We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nairobi hostels

Reviews of Bush House & Camp

Hostel | Silanga Road, off Langata Road, Next to Comboni Father Nairobi, Kenya PO BOX 10265-00100

81.6% Overall Rating

58 out of 67 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/11/2013)

"The staff was amazing and incredibly helpful. We also liked the location a lot as it is outside of the hectic city center and near Nairobi Nationalpark. It has a nice garden and the whole place is very clean"

Read all Bush House & Camp reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 30.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nairobi?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nairobi

Wildebeest Camp
11.06 USD

Campsite 88.1% 193 reviews
Wood Avenue Towers
33.18 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Nairobi Airport Stop Over House
13.27 USD

Guesthouse 77.4% 34 reviews
Jobcamp Guest House
10.51 USD

Guesthouse 78.6% 4 reviews
Hotel Embassy - Nairobi
16.59 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.4% 10 reviews
The Clarion Hotel
50.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Aquarium Guest Resort
16.59 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Ambassadeur Hotel
66.36 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.6%

Overall Rating

58 out of 67 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bush House & Camp'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
59.2%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
86.4%
Value
80.0%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 49 of 51 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was amazing and incredibly helpful. We also liked the location a lot as it is outside of the hectic city center and near Nairobi Nationalpark. It has a nice garden and the whole place is very clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a beautiful Mansion with lawns and gardens with a magnificent lounge and dining/retaurant area and rooms.Exclusive and quiet neighbourhood,

Disliked: Best to have a car, or must use taxi to shops and bus stop, then long way to town or airport.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

aaron foster

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 July 2012 aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Property was great. Awesome facilities. Quiet and bedrooms were clean and spacious.

Disliked: Property was a little fat out f the way, however the location and the solitude totally made up for it. The staff were absolutely fantastic

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean rooms, big living room and garden, helpfull staff.

Disliked: It's quite far from both the city and the airport, but for a stop en route it's a great place to stay.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

20 August 2011

Liked: the place we eventually stayed at was good , clean with very obliging staff.

Disliked: their attitude mainly . after several phonecalls we did get a free evening meal and transfer to the new location but it was due to our disatisfaction rather than due to the inconvenience caused.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome and friendly staff always willing to do anything for you!

Disliked: Its far out of town (although we did know that when we booked) and also the hot water and water pressure was not very good..... hard to take a shower after a week on safari.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2010

Liked: Well kept and maintained property. Secure. In a nice suburban area of nairobi

Disliked: staff added significant extra $$ to taxis compared to local taxis, bus tickets (more than the advertised rate) etc. the property was in a nice area however a long way from town and not easy to locate. the stay would have been more enjoyable had it felt as though the stay was to enjoy kenya rather than a financial gain for the staff

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rudolf Ansems

As a family with children

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2010 Rudolf would recommend this property

Liked: Quirt and Friendly

Disliked: No cold drinks, no beer. No muskito net

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: al

Disliked: non

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The setting is exquisite and staff friendly and helpful

Disliked: No hot water whilst we were there - ?? due to power black outs

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lionel van Gelder

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

26 September 2010 Lionel would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful and helpful staff. Pretty good location if you have a car.. Very secure and peaceful.

Disliked: Maybe a tad too peaceful (no bar), some minor problems with water and electricity but you have to expect those...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Chapman

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

14 August 2010 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: The house was absolutely amazing! Very Clean and great facilities available.Private grounds with very good security/Martin was incredibly friendly and helpful. You can book many excursions from the hostel!

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

10 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was clean and safe. staff were friendly and accommodating.

Disliked: The hostel was waaaay out of town. Taxis werent that cheap. The hostel had a driver that they liked to use and we kind of felt obliged to use her. However the prices were very expensive and we had to barter with her.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

31 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I booked a private double ensuite. On the page it was about $27. When we arrived they told us the price is $56, which is quite a difference. They gave us the room according to the booking registration but it felt weird. I think the room was ok, but $56 is a little too much...The staff is really friendly and the house very nice. If you wanna go to the Sheldrick Orphany or Giraffe Center the location is perfect. But there is nothing in walking distance, not even a supermarket or a restaurant. So whatever you wanna do, you need a driver...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sally Watson

20 February 2010 Sally would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly, Solomon, Sarah, Ken & Martin were all wonderful & pleasant to deal with. It was a little way out of town and the address provided on the website confused the Taxi driver as the location was further than expect & we had to stop & ask for directions. however, was close to the Giraffe centre & the croc farm. Lovely place, nice introduction to Nairobi.

Disliked: Sally left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

19 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's far from Nairobi city center ;-) but also expensive...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

paul robson

18 August 2009 paul would recommend this property

Liked: very clean place to stay and helpful staff.

Disliked: paul left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

18 August 2009

Liked: Although some of the staff were not very helpful, others were very helpful especially when i came to making sure we got home safely in the evening and then seeing us off on our travels. Although the location is basically in the middle of nowhere meaning you are at the mercy of the hotels 'taxi drivers' if you want to go anywhere after dark, it is a beautiful house and the room and bathroom were both spacious.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

17 August 2009

Liked: the main house is big and lovely, but the rooms were not nice, they were full of mosquitoes but there was no net. we couldnt sleep all night!there were no water at all most of the time, there were electricity breaks, and when there was electricity half of the light bulbs didnt work anyway. the rooms were ransid, and i doubt the sheets were ever changed. i would recommend it only to someone who is planning to sleep there in a tent.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ryan Carroll

12 August 2009 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: This was a nice little hostel that was a real bargain. I had a great time and the staff was great. The only issue I had was that the address was wrong on the website and it was a lot further from where I was working than I thought it would be. I had to move to another guest house closer to work because the taxi rides were getting expensive. Right before I left they said they were moving to a bigger, better facility so some things may change but not the prices!

Disliked: Ryan left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rune Brødbæk Rasmussen

18 July 2009 Rune would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place. Great pick up service. Clean and safe but not as close to town as told.

Disliked: Rune left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 November 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and nice place to stay for a few days, also free Internet...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

22 November 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free Internet, Friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nancy dow

14 November 2008 nancy would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were wonderful

Disliked: nancy left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

06 October 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Nairobi hostels