We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels

Reviews of Asakusa Smile

Hostel | Sumidaku, Higashikomagata, 2-20-10 Tokyo, Japan 130-0005

71.9% Overall Rating

126 out of 164 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/03/2015)

ralph babet thinks…

"This is a cheap hostel and you get what you pay for. For me and my friends it was fine. Good access to the train station which was around 5 mins walk away from the hostel. Kitchen could use more…"

Read all Asakusa Smile reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.84

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellation rules 2 days or more before reservation - should to pay 0% 1 day before reservation - should to pay 50% The day of reservation - should to pay 100%

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tokyo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tokyo

Khaosan Tokyo Samurai
16.79 USD

Hostel 89.3% 50 reviews
Khaosan Tokyo Original
18.46 USD

Hostel 79.7% 205 reviews
Hotel MyStays Asakusa
37.77 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel Kawase
839.27 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 71.9% 18 reviews
Ryokan Asaksua Mikawaya Honten
62.95 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki
25.18 USD

Hostel 95.9% 53 reviews
K's House Tokyo
25.18 USD

Hostel 89.0% 208 reviews
Khaosan Tokyo Laboratory
26.86 USD

Hostel 88.1% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.9%

Overall Rating

126 out of 164 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Asakusa Smile'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
80.0%
Value
75.2%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 126 of 153 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

ralph babet

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

typu 'City Break'

09 March 2015 ralph would recommend this property

Liked: This is a cheap hostel and you get what you pay for. For me and my friends it was fine. Good access to the train station which was around 5 mins walk away from the hostel. Kitchen could use more utensils and saucepans etc it is not possible to cook a full meal here. It is a good hostel for the money you pay for it. If you need a place to sleep at night and you want to explore Tokyo. This is the hostel for you. If you're a whinging woman then go elsewhere.

Disliked: The facilities are on the older side, older showers, toilets, kitchen. Not modern. However for the price. It was fine. I would stay here again if I was trying to save money.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alexandra Wagner

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy

04 February 2015 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Had all you needed.

Disliked: Not very clean.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

TAE KIM

Sam

typu 'City Break'
Imprezy/zycie nocne
Zwiedzanie i kultura

12 March 2014

Liked: This review is for the 2nd location as I was not able to stay in the main location. The area is good and very easy to access from almost all of tokyo. A 7 eleven is right by the 2nd location.

Disliked: Wifi does not work at the 2nd location, everyone who stayed in the room had to go to the main location for wifi. One shower for 2 floors of people, about 16 people if full. Also when you shower you only can lock the shower door as right outside is a washer & dryer and a sink. Now this sink is the only one with hot water, but the hot water machine is inside the shower area. As it was cold outside the heater was on all day and it smelled in the room.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy
Zwiedzanie i kultura

03 March 2014

Liked: Had a nice catch up area. With a dinner that was very cheap.

Disliked: Very dirty. Please seemed to be living their on a long term basis.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Rothery

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Backpacking / rok przerwy
Imprezy/zycie nocne
Zwiedzanie i kultura
Odwiedziny u przyjaciól lub rodziny

25 February 2014 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: The room was bigger than at other Japanese guesthouses. It was nice to have a free drink and the bar is pretty cool.

Disliked: the bar was cool but it was dimly lit, and the power sockets are a big loose haha.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sean Barker

Sam

Sport, przygoda lub aktywnosc na swiezym powietrzu

11 February 2014 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: not the best location for partying

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Carlo Vecchiato

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy
Zwiedzanie i kultura

08 January 2014 Carlo would recommend this property

Liked: The common room is actually a bar

Disliked: Nothing special

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Sarah McGreevy

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Urlop rodzinny
Zwiedzanie i kultura
Odwiedziny u przyjaciól lub rodziny

04 December 2013

Liked: Only The location

Disliked: The rooms had snot and pubic hair on the walls.. We left after the 1st night and booked into a much better place for a small amount more. The hostel did give us 50% back off our 2nd night and 100% of our 3rd night which was good.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Backpacking / rok przerwy

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is pretty good, staff are pretty helpful assuming its during normal office hours and there is a pretty nice bar downstairs.

Disliked: This hostel was OKAY in terns of quality and what it offers. Sadly I just dont think the price tag was justified in terms of value for money. Dont get an exclusive shower cubicle when showering. Essentially there are two shower rooms (one male, one female) both with two showers in. You get a curtain to pull across but that is all that separates you from anyone else who just happens to wander into the shower room. Also there is no where to really store your stuff while you shower. All in all not a bad experience, however just not worth the amount we paid. Others may disagree.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathryn Kessler

Sam

Odwiedziny u przyjaciól lub rodziny

21 November 2013 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Great price, fantastic location, friendly staff (who speak fluent English) and nice, spacious and clean rooms. Definitely recommend!

Disliked: Wifi cut out a lot and could not access from my room (3rd floor Bekkan)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Emma Neath

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

typu 'City Break'
Zwiedzanie i kultura

20 October 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location, Asakusa is a great area and it was nice to be able to see so many things (Kaminarimon, Skytree etc) just walking from the hostel. Also the hostel is a little away from the main roads so it was quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful. The showers were good and there was hot water. Beds were comfy. We were able to check in early and also to leave our bags in the locked luggage room after check out.

Disliked: Room smelled mildewy, walls were peeling, bar area smelled like stale smoke and looked dingy and unclean.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Burfield

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Zwiedzanie i kultura

15 October 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Had everything we needed. Wifi worked alright, guide maps provided, close to some good sights

Disliked: Not in the jr line so we couldn't use our jr tickets all the time. .. would have preferred to base ourselves near a station on the jr lines and did a day trip to asakusa

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jeanette Parker

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Zwiedzanie i kultura

14 October 2013 Jeanette would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are helpful and friendly, they helped with other bookings and tourist information. Our private room was adequate in terms of size, there was enough floor space to lay our cases down and walk around them. The air conditioning worked well.

Disliked: The rooms are tired with paint peeling off and cracks in the plaster. The mattresses on the bunks are thin and the pillows are small and filled with something that resembles sand, but this is typical of Japanese bedding. The staircase is narrow so it is difficult to get the cases up and down. There was only 3 plates, one bowl, 2 pots (one broke while we were there), one fork, 2 spoons and one frypan in the kitchen to use. There REALLY needs to be more kitchen items for cooking and eating.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Sam

Zwiedzanie i kultura

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bar!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Schouren

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy
Zwiedzanie i kultura

30 September 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Its the perfect place to start your exploration of Tokyo with all the facilities here and such helpful staff. At night there is a perfect mix in between co-travellers and locals with makes it one of the best places to stay in Tokyo, especially for those prices.

Disliked: Its tempting to overstay

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Borden

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Zwiedzanie i kultura

22 September 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff. Really nice people.

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Zwiedzanie i kultura

03 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money and a great location too (although far from some big sights, Asakusa is a destination in its own right).

Disliked: Double private rooms are very inconsistent in terms of size.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Veerle Vandenabeele

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Zwiedzanie i kultura

23 July 2013 Veerle would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: crammed

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Backpacking / rok przerwy

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to subway stop

Disliked: Wasn't too secure.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Doyle

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy
Zakupy
Zwiedzanie i kultura

10 July 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: There is a bar on the premesis where many locals and backpackers gather, so you end up meeting lots of new people from all over.

Disliked: At the annex where I stayed the front door isn't always locked during the day. It's a very safe area but at the same time it is a bit concerning (although this is more a fault of guests)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Darwin Sumarlin

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Zwiedzanie i kultura

17 June 2013

Liked: Location is good, nice staff, comfy bed

Disliked: Not really clean, no free soap and shampoo, bathroom and kitchen seems not cleaned for a long time

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

ryan leal

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy
Wydarzenia / festiwale
Zwiedzanie i kultura

24 May 2013 ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities including kitchen and bar! Bar staff very friendly and introduced me to local Japanese, really nice to talk with all of them. Location ideal for seeing Asakusa.

Disliked: Cleanliness of the kitchen area and showers.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Backpacking / rok przerwy

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We booked Asakusa Smile hostel but were actually placed in their second hostel, only 5 minutes away but not what we expected. The hostel we stayed in was fairly decent not much atmosphere and only had one shower. There was small kitchen with table but no proper common room which I feel would add to the atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Zwiedzanie i kultura

19 May 2013

Liked: nothing, bad experience

Disliked: The guest house the most dirty i have ever seen. Infect toilets (an old computer on the toilets..??) , cigarets smell every where

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Luca Chiappini

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

typu 'City Break'
Romantyczny wypad
Zwiedzanie i kultura

03 May 2013 Luca would recommend this property

Liked: I like the area of Asakusa, I like the quality of the hostel and the kitchen inside.

Disliked: I was in a second Asakusa Smile (5 minutes by feet) and there was just one shower for three floors of rooms.


See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels