We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels

Reviews of ACE INN Shinjuku

Hostel | Toei Shinjuku, Akebonobash, Tokyo, Japan -

80.0% Overall Rating

178 out of 213 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/02/2015)

"Unbeatable for the price and location Nice big dorm on top floor..extremely spacious for Shinjuku Clean showers"

Read all ACE INN Shinjuku reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tokyo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tokyo

Shinjuku City Hotel N.U.T.S Tokyo
33.57 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.9% 93 reviews
Sunlite Shinjuku Hotel
67.14 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.0% 4 reviews
Sakura Hotel
26.44 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.1% 103 reviews
Flexstay Inn Sugamo
41.54 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel MyStays Ochanomizu
83.93 USD

Hotel 3 star 97.9% 4 reviews
Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro
25.18 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.4% 112 reviews
Sakura Hotel Hatagaya
39.03 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 80.9% 34 reviews
YADOYA Guest House for Backpackers
18.46 USD

Hostel 90.0% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.0%

Overall Rating

178 out of 213 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ACE INN Shinjuku'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
84.0%
Value
79.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 185 of 204 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ian Spinks

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: really like the capsules, private and comfortable. hostel is in a great location.

Disliked: showers in the basement is annoying, no kitchen facilities

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easily accessible from station, good lockers, cool experience staying in a box

Disliked: Paying for showers. Smelly lobby due to all the hundreds of shoes. Maybe just because it was raining and therefore damp smelling travellers shoes filling the nostrils was not a great smell to be welcomed by.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, short walk from train station, very friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, good price, helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aidan Martinelli

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2013 Aidan would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff, comfortable accomadation.

Disliked: Terrible elevator, expect long waits (no stairs). Automatic sinks make it hard to wash your face. Doona doesn't quite cover up your entire body. Some really weird guests...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Michael Carroll

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2013

Liked: Only the location.

Disliked: Where to start.... No atmosphere, you have to pay to have a shower (even though this place is on the expensive end of the spectrum), no control over rowdy guests, the doors are locked for entrance and exit between 2 and 4:30am, thin mattresses and to cap it off I was bitten by something while sleeping and management were not able to assist me as it was a Sunday and the owner wasn't around. We ended up leaving early for a much nicer and cheaper hostel in the asakusa area.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johan Moren

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 January 2013 Johan would recommend this property

Liked: Located only 2stops from Shinjuku Stn, this is a very good and easy place to get to. Good value for money. Reall great and friendly staff! Fast wifi available everywhere. Very clean.

Disliked: You had to pay for showers(only 100¥, but still). The bathrooms could have been nicer.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

08 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Farrah Tek

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 January 2013

Liked: Staff are extremely helpful.

Disliked: Only reason I would never stay there is because you share the room with other people. Had this rude European speaking German on Skype all night. I could not sleep and she was dumb and oblivious to being respectful. What's the purpose of being in a place where you can't sleep? I am writing this review right now as she doesn't even have headphones so you can also hear her loud friend.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

solfrizzi giuseppe

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012 solfrizzi would recommend this property

Liked: position is excellent

Disliked: solfrizzi left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was exactly what i expected it to be, an affordable base to explore Tokyo

Disliked: Nothing really, the slippers they provide are not really made for european size feet :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nickolas Warner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2012 Nickolas would recommend this property

Liked: It will be hard to find a less expensive hostel so close to central Tokyo. Fairly clean, friendly, though "businessy" staff. Felt more like a hotel than a friendly hostel, though that isn't always a bad thing. Free coffee and tea. Met loads of interesting travelers there.

Disliked: Having a curfew, even though only two and a half hours of closed time, can still put a damper on things. Shower costs money which was unexpected. Very bare bones and not much charm, but for two thousand yen a night, who can complain.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Teo Shu Hui

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2012 Teo would recommend this property

Liked: The individual wooden cabins gave a sense of privacy. Definitely suitable for those who like meeting people yet wants to keep their own space when needed. the cabins felt like individual rooms. I'm rather petite so this suits me perfect, I had my backpack with me in the cabin and still had room to do my packing in it. not too sure about the bigger size people, but the rest of the guests seem comfortable as well. The bathroom is definitely clean and pleasant to shower in, though you need to pay 100yen. The staffs at the reception are very helpful! The Chinese guy, Pan Zhe Sheng attended to my enquiry even though he is about to knock off and needed to catch the last train home. Reina the manager also assisted.

Disliked: no late night shopping in this area. Have to walk if you need to shop after the train stops.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jessica O'Dwyer

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff & Cozy capsules.

Disliked: Lockers are tiny.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

steven Wadeson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2012 steven would recommend this property

Liked: Kinda oddly cool place. Great location from station, if a little out of the tokyo heart but close to Shinjuku. Staff were friendly. Lockers were provided and were decent. They had decent info about the surrounding area and good food is near by.

Disliked: Paying for showers might be a clever way of ensuring people don't have too long a showers, y100 for 10 mins... eh. y100 for 15 or 20 and I wouldn't have batted an eye. Bed were squeaky as all living hell! Which was just weird. Not sure how you'd go about stopping it, but it was really loud. Showers are on the bottom of a ten story building and beds are on the top. Doesnt bother me but bothered some.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

junichi okada

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012 junichi would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at mixed dorm. the bed was so comfortable enough that I might have snored so hard.

Disliked: the coin shower was cold water only I hope the other showers are OK.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James Halcrow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: central location, the capsule beds were cool,

Disliked: 100Y for the showers which is a bit heinous!!!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

steven hofland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2012 steven would recommend this property

Liked: the capsules were really comfortable. Im 6 feet 7 and had no problems whatsoever.

Disliked: curfew...doors were closed between 2am and 4:30am.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rodrigo Guimarães

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2012 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, great location, made friends.

Disliked: Rodrigo left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Miriam Falloon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 Miriam would recommend this property

Liked: 10 bed dorm was free, so we got upgraded to an economy capsule for no extra cost. Fairly quiet, attentive enough staff. Great location, 2 stops away from main Shinjuku station.

Disliked: Showers were a little inconvenient, as there was only two 100 yen coin showers located in the basement for all women guests of the hostel...but i get up early so i only had to wait once.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Phil MACDONALD

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2012 Phil would recommend this property

Liked: Cool capsule beds. Good wifi.

Disliked: Had to pay 100yen for a 10min shower. The drying machines were rubbish.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good beds with private space and safe storage as well space for backpack etc. Clean facililties and very helpful staff who speak English very well. Great location for getting around Tokyo as its central and less than a minute form Akebonobashi Subway station on Shinjuku line.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012

Liked: it was fairly close to main stations and the capsules were really comfortable

Disliked: it was very dirty and smelt of mold. by far the most expensive hostel out of all the ones we had stayed in and in the worst condition. Staff were not very friendly and they didnt have any maps or tourist advice on offer apart from a few scraps taped to the wall.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Arthur Jenkins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2012 Arthur would recommend this property

Liked: The price was really good. The beds were pretty comfortable and it wasn't as awkward as I thought it would be being in a room with so many strangers. The staff was nice and answered any questions I had. The free wifi was great!

Disliked: It felt dirty in some places, most notably the shower room and bathroom on the 10th floor. I also didn't like having to take my shoes off upon entry, and using dirty slippers all day. And even though the price was good, paying 100 yen for a 10 minute shower was pretty whack!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was exactly as we expected - basic and cheap. However the location was better than I anticipated - a thirty second walk from Akebonobashi station, which is one stop from Shinjuku where you can get practically anywhere from.

Disliked: I was disappointed with the lack of socialising amongst people sharing the hostel, however I can appreciate that the hostel staff themselves cannot really influence this.


See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels