HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Ace Inn Shinjuku Tokyo

Hostel

5-2 Katamachi, Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 79%

Location 88%

Safety 83%

Staff 89%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tokyo?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 79%

Location 88%

Safety 83%

Staff 89%

Value 84%

Showing 41-50 of 73 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The place is just incredible and super close to Shinjuku (just a small walk), staff was very helpful and speaking very good english. When I go back to Tokyo I'll stay there for sure.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating


13 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: location, inexpensive rooms, spacious, helpful multilingual staff

Disliked: the kitchen was tiny and not fully equipped

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was excellent, Because it was very cheap for the location in Tokyo, Even that the subway station was closed I was able to come back walking

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: its very close to the subway station, and walking distance to some good touristic points. They have free coffee and tea. Fresh towels. They have free wifi.

Disliked: extra fee: The shower cost 100Yenes (1USD), for 10minutesm but they put shampoo, shower gel, hair dryer...

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Surprisingly comfortable! This was my first experience with capsules

Disliked: 2 showers for women? Really?!

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's near Shinjuku, they offer maps, free wi-fi, there's a common place, vending machines.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The Staff is very helpful and knows a lot about the city. They helped me in so many ways when I stayed there.

Disliked: They could work on the general cleanliness. The building should be renovated a little bit.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I thought the wood capsule beds were pretty cool. However the mattress inside was very thin and made sleeping pretty uncomfortable. The location is good, only like a two minute walk from the subway and like one stop away from Shinjuku.

Disliked: This hostel isn't much to look at, it's definitely deteriorated in parts, like the common area on the 9th floor which was pretty grubby. It looks like they haven't done any updating in awhile and its definitely showing in areas at the hostel. This doesn't really affect your stay too much, especially when you are out exploring Tokyo, but if you are looking for a nice looking place to stay, this isn't it. For someone just looking for a place to sleep its definitely a good option.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is great- literally a 2 minute walk from the Subway. I didn't explore much beyond the main street (I spent all of my time in the nearby Shinjuku,) but there are breakfast restaurants nearby.The bests were roomy and soft and the facilities were very clean.

Disliked: This is not an authentic "capsule" hotel at all. It is similar to every other hostel dorm that I've seen. The only difference here is that the bunks are walled off. If you're not after the authentic Japanese "capsule" experience, then this isn't a problem.The staff always seemed overwhelmed. We had to wait in line for 5-10 minutes every time we wanted to speak to the front desk. When we asked for recommendations, and they didn't seem well informed or friendly. They did have some maps available for reference.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: In don't know why people are winging about this place. We loves our stay here and couldn't fault it. The Wooden capsule beds are awesome! It's very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Yes the bathroom is in the basement. But so what, its a hostel not a hotel. Good atmosphere too. And great area!

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability