HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Ace Inn Shinjuku Tokyo

Hostel

5-2 Katamachi, Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 79%

Location 88%

Safety 83%

Staff 89%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tokyo?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 79%

Location 88%

Safety 83%

Staff 89%

Value 84%

Showing 31-40 of 73 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Good location. Friendly staff. Lockers

Disliked: Pay for showers, big noisy rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was fun staying in a capsule! It was very close to Akebonobashi station. There were lockers and good wifi.

Disliked: There were no power points in the capsule and you had to pay 100 yen for a shower but that was kind of a novelty in a way! 28 capsules in one room meant that there was some issue with noise, but that is not a critism of the property but rather the inconsiderate people that were staying there. Oh and the lift took ages to get to your floor!

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location, near train

Disliked: very noisy, toilet has smell, kitchen is small and not clean, not well order. bath is paid with small limitted time and is at basement. I could not sleep because people go in and out until 2 am with so much noise. I don't like toilet with no warm water in cold season.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday

Liked: Do not stay. Feels dingey. Common room depressing. Only one set of showers for everyone and in the basement only. And need to pay to use shower. Not practical to shower then walk 3 minutes then go up escalator on order to shower. All night heard weird noises like the building was swaying in the wind. Just don't stay here, it's a dump, AVOID. I'm felt very happy upon check out to escape

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff! The staff at the front desk were always happy to help with something and knew everything about the area. Their wifi was fast, and the location was right next to a pretty central subway station.

Disliked: The dryers take forever to dry your clothes, and each 30 minutes is 100 yen. They charge 100 yen for 10 minute showers. The place is filthy. The beds are little more than a comforter on wooden slats- I was exhausted every morning. The people (and this is not the hostel's fault) were always coming in and out at all hours and talking in normal voices, laughing joking, yelling, on every floor, so if you didn't bring earplugs, you're in for a rough night. I stayed 5 nights, and it never got easier.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The capsules are clean and quite roomy for tall people.

Disliked: Common room is shabby, poor kitchen facilities, carpets are dirty it's not an inviting place to spend time. Small lockers so your packs are kept in communal racks. Showers are ok but pretty run down. Lift is dirty and smells like spilt alcohol. Only stay here if all other reasonable options are booked out.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The rooms are very cool and the beds are comfy

Disliked: You had to pay 100 yen to shower

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Events / festivals, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I did stayed there before and its location, the staff and the facilities are very good. I'll be back there when I go to Tokyo

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Perfect location and the capsule beds are really comfortable and cosy.

Disliked: coin showers

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I stayed with my gf for a night but it was very good as always, because I did stay there before I decided to repeat

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability