HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels

Reviews of Asakusa house

Guesthouse | 2-10-11, Nishi-Asakusa, Taito, Tokyo, Japan 111-0035

58.3% Overall Rating

19 out of 42 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/04/2014)

"The staff member was very friendly and check-in was easy. He helped show me around my floor briefly when I had a question. It was also very cheap to stay there, and was a basic place to leave my bag during the day…"

Read all Asakusa house reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tokyo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tokyo

Khaosan Tokyo Laboratory
33.28 USD

Hostel 88.1% 6 reviews
Asakusa Hostel Toukaisou
26.43 USD

Hostel 85.7% 192 reviews
Asakusa Ryokan Toukaisou
29.36 USD

Hotel 88.3% 82 reviews
Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki
31.32 USD

Hostel 96.9% 51 reviews
Sakura Hostel Asakusa
28.77 USD

Hostel 90.3% 353 reviews
Ryokan Asaksua Mikawaya Honten
68.51 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel MyStays Ueno
47.96 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Hotel Kawase
34.26 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 71.9% 18 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
58.3%

Overall Rating

19 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Asakusa house'

Atmosphere
49.6%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
46.4%
Cleanliness
48.0%
Staff
62.4%
Value
58.4%
Safety
56.8%
Refine your results Showing 35 of 42 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Patrick Fassbinder

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: liked the athmosphere

Disliked: nothing to complain

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2014

Liked: The staff member was very friendly and check-in was easy. He helped show me around my floor briefly when I had a question. It was also very cheap to stay there, and was a basic place to leave my bag during the day (although someone determined could just climb into the locked booth since it only comes to around eye level). Close walk from Tawaramachi station on the Ginzan line though, and really easy to find. Just had to be careful as the line ends a little earlier than JR lines.

Disliked: The level of cleanliness and noise level at the hotel were what made it unbearable. It looked like the bathroom and showers on my floor hadn't been cleaned in ages and there was hair all around the sink. The sink in the bathroom was a style just for washing hands, so I couldn't even wash my face there. I ended up going to the Tsubame no you (燕湯) in Okachimachi every morning. The bed linens provided were questionably clean, and although the pillow had a cover, the blankets didn't seem to have one which could be easily washed. Lastly, the noise level was atrocious, there was a very ride couple that consistently came back drunk (??) in the middle of the night (4-5am) and were SUPER loud. Finally on the second night some other travelers had to tell them off. Although it's a cheap price, also seemed to attract amorous couples and just wasn't a quiet place to sleep.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SHIRLEY-ANNE HADLEY

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 SHIRLEY-ANNE would recommend this property

Liked: Kei, the proprietor, is very friendly and helpful. It's in a good location, basic, but and all you need is there.

Disliked: Nothing!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

andrew de la pena

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013

Liked: This hostel is ok if your really in a bind in trying to find a place like we were when all of the hotels were booked due to the public holiday. If your really try to travel cheaply it's doable but I recommend spending five extra dollars and having the chance to sleep in a bed somewhere else.

Disliked: You get a small partitioned space with a lumpy futon and the bathrooms are not very nice. My girlfriend got allergies from the dust on the blankets and couldn't sleep all night because her eyes were swollen. This isn't really a hostel, its more of an internet café with some futons on the second and third floors.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kieran Kennedy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2013 Kieran would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet and cheap

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything, I had a perfect nights sleep

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, good wifi, accessible 24/7, good location, nearby shops and Metro.

Disliked: Not 100% safe due to cubicle-type formation. It might be easy for someone to take your belongings And furthermore the front door is not locked.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2013

Liked: It is really hard to find so when we rang them in dispair the owner came and got us in his van.

Disliked: This hostel has tiny cell like cubicals that you sleep in. Mine was so small that I couldn't lie straight out and my bed didn't fold out because the cubical was too small. I am a girl so definitely no good for tall boys! The sheets floor and bathroom were all filthy. Yes this place is cheap but I would recomend you avoid like the plague. It is cheap for a reason! Definitely give this a miss!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

matthew furey-king

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 September 2013

Liked: Price, thats it

Disliked: It was dreadful, the booth wasn't long enough to lie down in, the mattress on the floor was extremely dirty and stained, all I had for bed furnishings was an old curtain, and the temperature was horrendous as the air con couldn't deal with the large number of people in one room. We sweltered and it was september. You didnt have room to pack your bag really, oh and the showers were freezing cold on the first day. way below anyones minimum standard.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013

Liked: The location of the property is perfect with only 5 min. to the metro and 2 min. to a 7eleven.

Disliked: Only one guy seems to run this place who randomly shows up for an hour or so per day. The place is the dirtiest hostel I have ever seen with bed bugs and junk just everywhere.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Dirty and non existent staff

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sarah Vickery

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap. Location was decent, lots of restaurants nearby. Super close to the Tawaramachi metro stop, and near Asakusa stops as well. Odd sleeping arrangement, but kind of ideal once you adjust. Your own little cubicle type area. Fantastic wifi connection though. And good air conditioning.

Disliked: The showers are on the 3rd floor.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Andrew Cope-Perera

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 August 2013

Liked: Wifi, Some privacy A/C

Disliked: The bathroom and kitchen are dirty. No security. No staff. No atmosphere Way too expensive, over 22 USD for a mattress on the floor.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2013

Liked: The price was good and the location also - near the Ueno station and in the center of Asakusa. Nearby to the supermarkets and the restaurants.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 June 2013

Liked: Was pretty cheap, the owner was okay if a bit quiet and he provided me with free and good coffee in the morning

Disliked: It is filthy

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

yuni kamal

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 yuni would recommend this property

Liked: the location is near to Sensoji Temple and Tawamarachi Station (Subway)

Disliked: The room is small.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There are not many people. You can check in and out wen you want, because there is no staff, excepted in the night, then staff is there.

Disliked: You need a reservation, because there is no staff. Internet connection is slow, sometimes its completely down. 14 bed dorm has no windows. Kitchen was dirty. No bed, just a thin mattress

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tomoyuki Nakatsuka

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 April 2013

Liked: It's very cheap and convenient to access to Kaminari-mon.

Disliked: Shower room is very small and no place to change close. Valuables can be stolen.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013

Liked: located in the vicinity of Sensoji Temple.

Disliked: Bathroom and "booth"

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

HAJIME OTAWA

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 April 2013 HAJIME would recommend this property

Liked: cheap and close to the station

Disliked: It was very quiet and kind of closed atomosphere

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A comfortable sleeping place

Disliked: upstairs bathroom needs a light. or to better display where the switch is.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Property is as discribed, very basic!

Disliked: No lock on front door, and the main floor was a mess!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Richard Kenna

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: 24 hour hot showers, breakfast, free tea/coffee. staff were really nice.

Disliked: Richard left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was pleasant to stay in and the staff were very helpful. It is also a good place to meet other travellers. The common room was welcoming and friendly.

Disliked: The bag racks were not big enough for a standard pack/suitcase and there was nowhere else to put your bag other than on your bed. The lockers were helpful for keeping valuables though. While we where there the shower (4th floor) was broken, which meant we had to shower on the ground floor. It would have been nice if we had been informed of this prior to our stay and/or offered a discount. Also the beds were quite uncomfortable, you could feel the metal railing through the mattress.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Matthew Heffelfinger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2012

Liked: I was only there for two short nights. Other than that I wish I had never stepped foot in the place.

Disliked: DO NOT WASTE THE TIME OR MONEY! The whole building is disgusting and disorderly. The "rooms" are just cubicles that have some soft material in them for beds and the building has no lock and no one is there at night except for you and the other travellers. This whole building should be shut down. While I was there a drunken man came in twice and first he attacked another traveller, who showed him the door, and then he came in after they had left and woke me and my partner up as he tried to break into the cubicles next to us. As I awoke I heard the sound of him urinating in the hall and then he tried to break into our cubicle. I shoved him out the door and we packed our belongings and left. This was the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. There are better places for less money. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Sander Spoelstra

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2012

Liked: It's central and it's private. Everyone gets it's private "room".

Disliked: It's dirty, way too small, and really unsafe (no locks on any door except your booth which has a 1.60m high wall that you can climb over easily).


See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels