HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Kyoto, Japan

99.3%
4 reviews Book Now 
1

Khaosan Kyoto Theater

Hostel
346, Iseyacho, Rokkaku-Sagaru, Gokomachi-dori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan 604-8066

4 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Khaosan Kyoto Theater

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%
Wim Vandenbussche
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Wim would recommend this property 17 April 2014

Perfectly located: right next to the liveliest district with lots of good shops and restaurants. Modern, clean. Friendly staff, great music in the reception.

christian hensen
Alone
Business / conference, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation/spa
100.0%
christian would recommend this property 12 December 2013

i have staid at "khaosan kyoto" before and really like their new branch which just opened some days ago. compared with their other branch, which is also a great place to stay, "khaosan theater" has a lot of extras and tries to do some things a little bit different. i booked one of their special "kimono beds", a really cozy invention which looks like a cocoon made of out wood and kimono fabric and even comes with a shoji sliding door, a really nice idea. all facilities you might need are available as described on their website and the location is very convenient as well - just a walk from kawaramachi station. i would book this place again and can only recommend to check it out if you are coming to kyoto! くりす

96.2%
22 reviews Book Now 
2

Piece Hostel Kyoto

Hostel
21/1, Higashikujo/higashisann/, cho, minami/ku, Kyoto, Japan 601/8004

22 out of 22 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Piece Hostel Kyoto

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 97% Facilities - 97% Safety - 98%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 98% Value - 95%
Gonzalo Sanchez Agliozzo
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
97.1%
Gonzalo would recommend this property 26 February 2014

This hostel is the best in Kyoto. It is close to the train station, main area (Gion) with temples, all transportation and it has free breakfast! We ate a good breakfast every day and were not hungry until dinner time! We also rented bikes both days for only $5 and we went everywhere. The only downside is that the rooms are a bit pricey for just a basic bed and sink, BUT it is very clean and the beds/showers are heaven! I recommend Piece Hostel without a doubt. Look at the map carefully before coming to Kyoto so you don't miss a turn finding the hostel.

Max Brawer
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Max would recommend this property 18 January 2014

"Why don't you marry it?" Said my brother, sick of hearing me talk about the Piece Hostel. This is the nicest Hostel i have had the pleasure of staying in. It is brand new and has fantastic amenities and interior design. The staff are amazing, friendly, bilingual, and caring. Piece leaves me wondering why anyone would possibly spend what they do on hotels with such an inexpensive room nearby.

94.4%
286 reviews Book Now 
3

Backpackers Hostel K's House Kyoto

Hostel
418 Nayacho, Shichijo-agaru, Dotemachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan 600-8142

282 out of 286 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Backpackers Hostel K's House Kyoto

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 96% Facilities - 96% Safety - 97%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 96%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 12 September 2014

Great location! It can be accessed by 2 major trains by walking, one is JR KYOTO station and another one is Keihan line. Also there is a big kitchen with two stoves and 3 fridge, making backpackers stay convenience.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 25 July 2014

Great modern common space/kitchen area. Rooms clean with a fresh feel. Some evening sessions such as calligraphy and origami for guests to try for free! About a 10-15 minute walk to Kyoto station where you can easily access trains and buses. Never had to wait for a shower or toilet as there are many on each floor.

94.3%
297 reviews Book Now 
4

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House

Hostel
568, Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru,, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku,, Kyoto, Japan 600-8032

289 out of 297 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Khaosan Kyoto Guest House

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 93% Facilities - 93% Safety - 94%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 95%
Joonas Niskala
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Joonas would recommend this property 14 September 2014

Very friendly staff, awesome location, very good and clean areas. Awesome hostel!

Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 08 September 2014

Staff were super friendly and always willing to go the extra mile. Hostel very neat, great location A+ Highly recommend

93.5%
31 reviews Book Now 
5

Guest Inn Chita

Guesthouse
343 Takatsuki-cho, Kyoto, Japan 600-8174

30 out of 31 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Guest Inn Chita

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 98% Facilities - 87% Safety - 92%
Location - 97% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 93%
Evgeny Maslov
With my spouse / partner
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Evgeny would recommend this property 03 June 2014

Close to Kyoto station (7 minutes walk). Clean and cosy. Staff is very friendly. Though all key are kept openly to everybody the hotel seems very safe. Everybody trusts each other. Has kitchen. Hotel offers umbrellas rent for free.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 06 May 2014

Marvellous little Guest House with a very friendly and kind Host. Absolut recommendation!

92.4%
20 reviews Book Now 
6

Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto

Guesthouse
6-503,Gjyohashi-higashi, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto, Japan N/A

19 out of 20 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 95% Facilities - 86% Safety - 92%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 93%
Lee Peng Ong
With friends / other travellers
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Lee Peng would recommend this property 28 May 2014

Very cosy and private even though it is a backpackers dorm. The guests are very friendly and nice to talk to and it's a great chance to know travelers from all over the world!

Toshiya Isobe
With a large group / tour
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Toshiya would recommend this property 13 May 2014

I liked owner's atmosphere. And also location was good for us 'cause we wanted to visit Kiyomizudera temple, so easy to go!

91.1%
10 reviews Book Now 
7

Nagomi Ryokan Yuu

Guesthouse
94 Kamiwakamiya-cho, Wakamiya-dori Rokujo, Nishi-iru, Kyoto, Japan 600-8313

10 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Nagomi Ryokan Yuu

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 100% Facilities - 94% Safety - 88%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 86%
Melanie Danson
With my spouse / partner
Relaxation/spa, Romantic getaway, Shopping
100.0%
Melanie would recommend this property 29 October 2012

Was very impressed with this property. It is budget for Kyoto, with a semi traditional feel. It is a small room, futon on mats. But includes everything you could need. With knowledgable, English speaking staff. It was more than we were expecting for budget accommodation. It's simple, safe, in good walking distance from Kyoto station. Would stay there again. Thank you.

JOOHEE JOEN
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
JOOHEE would recommend this property 23 August 2011

All staffs were so kind and answered to my question. Also, its facilities and atmosphere were so good. Especially, it was a good experience to stay at Japanese traditional house.

87.3%
16 reviews Book Now 
8

Guest House Nagomi Kyoto

Guesthouse
108-6, Wakamiyayokocho, Kamigyou-ku, Kyoto, Japan 602-0084

14 out of 16 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Guest House Nagomi Kyoto

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 96% Facilities - 85% Safety - 83%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 85%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 30 December 2012

Probably the best atmosphere of any youth hostel I've ever stayed in. We absolutely loved it!

Jeny Sito Soo
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Jeny would recommend this property 10 July 2012

This tiny old Japanese house, 80 years, managed to squeeze in 4 bedrooms, 3 tatami rooms + 1 room with a bunk bed on the upper floor. Toilet and shower facilities, living area, kitchen and owners' tatami bedroom downstairs. It's a marvel how Hide can do this, so clean and so compact. Very nice family.

85.3%
206 reviews Book Now 
9

bAKpAK Gion Hostel

Hostel
2 - 244 Miyagawa Suji, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto, Japan 605-0801

189 out of 206 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend bAKpAK Gion Hostel

Atmosphere - 79% Staff - 81% Facilities - 80% Safety - 85%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 92%
Ruth Binns
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Ruth would recommend this property 15 October 2014

Really nice and comfy common room (they put a new rug and furniture in while I was staying too! :D), lots of dvds if you wanted to stay in, free tea and coffee, big sink and fridge. The 8 bed dorm was great. Spacious. Plenty of sockets (extension leads for charging electricals) and a balcony including a clotheshorse to dry clothes! Also - a roof to hang out on :) Right on top of the metro stop and Gion district and the river! (I walked from the main station in about 40mins easily)

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 21 July 2014

the atmospher of this hotel make me feels like i'm staying on my own house, really friendly and feels like home

82.1%
8 reviews Book Now 
10

Ikoi-no-ie

Hostel
885 Ushitora-cho, Rokujo-dori, Shinmachi Higashi-iru, Kyoto, Japan 600-8304

6 out of 8 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Ikoi-no-ie

Atmosphere - 82% Staff - 85% Facilities - 85% Safety - 85%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 75% Value - 70%
malcolm mcintyre
With my spouse / partner
Family Holiday, Romantic getaway
91.4%
malcolm would recommend this property 20 July 2010

The staff spoke English brilliantly and were extremely helpful. the annex accommodation was great as you had your own personal kitchen if you wished to cook

Customer review
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 14 March 2010

The location is close to Kyoto station and the room is very clean and comfortable even though this ryokan is a bit expensive.

Kyoto

23 Hostels from 18.26 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Kyoto hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Kyoto. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.