HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Nagano hostels

Reviews of Kaze no Yasuyado

Hostel | 4-7-40, Tsukama, Matsumoto-city, Nagano, Japan 390-0821

86.4% Overall Rating

46 out of 48 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/05/2012)

Christian Bjerknes thinks…

"This is a really nice guesthouse located in a residential area, near to a river, about 20-30 minutes walking from downtown Matsumoto and JR station. It has a really nice character and comfortable…"

Read all Kaze no Yasuyado reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Payment is to be in cash on arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nagano?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Nagano

Ryokan Seifuso
41.60 USD

Guesthouse 94.5% 34 reviews
Pension Tengallonhat
91.49 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
1166 Backpackers Hostel
24.08 USD

Hostel 95.4% 8 reviews
KURA Guesthouse
30.82 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Shimaya Ryokan
48.15 USD

Hotel 4 star 96.3% 118 reviews
Takahan Ryokan
122.79 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.4%

Overall Rating

46 out of 48 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kaze no Yasuyado'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
69.6%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
94.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 41 of 42 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Christian Bjerknes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2012 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really nice guesthouse located in a residential area, near to a river, about 20-30 minutes walking from downtown Matsumoto and JR station. It has a really nice character and comfortable beds with good bathroom facilities. The staff is very friendly and offered me a glass of sake and some snacks during a chat. They also gave me a ride to the train station the day I left

Disliked: The house is in a nice location, but not very central. Difficult to find after nightfall. Accept the offer for a pick up at the station and arrange this by e-mail before you arrive. I was not able to contact them for directions on the phone number provided by Hostelbookers. This is the most expensive guesthouse I’ve stayed at in Japan, but including pick-up/drop-off it’s still pretty good.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free bikes, friendly staff, quiet location but near from everywhere by bike

Disliked: Difficult to find the first time you arrive, the directions given in the site are not very clear.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are so lovely, made me feel at home, gave me a lift to the bus station on the day I left. I wish all hostels were like this.

Disliked: It was hard to find on the first night, the map wasn't very good. Need to make the map more detailed for people like me who get lost easily.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

abhinav dhar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2010 abhinav would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff....feels more like home than hostel

Disliked: abhinav left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awesome place!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

04 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small house, family atmosphere, very helpful staff (gave us a ride to bus station when we were leaving)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A bit far from the city centre by foot but the atmosphere and the friendliness of the owner was worth every meter.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Megan Smith

30 September 2009

Liked: Did not like it here at all. Changed my plans and left after one night. Not well located at all, free bikes help ease that issue though. Before you come BE SURE to get better directions, as they are horribly ambiguous and will leave you wondering Matsumoto, where very few people speak English. Even the owners speak very little to no English, which was prohibitive for someone running a guesthouse. Would not recommend this to anyone.

Disliked: Megan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Dealtry

09 July 2009 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Great host, really friendly and homely place to stay!

Disliked: Hannah left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Maarit Hara

26 April 2009 Maarit would recommend this property

Liked: Very cosy small hostel. I enjoyed my stay and the staff was very friendly, dropped me off at the station when I left. Also you can rent a bike for free. (The buss fare has gone up to 190 yen from station to hostel).

Disliked: Maarit left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Doron Schreeuwer

19 April 2009 Doron would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the owners. the hostel is 30 minutes from JR in lovely location. But the owners will drop you in the station!!! How cool is that?Next time i am in japan i go there for several days and not 2 nights.

Disliked: Doron left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daniel Francis

14 April 2009 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very friendly and helpful, offers free bike rental and will drop you of at the train station, which is about a 30 minute walk away.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natasha Marcus-Taylor

03 February 2009 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really comfortable and warm hostel. Free internet, use of kitchen and bikes was great! Also washing machine was a great help. Thanks will definately stay again.

Disliked: Natasha left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julian Meilinger

02 January 2009 Julian would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed talking to the owners and how they always try to help the guests. The "lobby" was really comfortable and the backpackers are fun people.

Disliked: Julian left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 December 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful hosts, free bike usage

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

03 December 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff picked me up.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruth Bradshaw

01 December 2008 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was incredibly friendly and even drove me to the station and gave me an apple for the trip! Plus, so many people have written nice notes and put them on the wall in the lounge, which made me feel even better about being there.

Disliked: Ruth left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Teresa Scott

25 November 2008 Teresa would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed and friendly atmosphere. freedom to use kitchen etc. Comfortable bed and warm, clean room. The lady was very helpful and friendly and her husband offered lifts into town. Quite an easy walk down into the centre.

Disliked: Teresa left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SUBANAKE POTHANANT

26 October 2008 SUBANAKE would recommend this property

Liked: Mr. Wada hiromi and his wife are very kindness and helpful very much. They offered a free byte for my family and kindly drive us to the station after check out.

Disliked: SUBANAKE left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 October 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: host hospitality

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julian Meilinger

26 August 2008 Julian would recommend this property

Liked: I like that the hostel is run by a family. The mother took me to the station after my stay and I could use the bikes for free.

Disliked: Julian left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 August 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atnisphere and staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Hollinshead

26 August 2008 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing and incredibly friendly, the beds were comfortable, the bathrooms were nice and the city (Matsumoto) was lovely.

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

laura robin benedetti

19 August 2008 laura robin would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel is wondeful!!! It:s a bit out of the way, but they more than make up for it by offering free bikes to use and driving you to the station.

Disliked: laura robin left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Carter

07 August 2008 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: the free bikes were a great bonus!

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.


See all Nagano hostels