We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nagoya hostels

Reviews of Ryokan Kyoya

Guesthouse | 2-11-4 Habasita, Nishi-ku, Nagoya-city Nagoya, Japan 451-0041

96.0% Overall Rating

71 out of 71 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/07/2014)

"The garden and bathroom! I loved the fact that I had to walk through the garden to get to the bath! Even if it was raining during a thunderstorm! The gentleman running the property was extraordinarily friendly and very…"

Read all Ryokan Kyoya reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nagoya?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.0%

Overall Rating

71 out of 71 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ryokan Kyoya'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
97.6%
Cleanliness
99.2%
Staff
99.2%
Value
97.6%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 63 of 71 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The garden and bathroom! I loved the fact that I had to walk through the garden to get to the bath! Even if it was raining during a thunderstorm! The gentleman running the property was extraordinarily friendly and very helpful. It is also located very close to Nagoya castle.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah He

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was really really helpful and the hotel itself is just amazing!! You have to see it yourself! He (owner) has really put a lot of effort into it to make nice! The bed was also very comfortable!

Disliked: I wasn't aware about the tax refund until a friend told me about it, at which point it was too late.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Character.

Disliked: Could be a little closer to attractions.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jay Idle

Alone

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014 Jay would recommend this property

Liked: The property was beautiful. The staff went above and beyond what I had expected and were very helpful with directions or assisting me with any questions that I had.

Disliked: Jay left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was so so good when we stayed here.

Disliked: The place is a bit far.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful setting, very nice staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The environment is nice, bath is nice. Free drinks and microwave oven. Awesome.

Disliked: There's problems with the hot water supply in the room, it's hard to adjust the temperature, it keeps turning hot and cold nonstop. The dormitory is unisex as well so you need to get used to 'naked' westerners walking around the room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Graham Moore

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 December 2013 Graham would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is a Ryokan style hostel, with sliding doors, a spa, a nice garden and pyjamas provided. The owner is very polite, the hostel is very clean (sheets are changed daily) and it has a very serene atmosphere. Also, I've been in Japan for 3 weeks and so far this is the only hostel with lockers that actually fit rucksacks.

Disliked: If you're looking for beds, the dorms don't have them, only floor mattresses. Very quiet when I was there.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mei Ling Liu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2013 Mei Ling would recommend this property

Liked: The owner of the ryokan is friendly. They offer everything I need, such as the useful map and free green tea. They have a very beautiful garden. If you really want to enjoy Japanese atmosphere and culture with little money, I think this is the best option.

Disliked: None!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Travis Bittle

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Travis would recommend this property

Liked: It was amazing! Hiroshi Sato (Hiro) is a wonderful owner. Energetic and kind to the fullest. You can tell he is proud of Kyoya Ryokan and he should be! We had been to a Ryokan in Kyoto that was warm and cozy which was nice but this place was a whole different world. It was more of a Ryokan Spa! Everything was sparkling new and beautiful. The traditional style bath offered an onsen as well as 3 showers. The facility is laid out wonderfully and offers convenient washer/dryer as well. Our room was a 4 person mat room, but had plenty of space for everyone! I wish we were in Nagoya more than one night just so I could stay here again.

Disliked: The only negative I could come up with is that it's location is slightly distant from major attractions or restaurants if you are on foot. If taking bus or taxi, then it's not even noticeable. Don't let that detour anyone from staying here.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annette Wischnewski

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2013 Annette would recommend this property

Liked: It was an relaxing place!

Disliked: Annette left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best accommodation on our 2 week in Japan. Beautiful garden, delicious Japanese breakfast. Very friendly, a real delight .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

09 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoyed the place as a whole. The authenticity of the Ryokan really made the stay memorable

Disliked: The location wasn't super close to the bigger spots of Nagoya

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Liang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Honestly this place was amazing. I felt bad for the owner since he was so incredibly nice that not more people were there. I guess Nagoya is not a huge tourist spot in Japan but my stay here made it worth it. I would suggest just relaxing here for a whole day. The facilities are beautiful and has a nice garden and public spa. I only stayed for one night but wish I would have stayed longer. There is free wifi, drinks, computers, ipad, tv, pretty much everything you could need. Your room also comes with a bathrobe! This place was by far the nicest place I stayed at in Japan and was incredibly cheap! If you are in Nagoya, you must stay here.

Disliked: Nothing! Thank you so much for everything Hiroshi! I wish you luck in your future business and hope you get more visitors to your beautiful place!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JITING HE

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2012 JITING would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best place I've ever stayed during the whole trip of Japan! The room is spacious, cozy, and really Japenese style, they even provide you Japenese bathrobe! so you can waer them and enjoy the free hotspring there! And the garden is cute,and it's pretty quite at night time. there is a camera on the roof to take picture for you. The staff is really nice and helpful, free apple computer, free tea and coffee . for anyone who hold JR PASS, I recommand them to stay at this hotel and travel around the other city nearby like kyoto.

Disliked: seriously nothing. Maybe not a cool place for party animals.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place in Nagoya with good value for the money.

Disliked: Unfortunately there is no kitchen available.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

XIPEI ZHAO

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2012 XIPEI would recommend this property

Liked: everything is better than your expectation !Very nice host.comfprtable room with apple computer in it , several kinds of free drinks ,amazing personal Japanese Garden , free printing service ,free internet via mac computer and Ipad provided by the host.Perfect!

Disliked: Nothing at all!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best value for money hostel i've stayed at, it's more like a hotel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YUANFENG WANG

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2012 YUANFENG would recommend this property

Liked: really traditional japanese style, sweet!

Disliked: YUANFENG left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philip Johnson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 May 2012 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: This place was great and the owner was extremely friendly and helpful. I'm not sure why there were so few guests; I had the whole tatami dorm room to myself the entire time. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Philip left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, really nice and helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its a Ryokan for a Hostel price. Zen Garden, Sento and tatami floor door room with private bathroom also a big bonus. WIFI great too.

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wanyu Shih

Alone

Business / conference

23 March 2012 Wanyu would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful garden and great Japanese sense of tatami. Really love it.

Disliked: Wanyu left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Gonzalvo Marro

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2012 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is so good, the room is fully equiped and the bath is really good. 10 points!

Disliked: Sara left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allan Crocci de Souza

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 December 2011 Allan would recommend this property

Liked: traditional atmosphere

Disliked: location


See all Nagoya hostels