HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Ace Inn Shinjuku Tokyo Hostel

5-2 Katamachi, Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 76%

Location 87%

Safety 86%

Staff 88%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tokyo?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 76%

Location 87%

Safety 86%

Staff 88%

Value 83%

Showing 51-50 of 50 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I thought the wood capsule beds were pretty cool. However the mattress inside was very thin and made sleeping pretty uncomfortable. The location is good, only like a two minute walk from the subway and like one stop away from Shinjuku.

Disliked: This hostel isn't much to look at, it's definitely deteriorated in parts, like the common area on the 9th floor which was pretty grubby. It looks like they haven't done any updating in awhile and its definitely showing in areas at the hostel. This doesn't really affect your stay too much, especially when you are out exploring Tokyo, but if you are looking for a nice looking place to stay, this isn't it. For someone just looking for a place to sleep its definitely a good option.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is great- literally a 2 minute walk from the Subway. I didn't explore much beyond the main street (I spent all of my time in the nearby Shinjuku,) but there are breakfast restaurants nearby.The bests were roomy and soft and the facilities were very clean.

Disliked: This is not an authentic "capsule" hotel at all. It is similar to every other hostel dorm that I've seen. The only difference here is that the bunks are walled off. If you're not after the authentic Japanese "capsule" experience, then this isn't a problem.The staff always seemed overwhelmed. We had to wait in line for 5-10 minutes every time we wanted to speak to the front desk. When we asked for recommendations, and they didn't seem well informed or friendly. They did have some maps available for reference.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: In don't know why people are winging about this place. We loves our stay here and couldn't fault it. The Wooden capsule beds are awesome! It's very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Yes the bathroom is in the basement. But so what, its a hostel not a hotel. Good atmosphere too. And great area!

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location and great staff

Disliked: Bed was uncomfortable after a few nights

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: It's in a very convenient place; the beds are more then enough; there is free coffee & tea downstairs; in general, if you're planning to stay in Tokyo for not too much money, that's the place for you.

Disliked: 100yens for 10minutes of shower; they close between 2am and 4:30am and you cannot either get in or out; ATTENTION: you cannot have the third pin in your cable, because Japanese outlets usually have only two holes. You can buy a cheap adapter (300Y) near in a FamilyMart. You can also borrow one in the lobby, but the number is limited.The IC is set up very low and people tend to get cold in the night.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The location was super convenient. I felt like I was in the heart of Tokyo with everything a stones throw away. If you want to have a Tokyo experience with a helpful staff (one that has no problem giving you maps and advice on places to see) I highly reccommend this hostel.

Disliked: I have no complaints about the location or layout of Ace inn.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Everything else!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The wooden capsule beds were incredibly comfortable!!

Disliked: The entrance smelled awful because of all of the shoes. Maybe there's a better way to keep that many shoes?

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: You have to pay to use the shower!Hard mattresses

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: I loved how easy it was to get to the train station and also how helpful the staff were!

Disliked: The bathrooms were a little bit outdated and annoying to access.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability