HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels

Reviews of ACE INN Shinjuku

Hostel | Toei Shinjuku, Akebonobash, Tokyo, Japan -

77.4% Overall Rating

166 out of 200 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/04/2014)

Madeline Minor thinks…

"The staff! The staff at the front desk were always happy to help with something and knew everything about the area. Their wifi was fast, and the location was right next to a pretty central subway…"

Read all ACE INN Shinjuku reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tokyo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tokyo

Shinjuku City Hotel N.U.T.S Tokyo
36.11 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.1% 87 reviews
Sunlite Shinjuku Hotel
78.07 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.0% 4 reviews
Hotel MyStays Akasaka
78.07 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 82.3% 5 reviews
Mayflower House Tokyo
32.20 USD

Hostel 61.4% 60 reviews
Sakura Hotel
30.74 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.1% 103 reviews
Flexstay Inn Sugamo
48.30 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel MyStays Ochanomizu
97.58 USD

Hotel 3 star 97.9% 4 reviews
Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro
32.20 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.4% 112 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.4%

Overall Rating

166 out of 200 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ACE INN Shinjuku'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
84.0%
Value
78.4%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 173 of 191 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

23 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The capsule rooms are not worth the money, but the dorm on the 10th floor is worth the money. The common room is a nice place to meet people. I think the hostel could use some improvements to their computer systems however... they are painfully slow and often freeze. Overall, a nice hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

christina fabiani

18 May 2010

Liked: What a dive! I would recommend finding somewhere else to stay in Tokyo. This place is cheap but that's about all it has going for it. THEY CHARGE FOR SHOWERS! Ridiculous! 100 yen for 10 mins. I didn't bother.

Disliked: christina left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location as there is access to 2 subway lines (one about 15 seconds from the door). The wooden capsule bunk things are comfortable and there is enough space to stash you bag if you don't have masses of stuff, also lockers are provided for valuables. Showers are 100yen but the place is so cheap I really don't think that's an issue and they work fine. Lots of information about stuff to do in Tokyo (I found out about a cool festival from a poster in the lift). Free wifi throughout and comps downstairs is handy. Bring ear plugs but that's the same for any dorm. HIghly recommend this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ben Jeffery

12 April 2010 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: There is no key for the dorm, and 14 beds in the room. Upon check-in, the staff member was very passive, and not helpful at all. However, subsequent staff members were very nice.

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to shinjuku, great location, cool people. I had a great time there !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

12 April 2010

Liked: I liked the free Internet

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked staying here. Basic but comfortable and private. Just be careful when getting the subway as there are two stations that very similar in name. We went to the wrong one first then had to go back. But nice and close to the station!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wooden capsules offer more privacy than your usual dorm. Clean. Recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

31 March 2010

Liked: Good location but really lacking in atmosphere and no decent area to meet anyone...it just has a floor with a couple of sofas and vending machines. Staff not welcoming either and you have to pay for your showers!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, and very central to everything I want to see in Tokyo. Hostel gave me the advantage of getting the information that I needed for a hastily planned trip, yet the wooden capsules where very nice to sleep in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Chiffi

29 March 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Despite being a cube farm it was my best nights sleep in Japan yet. I cant say as I saw that coming. Was clean tidy and they helped with directions. Great stuff!

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angelica Nilsson

29 March 2010 Angelica would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close to Akebonobashi metro station so very easy to find. The capsule beds are comfortable, albeit quite hard. The showers are good and 100 yen for 10 minutes is not a problem I thought.

Disliked: Angelica left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the affordability and location. the facilities are well worth your money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Robert Richardson

15 February 2010

Liked: Pretty standard accomodation with a twist, you get to sleep in a small wooden box. Very expensive for what you get, and the showers aren't free. 100 yen for ten minutes. Considering the cost, I would've expected showers to be included, just like anywhere else I've stayed - having to pay is a first for me, so I didn't. Now I stink... The location is handy for going out around Tokyo, although be warned, if you go out be back either before 2:30am or after 4:30am, they close the doors between those hours.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

WILIS NIO

29 January 2010 WILIS would recommend this property

Liked: cheap and good.

Disliked: WILIS left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Meredith Forrester

19 January 2010 Meredith would recommend this property

Liked: A great, clean, comfy place if you need a last-minute place to crash, or want to experience the capsule thing without the complication of all the rules. Great for a solo female traveller. Common room with TV and vending machines, free wireless, hot showers. Luggage lockers are quite thin and won't fit a suitcase or backpack, but there are shelves to store them, just make sure you have some locks for security. More like wooden boxed bunk beds than the 'high-tech' capsules, with just a light inside, no electrical outlets, but the relaxed rules of a hostel make it comfortable and an easy place to rest your head.

Disliked: Meredith left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

18 January 2010

Liked: Good location, very near to the metro station (although not on a JR line). 5 computers with free internet. However, the capsule rooms were quite noisy with people congregating and getting their things in and out of the metal lockers. Very inconvenient having to take the lift to the basement to shower... and pay to use the showers!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

11 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very close to the subway station. The 9th floor common area is a nice place to relax and also to meet fellow travelers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

05 January 2010

Liked: If you stay in the dormitory here, you do get what you pay for. There are no lockers (though luggage can be left at reception), the kitchen hotplate does not work, showers are Y100 for 10 minutes, the blankets as given will not cover you if you are taller than 5'10" (though they can be taken out of the covers) and there is a lot of noise from the two bus roads outside. That said, the location is great and the price is very low.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was sweet... good location, helpful staff and great internet coverage.wish they had plugs in the cubicles so i could have powerd my many gadgets i took with me to Tokyo.great place to stay, will definitely be back there again

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ambra Piazzera

09 December 2009 Ambra would recommend this property

Liked: cheap and clean, very good atmosphere! perfect for travellers or even for some weeks stay!

Disliked: Ambra left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 December 2009

Liked: cheap

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

30 November 2009

Liked: It'a in general OK, just the connection from Shinjuku station with having to take the subway is terrible to find n take. The price might be OK, but we found a way better place with better connection + price for value now.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joanne Bowdery

21 November 2009 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: The capsules with curtain offer privacy for sleeping. And the common room was always lively.

Disliked: Joanne left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

06 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels