We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels

Reviews of Asakusa house

Guesthouse | 2-10-11, Nishi-Asakusa, Taito, Tokyo, Japan 111-0035

58.2% Overall Rating

35 out of 74 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2015)

"It was a good location, close to many restaurants, bars, supermarkets and public transport. Easy to find with the map provided here. Free wifi was working in the room most of the time. First I didnt like the little…"

Read all Asakusa house reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tokyo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tokyo

Khaosan Tokyo Laboratory
26.27 USD

Hostel 88.1% 6 reviews
Asakusa Hostel Toukaisou
22.17 USD

Hostel 83.8% 205 reviews
Asakusa Ryokan Toukaisou
24.63 USD

Hostel 88.3% 101 reviews
Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki
24.63 USD

Hostel 95.9% 53 reviews
Sakura Hostel Asakusa
24.14 USD

Hostel 90.3% 372 reviews
Ryokan Asaksua Mikawaya Honten
61.57 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel MyStays Ueno
59.11 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 78.6% 4 reviews
Hotel Kawase
820.98 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 71.9% 18 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
58.2%

Overall Rating

35 out of 74 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Asakusa house'

Atmosphere
53.6%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
45.6%
Cleanliness
43.2%
Staff
57.6%
Value
62.4%
Safety
59.2%
Refine your results Showing 61 of 74 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good location, close to many restaurants, bars, supermarkets and public transport. Easy to find with the map provided here. Free wifi was working in the room most of the time. First I didnt like the little booth you had to sleep in with not much space for your backpack, but in the end i quite appreciated it as it gave you a lot of privacy. It felt rather like staying in your own little room than being in a dorm. As well it rendered a special touch.

Disliked: Smoking was allowed on the ground floor where the bar was. The cigarette smoke made its way to the upper floors when the doors were not closed. Everything is very small, there was not much space to move. The lamp in my booth was not working. Apart from that it was in general very dark inside.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Agnes Breunig

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2015

Liked: It is a bed after all. Better than sleeping under the bridge! No rain dripping in, either. And surprisingly there was toilet paper! The one time I met staff he was friendly and spoke English.

Disliked: The house looks like in your worst dreams. Hasnt been renovated for ages, the walls are falling off, having holes, the floor is dirty and everything is super small and its full of rubbish and broken stuff that stands around everywhere. It is absolutely never cleaned, the dirt in the sink and on the toilet was so thick, my guess is that it was maybe cleaned three months ago. The futon you are sleeping on is old and dirty, full of stains and it smells, also the sheet doesnt look clean, but maybe im just biased. The wifi doesnt really work, the kitchen is not a kitchen, the staff is absoultely never there, the booth you sleep in is too small for the futon, so it doesnt fit in, of course there is neither a space for the backpack (luckily i am small), the light is really dark and it would be easy for someone to climb over the wall to steal my things. The worst thing about this hostel is the atmosphere. It feels so dead, so horror like, you will feel so alone and miserable there. I truly hope that this hostel will soon be shut down and the building knocked down, and believe me, I am really not picky!

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

15 August 2015

Liked: nothing

Disliked: dirty and disgusted.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The booths are really nice, because you get a lot of privacy even if it's a dorm. Proper temperature in the sleeping rooms. Close to public transportation.

Disliked: Some cockroaches crawling around. Internet very slow, and sometimes the internet box overheated, so I had to reset it if I wanted to use surf the web. It was hard to meet somebody at the reception.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

11 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a place to sleep, that's it. But you can not expect more for this price.

Disliked: It's not very clean

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mickael Pierre

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2015 Mickael would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff, cool rooms, great location

Disliked: Mickael left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jerry Muus

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2015

Liked: A convenient location for many outings, and the price is low. There are many good restaurants in the area. All beds are in individually enclosed rooms. There is a bar in the basement.

Disliked: The individual rooms are extremely small. No kitchen facility at all. There is usually no one at the desk to receive customers. The place is very difficult to find.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Morrill

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2015 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: All stuff are very friendly and wanting to make sure you have an amazing time with your trip.

Disliked: Nothing although I'm jealous that the restaurant down stairs won't open till after I leave.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is extemely cheap for being in Tokyo in a place where it's easy to travel around. But being inexpensive means it's not a high-quality place. I'd recommend it for people who want to travel cheap and don't care about comfortability.

Disliked: There is a night club downstairs and I heard the loud music almost every night despite staying in the uppermost floor. I only met staff members when I checked in, afterwards I never met them again. The facilities aren't exactly clean or comfortable, but it's sufficient for the low price.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

26 April 2015

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Avoid here if you wanna sleep. You can't sleep here because they continue playing extremely loud music through a night. Worse than karaoke.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Saurabh Jain

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2015 Saurabh would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bar in the basement with friendly staff.

Disliked: Saurabh left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2015

Liked: Location

Disliked: It felt like it hadn't been cleaned in a while The bed linen was damp and I didn't trust that it was clean People come and go from the dormitory all night There is a club in the basement, which is fun, but the music drifts up to even the third floor and goes on all night There may be a communal kitchen, but no one uses it. Indeed, a large rat visits the area every night.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the good location! asakusa is the best place is tokyo

Disliked: Sakura house, is too much dark. no too mant light inside, even if outside is a sunnyday inside, look like its raining !

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2015

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Bar in the basement, people smoke inside, crammed tiny 4x7 sleeping cubicles

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Chris Santos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 February 2015

Liked: The cubicles you sleep in, on futons, were fine and comfortable. Can't ask for much more than that for the price. I'm 6"2 and I was fine lying down, but any taller and it wouldn't have been comfortable. The Internet was also good.

Disliked: There is no mention that the hostel is above a club/bar with thumping bass that goes on until the wee hours of the morning. Upstairs if you put in earplugs it's fine to sleep through, DO NOT GET THE PRIVATE 4 PERSON ROOM as it is located directly above the bars speaker system. Lockers are also mention in the features but there are none, you can lock your stuff in your cubicle, but there is a gap that somebody could climb over if they really wanted to, so don't leave anything valuable on display. Also the map that is provided on the website is inaccurate. Look for the tall SoftBank building, the hostel is on the small road directly opposite it. You can't miss it, it's on your right.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2015

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: As mentioned above.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SIMON DE BOER

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2014 SIMON would recommend this property

Liked: A VERY CENTRAL LOCATION,NEAR UENO STATION!!! 2 CHEAP SUPERMARKETS, SEIYU,LIFE,MANY SHOPS!!! IN THE HEART OF OLD HISTORICAL TOKYO!!!!

Disliked: I DISLIKED NOTHING!!!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2014

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Everything. Only the location and the fare are good, but in the same area one can easily find fairly good places (this isn't!) for the same price. Just don't go here!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

05 August 2014

Liked: The location and character

Disliked: The cockroaches

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

nicholas jay

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2014 nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Was a last resort.... never again

Disliked: Everything

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

peter yarrow yarrow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014 peter yarrow would recommend this property

Liked: good location, I could book at short notice, free wi-fi and the price, also the other guest are mostly european backpacker types, so some interesting people to chat to

Disliked: nothing, it was good value

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It s in Asakusa district, the best district to live in Tokyo, close to the subway, peaceful

Disliked: It s an old little house, you sleep in boxes, no space for anything else, your bag sleep with you. I m allergic and it s full of dust...

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

28 July 2014

Liked: There is nothin good there, believe me, returning there is my bigest nightmare. I'm writting this just to warn you, I don't even want to think about this place never again.

Disliked: There was no staff there. Dirty place, dark rooms and halls, stinky futon, smaller than you can imagine rooms, oppressive atmosphere.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and other people staying there

Disliked: Very small rooms! But that is not a bad thing at all! Very good value for money!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

chris fenwick

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2014 chris would recommend this property

Liked: Crazy little place with a quirky owner, the owner is a gentleman & very helpful. A cool mazey room layout makes for a quirky & weird place. Defo the cheapest place in Tokyo. Not a place for anyone who takes life too seriously

Disliked: chris left no negative feedback.


See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels