HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of AS House (Asakusa Smile) Tokyo Hostel

2-20-10 Higashi Komagata, Sumida-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 66%

Location 85%

Safety 84%

Staff 81%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.01USD

Important Information

Cancellation rules
2 days or more before reservation - should to pay 0%
1 day before reservation - should to pay 50%
The day of reservation - should to pay 100%

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 21:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tokyo?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 66%

Location 85%

Safety 84%

Staff 81%

Value 80%

Showing 1-10 of 30 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The location was the best thing!

Disliked: The bar was consistently noisy even at 2am when I was sleeping. Also the showers smelt like sewerage.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: very nice atmosphere, with a bar where japanese people and travellers socialize every night

Disliked: nothing really

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: It is near the station and in first floor, bar, you can meet and talk with a lot of nice people and Ofc cheap

Disliked: It was not clean, there should be a lock on the toilet door etc

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Really gross. Dirty. Bathroom sink on our floor was out of order. i never found the shower. Left after the first night.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: The hostel is in a quite area, but within walking distance to the metro and main attractions. The bar/common area was large and great for meeting new people. The rooms and beds were nothing special, but comfortable.

Disliked: On the website they advertise a "welcome drink", but when I asked about it when I checked in, they told me that it wasn't being offered that day. Not a big deal, but still false advertising.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Rooms on the other building are good. The rooms in the original building are a bit unclean and so are the bathrooms in there. Probably because of too many drinking folks in that area. However, We were lucky to be in the other building which was relatively calm, clean and decent.

Disliked: Rooms super small. utilities such as wardrobe were not even reachable due to massive size bed in a really cramped up space.

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Not much

Disliked: Dirty rooms, gross shower.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: good behave

Disliked: little bit far to market

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: This is a cheap hostel and you get what you pay for. For me and my friends it was fine. Good access to the train station which was around 5 mins walk away from the hostel. Kitchen could use more utensils and saucepans etc it is not possible to cook a full meal here. It is a good hostel for the money you pay for it. If you need a place to sleep at night and you want to explore Tokyo. This is the hostel for you. If you're a whinging woman then go elsewhere.

Disliked: The facilities are on the older side, older showers, toilets, kitchen. Not modern. However for the price. It was fine. I would stay here again if I was trying to save money.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff. Had all you needed.

Disliked: Not very clean.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability