We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels

Reviews of Mayflower House Tokyo

Hostel | 4-1-2 roppongi Minato-ku, Tokyo, Japan 1060032

62.7% Overall Rating

40 out of 63 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/05/2014)

"I stayed at the Mayflower House in Tokyo in the Kachidoki area and I really liked it's location. It's within walking distance of the Kachidoki subway station and makes getting around easy. It was a slightly old facility…"

Read all Mayflower House Tokyo reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Reminder: On the day you are checking in, please give us a call 2 hours before hand. If not, you will not be able to get into the building. When you arrive to Roppongi Station, one of our staff will pick you up at exit 6 and guide you to the house. We also only accept cash.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tokyo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tokyo

Hotel MyStays Akasaka
73.03 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 82.3% 5 reviews
ACE INN Shinjuku
20.23 USD

Hostel 79.8% 208 reviews
Shinjuku City Hotel N.U.T.S Tokyo
36.52 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.0% 91 reviews
Sakura Hotel
27.39 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.1% 103 reviews
Guest House Shinagawa-shuku
30.13 USD

Guesthouse 85.3% 58 reviews
Hotel MyStays Ochanomizu
91.29 USD

Hotel 3 star 97.9% 4 reviews
Sunlite Shinjuku Hotel
73.03 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.0% 4 reviews
Khaosan Tokyo Ninja
20.08 USD

Hostel 88.3% 227 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.7%

Overall Rating

40 out of 63 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Mayflower House Tokyo'

Atmosphere
47.2%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
56.8%
Staff
65.6%
Value
60.8%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 47 of 51 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I found it friendly, young and good for our need.

Disliked: None

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at the Mayflower House in Tokyo in the Kachidoki area and I really liked it's location. It's within walking distance of the Kachidoki subway station and makes getting around easy. It was a slightly old facility but clean and had everything I needed. I especially liked that they offered wifi.

Disliked: The only thing that I disliked about this property was that the staff was very unorganized. I booked 3 beds at the Mayflower House in Roppongi but when we arrived the person who was supposed to meet us never came and we had to call them to come get us. And once we reached the hostel there was not enough rooms available. We had to be moved to a separate house. Overall we had a hard time communicating with the staff.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Raquel Cepeda

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014

Liked: You have your own space. Each floor it's like a mate flat. Clean towels.

Disliked: A little hide. Was difficult to find it for us. There is 1 floor with ONLY stairs so you have to carry your luggage (sometimes staff helps you) to go to the elevator. Seems a little dirty and old. You pay 100¥ for 15 minutes of shower. (Too much time!) And you only have wifi at the 6 floor which is de "chill out room".

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Aya on reception was very nice and spoke English If you just want a cheap room in a good location, this is perfect. Other places in Roppongi were about 4/5 times the price of the Mayflower at Christmas!!! Despite the place looking very run down, I did see Aya cleaning every evening! You get a towel and a bar of soap - better than nothing. There is an ethernet cable to plug your laptop into the internet and wifi upstairs....... For long term guests, there is a washing machine and dryer, a fridge and a tv upstairs in the common area. The people I have met staying at Mayflower, seemed nice and friendly - most were longterm.

Disliked: If you want luxury, dont come here.....place could do with some painting! Having to pay 100 yen every time you wanted a 10 minute shower There is no reception area, so when you arrive, you have to call them beforehand and wait for someone to come and check you in. The room is very small and basic, probably just enough room to put your suitcase on the floor.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The young lady (Aya) was very friendly and helpful in getting me the information I needed. She spoke clear English and I had not problem knowing where things are. There is one computer for public use on the 7th floor. I met half a dozen residents or so and everyone was very friendly. I didn't knock on any doors, I just met them in the common areas. There is a small refrigerator in the room and a main kitchen and living room on the 6th and 7th floor. The bathroom is shared, but I had no problems. I didn't spend tons of time there are I had other things to do and felt that the overall experience was very pleasant.

Disliked: It was a little confusing as to the "pick up" once I got to Roppongi and had to take a taxi the rest of the way to the hostel. However, after having been here a few days, I realize that had I taken the subway (it would have been very confusing never having used the system had I not taken a bus to a hotel from Narita) someone would have met me at the station and walked me to the hotel.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 April 2013

Liked: It was close to the station.

Disliked: The fact that I had three different keys to access my room, shower and the building. There was also only one shower.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Adela Bai

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 January 2013 Adela would recommend this property

Liked: excellent value for the money

Disliked: Adela left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Mark van Vroonhoven

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2012

Liked: Mr. Ono did a very good job on helping us out when this hostel was overbooked and he put us into another one of their houses.

Disliked: First of all, the hostel was overbooked and we had to stay at another address. When we arrived we found out that there was no wifi, only internet if you have a laptop and internet cable. We could help ourselves by turning a laptop into a wifi hotspot. The place was a little dirty and smelly. This house is more used as student dorms and is not actually a hostel. It was ok for the time being, but next time i would go someplace else.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Oliver Simon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2012

Liked: When we arrived they had not acknoledged our online booking. One of the residents had to call the management who took an hour to arrive. We then wasted 2 hours while they first said there was no availibility and wanted to move us to another property. We resisted and after much time they let us stay here. Good location but not mch of a hostel. Also lots of unsavoury people staying in the hostel.

Disliked: Not really a hostel more of mid stay appartments

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Javier Munguia

Alone

City break

03 January 2012

Liked: Ok I'll try to be fair. The comments you've read are all true. The place is dodgy, there is no info (not even a name on the door), there is NO staff unless you call 2 hrs in advance and it's indeed a long term residence, so don't expect to meet people, instead be prepared for a rather cold unpleasant look from the other guests. Two of them even shot the door in my face when I knocked the door in search of a human being. And indeed, the owner tried to ask me for a 10,000 Yen deposit! On the other side, if you manage to check in, you can get a room for yourself, air conditioned, tv, internet, 24hr acces with your own key, free to use kitchen, and nobody to bother you if you want a night out to Roppongi. Its up to you, good luck.

Disliked: The lack of character, as it is not a hostel, but they clearly state that though. Also the difficulties to communicate with the owner, the staff and the guests...but if you sort this out with patience (and being respectful all the time) this can actually be a good place. Let's be clear about this, this is Japan, so they have no obligation to speak perfect english.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2012

Liked: Absolutely nothing.

Disliked: Do not stay here. It's a long stay hostel and has no atmosphere plus all of the bathrooms were filthy- they did not look like they had been cleaned in years. In fact there was grime on the walls. The common spaces I saw where grimey and stank of rotting rubbish. It was also impossible to find any staff there and there was no signage in the building to say where to go. My room was in a annex which looked like a building site and was just off the street, the door to which was never locked so anyone could have walked in off the street, so security here was non existant. In the annexe there was no shower, just a disgusting bathroom, so to take a shower you had to leave the building and go into the main building and PAY 100 yen!!! Also upon arrival the owner made me pay a 50€ deposit for the room, and I spoke to another girl staying there who said that they tried to make her pay 100€ for the deposit. Had it not been New Year's Eve and no other cheap accommodation in Tokyo, I would have walked away. As soon as I arrived I felt like I was at some really dodgy place and got a really bad feeling. In my years of travelling and all of the 100 or so hostels I've stayed in, this is by far the worst.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 September 2011

Liked: Very little.

Disliked: Too much.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff so helpful - I needed to print something off one of the shared computers, and instead of sending the file or putting it on a USB for the manager guy to print, he got his colleague to carry a printer upstairs and install it for me!

Disliked: As described it is definitely a long stay hostel, residents have jobs and keep themselves to themselves - next to impossible to meet other travellers. Location is prime though. I don't think they really have travellers hostels in Tokyo so this is a pretty essential find.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Richard Douzjian

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

10 January 2011

Liked: only the location

Disliked: the scam they pulled on us!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Caroline Ideus

Alone

Business / conference

15 December 2010 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: The property is a primo location, however as others have mentioned, if you are looking to meet other travelers, this isn't really the place to go. However, if you want to party late at night in Roppongi and not worry about the last train, this is the place to stay.

Disliked: Noisy traffic.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jonathan Harrison

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2010

Liked: Nothing to like about the room, but the communal area with internet and television was excellent.

Disliked: The most disgusting room I've ever stayed in, carpet was dirty and sticky, smell of rubbish and cigarettes in the air, fridge full of cockroaches in the corner of the room!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

21 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: GOOD LOCATION TO SEE THE REST OF THE CITY

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location but wasnt a very fun place. i traveled there by myself hoping to meet a few people at this hostel but i didnt meet anyone. very cheap though.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Matthias Sipiczki

06 November 2009 Matthias would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to Roppongi

Disliked: Matthias left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

15 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was very unpolitefull. He repeated several times and in every language: "I don't care, no me importa etc" Very difficult communication with him. He hardly speak English.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location if you want to go out in Roppongi at weekends. For the rest it's not much

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

23 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great price for a place right beside Roppongi and walking distance to Shibuya.Many long term stayers, so it isn't the most "Hostel-like atmosphere"Not the best place to meet people for single travelers.Simply the cheapest private room near the fun areas of Tokyo.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jonathan Baines

27 August 2009 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: good spot in middle of Roppongi - more suited to long termers...

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.


See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels