different for my next stay in Nairobi. This place is incredible for such a cheap price; the buffet dinner was delicious, the shared bathrooms were very clean, there was excellent wifi and my tent was very comfortable. I would recommend this place to anyone and will definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Nothing! I honestly couldn't fault it...and it's so affordable!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the deluxe tents. They were clean and lovely and the grounds are beautiful and peaceful. It is a quiet respit from the hustle and bustle of the city. If one is staying in one of the less costly options, it is a "good deal" but if one is paying for a deluxe tents it is not worth the money. The wifi was very good.

Disliked: The breakfast was meager and one had to pay extra for anything other than the basics. There was no soap or shampoo in the tented room and there was no daily clean up service. We were charged extra for every small service including a significant amount to make a call to the shuttle company.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have been on the road ten months, and Wildebeest Camp was one of my top five hostels. The staff is excellent and friendly, and the food is delicious (try the buffet!). I stayed in the dorm tent, which was clean and comfortable. The toilets and showers were spotless. The atmosphere was peaceful, and the property felt very secure. I loved the lounge area, and appreciated the lockers. As for location, if you are looking for something near downtown Nairobi, it is probably not the best spot for you, but if you want something near the elephant orphanage, the giraffe centre and Karen Blixen museum, then it is perfect. There is even an American-style shopping mall a short taxi rode or 2.5 km walk away. I will be staying here again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilities and atmosphere, definitely worth the price!

Disliked: Location - far from shops, city centre and airport. Nothing to do in the area without having to take a taxi.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Work / volunteering

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best places I have stayed during a 13 month rwt trip ! The local staff is super friendly, the free breakfast is awesome, and the location is a paradise !

Disliked: Location is a bit far from town, and you can use public transport whatever people say. Meals on site ar a bit expensive, and there were no plugs in the rooms (at least in mine)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire van der Valk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 June 2013 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place. Staff are really friendly and helpful. It's not in town but we liked it like that, safer and close to the elephants and giraffes and Karen Blixen. Very clean, great camp. Would def stay here again.

Disliked: Claire left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wes hopkins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2013 wes would recommend this property

Liked: It's a quiet little oasis on the outskirts of Nairobi. Great patio overlooking a beautiful central pond. Perfect spot to enjoy a Tusker or two! The place is family owned and operated and they live on-site - great people! Their staff have been all very friendly and attentive, I really feel at home. The dorm rooms are spotless with quality, clean linens provided. (actually, the nicest dorm bedding i've ever seen). Hot showers and clean toilets. Highly recommended!

Disliked: wes left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Vissers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

23 January 2013 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: A great place to relax. The souviner store was much cheaper than prices in the markets. Food was great.

Disliked: Some people may not like the location, as it is a little far from the city. I wasn't looking to travel anywhere, so it was fine with me.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Manuel Settgast

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2012 Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely garden, quiet and safe area

Disliked: The camp is pretty far outside the city center. A taxi to the center costs more than 15$ (one way), and to take a public bus you'll need to walk quite far. The service of the staff was OK, but I found it a bit overpriced.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Jan Olav Grossås

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

03 December 2012 Jan Olav would recommend this property

Liked: Nice price and good atmosphere

Disliked: My review is based on that I selected "tent pitch" which is much simpler than the tents shown in photos. The sanitary facilities belonging to the "tent pitch" option is also much lower than those shown in the pictures. Mattress and bedding was not clean, moist and contained vermin and insect. Luxury tents have hopefully a much higher standard?

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

France Brassard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2012 France would recommend this property

Liked: Little piece of paradise, especially after being in many camp sites over Kenya and Uganda. They really make the extra effort to make everything special. If you want a vacation from your vacation this is the place to be.

Disliked: France left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kevin Young

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2012 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet other travellers for safaris. Nice garden and deck to hang out on. Wifi works good.

Disliked: The owners of this property are very unfriendly and do not seem like they want to run this type of buisness. The staff is off and on, one day they are nice the next they are rude. You may have to wait 20 minutes for someone to help you at the front desk. Stayed in 6 bed dorm which has no lock for the dorm and is always open, Had 15,000 shillings taken from bag alone with 300 us dollar sunglasses. Unless getting buffet dinner, the food takes a very long time and cannot order til 7 for dinner. Food is quite expensive. Overall not very impressed with stay.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabian Perfler

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012 Fabian would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful stuff!! Super clean! And i LOVED the food!!!

Disliked: Little bit outside of center...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners and staff were all very friendly and the camp is really nice, clean, big and open with a balcony at the restaurant which is great for relaxing. A really nice homely atmosphere and great food. We loved our stay there - and the beds are awesome.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracy Boles

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Tracy would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful, relaxing and good meals.

Disliked: Tracy left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable place for short relax before or after transfer to your safari destination. Quiet, green surroundings and comfortable deluxe tents give a chance for a real relaxation. Hands on management ready to solve the problems (booking budget room I expected twin beds instead of one king size bed, the 2 solution options offered by the management satisfied us).

Disliked: What is both advantage and disadvantage is a location. Quiet and green means away from the city center and airport as well. The property is located about 3 km from the main road, so the only possibility to get to the city center is to order a taxi. Therefore, the previous locations of Wildebeest seemed to be a bit more convenient. The deluxe tents are lovely, but just be make sure about weather and air temperature at the time visiting Nairobi. In mid August it was pretty cold at night and in the morning, so we did not take all the benefits from staying at the tent (especially taking a shower was a challenge). It was pretty cold and if next time I will visit Nairobi, surely I will choose one of traditional hotels and tents I will enjoy at Mara  The slight disappointment is that the breakfast is available from 7 am and if leaving earlier there is any option as e.g. breakfast box available (as I was said that nobody from the staff is available from midnight till 7 am). The shortage of staff is also reflected in the long time waiting for the dinner (for the simple food choosed from short menus we have been waiting over 1 h however there were only few guests seen at the restaurant).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and gives you all opportunities to get a safari-trip-possibilities. Really safe place.

Disliked: little bit far from Nairobi Centre.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice tents and good ambiance

Disliked: Still difficult to find, although we were warned by email

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ansel Sanger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

01 August 2012 Ansel would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful. Fun people, clean facilities, relatively cheap. Really great place. Free Wifi was nice.

Disliked: Far from the city center

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Donald Robson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012 Donald would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly helpful staff. Lovely ambience in a wonderful setting. delicious evening buffet meal Modern facilities Very good value for money, highly recommend this lodge

Disliked: Donald left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nancy & John Rosendale

With my spouse / partner

City break

12 May 2012 Nancy & John would recommend this property

Liked: The grounds are amazing in their new location. The luxury tents are beautiful. The staff are friendly and you can see all sorts of wildlife right on their grounds. We saw weaver birds, a three horned chameleon, other chameleons, loads of frogs and other birds. The food is very good and they are now closer to the Elephant Orphanage, Giraffe center, bead making center and Karen Blixen house so you do not have to go far to get to these places. It is further from city center but there is not a lot most tourists want to do in the city center.

Disliked: The distance to the shopping mall is too far to walk. You must take a taxi.


See all Nairobi hostels