HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels

Reviews of Asakusa Smile

Hostel | Sumidaku, Higashikomagata, 2-20-10 Tokyo, Japan 130-0005

71.1% Overall Rating

124 out of 162 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/03/2014)

TAE KIM thinks…

"This review is for the 2nd location as I was not able to stay in the main location. The area is good and very easy to access from almost all of tokyo. A 7 eleven is right by the 2nd location."

Read all Asakusa Smile reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.98

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellation rules 2 days or more before reservation - should to pay 0% 1 day before reservation - should to pay 50% The day of reservation - should to pay 100%

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tokyo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tokyo

Khaosan Tokyo Samurai
24.40 USD

Hostel 89.0% 49 reviews
Khaosan Tokyo Original
21.47 USD

Hostel 79.7% 205 reviews
Hotel MyStays Asakusa
43.91 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel Kawase
34.15 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 71.9% 18 reviews
Ryokan Asaksua Mikawaya Honten
68.31 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki
31.23 USD

Hostel 96.9% 51 reviews
Hotel Asakusa Mikawaya
63.43 USD

Hotel 2 star 56.2% 3 reviews
K's House Tokyo
28.30 USD

Hostel 88.9% 206 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.1%

Overall Rating

124 out of 162 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Asakusa Smile'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
80.0%
Value
73.6%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 124 of 151 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

TAE KIM

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2014

Liked: This review is for the 2nd location as I was not able to stay in the main location. The area is good and very easy to access from almost all of tokyo. A 7 eleven is right by the 2nd location.

Disliked: Wifi does not work at the 2nd location, everyone who stayed in the room had to go to the main location for wifi. One shower for 2 floors of people, about 16 people if full. Also when you shower you only can lock the shower door as right outside is a washer & dryer and a sink. Now this sink is the only one with hot water, but the hot water machine is inside the shower area. As it was cold outside the heater was on all day and it smelled in the room.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2014

Liked: Had a nice catch up area. With a dinner that was very cheap.

Disliked: Very dirty. Please seemed to be living their on a long term basis.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Rothery

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 February 2014 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: The room was bigger than at other Japanese guesthouses. It was nice to have a free drink and the bar is pretty cool.

Disliked: the bar was cool but it was dimly lit, and the power sockets are a big loose haha.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sean Barker

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 February 2014 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: not the best location for partying

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Carlo Vecchiato

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2014 Carlo would recommend this property

Liked: The common room is actually a bar

Disliked: Nothing special

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Sarah McGreevy

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 December 2013

Liked: Only The location

Disliked: The rooms had snot and pubic hair on the walls.. We left after the 1st night and booked into a much better place for a small amount more. The hostel did give us 50% back off our 2nd night and 100% of our 3rd night which was good.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is pretty good, staff are pretty helpful assuming its during normal office hours and there is a pretty nice bar downstairs.

Disliked: This hostel was OKAY in terns of quality and what it offers. Sadly I just dont think the price tag was justified in terms of value for money. Dont get an exclusive shower cubicle when showering. Essentially there are two shower rooms (one male, one female) both with two showers in. You get a curtain to pull across but that is all that separates you from anyone else who just happens to wander into the shower room. Also there is no where to really store your stuff while you shower. All in all not a bad experience, however just not worth the amount we paid. Others may disagree.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathryn Kessler

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 November 2013 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Great price, fantastic location, friendly staff (who speak fluent English) and nice, spacious and clean rooms. Definitely recommend!

Disliked: Wifi cut out a lot and could not access from my room (3rd floor Bekkan)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Emma Neath

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location, Asakusa is a great area and it was nice to be able to see so many things (Kaminarimon, Skytree etc) just walking from the hostel. Also the hostel is a little away from the main roads so it was quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful. The showers were good and there was hot water. Beds were comfy. We were able to check in early and also to leave our bags in the locked luggage room after check out.

Disliked: Room smelled mildewy, walls were peeling, bar area smelled like stale smoke and looked dingy and unclean.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Burfield

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Had everything we needed. Wifi worked alright, guide maps provided, close to some good sights

Disliked: Not in the jr line so we couldn't use our jr tickets all the time. .. would have preferred to base ourselves near a station on the jr lines and did a day trip to asakusa

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jeanette Parker

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Jeanette would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are helpful and friendly, they helped with other bookings and tourist information. Our private room was adequate in terms of size, there was enough floor space to lay our cases down and walk around them. The air conditioning worked well.

Disliked: The rooms are tired with paint peeling off and cracks in the plaster. The mattresses on the bunks are thin and the pillows are small and filled with something that resembles sand, but this is typical of Japanese bedding. The staircase is narrow so it is difficult to get the cases up and down. There was only 3 plates, one bowl, 2 pots (one broke while we were there), one fork, 2 spoons and one frypan in the kitchen to use. There REALLY needs to be more kitchen items for cooking and eating.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bar!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Schouren

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Its the perfect place to start your exploration of Tokyo with all the facilities here and such helpful staff. At night there is a perfect mix in between co-travellers and locals with makes it one of the best places to stay in Tokyo, especially for those prices.

Disliked: Its tempting to overstay

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Borden

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff. Really nice people.

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money and a great location too (although far from some big sights, Asakusa is a destination in its own right).

Disliked: Double private rooms are very inconsistent in terms of size.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Veerle Vandenabeele

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013 Veerle would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: crammed

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to subway stop

Disliked: Wasn't too secure.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Doyle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: There is a bar on the premesis where many locals and backpackers gather, so you end up meeting lots of new people from all over.

Disliked: At the annex where I stayed the front door isn't always locked during the day. It's a very safe area but at the same time it is a bit concerning (although this is more a fault of guests)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Darwin Sumarlin

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013

Liked: Location is good, nice staff, comfy bed

Disliked: Not really clean, no free soap and shampoo, bathroom and kitchen seems not cleaned for a long time

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

ryan leal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2013 ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities including kitchen and bar! Bar staff very friendly and introduced me to local Japanese, really nice to talk with all of them. Location ideal for seeing Asakusa.

Disliked: Cleanliness of the kitchen area and showers.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We booked Asakusa Smile hostel but were actually placed in their second hostel, only 5 minutes away but not what we expected. The hostel we stayed in was fairly decent not much atmosphere and only had one shower. There was small kitchen with table but no proper common room which I feel would add to the atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013

Liked: nothing, bad experience

Disliked: The guest house the most dirty i have ever seen. Infect toilets (an old computer on the toilets..??) , cigarets smell every where

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Luca Chiappini

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2013 Luca would recommend this property

Liked: I like the area of Asakusa, I like the quality of the hostel and the kitchen inside.

Disliked: I was in a second Asakusa Smile (5 minutes by feet) and there was just one shower for three floors of rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harry Scott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 Harry would recommend this property

Liked: On the night I stayed they threw a naba party, so I got loads of amazing japanese hot pot, it was awesome. The staff were mixing with guests and there were locals as well, it was a good night. Nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing really.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marco Zec

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2013 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, friendly staff, easy to get from airport and 5 blocks away from metro station.

Disliked: Not close to any JR station. You must take Tokyo metro from Ueno to Asakusa. Recreational area reduced and not very comfy PCs one slow and other not working Quite messy building, bar on ground level, showers on 2nd floor, internet on 3rd floor & kitchen on 4th floor. No elevators


See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels