We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels

Reviews of Asakusa Ryokan Toukaisou

Hostel | 2-16-12, Nishi Asakusa, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan 111-0035

86.4% Overall Rating

90 out of 93 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/10/2014)

Graham Moore thinks…

"Clean comfortable rooms, located in Asakusa, near a supermarket, close to 3 train stations."

Read all Asakusa Ryokan Toukaisou reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tokyo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tokyo

Asakusa Hostel Toukaisou
24.65 USD

Hostel 84.3% 201 reviews
Asakusa house
18.26 USD

Guesthouse 61.1% 53 reviews
Khaosan Tokyo Laboratory
29.21 USD

Hostel 88.1% 6 reviews
Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki
29.21 USD

Hostel 95.9% 53 reviews
Sakura Hostel Asakusa
26.84 USD

Hostel 90.4% 365 reviews
Ryokan Asaksua Mikawaya Honten
63.91 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel MyStays Ueno
65.73 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 80.0% 3 reviews
Hotel Kawase
31.95 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 71.9% 18 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.4%

Overall Rating

90 out of 93 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Asakusa Ryokan Toukaisou'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
92.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 71 of 84 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Graham Moore

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 October 2014 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: Clean comfortable rooms, located in Asakusa, near a supermarket, close to 3 train stations.

Disliked: Graham left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, helpful staff. It was great to receive a map of the area with restaurants and shops right at checkin. Lots of visitor information available. The room was very comfortable.

Disliked: Room was very dark with a tiny window. Walls very thin so sometimes noisy.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Daniel Gallego Mahecha

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: close to the asakusa area

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jacob Noel

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean,tidy and the location was in a good place to get access to anywhere in the Tokyo City and the staff was very helpful in giving me information so overall a good place to stay...would visit again.

Disliked: Didn't have a meeting reception area but still it wouldn't stop me staying again or recommending to other people to stay..

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Natasha Powell

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: Kind knowledgeable, staff. you got a yukata to wear in your room.

Disliked: Older sort of room/bathroom area. Not unclean, but a little humid or old feeling so not squeaky clean feeling.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and the room has a nice touch to it.

Disliked: The number of washing machine as we had to wait for at least 30-60 mins before its our turn.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

maria agostina Ciampa

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014 maria agostina would recommend this property

Liked: It's a good place, according to the price. Nice location too.

Disliked: I was on the ground floor and the windows weren't as open as I would like. That's why fresh air couldn't get in from outside.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

13 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, simple, near train station

Disliked: not spacious enough

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LOO YEE TAN

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 LOO YEE would recommend this property

Liked: This is my first time traveling alone. But this property make me felt warm when I stay alone. I will choose to stay this property again if I got chance to go Japan Tokyo again . But , I had recommend this property to my friends . :)

Disliked: N/A

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the room was cozy and warm: japanese style (sitting on the floor) and it's close to the traditional/cultural district of tokyo and a large supermarket.

Disliked: the carpet in the building smells a bit.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

catherine simpkin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2014 catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Location, good WiFi, nice helpful staff, take MasterCard, great heating and a/c in room, 5 min walk to subway station, Asakusa is a great shopping/dining/entertainment district on the doorstep of this place.

Disliked: Room small and cramped, could do with updating.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robyn St Luce Boyce

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2013 Robyn would recommend this property

Liked: My first experience of travelling alone, my bed was much bigger than expected, it was lovely as it meant after a long day of walking and site seeing I could really stretch out and relax. As well as having the choice between a lovely long bath in the evening or a quick shower in the day. Really felt like I was immersed in the Japan experience with the TV set to local channels too. The staff were super friendly, and always helpful. Even directing to local physicians when I got rather poorly. Helped with learning useful phrases and directing to good places to eat around town. Staff also quick to check each room was ok after earthquake too. Great place to stay. Clean room, and bathroom. Absolutely great staff members, I don't think I can fault it.

Disliked: The mahooosive wasp that died on the roof, terrified me. Other than that, a top 10 place to stay.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a quiet area off of the main road, easy to get to from the subway, and close to a temple we wanted to see. Sitting on the rooftop at night was relaxing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location. Cheap.

Disliked: Everything is very small especially the toilet. So if you are tall or not perfectly slim you won't fit.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, and they provided helpful instructions to get there that made finding it easy. It was good value for what it cost.

Disliked: Rooms are very small.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The large shower and ensuite toilet was nice, it's close to nice shopping markets and izayakis across the road in the neighbourhood. Hard to find though, I recommend printing a map with the address beforehand. Close to Tokyo metro (5 min walk). When you are there it feels centrally located!

Disliked: Hard to find

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patricia De Lara

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 February 2013 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good,close to subway lines and cheap restaurants. Staff is really nice and the room has everything u need. wifi works well.

Disliked: the toilet room, apparently it used to be a "squat" and they just put a toilet there,so is really low and because the room is so small difficult to use, the same with the sink, it was impossible to wash my face without spilling water all over the place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michele Castellano

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2012 Michele would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely location- quiet, beautiful neighborhood with plenty of places to eat and shop- several supermarkets nearby not to mention the Ginza line stop is very close. Outside of the crowds of Tokyo but a short and easy train ride away from anywhere in the city on the Tokyo Metro. Staff was very friendly and eager to help in any way they could. Great experience, excellent value!

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Juan Guarin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Juan would recommend this property

Liked: I'd enjoyed my stay there

Disliked: Juan left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful. Some spoke English better than others.

Disliked: Whereas the double room had a good bed, the twin room we had the last night had quite thin mattresses. Please note that if you want to go to the tuna auction at Tsukiji fish market, you are unlikely to make it by taking the first subway of the day as the staff adviced us. The last tickets are given out around 5am, and the subway starts running at 5am. You have a better chance to make it by taking a taxi to Ueno, taking the first JR train of the day (they start running at 4.30 am) and taking a taxi from Shimbashi to Tsukiji. We did that, arrived at Tsukiji at 5am and got some of the last tickets.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This Ryokan offered excellent value for money in a handy location in one of the tourist centers of Tokyo. The staff were really friendly and helped us reserach where to buy camping equipment in Tokyo.

Disliked: The rooms were small (but this has to be expected in Tokyo) and the hotel did not have too much of an atmosphere. The rooftop could have been a great place to hang out with a few small improvements (plants, lighting etc).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

NATTAPONG PHUPHAKDEEWONG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 June 2012 NATTAPONG would recommend this property

Liked: The Location is unbeatable! Surrounded by restaurant and convenient store, also a big Supermarket at ROX. And Nakamise is just across the road! Would recommend for those who will use the Toei and Tobu line, esp with big luggages. From here, you can find the direct line to/from Narita or Haneda Airport. Sukoi! ( ,")b

Disliked: The room I stayed was a little bit dusty, may not be good for those who are allergic to it. There is no daily cleaning in rooms. Otherwise it is good enough for everything. Though the bathroom (ensuite) is quite small, but I found it great in my room (which I think it's depend from room to room), coz there is a separate toilet room and shower room with bath tub. Good deal!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, informative, and helpful staff. Excellent location and great value for your money!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff, super fast WiFi, well kept ensuite bathroom, close to main sights in Asakusa, well lit rooms.

Disliked: No elevator meant lugging suitcases upstairs was difficult (however lovely staff helped us). A fair way out of Tokyo meant a bit of travel required to get to other districts.


See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels