HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Kyoto, Japan

96.1%
21 reviews Book Now 
1

Piece Hostel Kyoto

Hostel
21/1, Higashikujo/higashisann/, cho, minami/ku, Kyoto, Japan 601/8004

21 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Piece Hostel Kyoto

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 97% Facilities - 97% Safety - 98%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 98% Value - 95%
Gonzalo Sanchez Agliozzo
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
97.1%
Gonzalo would recommend this property 26 February 2014

This hostel is the best in Kyoto. It is close to the train station, main area (Gion) with temples, all transportation and it has free breakfast! We ate a good breakfast every day and were not hungry until dinner time! We also rented bikes both days for only $5 and we went everywhere. The only downside is that the rooms are a bit pricey for just a basic bed and sink, BUT it is very clean and the beds/showers are heaven! I recommend Piece Hostel without a doubt. Look at the map carefully before coming to Kyoto so you don't miss a turn finding the hostel.

Max Brawer
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Max would recommend this property 18 January 2014

"Why don't you marry it?" Said my brother, sick of hearing me talk about the Piece Hostel. This is the nicest Hostel i have had the pleasure of staying in. It is brand new and has fantastic amenities and interior design. The staff are amazing, friendly, bilingual, and caring. Piece leaves me wondering why anyone would possibly spend what they do on hotels with such an inexpensive room nearby.

93.9%
274 reviews Book Now 
2

Backpackers Hostel K's House Kyoto

Hostel
418 Nayacho, Shichijo-agaru, Dotemachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan 600-8142

270 out of 274 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Backpackers Hostel K's House Kyoto

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 96% Facilities - 95% Safety - 96%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 93%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 28 March 2014

Very new and clean, friendly staff, big lounge, excellent cleaning facilities, big kitchen, nice roof

Daniel Hunt
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping
100.0%
Daniel would recommend this property 29 January 2014

The staff were incredibly helpful. Two friends asked if it was possible to ship their snowboard bags to Tokyo. The staff contacted the shipping company, filled in the forms for them, paid, and sent the bags off. All that was left was for my friends to pay them - truly exemplary service. Also of note: -best showers I've seen at any hostel -large lockers under each bed -cheap bike hire -large common room area

93.9%
17 reviews Book Now 
3

Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto

Guesthouse
6-503,Gjyohashi-higashi, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto, Japan N/A

17 out of 17 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 96% Facilities - 88% Safety - 94%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 96%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 28 March 2014

The room was great and the beds with their little curtains across the bunks were really private and lovely. It was so clean and a great place to stay.

Catherine C
Alone
Work / volunteering
100.0%
Catherine would recommend this property 28 February 2014

For a hostel in Kyoto, it's cheap but it's really clean. (I've stayed in Khaosan before, and it was more expensive and the mattress was scary to sleep on.) The owners work at the hostel themselves and so if there are any problems they get dealt with straight away. They even took some of us who were staying there out for a drink with their friends! I highly recommend this place!

93.8%
287 reviews Book Now 
4

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House

Hostel
568, Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru,, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku,, Kyoto, Japan 600-8032

280 out of 287 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Khaosan Kyoto Guest House

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 95% Facilities - 92% Safety - 93%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 92%
edward wilson
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
edward would recommend this property 06 March 2014

Extremely tidy and clean. loads of showers/toilets so no waiting. Good air con/heaters. Huge common area to relax in and meet people. Well equipped kitchen and lots of shops for buying cheap ingredients nearby. Very close to the Hankyu railway kyoto stop. Great hostel for backpackers, really good setup.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 03 March 2014

Excellent location, helpful staff with loads of information about buses and transport around the city.

91.1%
10 reviews Book Now 
5

Nagomi Ryokan Yuu

Guesthouse
94 Kamiwakamiya-cho, Wakamiya-dori Rokujo, Nishi-iru, Kyoto, Japan 600-8313

10 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Nagomi Ryokan Yuu

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 100% Facilities - 94% Safety - 88%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 86%
Melanie Danson
With my spouse / partner
Relaxation/spa, Romantic getaway, Shopping
100.0%
Melanie would recommend this property 29 October 2012

Was very impressed with this property. It is budget for Kyoto, with a semi traditional feel. It is a small room, futon on mats. But includes everything you could need. With knowledgable, English speaking staff. It was more than we were expecting for budget accommodation. It's simple, safe, in good walking distance from Kyoto station. Would stay there again. Thank you.

JOOHEE JOEN
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
JOOHEE would recommend this property 23 August 2011

All staffs were so kind and answered to my question. Also, its facilities and atmosphere were so good. Especially, it was a good experience to stay at Japanese traditional house.

91.1%
27 reviews Book Now 
6

Guest Inn Chita

Guesthouse
343 Takatsuki-cho, Kyoto, Japan 600-8174

26 out of 27 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Guest Inn Chita

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 98% Facilities - 83% Safety - 89%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 90%
Simon Colville
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Simon would recommend this property 14 February 2014

Close to the train station, friendy staff, 'Japanese Style' beds were comfy and warm.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 25 January 2014

Great location close to Kyoto station and several places to enjoy breakfast just next to the inn. The owner was very friendly, despite that she hadn't received any information from Hostelbookers about our booking, she gave us a room without any problem, we are impressed! She wasn't in the day we left but she left us a cute letter and gifts :)

91.1%
17 reviews Book Now 
7

Guest house Hennka Kyoto

Guesthouse
Souzancho 1-12, Imagumano, Higashiyama, Kyoto, Japan 605-0955

17 out of 17 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Guest house Hennka Kyoto

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 98% Facilities - 87% Safety - 96%
Location - 75% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 95%
Joel Warren
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Joel would recommend this property 06 January 2014

Wonderful view, fantastic owners, interesting walk up to the hostel, free bikes, charming guesthouse.

Customer review
Alone
City break
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 19 November 2013

The location of the guesthouse is superb, a little walk from the bus stop and very close to the mountains, away from the madding crowds. The views are lovely from the open terrace. The couple who own the guesthouse are the most genuinely friendly and helpful I have met, and they set a lovely breakfast table where you can meet the other guests. There are some great walks and temples, shrines, and bamboo groves nearby. All in all, a really lovely place.

87.3%
16 reviews Book Now 
8

Guest House Nagomi Kyoto

Guesthouse
108-6, Wakamiyayokocho, Kamigyou-ku, Kyoto, Japan 602-0084

14 out of 16 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Guest House Nagomi Kyoto

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 96% Facilities - 85% Safety - 83%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 85%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 30 December 2012

Probably the best atmosphere of any youth hostel I've ever stayed in. We absolutely loved it!

Jeny Sito Soo
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
77.1%
Jeny would recommend this property 10 July 2012

This tiny old Japanese house, 80 years, managed to squeeze in 4 bedrooms, 3 tatami rooms + 1 room with a bunk bed on the upper floor. Toilet and shower facilities, living area, kitchen and owners' tatami bedroom downstairs. It's a marvel how Hide can do this, so clean and so compact. Very nice family.

86.1%
202 reviews Book Now 
9

bAKpAK Gion Hostel

Hostel
2 - 244 Miyagawa Suji, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto, Japan 605-0801

185 out of 202 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend bAKpAK Gion Hostel

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 83% Facilities - 81% Safety - 86%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 92%
Ludwin Lam
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Ludwin would recommend this property 08 April 2014

Spacious room and good facilities. Convenient location, you can easily find the way to everywhere in Kyoto.

Wei Lun Koh
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Wei Lun would recommend this property 05 April 2014

Both dorms and common rooms are big and allow an conducive enviroment to make new friends. Location is super. There is 2 train/subway stations for 2 different line nearby. And it is very near to one of the busiest part of the city, Kawaramachi. But if you have an JR Pass and want to use it, you need to travel 15 minutes by bus to Kyoto train station, which will not be covered by the JR Pass. Still, it is convenient enough.

85.9%
255 reviews Book Now 
10

Kyoto Hostel Kanouya

Hostel
493-3Aizenjicho SenbonHisgashi, Kamichojamachi-st Kamigyo-ku, Kamigyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan .

235 out of 255 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Kyoto Hostel Kanouya

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 94% Facilities - 84% Safety - 92%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 78% Value - 89%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 14 April 2014

The manager Sayoko was wonderful - so helpful and friendly, gave me a map of the area which was full of hidden gems, from a honey shop to traditional tea shops, museums, kimono stores, hot springs. I had a really interesting time, in a very historic part of Kyoto.

HONG YIJING
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
HONG would recommend this property 03 January 2014

The manager is very very nice! He did whatever he could to help us havean enjoyable stay. When I checked out and left the hostel, the manager even gave me new gift! Which was so sweet and touching! Iwillnever forgot such a considerate host!

Kyoto

30 Hostels from 19.57 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Kyoto hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Kyoto. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.