HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels

Reviews of Khaosan Tokyo Ninja

Hostel | 2-5-1, Nihonbashi-Bakurocho, Chuo-Ku Tokyo, Japan 103-0002

88.3% Overall Rating

210 out of 227 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/06/2014)

tamar dovlatyarian thinks…

"Khaosan ninja is easy to find, very clean and the staff is very friendly. They actually sent a pre-arival email explaining the best way to reach the hostel. I though this was very welcoming."

Read all Khaosan Tokyo Ninja reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tokyo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tokyo

Hotel Yanagibashi
34.24 USD

Hotel 1 star 90.0% 20 reviews
Anne Hostel Asakusabashi
23.74 USD

Hostel 91.1% 149 reviews
K's House Tokyo
26.48 USD

Hostel 89.0% 207 reviews
Hotel MyStays Ochanomizu
91.29 USD

Hotel 3 star 97.9% 4 reviews
Hotel MyStays Asakusa
45.65 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Hotel MyStays Ueno
65.73 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 80.0% 3 reviews
Khaosan Tokyo Laboratory
31.04 USD

Hostel 88.1% 6 reviews
Asakusa house
18.26 USD

Guesthouse 60.8% 52 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.3%

Overall Rating

210 out of 227 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Khaosan Tokyo Ninja'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
93.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 208 of 216 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tamar dovlatyarian

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014 tamar would recommend this property

Liked: Khaosan ninja is easy to find, very clean and the staff is very friendly. They actually sent a pre-arival email explaining the best way to reach the hostel. I though this was very welcoming.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wim Vandenbussche

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Wim would recommend this property

Liked: Like everything else in Japan, it's perfection. Everything has been thought of by the people who run it. But above that, it's the details that will make me remember this place: the funny ninja-cartoons on the wall and other stuff I won't spoil.

Disliked: Nothing really...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Riley Morrice

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2013 Riley would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were awesome! Incredibly friendly and helpful. We even had an impromptu food-fight with a birthday cake during a party at the hostel!

Disliked: Riley left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shelley Jung

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2013 Shelley would recommend this property

Liked: good location, friendly staff, good atmosphere

Disliked: didn't like the room as much as the khaosan kyoto we stayed in (same owners)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jodie Hurley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2013 Jodie would recommend this property

Liked: Great, friendly and helpful staff! I always feel safe staying here, and a convenient location :)

Disliked: There is no elevator, but its not too far to walk :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jiri Tomek

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2013 Jiri would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is very clean, there is no smell or dirty bathroom as I saw in other hostel around the world. Location is close to train and metro lines but still in quiet place. For the money it's perfect place to stay in Tokyo. It's named "Ninja"!

Disliked: Rooms are very small. We stayed in private 2 bed room and there was very little place. However, it's Tokyo, you should expect that.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ample space for luggage unpacking. sufficient toilets and showers. hot water is available.

Disliked: location wise can still be improved.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kamil Zdunski

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Kamil would recommend this property

Liked: - close to train station, easy access from Narita Airport

Disliked: Kamil left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Stephanie Lee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2013 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff on reception and free use of internet-ready computers. Very close to the JR Bakurocho station which is only 2 stops from the Tokyo station.

Disliked: The rooms are pretty small but that seems common in Tokyo. There was also no laundry facility in the hostel but there is a landrette across the street.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very pleasant staff, clean hostel, interesting expierence living in this ninja box. Hostel has its own ninja atmosphere.

Disliked: Good location if you are leaving to Narita (train goes to station near), but reaching the good metro line would take you a little bit longer (compared to other locations, but still it is very good place).

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2013

Liked: Strong wifi connection and the privacy of having the sliding door /compartmentalized bunk bed.

Disliked: The location. For all future travellers, please look where it is located in metro map / its location in relation to the places you want to visit and see. For me, it is not really accessible to get around. And, the piles and piles of suitcases on the reception. What are those suitcases doing there? Even after 8pm or so, there are still many suitcases there! I had mine when I check in earlier, but even after I took it around over 8pm, there are still more there! They probably do not want to carry that heavy stuff to the 3F or 4F as it is really difficult to carry them. I took photo of them, I wish I could post it here. Gosh! So ridiculously unbelievable!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aidan Martinelli

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2013 Aidan would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff, typical very secure and safe Japanese vibe. Very easy to find from the airport! Also it has Ninja in the name!

Disliked: Common room very smelly, wafting up into the lobby.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

WEI HSIEN YU

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

03 January 2013 WEI HSIEN would recommend this property

Liked: NO

Disliked: NO

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Katie Reeves

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2012 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Stayed in 10 bed dorm and this was fine! 1 bathroom (which was very clean) between 10 people, which was good. Never had to wait to use it. Good little common area but lacking atmosphere between guests and hostel staff.

Disliked: Although very clean hostel, I don't think the duvets were changed between guests- they were grubby, with hairs on them and smelt unclean - only clean sheets and pillow case given.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hannah Madden

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2012 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Great location within 5mins walk of three subway station which meant you could get anywhere in the city. Quite central. the area is pretty quiet mainly offices and apartments but only 5mins walk to Akihabara station area with lots of restaurants etc.though as the area isn't very touristy few people in these speak English - but that is where plastic models are useful! Bathroom facilities good, great powerful showers and always clean. Felt safe. Word of advice if you are visiting Japan take slip on trainers as you will be taking your shoes on and off a lot!

Disliked: The room was very small, but I suppose that is just Tokyo.we stayed in a twin room and there wasn't space for us both to be standing.but only used room for sleeping so not too bad. Room felt in need of renovation a bit. I think it might just be Japanese mattresses but bed not great.thin foam mattress felt like sleeping on wood!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justin Kent

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

12 November 2012 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: Khaosan Tokyo Ninja has great atmosphere. From the funny drawings on the walls to the modern (yet traditional-feeling) basement lounge, to the exterior, the place oozes with charm.

Disliked: Bakurocho isn't the most exciting area, but it is nice and quiet, and offers easy access to the JR Chuo Line.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nicholas Schaedel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Free Wi-Fi everywhere, free linen.

Disliked: Twin rooms are really bunk beds, not two singles, and quite small. Not many power points.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

paul owen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2012 paul would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful and seemed to have a genuine interest. Nice spacious common area and bunks were designed with privacy in mind

Disliked: nothing at all

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cristina Torres da Silva

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2012 Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff and very very clean!

Disliked: The walls are a bit too thin so you can hear the next door guests....

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and good living room/kitchen facilities

Disliked: Cramped rooms, but I guess that's what you get in Tokyo.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked my capsule bed. Their A/C worked well for such a large dorm. I actually got cold at night and it was summer. The bathrooms are very clean. There are plenty of stores and restaurants nearby. Coin laundry is across the street and the hostel gives you free detergent.

Disliked: Had to carry my luggage up to the 4th floor.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alfredo Ribeiro

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2012 Alfredo would recommend this property

Liked: Good bunk bed. air conditioning, ensuite clean bathroom

Disliked: to climb stairs to the 4t/5th floor; no lift

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elsie Michael

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2012 Elsie would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was one of the best I've stayed in. Everything you need is here. It's clean and comfortable, but also great fun, I made lots of friends here. There was always someone in the common room to talk to. The cabin beds are great - its nice to get a little bit of privacy!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JITING HE

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2012 JITING would recommend this property

Liked: the staff is really helpful. Though the place is a little tiny, but the bed is cozy! shower great!! location great!!

Disliked: nothing really

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free coffee n tea, cleaniness

Disliked: squeky bedroom's door, big slippers -cause me to trip on the stairs, bunk bed too high


See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels