HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Nagano Yudanaka Shimaya Nagano Snow Monkey Park Hostel

3075, Hirao, Yamanouchi-machi, Nagano Snow Monkey Park, Japan

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 96%

Location 95%

Safety 100%

Staff 100%

Value 95%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Parking
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 12.65USD

Important Information

Payment is to be in cash on arrival.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Nagano Snow Monkey Park?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 96%

Location 95%

Safety 100%

Staff 100%

Value 95%

Showing 1-4 of 4 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The rooms were traditional Ryokan. Breakfast was great and the free transfer and return to the monkeys also great.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was absolutely brilliant the staff couldn't help you enough. Giving you options to do if you wanted, picking us up and dropping us off.

Disliked: Very little to dislike to be honest. All tidy, helpful and all round nice place to stay.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: The host was fantastic. Very helpful with lots of good suggestions. Breakfast was plentiful and yummy. Host was very willing to drive us to various places. Very authentic experience! Hot tubs were quite hot and wonderful.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We enjoyed having a warm onsen bath before being treated to a generous and delicious traditional Japanese meal for dinner. Our rooms were also very comfortable, with cosy futon beds and our own tea table. Mr Yumoto and his wife were very kind and helpful hosts who surprised and greatly impressed us with the extent of their thoughtfulness and hospitality- for example, knowing that the Snow Monkey Park was a fair distance away, Mr Yumoto personally drove us there, and later came to pick us up.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very convinient for seeing the snow monkeys, not much else in the town. Mr yumoto is the friendliest and most helpful owner though!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The couple that own the ryokan are so friendly, helpful and enthusiastic. There is also an onsen which is great. It's so close to Yudanaka train station and the owners drove us to the snow monkey park.

Disliked: carrying my luggage up/down stairs

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's a very nice, traditional ryokan. The rooms are spacious and clean. The owner is very helpfull and after arriving took us directly to an onsen with a nice view over the valley and afterwards to a nice isakaya. Also they provide free transportation to the monkeypark.

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Beautifully set out rooms that were very clean and had all we needed plus more. There was one onsen to share for the whole property, but as we were the only customers that night we were able to have private usage of it. I think private reservation times are also available during busier periods of the year. The family are absolutely lovely and went out of their way to make our stay perfect. We were explained all the things to do in Yudanaka and all the local restaurants available. We were also driven around to attractions, such as the snow monkeys (an absolute must do while in Nagano/Yudanaka!). We had the Japanese style breakfast and it was also fantastic. Definitely would return to Shimaya ryokan if I was ever to visit Nagano again.

Disliked: Nil

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability