We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels

Reviews of Asakusa house

Guesthouse | 2-10-11, Nishi-Asakusa, Taito, Tokyo, Japan 111-0035

60.7% Overall Rating

25 out of 51 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/08/2014)

peter yarrow yarrow thinks…

"good location, I could book at short notice, free wi-fi and the price, also the other guest are mostly european backpacker types, so some interesting people to chat to"

Read all Asakusa house reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tokyo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tokyo

Khaosan Tokyo Laboratory
31.17 USD

Hostel 88.1% 6 reviews
Asakusa Hostel Toukaisou
24.76 USD

Hostel 84.2% 199 reviews
Asakusa Ryokan Toukaisou
27.51 USD

Hostel 86.9% 92 reviews
Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki
29.34 USD

Hostel 95.9% 53 reviews
Sakura Hostel Asakusa
26.96 USD

Hostel 89.6% 364 reviews
Ryokan Asaksua Mikawaya Honten
64.18 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel MyStays Ueno
66.01 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 80.0% 3 reviews
Hotel Kawase
32.09 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 71.9% 18 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
60.7%

Overall Rating

25 out of 51 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Asakusa house'

Atmosphere
52.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
51.2%
Cleanliness
46.4%
Staff
64.8%
Value
62.4%
Safety
60.0%
Refine your results Showing 43 of 51 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

05 August 2014

Liked: The location and character

Disliked: The cockroaches

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

nicholas jay

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2014 nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Was a last resort.... never again

Disliked: Everything

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

peter yarrow yarrow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014 peter yarrow would recommend this property

Liked: good location, I could book at short notice, free wi-fi and the price, also the other guest are mostly european backpacker types, so some interesting people to chat to

Disliked: nothing, it was good value

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It s in Asakusa district, the best district to live in Tokyo, close to the subway, peaceful

Disliked: It s an old little house, you sleep in boxes, no space for anything else, your bag sleep with you. I m allergic and it s full of dust...

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

28 July 2014

Liked: There is nothin good there, believe me, returning there is my bigest nightmare. I'm writting this just to warn you, I don't even want to think about this place never again.

Disliked: There was no staff there. Dirty place, dark rooms and halls, stinky futon, smaller than you can imagine rooms, oppressive atmosphere.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and other people staying there

Disliked: Very small rooms! But that is not a bad thing at all! Very good value for money!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

chris fenwick

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2014 chris would recommend this property

Liked: Crazy little place with a quirky owner, the owner is a gentleman & very helpful. A cool mazey room layout makes for a quirky & weird place. Defo the cheapest place in Tokyo. Not a place for anyone who takes life too seriously

Disliked: chris left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very very cheap for Tokyo and the location is good, pretty close to the subway station (once you've figured out how to go from there). There is a free washing machine (didn't try it though) and the staff (which is basically one guy) is pretty nice when he's around. The other thing I liked is that I met a lot of other foreigners that like me didn't plan well and took it because it was the only hotel available so we went out together and had a good time.

Disliked: The rooms (if you can even call them that) are really small, you'd better not be taller than 1.8m because even with this height, you need to sleep in the diagonal to get some comfort. There's no space for the luggage so better pack lightly because the luggage will be over the futon.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Patrick Fassbinder

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: liked the athmosphere

Disliked: nothing to complain

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2014

Liked: The staff member was very friendly and check-in was easy. He helped show me around my floor briefly when I had a question. It was also very cheap to stay there, and was a basic place to leave my bag during the day (although someone determined could just climb into the locked booth since it only comes to around eye level). Close walk from Tawaramachi station on the Ginzan line though, and really easy to find. Just had to be careful as the line ends a little earlier than JR lines.

Disliked: The level of cleanliness and noise level at the hotel were what made it unbearable. It looked like the bathroom and showers on my floor hadn't been cleaned in ages and there was hair all around the sink. The sink in the bathroom was a style just for washing hands, so I couldn't even wash my face there. I ended up going to the Tsubame no you (燕湯) in Okachimachi every morning. The bed linens provided were questionably clean, and although the pillow had a cover, the blankets didn't seem to have one which could be easily washed. Lastly, the noise level was atrocious, there was a very ride couple that consistently came back drunk (??) in the middle of the night (4-5am) and were SUPER loud. Finally on the second night some other travelers had to tell them off. Although it's a cheap price, also seemed to attract amorous couples and just wasn't a quiet place to sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SHIRLEY-ANNE HADLEY

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 SHIRLEY-ANNE would recommend this property

Liked: Kei, the proprietor, is very friendly and helpful. It's in a good location, basic, but and all you need is there.

Disliked: Nothing!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

andrew de la pena

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013

Liked: This hostel is ok if your really in a bind in trying to find a place like we were when all of the hotels were booked due to the public holiday. If your really try to travel cheaply it's doable but I recommend spending five extra dollars and having the chance to sleep in a bed somewhere else.

Disliked: You get a small partitioned space with a lumpy futon and the bathrooms are not very nice. My girlfriend got allergies from the dust on the blankets and couldn't sleep all night because her eyes were swollen. This isn't really a hostel, its more of an internet café with some futons on the second and third floors.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kieran Kennedy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2013 Kieran would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet and cheap

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything, I had a perfect nights sleep

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, good wifi, accessible 24/7, good location, nearby shops and Metro.

Disliked: Not 100% safe due to cubicle-type formation. It might be easy for someone to take your belongings And furthermore the front door is not locked.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2013

Liked: It is really hard to find so when we rang them in dispair the owner came and got us in his van.

Disliked: This hostel has tiny cell like cubicals that you sleep in. Mine was so small that I couldn't lie straight out and my bed didn't fold out because the cubical was too small. I am a girl so definitely no good for tall boys! The sheets floor and bathroom were all filthy. Yes this place is cheap but I would recomend you avoid like the plague. It is cheap for a reason! Definitely give this a miss!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

matthew furey-king

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 September 2013

Liked: Price, thats it

Disliked: It was dreadful, the booth wasn't long enough to lie down in, the mattress on the floor was extremely dirty and stained, all I had for bed furnishings was an old curtain, and the temperature was horrendous as the air con couldn't deal with the large number of people in one room. We sweltered and it was september. You didnt have room to pack your bag really, oh and the showers were freezing cold on the first day. way below anyones minimum standard.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013

Liked: The location of the property is perfect with only 5 min. to the metro and 2 min. to a 7eleven.

Disliked: Only one guy seems to run this place who randomly shows up for an hour or so per day. The place is the dirtiest hostel I have ever seen with bed bugs and junk just everywhere.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Dirty and non existent staff

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sarah Vickery

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap. Location was decent, lots of restaurants nearby. Super close to the Tawaramachi metro stop, and near Asakusa stops as well. Odd sleeping arrangement, but kind of ideal once you adjust. Your own little cubicle type area. Fantastic wifi connection though. And good air conditioning.

Disliked: The showers are on the 3rd floor.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Andrew Cope-Perera

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 August 2013

Liked: Wifi, Some privacy A/C

Disliked: The bathroom and kitchen are dirty. No security. No staff. No atmosphere Way too expensive, over 22 USD for a mattress on the floor.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2013

Liked: The price was good and the location also - near the Ueno station and in the center of Asakusa. Nearby to the supermarkets and the restaurants.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 June 2013

Liked: Was pretty cheap, the owner was okay if a bit quiet and he provided me with free and good coffee in the morning

Disliked: It is filthy

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

yuni kamal

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 yuni would recommend this property

Liked: the location is near to Sensoji Temple and Tawamarachi Station (Subway)

Disliked: The room is small.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There are not many people. You can check in and out wen you want, because there is no staff, excepted in the night, then staff is there.

Disliked: You need a reservation, because there is no staff. Internet connection is slow, sometimes its completely down. 14 bed dorm has no windows. Kitchen was dirty. No bed, just a thin mattress

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tomoyuki Nakatsuka

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 April 2013

Liked: It's very cheap and convenient to access to Kaminari-mon.

Disliked: Shower room is very small and no place to change close. Valuables can be stolen.


See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels