We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels

Reviews of ACE INN Shinjuku

Hostel | Toei Shinjuku, Akebonobash, Tokyo, Japan -

80.5% Overall Rating

176 out of 211 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/01/2015)

"I really loved the place from the first minute til the last. Charming green building, nice roof top balcony."

Read all ACE INN Shinjuku reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tokyo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tokyo

Shinjuku City Hotel N.U.T.S Tokyo
34.69 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.9% 93 reviews
Sunlite Shinjuku Hotel
73.03 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.0% 4 reviews
Mayflower House Tokyo
30.13 USD

Hostel 62.7% 63 reviews
Sakura Hotel
28.76 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.1% 103 reviews
Flexstay Inn Sugamo
45.19 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel MyStays Ochanomizu
91.29 USD

Hotel 3 star 97.9% 4 reviews
Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro
27.39 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.4% 112 reviews
Sakura Hotel Hatagaya
42.45 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 80.9% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/02/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/02/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.5%

Overall Rating

176 out of 211 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ACE INN Shinjuku'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
87.2%
Value
79.2%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 183 of 202 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Capsules were nice and clean. Facilities were clean.

Disliked: Paid showers.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Janna Ter Meer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

12 July 2010 Janna would recommend this property

Liked: Being so close to Shinjuku, the location is great. It's a large hostel and the entrance hall is a great place to meet people. The capsules were also really fun to sleep in. You need to pay a 100 yen for the showers, which some people seemed to mind. But the place is so cheap to begin with, why be bothered about 100 yen for a shower?

Disliked: There is no kitchen, but this is only a problem if you like to cook your own food. Also, the staff was a bit grumpy and it seemed like they really didn't want to be asked any questions. Maria (one of the staff members) was great, however! I had a great time talking to her!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, even though you do have to pay to catch a train because if you are using a rail pass you will discover this hostel is not on a JR line. Apart from that it is two stops from Shinjuku which is conveinent. We had a 14 bed girls dorm to ourselves (2 girls ) and found it very comfortable and quiet. Air conditioning and laundry facilities were very appreciated! Yes, you do have to pay for a shower (100 yen) but they are clean and hot and they DO stop people from being in them for half an hour! We also found this hostel to be very clean.

Disliked: Only 3 working internet computers..yes it has wifi but i didnt bring a wifi capable device and found some other hostel guests were on the computers for a long time making it difficult for use by other guests.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2010

Liked: Location. Other than that nothing.

Disliked: Horrendously dirty, most of the facilities where out of order or in poor working order, and it was extremely insecure.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Manuel Fernandez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2010 Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: The situation and the price

Disliked: I don`t like the lokers here are very small,impossible to put in anything inside.Is impossble to sleep here, because the english people when drink don`t respect nothing.The common floor is very dirty. I won`t return here,the worst hostel I`d stayed hr in Japan.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet was great, location is better than others but still needed to walk a decent amount to shinjuku and take subway to roppongi, etc. but overall great value when staying in the dorm- just one big room with bunch of beds but clean!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

25 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The only reason I choosed Ace Inn is the Location. Its just two stops away from Shinjuku. The Hostel district Asakusa is nice, but too far away from the fun places in Tokyo.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Siemaszko

15 June 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and fun people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location - very close to the Akebonobashi Station! The staff was friendly and helpful and the showers were clean, as were the rooms. It's in a residential area so it was quiet at night but Akebonobashi is just a couple stops from Shinjuku. There's a lot of information posted about local events that are helpful. Definitely recommended!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

23 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The capsule rooms are not worth the money, but the dorm on the 10th floor is worth the money. The common room is a nice place to meet people. I think the hostel could use some improvements to their computer systems however... they are painfully slow and often freeze. Overall, a nice hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

christina fabiani

18 May 2010

Liked: What a dive! I would recommend finding somewhere else to stay in Tokyo. This place is cheap but that's about all it has going for it. THEY CHARGE FOR SHOWERS! Ridiculous! 100 yen for 10 mins. I didn't bother.

Disliked: christina left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location as there is access to 2 subway lines (one about 15 seconds from the door). The wooden capsule bunk things are comfortable and there is enough space to stash you bag if you don't have masses of stuff, also lockers are provided for valuables. Showers are 100yen but the place is so cheap I really don't think that's an issue and they work fine. Lots of information about stuff to do in Tokyo (I found out about a cool festival from a poster in the lift). Free wifi throughout and comps downstairs is handy. Bring ear plugs but that's the same for any dorm. HIghly recommend this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ben Jeffery

12 April 2010 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: There is no key for the dorm, and 14 beds in the room. Upon check-in, the staff member was very passive, and not helpful at all. However, subsequent staff members were very nice.

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to shinjuku, great location, cool people. I had a great time there !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

12 April 2010

Liked: I liked the free Internet

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked staying here. Basic but comfortable and private. Just be careful when getting the subway as there are two stations that very similar in name. We went to the wrong one first then had to go back. But nice and close to the station!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wooden capsules offer more privacy than your usual dorm. Clean. Recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

31 March 2010

Liked: Good location but really lacking in atmosphere and no decent area to meet anyone...it just has a floor with a couple of sofas and vending machines. Staff not welcoming either and you have to pay for your showers!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, and very central to everything I want to see in Tokyo. Hostel gave me the advantage of getting the information that I needed for a hastily planned trip, yet the wooden capsules where very nice to sleep in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Chiffi

29 March 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Despite being a cube farm it was my best nights sleep in Japan yet. I cant say as I saw that coming. Was clean tidy and they helped with directions. Great stuff!

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angelica Nilsson

29 March 2010 Angelica would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close to Akebonobashi metro station so very easy to find. The capsule beds are comfortable, albeit quite hard. The showers are good and 100 yen for 10 minutes is not a problem I thought.

Disliked: Angelica left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the affordability and location. the facilities are well worth your money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Robert Richardson

15 February 2010

Liked: Pretty standard accomodation with a twist, you get to sleep in a small wooden box. Very expensive for what you get, and the showers aren't free. 100 yen for ten minutes. Considering the cost, I would've expected showers to be included, just like anywhere else I've stayed - having to pay is a first for me, so I didn't. Now I stink... The location is handy for going out around Tokyo, although be warned, if you go out be back either before 2:30am or after 4:30am, they close the doors between those hours.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

WILIS NIO

29 January 2010 WILIS would recommend this property

Liked: cheap and good.

Disliked: WILIS left no negative feedback.


See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels