We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels

Reviews of ACE INN Shinjuku

Hostel | Toei Shinjuku, Akebonobash, Tokyo, Japan -

82.3% Overall Rating

187 out of 223 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/06/2015)

"Fantastic property, spacious rooms comfortable beds. Great location only 15minutes walk to Shinjuku, or right next to a tube stop. hairdryer can be borrowed at reception and the showers were powerful and a good…"

Read all ACE INN Shinjuku reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tokyo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tokyo

Shinjuku City Hotel N.U.T.S Tokyo
30.94 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.3% 97 reviews
Sunlite Shinjuku Hotel
65.15 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.0% 4 reviews
Sakura Hotel
25.65 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.1% 103 reviews
Flexstay Inn Sugamo
40.31 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel MyStays Ochanomizu
81.43 USD

Hotel 3 star 97.9% 4 reviews
Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro
24.43 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.4% 112 reviews
Sakura Hotel Hatagaya
36.65 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 80.9% 34 reviews
YADOYA Guest House for Backpackers
17.92 USD

Hostel 90.0% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.3%

Overall Rating

187 out of 223 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ACE INN Shinjuku'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
88.0%
Value
80.0%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 195 of 214 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and well priced. I stay here often.

Disliked: Can be noisy, have to use coin shower in the basement. No power point in capsule.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Jessie Toose

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014

Liked: The capsules are clean and quite roomy for tall people.

Disliked: Common room is shabby, poor kitchen facilities, carpets are dirty it's not an inviting place to spend time. Small lockers so your packs are kept in communal racks. Showers are ok but pretty run down. Lift is dirty and smells like spilt alcohol. Only stay here if all other reasonable options are booked out.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

18 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are very cool and the beds are comfy

Disliked: You had to pay 100 yen to shower

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandro Arque Gallardo

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: I did stayed there before and its location, the staff and the facilities are very good. I'll be back there when I go to Tokyo

Disliked: Alejandro left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandro Arque Gallardo

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed with my gf for a night but it was very good as always, because I did stay there before I decided to repeat

Disliked: Alejandro left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alejandro Arque Gallardo

Alone

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: The place is just incredible and super close to Shinjuku (just a small walk), staff was very helpful and speaking very good english. When I go back to Tokyo I'll stay there for sure.

Disliked: Alejandro left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Crew

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 January 2014 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location and the capsule beds are really comfortable and cosy.

Disliked: coin showers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rodolfo Navarro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2013 Rodolfo would recommend this property

Liked: It was excellent, Because it was very cheap for the location in Tokyo, Even that the subway station was closed I was able to come back walking

Disliked: Rodolfo left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eugene Nyunt

Alone

Business / conference

15 December 2013 Eugene would recommend this property

Liked: location, inexpensive rooms, spacious, helpful multilingual staff

Disliked: the kitchen was tiny and not fully equipped

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Josuani Soto

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2013 Josuani would recommend this property

Liked: its very close to the subway station, and walking distance to some good touristic points. They have free coffee and tea. Fresh towels. They have free wifi.

Disliked: extra fee: The shower cost 100Yenes (1USD), for 10minutesm but they put shampoo, shower gel, hair dryer...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Linh Huynh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2013 Linh would recommend this property

Liked: Surprisingly comfortable! This was my first experience with capsules

Disliked: 2 showers for women? Really?!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Aleksander Nobis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife

18 October 2013 Aleksander would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff is very helpful and knows a lot about the city. They helped me in so many ways when I stayed there.

Disliked: They could work on the general cleanliness. The building should be renovated a little bit.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's near Shinjuku, they offer maps, free wi-fi, there's a common place, vending machines.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sarah Petty

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great- literally a 2 minute walk from the Subway. I didn't explore much beyond the main street (I spent all of my time in the nearby Shinjuku,) but there are breakfast restaurants nearby. The bests were roomy and soft and the facilities were very clean.

Disliked: This is not an authentic "capsule" hotel at all. It is similar to every other hostel dorm that I've seen. The only difference here is that the bunks are walled off. If you're not after the authentic Japanese "capsule" experience, then this isn't a problem. The staff always seemed overwhelmed. We had to wait in line for 5-10 minutes every time we wanted to speak to the front desk. When we asked for recommendations, and they didn't seem well informed or friendly. They did have some maps available for reference.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Evan Mangold

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013

Liked: Good location, friendly staff.

Disliked: Not very clean and you're not likely to get much sleep due to noise.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thought the wood capsule beds were pretty cool. However the mattress inside was very thin and made sleeping pretty uncomfortable. The location is good, only like a two minute walk from the subway and like one stop away from Shinjuku.

Disliked: This hostel isn't much to look at, it's definitely deteriorated in parts, like the common area on the 9th floor which was pretty grubby. It looks like they haven't done any updating in awhile and its definitely showing in areas at the hostel. This doesn't really affect your stay too much, especially when you are out exploring Tokyo, but if you are looking for a nice looking place to stay, this isn't it. For someone just looking for a place to sleep its definitely a good option.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felicity Holloway

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2013 Felicity would recommend this property

Liked: In don't know why people are winging about this place. We loves our stay here and couldn't fault it. The Wooden capsule beds are awesome! It's very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Yes the bathroom is in the basement. But so what, its a hostel not a hotel. Good atmosphere too. And great area!

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tomasz Wysocki

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

11 August 2013 Tomasz would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a very convenient place; the beds are more then enough; there is free coffee & tea downstairs; in general, if you're planning to stay in Tokyo for not too much money, that's the place for you.

Disliked: 100yens for 10minutes of shower; they close between 2am and 4:30am and you cannot either get in or out; ATTENTION: you cannot have the third pin in your cable, because Japanese outlets usually have only two holes. You can buy a cheap adapter (300Y) near in a FamilyMart. You can also borrow one in the lobby, but the number is limited. The IC is set up very low and people tend to get cold in the night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Salim Harrat

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2013 Salim would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and great staff

Disliked: Bed was uncomfortable after a few nights

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 August 2013

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Everything else!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timothy Anderson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 August 2013 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: The location was super convenient. I felt like I was in the heart of Tokyo with everything a stones throw away. If you want to have a Tokyo experience with a helpful staff (one that has no problem giving you maps and advice on places to see) I highly reccommend this hostel.

Disliked: I have no complaints about the location or layout of Ace inn.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The wooden capsule beds were incredibly comfortable!!

Disliked: The entrance smelled awful because of all of the shoes. Maybe there's a better way to keep that many shoes?

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: You have to pay to use the shower! Hard mattresses

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ian Wedlock

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: I loved how easy it was to get to the train station and also how helpful the staff were!

Disliked: The bathrooms were a little bit outdated and annoying to access.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds, helpful staff, free wi-fi throughout hostel.

Disliked: None.


See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels