HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels

Reviews of Khaosan Tokyo Samurai

Hostel | 1-18-3, Higashi Komagata, Tokyo, Japan 130-0005

89.3% Overall Rating

45 out of 50 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/05/2014)

"A few min walk from the subway (and a direct line to either airport), friendly staff, clean."

Read all Khaosan Tokyo Samurai reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.48

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tokyo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tokyo

Asakusa Smile
18.12 USD

Hostel 71.1% 162 reviews
Khaosan Tokyo Original
20.98 USD

Hostel 79.7% 205 reviews
Hotel MyStays Asakusa
42.92 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel Kawase
33.38 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 71.9% 18 reviews
Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki
30.52 USD

Hostel 95.9% 53 reviews
Ryokan Asaksua Mikawaya Honten
66.77 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
K's House Tokyo
27.66 USD

Hostel 89.0% 207 reviews
Hotel Asakusa Mikawaya
62.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 56.2% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

45 out of 50 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Khaosan Tokyo Samurai'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
95.2%
Value
89.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 44 of 48 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A few min walk from the subway (and a direct line to either airport), friendly staff, clean.

Disliked: Room had a slightly musky smell, though not overwhelming. Stayed in a twin, which was a bit tight in that the ladder to climb the bunk bed was narrowly against the wall - so u hv to be slim to climb it. Showers could use better ventilation and a little upkeep to the walls. Would be quite stuffy after aomeone had bathed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Helped us when we had questions, also a good infomation board and a lot of infos. Very close to Asakusa station and easy to fiend. Nice small doble room in the second floor. At our stay always enough showers available.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DAVID BROUGH

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2013 DAVID would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Very clean and great location. Check out the Lawson supermarket, two minutes away where most things are 105 yen (70pence)

Disliked: DAVID left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Dedman

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2013 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: A private room at a rate so low I thought it was a misprint; access to all the facilities I want in a hostel, without charging me for stuff I don't use; helpful, friendly staff who spoke English well; a convenient location and pleasant atmosphere.

Disliked: Only two very minor complaints: the uncomfortable stool at the computer desk, and curtains that don't block out enough light.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, they've literally thought of everything: lockers, shampoo and body wash in showers, fun events, etc etc. and it's easy to find, and in a great location. Would love to stay again

Disliked: Beds were a little hard.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 1. Clean 2. Very helpful staff 3. Location, a bit out of the busy Tokyo city so was very quiet. 4. Good kitchen facilities to make own meals.

Disliked: It was small, however most places in Japan are small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness, location, staff ;)

Disliked: everything was excellent!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very comfortable, clean and ample dorms

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Bettina Robertson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2012

Liked: They have great maps and traveling tips available in the lobby and kitchen areas.

Disliked: 1- I had stayed at other hostels in Japan where you ahd to take your shoes off before you could enter so I was okay with it. However at this hostel I felt like the carpet was gross and dirty. I kept hoping I wouldn't pick up athlete's foot or something similar so I resorted to wearing socks in the middle of summer (not fun!). The handrails on the stairs also felt sticky and dirty. 2- the walls in the room are not connected to the ceiling well, you can see the light shining in from the room on either side of you and hear their tv, music or conversation when you're trying to sleep. Take an eye mask and ear plugs if you stay here. 3- I thought the hostel was ok until I stayed at the other hostels in Japan and realised that they were far below the others standard wise. It felt small, cramped and dirty.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Clean. Utilise the info they provide and their expertise because there is loads of it! More of a quiet hostel though (but not too quiet) than a party one.

Disliked: Not much! Location not super close to subway, but definitely do-able.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patricia Menendez

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2012 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location and good eviroment with the staff and other gests

Disliked: ---

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, warm, close to station, free internet and use of computers, staff are friendly and helpful, theres heaps of information on things to do in and around Tokyo.

Disliked: No breakfast. Its a bit of a mission getting sorrounding touristy suburbs on the underground.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly with helping me get around the city. They have a lot of information on what to do in the city and how to get there.

Disliked: Not much to dislike.,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Allen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The first night we were there people were friendly and had a free bbq party. It was a great way to meet other guest and share advice for traveling. They also gave us free coupon to get a sake at their bar down the street.

Disliked: They had toothbrushes their, but didnt have them for sale even though they stated the option on the walls. I had to search to find the 100yen store, gave up and bought one from a nice dentist down the street. It was ok, but confusing as to why they couldnt just sell me a toothbrush when I could see they had many.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: room was very clean & value for money

Disliked: no

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Einar Waegemaekers

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2011

Liked: Very friendly staff, willing to help. there is a lot of information about Tokio available in the hostel.

Disliked: The place is a bit smelly, and therefore for Japanese standards not very clean. Location is also not an advantage of this hostel. However, you can't complain that much since the price is low.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Derek Smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2011 Derek would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely clean, great beds and good sized private rooms. Good free internet too and very helpful staff. We also left most of our stuff there for a week and when returned they had even put it in our room for us. Very good hostel and seems to be one of the cheapest too.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2011

Liked: Clean and the staff are friendly

Disliked: rooms are small and lacking atmosphere. the bathrooms are so small you need to lean on the walls in order to sit on the toilets and there is no way of not touching the walls in the shower. There is much better value on offer even in Asakusa. The hostel is just a bit too far from restaurants in Asakusa.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alex Schofield

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2011 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly place! Warm welcoming staff and modern style in a Japanese theme.

Disliked: The pillows!!!! That's it!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Teresa Yip

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2011 Teresa would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the heated toilets and the kitchen facilities is good. Lots of useful information in the lounge to help plan activities.

Disliked: Perhaps have security lockers available

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Benjamin Milne

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2011 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Good showers, good location for checking out Asakusa and it's great local bars

Disliked: Small rooms, fair walk from the nearest metro station with luggage

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value.

Disliked: Nothing in particular... It was pretty average.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: They don't give you a towell, they sell them!!! Even you have to make your own bed... while they are surfing the net and chatting! So poor service for the price.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brent DeHut

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2010 Brent would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly helpful and friendly staff with great English. The common areas are covered in informative and helpful signs, and there are lots of little pamphlets giving directions to various Tokyo attractions.

Disliked: The private room had a bunk bed and small desk, and that was about it. The pillows were tiny and nearly worthless. I would have liked at least a small garbage can or something. Minor complaints, though.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aaron Harrison

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

26 December 2010 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: cheap, clean, and in central tokyo

Disliked: nothing


See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels