We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nairobi hostels

Reviews of Wildebeest Camp

Campsite | 151 Mokoyeti Road West, Langata, Nairobi, Kenya 00100

88.0% Overall Rating

187 out of 194 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/10/2014)

Louise Gillett thinks…

"Everything - location perfect for local attractions such as the National Park, David Sheldrick elephant orphanage, the giraffe sanctuary and Galleria. Very quiet and always clean. Staff friendly and…"

Read all Wildebeest Camp reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room
  • Children's play area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 27.51

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note our cancellation policy is 100% for all bookings cancelled within 30 days of arrival. Please ensure that you have adequate travel insurance or are willing to accept these terms. Cancellation charges may be charged to your credit card without notice.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nairobi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nairobi

Bush House & Camp
17.00 USD

Hostel 81.6% 67 reviews
Wood Avenue Towers
33.02 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Jobcamp Guest House
10.46 USD

Guesthouse 78.6% 4 reviews
Nairobi Airport Stop Over House
13.21 USD

Guesthouse 77.4% 34 reviews
Aquarium Guest Resort
16.51 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
The Clarion Hotel
50.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Ambassadeur Hotel
66.03 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Khweza Bed and Breakfast Nairobi
30.26 USD

Guesthouse 81.0% 82 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.0%

Overall Rating

187 out of 194 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wildebeest Camp'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
91.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 167 of 178 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nancy & John Rosendale

With my spouse / partner

City break

12 May 2012 Nancy & John would recommend this property

Liked: The grounds are amazing in their new location. The luxury tents are beautiful. The staff are friendly and you can see all sorts of wildlife right on their grounds. We saw weaver birds, a three horned chameleon, other chameleons, loads of frogs and other birds. The food is very good and they are now closer to the Elephant Orphanage, Giraffe center, bead making center and Karen Blixen house so you do not have to go far to get to these places. It is further from city center but there is not a lot most tourists want to do in the city center.

Disliked: The distance to the shopping mall is too far to walk. You must take a taxi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Irvine

As a family with children

Family Holiday

28 April 2012 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Great place excellent value for money.. The luxury tents are awesome. For us as a family this was a fantastic place to stay...we liked it so much we extended our time there. The staff are very friendly and helpful. To be fair on the owners they were in midst of shifting from one camp and establishing the present camp so some of the services , facilities were not up and running. But when in full operation will be great for travellers wanting to visit the Giraffe centre, The Bomas, The elephant centre etc.

Disliked: Nothing .

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice surroundings.Nice tent. Food was ok. Close to Nairobi center

Disliked: Expensive safari compare to others

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tricia Cortez Carbonell

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2012 Tricia would recommend this property

Liked: Wildebeest is located just west of city center, and like most places, is in a gated compound with a security guard. So it provides some relief from the noise and fast pace of Nairobi. Breakfast is included and was filling - eggs, toast, coffee -- and staff is helpful and friendly. It's a good place to chat and meet people and have some drinks in the outdoor patio. I also booked a tour of Kibera slum thru Wildebeest, with a guide named Rick who lives in Kibera. This was a very memorable part of my trip to Nairobi. At the hostel, I stayed in a dorm room and all bunk beds had mosquito nets. Take flip flops since the bathroom floor gets very wet from the shower. Highly recommend.

Disliked: Tricia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked being in an outdoor garden setting even though in the middle of Nairobi. Lots of birds and flowers.

Disliked: Music from nearby disco very loud on weekend nights.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked being in an outdoor garden atmosphere even though in the middle of Nairobi. Lots of birds and flowers.

Disliked: Music from nearby disco very loud on weekend nights.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Genevieve Carolan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2012 Genevieve would recommend this property

Liked: Not only is the place a little oasis with beautiful gardens and ponds, complete with a tortoise that does laps around the grounds, but it seems to attract other guests that are open and friendly. I appreciate the various NGOs that they advertise and support. I hope to return some day soon.

Disliked: The cost of the organized city tours seem to be very high.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gregory Daws

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

29 January 2012 Gregory would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely setting Wifi internet (chargeable) Safe

Disliked: Gregory left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Damien Grossier

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

25 January 2012 Damien would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, nice rooms.

Disliked: Airport transfer a bit expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

11 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The website didn't do it justice- much nicer than I expected!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 January 2012

Liked: The accommodation we used was very nice but quite expensive. The taxi they organised was on time and the lady driver was helpful and a good driver and we made very good time from the airport.

Disliked: Our valuables got locked in the safe that would not open. Staff on the premises had no access to the generic code that would open it and had to break into it. The owner was in Australia and not answering their calls so they simply gave up. At my insistence they persisted and the handyman broke it open with a hammer and a screw driver. Another guest's safe would not lock so they decided to withdraw all of the safes until the owner was due to return. They did not take my deposit into account when working out my bill and as my daughter settled it she did not know to pursue it so we were out of pocket. The woman on reception was not helpful and indeed gave us incorrect information several times. Everything seemed too much trouble for her. However the man who was there occasionally was helpful. Emails were not answered when I was planning before my trip and after three tries the answer addressed only one question and another email was needed to get the answer to the second question

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Garden setting

Disliked: Nil

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay - the garden setting is a real escape from the bustle

Disliked: Nil

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: garden Oasis in the hustle and bustle of nairobi

Disliked: Nil

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Christoph Brigadir

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2011 Christoph would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice garden, good food, quiet place

Disliked: Tent was not really waterproof...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: safe and helpfull

Disliked: nothing horrible to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best Hostels we've ever stayed in. Fantastic gardens for having a beer, amazing friendly helpful staff and great value.

Disliked: Nothing - it was great

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tina Bonde

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

06 September 2011 Tina would recommend this property

Liked: We had a deluxe tent, and we absolutely loved it. The family owning the place were always around with their 2 children and everyone were so friendly. We made a lot of new friends from all over the world, because everyone was just sitting outside, so we all get to talk to each other.

Disliked: If u didnt have a deluxe tent, you had to share toilet and shower with the rest of the people not living in deluxe tent, and it wasnt that clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul and Genna Debnam

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2011 Paul and Genna would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and beautiful spot and gardens.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sean Roberts

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

28 August 2011 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: Unusual flora and fauna: birds and monkeys, trees and shrubs give a unique atmosphere. Clean hard beds led to good nights sleep.

Disliked: 1) Power cut on first night meant no light, no water, no restaurant. Had to get into taxi and go find a pizza joint in nearest shopping centre. Power cuts happen. T.I.A. Why did they not have a back up generator? 2) When we arrived night one we handed in our hoslelbookers printout showing our booking for a triple and a double delux tents. We were shown to too lovely identical tents. But when we went to pay there was a discrepancy between what they wanted and the price I expected. I again produced my printout from hostelbookers. After a while they said we had been given two triple tents instead of the triple and double and said it was "dishonest" of us not to have pointed the error out. Eventually they agree to accept the price as on the hoslebookers document but the implication that the error was due to our lack of "honesty" left a bitter taste and ruined a largely enjoyable stay

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, good facilities, good value

Disliked: Showers weren't great

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

HAE JEONG YOON

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2011 HAE JEONG would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness.. helpful staff.. good quad tent ^^

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived late and departed early. They were super accommodating and helpful. The security guard was super awesome and they even called us a taxi in advance so we'd get to our next destination on time!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

saleem akhtar

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2011 saleem would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and the cliantel at this hostal were so friendley and helpful .I felt safe and welcome . I stayed in a dorm which was clean .The garden was very welcoming . Definaitly a place to stay before or after a Nairobi visit.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful garden, good location and facilities

Disliked: A little expensive


See all Nairobi hostels