We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Nikko, Japan

94.7%
33 reviews Book Now 
1

SPACE riverhouse

Hostel
Minami Okorogawa 2254, Nikko, Japan 321-1353

32 out of 33 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend SPACE riverhouse

Atmosphere - 98% Staff - 99% Facilities - 91% Safety - 95%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 96%
Adam Cox
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Adam would recommend this property 21 June 2015

This place alone makes staying in the Nikko area worthwhile and i'm so glad I decided to stay rather than do a day-trip here. Perched on the river (which is great for a swim), the location is peaceful and picturesque. Scout drives you back and forth between the station through the mountains and makes a delicious breakfast on top of that. He is also hugely knowledgeable about the area and can reccomend hiking, hot springs and more; Nikko is beautiful and far more than just the world heritage site! The property and setting is awesome and Scout does a great job of creating a social and relaxed atmosphere. One of the best places I have ever stayed and i can't reccomend it highly enough.

Edel Hurley
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Edel would recommend this property 16 June 2015

Nikko is the perfect place to come to as a side trip from Tokyo but it's only really worth it if you take a few days and stay in SPACE riverhouse! Scout really goes above and beyond for his guests - picking them up at the train station upon arrival and then sitting down and going through their travel plans with them- what they'd like to see and do in the area and how best to go about it. The hiking and hospitality was top notch! I have to mention the homemade pancake breakfasts - amazing!! And not letting me leave Japan without trying one-cup saké....maybe not quite as amazing...

91.5%
44 reviews Book Now 
2

Narusawa Lodge

Hostel
1462-22, Tokorono, Nikko, Japan 321-1421

43 out of 44 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Narusawa Lodge

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 99% Facilities - 95% Safety - 95%
Location - 74% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 92%
Stephen Cooley
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Stephen would recommend this property 13 November 2013

The lodge is set out of town which is about 10-15 minutes walk. Very quiet and tranquil. Go for the Japanese style room. Eugie was the perfect host; he is welcolming and very helpful without intruding. He tells you all the best places to visit which are off the tourist track so you see the real Japan. The trip to the onsen is a must - perfect end to a hard day sight seeing. I cannot recommend both Narusawa and Nikko enough. This was my third visit to Japan and it was the best. Nikko is awe-inspiring and less frantic than most places we have visited. The scenery leaves you breathless and each turn of the road brings another delight. We plan to go back to Japan next year and we will certainly arrange our trip to visit Eugie again. You will not be disappointed. Cheers, Steve.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 16 February 2013

Muji, the host gave great local insight, and made us feel at home. He made sure we understood everything about the lodge, and answeed questions we had with excellent English. The evening offers to drive to/from a nearby onsen was appreciated.

85.7%
33 reviews Book Now 
3

Nikko Park Lodge(Tobu Nikko Station)

Hostel
11-6 Matsubara-cho, Nikko, Japan 321-1406

27 out of 33 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Nikko Park Lodge(Tobu Nikko Station)

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 84% Facilities - 80% Safety - 87%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 87%
Alicja Lotysz
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Alicja would recommend this property 16 July 2015

Very nice dormitory, it is a pity that only mix. With pleasure back again. The hostel is vis a vis the Tobu train station. Their directions for 1 minute destination can makes one only confused.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 13 May 2013

It was perfect. All is clean, the location is just in front of the train and next to the bus stop. I do not what to say, because it's the archetype og the very good guesthouse

83.8%
166 reviews Book Now 
4

Nikko Park Lodge

Hostel
2828-5 Tokorono, Nikko, Japan 321-1421

158 out of 166 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Nikko Park Lodge

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 82% Facilities - 82% Safety - 92%
Location - 72% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 82%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 26 February 2014

Very friendly owner. All the staff were great and really helpful, I thoroughly recommend this hostel!!

Graham Moore
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Shopping
71.4%
Graham would recommend this property 16 December 2013

If you like the idea of a cozy wooden lodge, this is the place for you. The owner is very friendly and very helpful.

72.5%
11 reviews Book Now 
5

Nikko Suginamiki Youth Hostel

Hostel
Kiwadashima 2112-7, Nikko-city, Tochigi, Nikko, Japan 321-2345

8 out of 11 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Nikko Suginamiki Youth Hostel

Atmosphere - 74% Staff - 89% Facilities - 67% Safety - 80%
Location - 54% Cleanliness - 74% Value - 67%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 15 August 2013

it was a family run affair and i was able to`immerse` myself in local culture, including watching a kendo class, run on the premises

Customer review
71.4%
Customer would recommend this property 28 January 2010

The staff here are so nice! Unfortunately my Japanese is pretty limited and that made it a little more difficult to meet people during my stay. While the hostel is great, if you are visiting Nikko keep in mind that it is a couple stops away by train as well as a 20 minute walk from the station. It would probably be fine in the summer but less than ideal in the winter.

Nikko

7 Hostels from 27.11 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Nikko hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Nikko. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.