We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/02/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/02/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Tokyo, Japan

97.9%
4 reviews Book Now 
1

Hotel MyStays Ochanomizu

3 star Hotel
2-10-6, Kanda Awaji-cho, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo, Japan 101-0063

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel MyStays Ochanomizu

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 100% Facilities - 95% Safety - 100%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%
Customer review
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 02 January 2010

I liked the location, it's very close to Akihabara and within walking distance to the imperial palace

Customer review
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 17 December 2009

I liked the clean, new rooms, comfortable beds and facilities in the rooms. This was all excellent, as was the daily cleaning service, included in the price. I thought the breakfast was good value for money but was let down as the hot food was cold, apparently a common complaint. The unlimited coffee was good though, and is pricey elsewhere...There is a 24/7 shop downstairs and reception is 24 hours. It really feels like a 4.5 star hotel with a couple of convention rooms on the first floor and flash leather couches in reception area. It comes with the stuff you would expect for that, including inroom safe, flatscreen TV, and all the razors and toothbrushes you can get through...I'll definitely stay here again. Wake up call and taxi advance booking was handy! A bit formal for the youth market looking for fun but fantastic value for a secure, modern and comfortable hotel.NB. I think there will be construction across the road for the next year or so, but it did not seem too noisy.

95.9%
53 reviews Book Now 
2

Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki

Hostel
1-17-2, Asakusa, Taitou-ku, Tokyo, Japan 111-0032

51 out of 53 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 96% Facilities - 93% Safety - 99%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 96%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 05 March 2014

Great location. Lots of local shops around instead of big shopping mall. Easy access by train or bus. Bathroom facilities are awesome! Toilet/shower/sink are separated, convenience for backpackers.

Daniel Clark
With friends / other travellers
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Daniel would recommend this property 02 October 2013

Dispite being so cheap the rooms were amazing with air conditioner and extremely comfy beds!

93.7%
5 reviews Book Now 
3

Hotel Meigetsu

3 star Hotel
7-21-10 Minami-Senju, Arakawa,, Tokyo, Japan 116-0003

5 out of 5 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel Meigetsu

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 100% Facilities - 96% Safety - 100%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 96%
Customer review
Alone
City break, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 25 November 2013

Excellent Hotel, probably the best value for money inTokyo, especially the single rooms.

Carla Garcia-Morales
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
Carla would recommend this property 25 November 2012

There is a communal kitchen with fridge, freezer, hob, microwave and washing machine, also a communal pc. The place is very clean and they even have a japanese bath. Each room has tv(although japanese only) and temperature control. The staff are absolutely friendly and helpful!

92.1%
155 reviews Book Now 
4

Anne Hostel Asakusabashi

Hostel
Tokyo 111-0052, Taito-ku, Yanagibashi 2-21-14, Tokyo, Japan 111-0052

143 out of 155 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Anne Hostel Asakusabashi

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 95% Facilities - 89% Safety - 92%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 86%
Jamie Fleet
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Jamie would recommend this property 30 December 2014

Great place to stay with really helpful staff members who are willing to book trips and offer assistance for each guest. Rooms were cleaned on a daily basis and always felt safe in and around the hostel

David Capper
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
David would recommend this property 18 September 2014

This hostel was brilliant. The location was perfect, on a quiet side street in a more relaxed part of the city, but only one stop on the JR Line or a short walk away from Akihabara, and easy to get to anywhere else in the city. It was really clean, both in the rooms and the common areas. The showers were hot and powerful and free shampoo and body wash were provided. A free breakfast of hard boiled eggs, toast and jam was available from 7-10 am, as well as a well-equipped kitchen if you'd rather make your own food. The common room was great, it was easy to meet other people, and there was free tea or coffee available whenever you wanted it. The hostel is only a short walk to loads of bars and karaoke places too. An additional massive plus compared to other hostels we've stayed in were the curtains on the beds which provided a bit of privacy. Each bed also had a shelf, a reading light and a socket, all of which came in handy and make staying in a dorm more bearable.

90.9%
369 reviews Book Now 
5

Sakura Hostel Asakusa

Hostel
2-24-2 Asakusa, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan 111-0032

361 out of 369 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sakura Hostel Asakusa

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 96% Facilities - 89% Safety - 92%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 88%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Relaxation/spa
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 29 January 2015

The bed is large, room is nice with shower and nice restaurant is just downstairs

Johanna Paz Jimenez
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Johanna would recommend this property 26 August 2014

Just amazing place to stay, make new friends and feel in touch with the Japanese culture.

90.5%
3 reviews Book Now 
6

Hotel MyStays Nippori

2 star Hotel
116-0014 Tokyo Prefecture, Arakawa-ku, Higashinippori, Tokyo, Japan 5-43-7

3 out of 3 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel MyStays Nippori

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 93% Facilities - 86% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 93%
Alice Kwan
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway
88.6%
Alice would recommend this property 27 August 2014

Hotel staffs are super friendly, passionate, helpful and smiley. Hotel room is lovely, tidy, we were surprise to find some tools for cooking! Love the toilet and the interior design. Simply and nice! The hotel would not have any cleaning during our 3 days stay. But we can refill our toiletries from the reception.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 12 April 2014

Good access to a variety of transport facilities. Room had extra's such as a microwave and small hob. The price was really good and would definitely stay here again

90.0%
6 reviews Book Now 
7

YADOYA Guest House for Backpackers

Hostel
2-18-6 Nakano,, Nakano-ku, Tokyo, Japan 164-0001

6 out of 6 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend YADOYA Guest House for Backpackers

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 93% Facilities - 83% Safety - 93%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 96%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 08 May 2014

The hostel is really clean, comfortable beds and easy access to busy areas such as shinjuku and shibuya. The staff are very friendly and helpful, there is lots of good food closeby and a kitchen for you to cook for yourself. I liked that there was a light for each bed and that the hostel was cleaned every day.

Luna Wei
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
91.4%
Luna would recommend this property 27 April 2014

Staff was very nice and thoughtful! Place is clean and quiet. Cramped rooms and hallways but the beds were comfortable and that's all that matters! Convenient location, 10 min walk to Nakano station and a 7-11 right across the street was super helpful! As well as a post office nearby! Great place! Lockers in each room

89.4%
112 reviews Book Now 
8

Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro

3 star Hotel
2-40-7 Ikebukuro, Tokyo, Japan 171-0014

104 out of 112 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 90% Facilities - 88% Safety - 89%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 89%
Marco Bubke
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Marco would recommend this property 19 February 2014

The location is really nice, very near to the train station. The hostel was the most cramped in Japan but it is Tokyo so this is to be expected.

Simon Colville
With my spouse / partner
City break, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Simon would recommend this property 14 February 2014

Great hostel, more like a hotel. Staff were friendly and knew a fair bit. (Most of them) The breakfast, while simple, was cheap and a good way to start the day. Cosy little rooms with even 'cosier' bathrooms.

89.3%
50 reviews Book Now 
9

Khaosan Tokyo Samurai

Hostel
1-18-3, Higashi Komagata, Tokyo, Japan 130-0005

45 out of 50 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Khaosan Tokyo Samurai

Atmosphere - 83% Staff - 95% Facilities - 89% Safety - 93%
Location - 83% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 89%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
74.3%
Customer would recommend this property 16 May 2014

A few min walk from the subway (and a direct line to either airport), friendly staff, clean.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
City break, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 10 March 2014

Very friendly staff. Helped us when we had questions, also a good infomation board and a lot of infos. Very close to Asakusa station and easy to fiend. Nice small doble room in the second floor. At our stay always enough showers available.

89.0%
207 reviews Book Now 
10

K's House Tokyo

Hostel
20-10, Kuramae 3-chome, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan 111-0051

202 out of 207 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend K's House Tokyo

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 95% Facilities - 88% Safety - 88%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 88%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 04 June 2014

Staffs are friendly and helpful. Nice atmosphere in the hostel. Bed and bathrooms are clean. Very nice.

kelly lewis
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
85.7%
kelly would recommend this property 24 December 2013

The location is great, walking distance to cheap eats, bars and two commonly used train lines to explore tokyo

Tokyo

43 Hostels from 13.65 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Tokyo hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Tokyo. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Tokyo

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Tokyo. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tokyo?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter