HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels

Reviews of Tokyo Backpackers

Hostel | 2-2-2, Nihon-Zutsumi, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan 111-0021

76.5% Overall Rating

30 out of 38 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/01/2014)

Alejandro Arque Gallardo thinks…

"The place is very close to Ueno park and Asakusa which is great to see very nice places, the staff was very helpful with the things we could do the night of the 31 of December and their english was…"

Read all Tokyo Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.46

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Payment is to be in cash on arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tokyo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tokyo

Juyoh Hotel
31.24 USD

Hostel 85.1% 153 reviews
Tokyo Hostel
22.46 USD

Hostel 79.4% 270 reviews
Aizuya Inn
31.24 USD

Hostel 88.3% 257 reviews
Hotel Asakusa Mikawaya
63.46 USD

Hotel 2 star 56.2% 3 reviews
Sakura Hostel Asakusa
28.70 USD

Hostel 90.3% 353 reviews
Ryokan Asaksua Mikawaya Honten
68.34 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Kawase
34.17 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 71.9% 18 reviews
Asakusa Ryokan Toukaisou
29.29 USD

Hostel 88.3% 82 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.5%

Overall Rating

30 out of 38 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tokyo Backpackers'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
60.0%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
83.2%
Value
82.4%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 30 of 31 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alejandro Arque Gallardo

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: The place is very close to Ueno park and Asakusa which is great to see very nice places, the staff was very helpful with the things we could do the night of the 31 of December and their english was very good

Disliked: a bit dirty under the beds but that's all I can say

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Prince

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel in itself, very clean, extremely helpful staff, Koji in particular was a fantastic help and even greeted me by name before I said anything the first time I walked into the place. The mattress was very hard but I prefer that, the pillow was a traditional Japanese one apparently and was fine, just adds to the authenticity of being in Tokyo. The hostel is in the poorest part of Tokyo a 20/ 30 min trip from the centre, perfectly do-able. I felt totally safe and this wasn't a problem.

Disliked: Being a single traveller I am always keen to meet people at hostels and strike up conversations, but there wasn't any atmosphere and despite trying to engage people there wasn't really any like minded people to hang out with. Maybe it was just the time I was there. You're locked out 11-4pm, bit odd but hey you should be out exploring Tokyo anyway!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dan Rogers

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Above average western style bed with eastern style pillow. Nice common room to meet other travellers. Clean facilities with hot water all the time. Quiet neighborhood. Digital locks on hostel and room doors. Clean sheets.

Disliked: Directions to hostel were non-existent. Locked out of hostel everyday from 11-4.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David McCabe

04 January 2010 David would recommend this property

Liked: Shower facilities were impressive. Cleanliness was 100%. One serious issue was finding the hostel. The map directions were adequate (although more street names would help) but the hostel is not signposted. In common with other guests I walked past it more than once before discovering it.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Catrin Edwards

26 July 2009 Catrin would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was basic but certainly sufficient - nothing special but no problems. Main issue was the directions given from the underground station to the hostel: you need to leave at the SOUTH exit and not the East (which doesn`t exist!). Got a bit lost looking for the correct exit as there is also a few exits for the JR station nearby.

Disliked: Catrin left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the bathroom, and shower facilities were clean. the internet was a bit of a hassle though, due to my requirements which keep me frequently needing to be online and for extended periods of time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

10 June 2009

Liked: That I had a bed where to sleep, nothing much appart from that

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

18 May 2009

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was bare nang, its got everyting u need init.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eirik Knudsen

17 January 2009 Eirik would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet, the extreme cleanliness and the good shower facilities.

Disliked: Eirik left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

parichat jenjaroenpun

05 December 2008 parichat would recommend this property

Liked: clean and cheap.......very perfect

Disliked: parichat left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Rahul Thakariya

11 November 2008 Rahul would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, got there after midnight and had left sheets and stuff for me.

Disliked: Rahul left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 June 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was extremely cheap and good value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 June 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Allows me to put my luggage there when I'm not staying over for the night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Silvia Pop

19 April 2008 Silvia would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, silent, secure, good internet access

Disliked: Silvia left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Andrew Cottrell

15 April 2008

Liked: The beds here are rock hard. There's also limited bedding - they need to have more blankets available or turn the heating up!

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 December 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sonya Ahmat

17 December 2007 Sonya would recommend this property

Liked: We felt safe there and with our belongings. The staff were friendly and the others in our room were very polite. We felt at home and welcomed.

Disliked: Sonya left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

20 October 2007

Liked: cleanliness, only few people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 August 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price, location, cleanliness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 May 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very convenient for getting to downtown tokyo and has a lively common area

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Man King Li

08 April 2007 Man King would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness

Disliked: Man King left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

20 January 2007 would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean and safe

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

02 January 2007 would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was extremely clean and well run. The staff were kind and very helpful. There were many different people staying there, something for everyone and the security was excellent with codes for both the front entrance and individual rooms. The hostel has lots of information with regards to the cheapest way to travel and what places to go and see during your stay. The showers were amazing! I felt safe and extrememly welcome here.

Disliked: left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michal Pieprzyk

06 August 2006 Michal would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness of hostel

Disliked: Michal left no negative feedback.


See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels