We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels

Reviews of Khaosan Tokyo Original

Hostel | 2-1-5 Kaminarimon, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan 111-0034

79.7% Overall Rating

175 out of 205 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/01/2014)

Justyn Snowden thinks…

"Location was excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay here."

Read all Khaosan Tokyo Original reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.46

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Note: We do not accept credit cards. The payment upon arrival is only available via Japanese currency. *Age restriction = no children under 10 years old If you arrive later than 21.00, pls, contact the property. 50% of room fare shall be charged if you inform them 1 day prior arrival date. 100% will be charged if yr canc. date is due the arrival date. If they cannot confirm the arrival by midnight they consider the guest as a NO SHOW & cancel the booking. Note a charge 100% for the 1st night & 50% for the 2ndnight will apply in this case.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Tokyo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Tokyo

Hotel Kawase
31.95 USD

Hotel 1.5 star 71.9% 18 reviews
Khaosan Tokyo Samurai
18.26 USD

Hostel 89.3% 50 reviews
Khaosan Tokyo Kabuki
29.21 USD

Hostel 95.9% 53 reviews
Ryokan Asaksua Mikawaya Honten
63.91 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Asakusa Smile
17.35 USD

Hostel 71.1% 162 reviews
Hotel MyStays Asakusa
45.65 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
K's House Tokyo
26.48 USD

Hostel 89.0% 207 reviews
Hotel Asakusa Mikawaya
59.34 USD

Hotel 2 star 56.2% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.7%

Overall Rating

175 out of 205 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Khaosan Tokyo Original'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
86.4%
Value
77.6%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 140 of 144 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Justyn Snowden

As a family with children

Family Holiday

09 January 2014 Justyn would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay here.

Disliked: Justyn left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Azrul Hisham Nordin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Azrul Hisham would recommend this property

Liked: The location!! It is very near to Asakusa Line, Ginza Line and Tobu Nikko Line train. 3 stops from Ginza Line to Ueno Park and 2 stops from Asakusa Line to Tokyo SKy Tree. Also very near to Senso-ji for shopping. Ferry terminal for Himiko water bus is also around the corner.

Disliked: Small room. Also, the shower is not on every floor.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

dirk-jan van de ven

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013 dirk-jan would recommend this property

Liked: nice introduction to japanese style and culture!

Disliked: beds pretty uncomfortable

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yuwadee Phoonphetmongkon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2012 Yuwadee would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close to Asakusa subway

Disliked: The shower rooms on the second floor are very small but another one on the first floor is bigger.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chung Ho Tang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2012 Chung Ho would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very good location. Close to the METRO and also close to the attraction. Staff is polite and helpful. Definitely good price.

Disliked: No.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jason Lee

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 September 2012 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Staying at Khaosan was a pleasure, as usual. We enjoyed occasional common-room parties, fun chats with the caring staff and making new friends over a plate of taiyaki. The room – even though quite tight – was clean and tidy, and we could comfortably rest our heads on the freshly-pressed sheets after the whole day of walking. I would recommend staying in Khaosan to anyone looking for an inexpensive city room with a friendly environment.

Disliked: Might be a tight small for some people who are used to larger spaces. However this is Japan and it is a hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, cheap, and great location. Apart from A/C (which is usually not efficient for large dorms) this hostel had fans. It's the middle of summer and I didn't feel hot like at the other hostels.

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly. Many useful maps and guides provided.

Disliked: There weren't electrical outlets by my bed and the showers are better at Khaosan Ninja because it was a door and not just a curtain separating the shower. The pillow did not provide any support and almost gave me a neck cramp. The cleanliness was average.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: the twin room was small

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2012

Liked: Location, Staff

Disliked: Kitchen only rudimentary, no nice showers, common area way too tiny

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

cheong chee wai

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2011 cheong would recommend this property

Liked: location was good

Disliked: washing bowl was to small

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is so peaceful. Near the metro, post office, foods, konbini and also kaminarimon.

Disliked: The private room for 2 person just too small but still ok though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff and location. very good

Disliked: nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kine Berglund

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 July 2011 Kine would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the location! Close to the subway plus that it has an express line to Narita Airport. Bars, restaurants and convenience stores were also very close to the hostel.

Disliked: The rooms were really cramped! We had a twin room, and barely had enough room to move around, having our luggage in there too. That was terrible! The showers seemed to be dirtier than in other Khaosan hostels, they also had a terrible smell of toilet in them. The staff were not very helpful, although I suspect that being because of their terrible english knowledge! I tried to ask for help and advice a few times but the two girls i met had little or no ability to understand me! That for me is a huge minus.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011

Liked: claustrophobia! No room on the floor for your bags in a twin room - scorching hot, small room the size of your bunk bed with no room for air... no reception, no room for two ppl to stand in the foyer of hostel main entry. we moved to the khaosan samurai branch of the hostel chain in the end. the rooms there had some floor space for your bags to be kept in ur actual dorm room.

Disliked: extremely claustrophobic... crazily so.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: By far the best hostel in Tokyo and I've stayed in nearly all hostels there. The Khaosan bar is a great place to meet other travellers and locals.

Disliked: The wooden bunkbed was a bit wobbly...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2011

Liked: Really friendly staff, clean and great air con.

Disliked: Not that easy to meet people, the roof shuts at 8pm which isnt described on the page and also the bar isnt joined to the hostel and is so small!!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly.

Disliked: The 8 bed female dorm was in an awkward place, and in order to use the toilet and shower you had to go by everyone in the kitchen or living room. Not great.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2011

Liked: Staff, good (transport) information

Disliked: We had cokroach in our bed (which wouldn't be that big deal if in a cheap Asian country, but standards in Japan are high). However, the staff solved the problem quickly by letting us transfer to another Khoasan hostel. Rooms (private, common, kitchen) were a lot more spacious and facilities (showers; number of computers; lockers) were better in the other Khaosan hostels we stayed in (Khaosan Ninja & Khaosan Samurai in Tokyo; Khaosan Kyoto). So we reccomend to stay in one of the other Khaosans if you don't mind a 5 min extra walk to the nearest subway station.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

STUART PARRY

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2011 STUART would recommend this property

Liked: liked the staff, very friendly and helpful. good location and value for money.

Disliked: the stairs, but helped to keep me fit.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2011

Liked: It's near the train station.

Disliked: The photo and vedio of female dorm room are not honest. There just one door to keep the room and lounge apart so it's noisy. A staff there has bad temper and not friendly at all. There is no place to charge the battery of camera or cell phone.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

anh truong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2011 anh would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is VERY friendly! They have English speaking reception open all the way till midnight. The place is very clean and they provide slippers, and laundry detergent. This is a very good location, the two subway lines are about a minute walk. The area is nice and is next to a bunch of tourist hot spots. There are 3 shower rooms with nice HOT water! The rooms are small, and I couldn't get used to the size (prior to this I stayed in another hostel with double the space) I didn't get to use the common room, but the size was large. The only problem I had with this was the area to hang the clothes while taking a shower kept falling, making my clothes wet.

Disliked: The shower rooms had a problem with the hangers. My clothes and towels kept falling when the bin broke off the rope.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Buena localización, cerca del metro Asakusa. Un buen ambiente y un personal muy amable y atento. Habitaciones comodas. Lo recomiendo!

Disliked: En la web dicen que te ofrecen toallas, pero las tienes que pagar. Un poco caro para lo que ofrecen pero, el hostal esta en muy buen sitio.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Hughes

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2010 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly! It is very close to the Asakusa station so you don't have to walk far to find the metro. Free computers to use there, and the staff is very approachable.

Disliked: Joseph left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margo Anderson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2010 Margo would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was super friendly, they went above and beyond to help with helping me.

Disliked: Nothing.


See all Tokyo hostels
See all Tokyo hotels