HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nairobi hostels

Reviews of Wildebeest Camp

Campsite | 151 Mokoyeti Road West, Langata, Nairobi, Kenya 00100

89.8% Overall Rating

184 out of 191 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/03/2014)

"Very nice property, almost like an oasis. After 6 weeks of overlanding from Cape Town, this is probably one of the best camp sites in Africa. Everything seems to be brand new. Very good breakfast. Lightning fast wifi…"

Read all Wildebeest Camp reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room
  • Children's play area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 28.31

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note our cancellation policy is 100% for all bookings cancelled within 30 days of arrival. Please ensure that you have adequate travel insurance or are willing to accept these terms. Cancellation charges may be charged to your credit card without notice.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nairobi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nairobi

Bush House & Camp
15.00 USD

Hostel 81.6% 67 reviews
Wood Avenue Towers
33.97 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Jobcamp Guest House
10.76 USD

Guesthouse 84.8% 3 reviews
Nairobi Airport Stop Over House
12.46 USD

Guesthouse 76.8% 33 reviews
Aquarium Guest Resort
16.99 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Embassy - Nairobi
16.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.4% 10 reviews
Ambassadeur Hotel
67.94 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Khweza Bed and Breakfast Nairobi
31.14 USD

Guesthouse 81.6% 80 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.8%

Overall Rating

184 out of 191 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wildebeest Camp'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
87.2%
Value
91.2%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 166 of 176 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Iryna Antonova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2011 Iryna would recommend this property

Liked: quiet green place not far from the center of Nairobi

Disliked: dorm is not separated for males and females

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful grounds, lovely deluxe tents, good food.

Disliked: Some things were quite expensive.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small clean dorms and great breakfasts.

Disliked: There are only a couple of showers and toilets for the camping and fixed tents, more would be nice to avoid waiting.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice green garden! Walking distance to city centre; shops nearby. Spaces to sit inside and outside.

Disliked: Booking and pricing system unflexible. Too many rules and regulations.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot shower, relaxing place with tv and more.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, nice staff

Disliked: I think it's a little bit expensive for accomodation without bathroom

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Moad

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2011 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: A great place to stay, staff go out of their way to ensure you are comfortable. Good food and great people made it a very enjoyable stay

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

david rees

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2011 david would recommend this property

Liked: very good place to stay lovely grounds.

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rasmus Sørensen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 Rasmus would recommend this property

Liked: Wildebeest is a quiet oase in the middle of the Nairobi. The staff and the manager are excellent. Very friendly, offers a great deal of fantastic experiences and are always ready with good advice. You get a lot of service compared to the small price the place charges. All in all a fantastic place with fantastic people.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

kevin john eddy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2011 kevin john would recommend this property

Liked: Very calm, good security, near to supermarkets and internet cafe, and ATM'S. Breakfasts were good, loved the tortoise wandering around, and also playing with Olly, the owners little son!

Disliked: we booked a tent to stay in( thinking it was one of the big ones!) when we found out it was a diddy little one which was not shown on hostel bookers pages, (only the big ones are shown) we were not too pleased! Evidently, loads of people make the same mistake, according to the staff who work there, so CHECK AND RE-CHECK YOUR TENT ACCOMODATION, All tents had mattresses, so it turned out not so bad after all, but we wewre on our honeymoon!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

timothy peters

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2011 timothy would recommend this property

Liked: it is so relaxing there in the sheltered garden, just sitting on your verandah. the tent i was in was excellent with all mod cons . the menu is varied with the evening meal being an ecletic mix placed ready for you to help yourself. all guests mixed either in the dining room or on the terrace, superb ambiance it is an oasis of calm near the frantic city of nairobi

Disliked: can not offer an adverse comment

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere of the hostel felt more like a miniature resort.

Disliked: While the hostel was very accomadating and very hospitable, it did not have an atmosphere to make new friends.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The outdoor luxury tents

Disliked: We were unlucky that there was a loud concert on friday and saturday night untill 4 o´clock in the morning at the place next door.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Axel Mettepenningen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 January 2011 Axel would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at a deluxe tent: large army-style tents with a seperate bathroom integrated. It also has a fullsize two persons-bed and one single bed. There is also a safe (key code).

Disliked: There wasn't anything i didn't like. If they would have a swimming pool, it would be absolutely perfect :) (but it isn't needed!)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and pleasant place to stay, a tentedcamp within 3 km of the centre of almost one of the biggest towns in Africa. For all kinds of budgets. Nice garden.

Disliked: A swimming Pool would be nice, not neccessary but nice.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely clean accommodation, great food - hearty breakfast included in the price and the evening meal is a must - 750KSH for a really great meal.

Disliked: Toilets a bit of a trek from the room i stayed in. If you are in the dorm you have an ensuite, but in the single or double rooms with shared facilities, you are outside the main house in a little block behind it, and have to walk to the bottom of the garden to get to the loo and showers, ok during the day, but not so pleasant a wallk at night. Also the bunks in the twin room with shared facilities don't have a mosquito net.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kasia Marciniak

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2010 Kasia would recommend this property

Liked: Very good atmosphere...I love the little patio with sofas and cushions

Disliked: Kasia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic internet incl wifi, clean accomodation with top quality fixture and fittings. very helpful staff.

Disliked: nothing to dislike.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Thomas Ebdon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2010

Liked: the others i met there made it bearable. and the massi guys, they were great people.

Disliked: I was shocked when i arrived that it had recieved an award for its atmosphere by hostelbookers. the arrogant owners seemed to adopt an why are these people in my house atmospere and very much looked down on all the guests. They would discuss among themselves loudly any issues or thoughts they had on guests right infront of them. It is incredibly overpriced and i found things on my bill when i came to check out that i simply had not had. I would never stay there again, and if you do make sure you dont book any tours through them. they overcharge by about 50% and then charged me comission for them to book it for me, in the end doubling the price it should have been. People who i met there said that they had stayed there before and it was great but now it's gone down hill. they also told me that they are selective against black guests.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

27 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tthe masai man from Narok

Disliked: Property was ok, But becouse of delay of my shuttle bus my friend has to wait 3 hours outside the camp it was not allowed for him to wait inside, also the booking was there but at the gate they refused him to go in. He is a Kenyan BUT also a guest.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value free breakfast, very chilled out and peaceful, but still within half hour walking of down town, not that you'd want to go.... Five minutes walk to supermarket, movies, anything else you'd need. I've stayed in four different places in Nairoboi and this is the only one I'd go back to

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas EVISON

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday

12 August 2010 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: laid back atmosphere, the dogs, and the fire at night to sit around plus my prize souvenir of a wart dog that I bought from them

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KYNIE EVISON

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday

12 August 2010 KYNIE would recommend this property

Liked: helpfulness of staff and the numerous times they went to the airport to collect our older kids whose flight had been re scheduled and re routed and no one knew when they were arriving including them

Disliked: nil

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KYNIE EVISON

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday

12 August 2010 KYNIE would recommend this property

Liked: It was like a home away from home with lovely gardens, great home cooked dinners friendly hosts and of course Fatty and Barney their furry friends.

Disliked: absolutely nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Evans

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2010 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place to stay and meet others. Great souvenier shop and travel agency. Very close to Kibera Slum for an excellent tour see www.kiberatours.com

Disliked: Nothing at all


See all Nairobi hostels