We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nagano hostels

Reviews of 1166 Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | 1048, nishimachi, Nagano Nagano, Japan 380-0842

95.4% Overall Rating

8 out of 8 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/05/2014)

Zachary Ferguson thinks…

"It had a lot of character. Very clean and organised. The building was beautiful and the location was excellent for getting to the local Zenkoji Temple. The bed was extremely comfortable, after…"

Read all 1166 Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nagano?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nagano

KURA Guesthouse
29.24 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Shimaya Ryokan
45.68 USD

Hotel 4 star 96.3% 118 reviews
Ryokan Seifuso
39.47 USD

Guesthouse 94.7% 35 reviews
Kaze no Yasuyado
28.78 USD

Hostel 86.4% 48 reviews
Takahan Ryokan
116.49 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Pension Tengallonhat
86.80 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.4%

Overall Rating

8 out of 8 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '1166 Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
95.0%
Location
95.0%
Facilities
92.5%
Cleanliness
100.0%
Staff
100.0%
Value
90.0%
Safety
95.0%
Refine your results Showing 8 of 8 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zachary Ferguson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 May 2014 Zachary would recommend this property

Liked: It had a lot of character. Very clean and organised. The building was beautiful and the location was excellent for getting to the local Zenkoji Temple. The bed was extremely comfortable, after travelling for ages and spending the first three nights in an awful hostel in Shinjuku, I was glad of a comfortable bed! The hosts/staff were fantastic, really friendly and always keen to give you tips on where to go. We had an English night as well and some local people came around to talk in English, really great atmosphere and great if you are travelling alone and need a bit of company. I couldn't recommend this hostel enough! 10/10 from me! :)

Disliked: If I can pick one negative it would be that the pillows are a little thin, but considering what an amazing sleep I had this is a very small negative.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alicja Ewa Wierzbowska

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2013 Alicja Ewa would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, very nice staff, comfy, clean and good value for money. Will definitely stay there if I am back in Nagano. Warmly recommanded.

Disliked: Alicja Ewa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Coult

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2012 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: 1166 is bar none the best hostel that I have stayed at in Japan. Orie-San, the owner, is incredibly kind and helpful, and made my stay in Nagano the highlight of my trip to Japan. During my stay at 1166 I was fortunate enough to try many (10-12) different types of sake ( with the informative Rei-San as a guide) meet some of the local residents, sample the best of the local dishes ( I can recommend the horse sashimi) and visit some of the many local attractions. I cannot recommend this hostel highly enough! Arigatou-gosaimashita Orie-San to Rei-San!

Disliked: Nothing at all.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owner. Very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jessalyn Watt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2012 Jessalyn would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were helpful

Disliked: Private room was really small with little window and pricey

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Juuso Lehti

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2012 Juuso would recommend this property

Liked: nice and cosy hostel with very friendly and helpful staff. i recommend.

Disliked: Juuso left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ester Lim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 March 2012 Ester would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very young, friendly and fun. The place is very cozy, and the staff was willing to help us with anything we needed. The rooms were good, the mattresses were soft. The showers were shared and it's a bit cold to walk there and back in winter, but no great problem about that.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely property. Orie (the owner and manager) is just a lovely lady who is so helpful and has a charming hostel. I highly recommend 1166.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike, the hostel is lovely.


See all Nagano hostels