HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Sakura Hostel Ikebukuro Tokyo

Hostel

2-40-7 Ikebukuro, Toshima-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 97%

Facilities 87%

Location 96%

Safety 92%

Staff 92%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 2.99USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tokyo?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 97%

Facilities 87%

Location 96%

Safety 92%

Staff 92%

Value 90%

Showing 1-7 of 7 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great hostel, more like a hotel. Staff were friendly and knew a fair bit. (Most of them) The breakfast, while simple, was cheap and a good way to start the day. Cosy little rooms with even 'cosier' bathrooms.

Disliked: When trying to find out how to get to Haneada airport, the memeber fo staff we asked seems a bit flustered and didn;t kow much more than we did. I think he was training or it was his first day. Not a huge problem, and the rest of the staff were excellent.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is really nice, very near to the train station. The hostel was the most cramped in Japan but it is Tokyo so this is to be expected.

Disliked: The WIFI is really show and you have to pay for the desktop computer.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location near shops, restaurants and multiple transport options.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location, close to the subways and train stations and easy to find. Hotel provides good informations on tours and how to get to place of interests.

Disliked: The hotel owner changed the key to card locks for better secutiry, but the filmsy super thin plastic card is hard to handle especially for those that stay at the dorms becuase each time to get out of the room we have to carry the card around.I lost the card the first day that they changed it to card system, that did nothappen when I used the key. They fine me 1,000 yen for losing the card within the hotel. Just wait and see more residents are going to loose that filmsy card in the future.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: good

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Staff were very friendly and helpful. They provided a lot of information on places to eat, transport etc. They also helped by calling a company I wanted to book a tour with. All the staff spoke great English.

Disliked: The rooms are tiny, but I guess that is to be expected for a place in central Tokyo. There wasn't much diversity in their cafe menu and some of the things I wanted to order were not available. But not much to dislike - they were exactly as they had described on Hostelbookers.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location,helpful & friendly staff, good location,very clean , we'll equipped kitchen, awesome breakfast at 320 yen per person, 24 hrs cafe...enjoyed our stay in Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro. Yes, it provided storage for my luggage while I travel light out of Tokyo.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Perfect location, everybody was so friendly and I met nice people over there.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were very helpful and friendly, and generally had very good spoken English, which was great because my Japanese is virtually non-existent, though they responded very warmly to my feeble attempts! The cafe has a good range of Japanese and international drinks and it was nice to see that many Japanese students also used it during the evenings.

Disliked: No huge negatives. It was not five star accommodation, but for the price gave very good value.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: It was in a great location, the staff were super helpful.......the breakfast included was a great start to the day!!

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability