We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nairobi hostels

Reviews of Wildebeest Camp

Campsite | 151 Mokoyeti Road West, Langata, Nairobi, Kenya 00100

90.4% Overall Rating

194 out of 201 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/09/2015)

Paul Ingram thinks…

"Really enjoyed my stay here! Food was great - though more choice would be nice - staff were great so was the location, near all the tourist stuff (if that's what you want to do) and not a long drive…"

Read all Wildebeest Camp reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room
  • Children's play area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 28.15

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note our cancellation policy is 100% for all bookings cancelled within 30 days of arrival. Please ensure that you have adequate travel insurance or are willing to accept these terms. Cancellation charges may be charged to your credit card without notice.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nairobi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nairobi

Bush House & Camp
15.00 USD

Hostel 81.6% 67 reviews
Wood Avenue Towers
28.15 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Jobcamp Guest House
8.91 USD

Guesthouse 78.6% 4 reviews
Nairobi Airport Stop Over House
11.26 USD

Guesthouse 76.2% 36 reviews
The Clarion Hotel
50.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Ambassadeur Hotel
56.30 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Khweza Bed and Breakfast Nairobi
20.64 USD

Guesthouse 81.1% 87 reviews
Downtown Backpackers
10.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.4%

Overall Rating

194 out of 201 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wildebeest Camp'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
92.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 173 of 185 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sean Roberts

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

28 August 2011 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: Unusual flora and fauna: birds and monkeys, trees and shrubs give a unique atmosphere. Clean hard beds led to good nights sleep.

Disliked: 1) Power cut on first night meant no light, no water, no restaurant. Had to get into taxi and go find a pizza joint in nearest shopping centre. Power cuts happen. T.I.A. Why did they not have a back up generator? 2) When we arrived night one we handed in our hoslelbookers printout showing our booking for a triple and a double delux tents. We were shown to too lovely identical tents. But when we went to pay there was a discrepancy between what they wanted and the price I expected. I again produced my printout from hostelbookers. After a while they said we had been given two triple tents instead of the triple and double and said it was "dishonest" of us not to have pointed the error out. Eventually they agree to accept the price as on the hoslebookers document but the implication that the error was due to our lack of "honesty" left a bitter taste and ruined a largely enjoyable stay

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, good facilities, good value

Disliked: Showers weren't great

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

HAE JEONG YOON

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2011 HAE JEONG would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness.. helpful staff.. good quad tent ^^

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived late and departed early. They were super accommodating and helpful. The security guard was super awesome and they even called us a taxi in advance so we'd get to our next destination on time!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

saleem akhtar

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2011 saleem would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and the cliantel at this hostal were so friendley and helpful .I felt safe and welcome . I stayed in a dorm which was clean .The garden was very welcoming . Definaitly a place to stay before or after a Nairobi visit.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful garden, good location and facilities

Disliked: A little expensive

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and facilities

Disliked: A little pricey

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Iryna Antonova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2011 Iryna would recommend this property

Liked: quiet green place not far from the center of Nairobi

Disliked: dorm is not separated for males and females

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful grounds, lovely deluxe tents, good food.

Disliked: Some things were quite expensive.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small clean dorms and great breakfasts.

Disliked: There are only a couple of showers and toilets for the camping and fixed tents, more would be nice to avoid waiting.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice green garden! Walking distance to city centre; shops nearby. Spaces to sit inside and outside.

Disliked: Booking and pricing system unflexible. Too many rules and regulations.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot shower, relaxing place with tv and more.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, nice staff

Disliked: I think it's a little bit expensive for accomodation without bathroom

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Moad

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2011 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: A great place to stay, staff go out of their way to ensure you are comfortable. Good food and great people made it a very enjoyable stay

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

david rees

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2011 david would recommend this property

Liked: very good place to stay lovely grounds.

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rasmus Sørensen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 Rasmus would recommend this property

Liked: Wildebeest is a quiet oase in the middle of the Nairobi. The staff and the manager are excellent. Very friendly, offers a great deal of fantastic experiences and are always ready with good advice. You get a lot of service compared to the small price the place charges. All in all a fantastic place with fantastic people.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

kevin john eddy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2011 kevin john would recommend this property

Liked: Very calm, good security, near to supermarkets and internet cafe, and ATM'S. Breakfasts were good, loved the tortoise wandering around, and also playing with Olly, the owners little son!

Disliked: we booked a tent to stay in( thinking it was one of the big ones!) when we found out it was a diddy little one which was not shown on hostel bookers pages, (only the big ones are shown) we were not too pleased! Evidently, loads of people make the same mistake, according to the staff who work there, so CHECK AND RE-CHECK YOUR TENT ACCOMODATION, All tents had mattresses, so it turned out not so bad after all, but we wewre on our honeymoon!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

timothy peters

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2011 timothy would recommend this property

Liked: it is so relaxing there in the sheltered garden, just sitting on your verandah. the tent i was in was excellent with all mod cons . the menu is varied with the evening meal being an ecletic mix placed ready for you to help yourself. all guests mixed either in the dining room or on the terrace, superb ambiance it is an oasis of calm near the frantic city of nairobi

Disliked: can not offer an adverse comment

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere of the hostel felt more like a miniature resort.

Disliked: While the hostel was very accomadating and very hospitable, it did not have an atmosphere to make new friends.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The outdoor luxury tents

Disliked: We were unlucky that there was a loud concert on friday and saturday night untill 4 o´clock in the morning at the place next door.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Axel Mettepenningen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 January 2011 Axel would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at a deluxe tent: large army-style tents with a seperate bathroom integrated. It also has a fullsize two persons-bed and one single bed. There is also a safe (key code).

Disliked: There wasn't anything i didn't like. If they would have a swimming pool, it would be absolutely perfect :) (but it isn't needed!)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and pleasant place to stay, a tentedcamp within 3 km of the centre of almost one of the biggest towns in Africa. For all kinds of budgets. Nice garden.

Disliked: A swimming Pool would be nice, not neccessary but nice.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely clean accommodation, great food - hearty breakfast included in the price and the evening meal is a must - 750KSH for a really great meal.

Disliked: Toilets a bit of a trek from the room i stayed in. If you are in the dorm you have an ensuite, but in the single or double rooms with shared facilities, you are outside the main house in a little block behind it, and have to walk to the bottom of the garden to get to the loo and showers, ok during the day, but not so pleasant a wallk at night. Also the bunks in the twin room with shared facilities don't have a mosquito net.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kasia Marciniak

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2010 Kasia would recommend this property

Liked: Very good atmosphere...I love the little patio with sofas and cushions

Disliked: Kasia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fantastic internet incl wifi, clean accomodation with top quality fixture and fittings. very helpful staff.

Disliked: nothing to dislike.


See all Nairobi hostels