We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels

Reviews of Asakusa house

Guesthouse | 2-10-11, Nishi-Asakusa, Taito, Tokyo, Japan 111-0035

62.5% Overall Rating

32 out of 67 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/05/2015)

Jerry Muus thinks…

"A convenient location for many outings, and the price is low. There are many good restaurants in the area. All beds are in individually enclosed rooms. There is a bar in the basement."

Read all Asakusa house reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tokyo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tokyo

Khaosan Tokyo Laboratory
25.88 USD

Hostel 88.1% 6 reviews
Asakusa Hostel Toukaisou
21.83 USD

Hostel 83.8% 203 reviews
Asakusa Ryokan Toukaisou
24.26 USD

Hostel 88.1% 99 reviews
Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki
24.26 USD

Hostel 95.9% 53 reviews
Sakura Hostel Asakusa
23.78 USD

Hostel 90.3% 372 reviews
Ryokan Asaksua Mikawaya Honten
60.65 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel MyStays Ueno
58.23 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 80.0% 3 reviews
Hotel Kawase
808.69 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 71.9% 18 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.5%

Overall Rating

32 out of 67 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Asakusa house'

Atmosphere
56.0%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
52.8%
Cleanliness
48.8%
Staff
61.6%
Value
71.2%
Safety
61.6%
Refine your results Showing 56 of 67 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mickael Pierre

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2015 Mickael would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff, cool rooms, great location

Disliked: Mickael left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jerry Muus

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2015

Liked: A convenient location for many outings, and the price is low. There are many good restaurants in the area. All beds are in individually enclosed rooms. There is a bar in the basement.

Disliked: The individual rooms are extremely small. No kitchen facility at all. There is usually no one at the desk to receive customers. The place is very difficult to find.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Morrill

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2015 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: All stuff are very friendly and wanting to make sure you have an amazing time with your trip.

Disliked: Nothing although I'm jealous that the restaurant down stairs won't open till after I leave.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is extemely cheap for being in Tokyo in a place where it's easy to travel around. But being inexpensive means it's not a high-quality place. I'd recommend it for people who want to travel cheap and don't care about comfortability.

Disliked: There is a night club downstairs and I heard the loud music almost every night despite staying in the uppermost floor. I only met staff members when I checked in, afterwards I never met them again. The facilities aren't exactly clean or comfortable, but it's sufficient for the low price.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

26 April 2015

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Avoid here if you wanna sleep. You can't sleep here because they continue playing extremely loud music through a night. Worse than karaoke.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Saurabh Jain

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2015 Saurabh would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bar in the basement with friendly staff.

Disliked: Saurabh left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2015

Liked: Location

Disliked: It felt like it hadn't been cleaned in a while The bed linen was damp and I didn't trust that it was clean People come and go from the dormitory all night There is a club in the basement, which is fun, but the music drifts up to even the third floor and goes on all night There may be a communal kitchen, but no one uses it. Indeed, a large rat visits the area every night.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the good location! asakusa is the best place is tokyo

Disliked: Sakura house, is too much dark. no too mant light inside, even if outside is a sunnyday inside, look like its raining !

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2015

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Bar in the basement, people smoke inside, crammed tiny 4x7 sleeping cubicles

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Chris Santos

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 February 2015

Liked: The cubicles you sleep in, on futons, were fine and comfortable. Can't ask for much more than that for the price. I'm 6"2 and I was fine lying down, but any taller and it wouldn't have been comfortable. The Internet was also good.

Disliked: There is no mention that the hostel is above a club/bar with thumping bass that goes on until the wee hours of the morning. Upstairs if you put in earplugs it's fine to sleep through, DO NOT GET THE PRIVATE 4 PERSON ROOM as it is located directly above the bars speaker system. Lockers are also mention in the features but there are none, you can lock your stuff in your cubicle, but there is a gap that somebody could climb over if they really wanted to, so don't leave anything valuable on display. Also the map that is provided on the website is inaccurate. Look for the tall SoftBank building, the hostel is on the small road directly opposite it. You can't miss it, it's on your right.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2015

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: As mentioned above.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SIMON DE BOER

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2014 SIMON would recommend this property

Liked: A VERY CENTRAL LOCATION,NEAR UENO STATION!!! 2 CHEAP SUPERMARKETS, SEIYU,LIFE,MANY SHOPS!!! IN THE HEART OF OLD HISTORICAL TOKYO!!!!

Disliked: I DISLIKED NOTHING!!!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2014

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Everything. Only the location and the fare are good, but in the same area one can easily find fairly good places (this isn't!) for the same price. Just don't go here!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

05 August 2014

Liked: The location and character

Disliked: The cockroaches

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

nicholas jay

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2014 nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Was a last resort.... never again

Disliked: Everything

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

peter yarrow yarrow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014 peter yarrow would recommend this property

Liked: good location, I could book at short notice, free wi-fi and the price, also the other guest are mostly european backpacker types, so some interesting people to chat to

Disliked: nothing, it was good value

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It s in Asakusa district, the best district to live in Tokyo, close to the subway, peaceful

Disliked: It s an old little house, you sleep in boxes, no space for anything else, your bag sleep with you. I m allergic and it s full of dust...

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

28 July 2014

Liked: There is nothin good there, believe me, returning there is my bigest nightmare. I'm writting this just to warn you, I don't even want to think about this place never again.

Disliked: There was no staff there. Dirty place, dark rooms and halls, stinky futon, smaller than you can imagine rooms, oppressive atmosphere.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and other people staying there

Disliked: Very small rooms! But that is not a bad thing at all! Very good value for money!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

chris fenwick

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2014 chris would recommend this property

Liked: Crazy little place with a quirky owner, the owner is a gentleman & very helpful. A cool mazey room layout makes for a quirky & weird place. Defo the cheapest place in Tokyo. Not a place for anyone who takes life too seriously

Disliked: chris left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very very cheap for Tokyo and the location is good, pretty close to the subway station (once you've figured out how to go from there). There is a free washing machine (didn't try it though) and the staff (which is basically one guy) is pretty nice when he's around. The other thing I liked is that I met a lot of other foreigners that like me didn't plan well and took it because it was the only hotel available so we went out together and had a good time.

Disliked: The rooms (if you can even call them that) are really small, you'd better not be taller than 1.8m because even with this height, you need to sleep in the diagonal to get some comfort. There's no space for the luggage so better pack lightly because the luggage will be over the futon.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Patrick Fassbinder

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: liked the athmosphere

Disliked: nothing to complain

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2014

Liked: The staff member was very friendly and check-in was easy. He helped show me around my floor briefly when I had a question. It was also very cheap to stay there, and was a basic place to leave my bag during the day (although someone determined could just climb into the locked booth since it only comes to around eye level). Close walk from Tawaramachi station on the Ginzan line though, and really easy to find. Just had to be careful as the line ends a little earlier than JR lines.

Disliked: The level of cleanliness and noise level at the hotel were what made it unbearable. It looked like the bathroom and showers on my floor hadn't been cleaned in ages and there was hair all around the sink. The sink in the bathroom was a style just for washing hands, so I couldn't even wash my face there. I ended up going to the Tsubame no you (燕湯) in Okachimachi every morning. The bed linens provided were questionably clean, and although the pillow had a cover, the blankets didn't seem to have one which could be easily washed. Lastly, the noise level was atrocious, there was a very ride couple that consistently came back drunk (??) in the middle of the night (4-5am) and were SUPER loud. Finally on the second night some other travelers had to tell them off. Although it's a cheap price, also seemed to attract amorous couples and just wasn't a quiet place to sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SHIRLEY-ANNE HADLEY

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 SHIRLEY-ANNE would recommend this property

Liked: Kei, the proprietor, is very friendly and helpful. It's in a good location, basic, but and all you need is there.

Disliked: Nothing!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

andrew de la pena

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013

Liked: This hostel is ok if your really in a bind in trying to find a place like we were when all of the hotels were booked due to the public holiday. If your really try to travel cheaply it's doable but I recommend spending five extra dollars and having the chance to sleep in a bed somewhere else.

Disliked: You get a small partitioned space with a lumpy futon and the bathrooms are not very nice. My girlfriend got allergies from the dust on the blankets and couldn't sleep all night because her eyes were swollen. This isn't really a hostel, its more of an internet café with some futons on the second and third floors.


See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels