HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels

Reviews of ACE INN Shinjuku

Hostel | Toei Shinjuku, Akebonobash, Tokyo, Japan -

79.2% Overall Rating

172 out of 206 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/07/2014)

Wisapan Danuponpattana thinks…

"- Good location and near subway - Staffs able to communicate in English.They can explain about attraction places if you need."

Read all ACE INN Shinjuku reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tokyo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tokyo

Shinjuku City Hotel N.U.T.S Tokyo
37.26 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.6% 89 reviews
Sunlite Shinjuku Hotel
78.44 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.0% 4 reviews
Hotel MyStays Akasaka
78.44 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 82.3% 5 reviews
Mayflower House Tokyo
32.36 USD

Hostel 62.2% 61 reviews
Sakura Hotel
29.41 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.1% 103 reviews
Flexstay Inn Sugamo
48.53 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel MyStays Ochanomizu
98.05 USD

Hotel 3 star 97.9% 4 reviews
Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro
32.36 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.4% 112 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.2%

Overall Rating

172 out of 206 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ACE INN Shinjuku'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
88.0%
Value
77.6%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 178 of 197 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

08 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Farrah Tek

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 January 2013

Liked: Staff are extremely helpful.

Disliked: Only reason I would never stay there is because you share the room with other people. Had this rude European speaking German on Skype all night. I could not sleep and she was dumb and oblivious to being respectful. What's the purpose of being in a place where you can't sleep? I am writing this review right now as she doesn't even have headphones so you can also hear her loud friend.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

solfrizzi giuseppe

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012 solfrizzi would recommend this property

Liked: position is excellent

Disliked: solfrizzi left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was exactly what i expected it to be, an affordable base to explore Tokyo

Disliked: Nothing really, the slippers they provide are not really made for european size feet :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nickolas Warner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2012 Nickolas would recommend this property

Liked: It will be hard to find a less expensive hostel so close to central Tokyo. Fairly clean, friendly, though "businessy" staff. Felt more like a hotel than a friendly hostel, though that isn't always a bad thing. Free coffee and tea. Met loads of interesting travelers there.

Disliked: Having a curfew, even though only two and a half hours of closed time, can still put a damper on things. Shower costs money which was unexpected. Very bare bones and not much charm, but for two thousand yen a night, who can complain.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Teo Shu Hui

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2012 Teo would recommend this property

Liked: The individual wooden cabins gave a sense of privacy. Definitely suitable for those who like meeting people yet wants to keep their own space when needed. the cabins felt like individual rooms. I'm rather petite so this suits me perfect, I had my backpack with me in the cabin and still had room to do my packing in it. not too sure about the bigger size people, but the rest of the guests seem comfortable as well. The bathroom is definitely clean and pleasant to shower in, though you need to pay 100yen. The staffs at the reception are very helpful! The Chinese guy, Pan Zhe Sheng attended to my enquiry even though he is about to knock off and needed to catch the last train home. Reina the manager also assisted.

Disliked: no late night shopping in this area. Have to walk if you need to shop after the train stops.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jessica O'Dwyer

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff & Cozy capsules.

Disliked: Lockers are tiny.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

steven Wadeson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2012 steven would recommend this property

Liked: Kinda oddly cool place. Great location from station, if a little out of the tokyo heart but close to Shinjuku. Staff were friendly. Lockers were provided and were decent. They had decent info about the surrounding area and good food is near by.

Disliked: Paying for showers might be a clever way of ensuring people don't have too long a showers, y100 for 10 mins... eh. y100 for 15 or 20 and I wouldn't have batted an eye. Bed were squeaky as all living hell! Which was just weird. Not sure how you'd go about stopping it, but it was really loud. Showers are on the bottom of a ten story building and beds are on the top. Doesnt bother me but bothered some.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

junichi okada

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2012 junichi would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at mixed dorm. the bed was so comfortable enough that I might have snored so hard.

Disliked: the coin shower was cold water only I hope the other showers are OK.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James Halcrow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: central location, the capsule beds were cool,

Disliked: 100Y for the showers which is a bit heinous!!!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

steven hofland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2012 steven would recommend this property

Liked: the capsules were really comfortable. Im 6 feet 7 and had no problems whatsoever.

Disliked: curfew...doors were closed between 2am and 4:30am.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rodrigo Guimarães

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2012 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, great location, made friends.

Disliked: Rodrigo left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Miriam Falloon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 Miriam would recommend this property

Liked: 10 bed dorm was free, so we got upgraded to an economy capsule for no extra cost. Fairly quiet, attentive enough staff. Great location, 2 stops away from main Shinjuku station.

Disliked: Showers were a little inconvenient, as there was only two 100 yen coin showers located in the basement for all women guests of the hostel...but i get up early so i only had to wait once.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Phil MACDONALD

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2012 Phil would recommend this property

Liked: Cool capsule beds. Good wifi.

Disliked: Had to pay 100yen for a 10min shower. The drying machines were rubbish.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good beds with private space and safe storage as well space for backpack etc. Clean facililties and very helpful staff who speak English very well. Great location for getting around Tokyo as its central and less than a minute form Akebonobashi Subway station on Shinjuku line.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012

Liked: it was fairly close to main stations and the capsules were really comfortable

Disliked: it was very dirty and smelt of mold. by far the most expensive hostel out of all the ones we had stayed in and in the worst condition. Staff were not very friendly and they didnt have any maps or tourist advice on offer apart from a few scraps taped to the wall.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Arthur Jenkins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2012 Arthur would recommend this property

Liked: The price was really good. The beds were pretty comfortable and it wasn't as awkward as I thought it would be being in a room with so many strangers. The staff was nice and answered any questions I had. The free wifi was great!

Disliked: It felt dirty in some places, most notably the shower room and bathroom on the 10th floor. I also didn't like having to take my shoes off upon entry, and using dirty slippers all day. And even though the price was good, paying 100 yen for a 10 minute shower was pretty whack!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was exactly as we expected - basic and cheap. However the location was better than I anticipated - a thirty second walk from Akebonobashi station, which is one stop from Shinjuku where you can get practically anywhere from.

Disliked: I was disappointed with the lack of socialising amongst people sharing the hostel, however I can appreciate that the hostel staff themselves cannot really influence this.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and shinjuku is a great location and very easy to get to. Wifi.

Disliked: Very ugly interior, very small lockers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jeehun Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012 Jeehun would recommend this property

Liked: I was staying over twenty persons mixed room. But it wasnt bad. Bcuz everyone uses kinda shell, cell to sleep. A little bit bothrs me but ok.

Disliked: Sleeping cell?? Or something like independant bed?? And shower system...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location. Due to overbooking I was upgraded to a cabin bed for a price of a dorm. Cheap.

Disliked: Shower located on the first floor and coin operated, odor in the room, some staff not very nice and welcoming.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 June 2012

Liked: Excellent location

Disliked: Closes its doors between 2am and 430am.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Simone Firinu

Alone

City break

27 May 2012 Simone would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Showers

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Simone Firinu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2012 Simone would recommend this property

Liked: Location, free internet

Disliked: Coin showers in the basement

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2012

Liked: Location is great, just two stops away from Shinjuku station.

Disliked: Everything else. I'm glad we were only there one night.


See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels