We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Kyoto, Japan

99.0%
6 reviews Book Now 
1

Khaosan Kyoto Theater

Hostel
346, Iseyacho, Rokkaku-Sagaru, Gokomachi-dori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan 604-8066

6 out of 6 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Khaosan Kyoto Theater

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 28 February 2015

The staff were realy friendly and helpful and there were some thoughtful touches in the room (lockable draws, free shampoo, conditioner, hair bands,grips etc.)

Wim Vandenbussche
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Wim would recommend this property 17 April 2014

Perfectly located: right next to the liveliest district with lots of good shops and restaurants. Modern, clean. Friendly staff, great music in the reception.

94.4%
294 reviews Book Now 
2

Backpackers Hostel K's House Kyoto

Hostel
418 Nayacho, Shichijo-agaru, Dotemachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan 600-8142

289 out of 294 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Backpackers Hostel K's House Kyoto

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 96% Facilities - 96% Safety - 96%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 95%
Marsel Laykeb
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Marsel would recommend this property 28 May 2015

The hostel is very clean, with nice atmosphere and helpful staff. It is located only 15-20 minutes from the main station and it is easy to get to the sightseeing. It is also very quiet around with a huge lobby on the first floor. Very good breakfast can be ordered for a reasonable price.

Teh Ewe Beng
With my spouse / partner
Family Holiday
100.0%
Teh would recommend this property 12 April 2015

There are comfortable lounge for you to relax and meet your fellow travellers With free coffee or tea o relax with. Also kitchen is open 24 hrs.

93.9%
33 reviews Book Now 
3

Guest Inn Chita

Guesthouse
343 Takatsuki-cho, Kyoto, Japan 600-8174

32 out of 33 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Guest Inn Chita

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 98% Facilities - 88% Safety - 92%
Location - 99% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 94%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 05 February 2015

The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We arrived very late and they waited up for us. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The location is very convinient being very close to Kyoto central station.

Janlyn Seow
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
91.4%
Janlyn would recommend this property 30 November 2014

Love the hospitality of the owners, they interact well with us and offer us information. Room is kept clean.

93.3%
300 reviews Book Now 
4

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House

Hostel
568, Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru,, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo-ku,, Kyoto, Japan 600-8032

292 out of 300 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Khaosan Kyoto Guest House

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 92% Facilities - 93% Safety - 93%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 96%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 06 February 2015

Clean, well organized and cheap for the area. Beds were comfy and the hostel is in good walking distance to a lot of sights, as well as good food recommended by the staff. The common area/kitchen is large.

charlotte ahern
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
71.4%
charlotte would recommend this property 18 December 2014

It had a really nice living area, and the area in Kyoto it was in, was really quaint, and really easy to get to the main bar district! Plus the staff that actually worked there were helpful and adorable.

91.6%
22 reviews Book Now 
5

Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto

Guesthouse
6-503,Gjyohashi-higashi, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto, Japan N/A

21 out of 22 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 94% Facilities - 82% Safety - 92%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 91%
Lee Peng Ong
With friends / other travellers
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Lee Peng would recommend this property 28 May 2014

Very cosy and private even though it is a backpackers dorm. The guests are very friendly and nice to talk to and it's a great chance to know travelers from all over the world!

Toshiya Isobe
With a large group / tour
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Toshiya would recommend this property 13 May 2014

I liked owner's atmosphere. And also location was good for us 'cause we wanted to visit Kiyomizudera temple, so easy to go!

87.7%
17 reviews Book Now 
6

Guest House Nagomi Kyoto

Guesthouse
108-6, Wakamiyayokocho, Kamigyou-ku, Kyoto, Japan 602-0084

15 out of 17 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Guest House Nagomi Kyoto

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 96% Facilities - 85% Safety - 83%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 85%
Leah Bristow
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Leah would recommend this property 08 April 2015

It was wonderful! Staff so friendly everything clean and comfy beds and staff have some wonderful recommendations. The onsen that is down the road is brilliant and used to foreigners. Couldnt be more thrilled. Can't wait to return!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 30 December 2012

Probably the best atmosphere of any youth hostel I've ever stayed in. We absolutely loved it!

86.5%
209 reviews Book Now 
7

bAKpAK Gion Hostel

Hostel
2 - 244 Miyagawa Suji, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto, Japan 605-0801

192 out of 209 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend bAKpAK Gion Hostel

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 81% Facilities - 83% Safety - 88%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 92%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 27 May 2015

It has a hotel-like atmosphere which is nice. The kitchen is very well furnished and the living room area is well equipped for relaxing and meeting friends. There is a toilet on every floor which is great and super convenient.

Kirsten Schuh
Alone
City break, Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
Kirsten would recommend this property 08 February 2015

The rooms were bigger than expected (I mean it is almost European Standard and in general all apartments or hotel rooms are smaller than in Europe) and nicely furnished. My room was warm with nice room mates. I only stayed for one night and the hostel offered everything I needed. The location is perfect and I think in summer the roof top is very nice.

86.1%
515 reviews Book Now 
8

Peace House Sakura (Sakura House)

Guesthouse
188-1 Kadowaki-cho, Higashiiru, Gojo-agaru, Ymatooji-doori,, Higashiyama-ku,, Kyoto, Japan 605-0843

431 out of 515 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Peace House Sakura (Sakura House)

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 90% Facilities - 82% Safety - 90%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 79% Value - 90%
Gerd Pichler
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Gerd would recommend this property 06 May 2015

Location, very cool staff, everything actually! We even stayed longer than planned without problems. Perfect base in Kyoto and very good value!

zuraini kerya
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
60.0%
zuraini would recommend this property 06 May 2015

Near kiyumizudera gojo subway station but the water heater Was not working n freezing cold to everybody.

81.4%
4 reviews Book Now 
9

Gojo Guesthouse Annex

Guesthouse
11-26 Komatsu-Cho, 4 Higashiyama-Ku, Kyoto, Japan 605-0811

3 out of 4 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Gojo Guesthouse Annex

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 85%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 15 June 2012

The guesthouse is located in a nice old building. Think lots of dark wood, creaky stairs etc. The room it self is maybe a bit less atmospheric but still totally fine for me. By the way, some rooms are laid out in traditional Japanese style (tatami mats on floor and sleeping on futons) while others have a Western type of bed. What I liked best I that the place is very quiet and relaxing. Definitely not a party hostel, but a tranquil homey place very near many interesting sites in the South Eastern part of the beautiful city that is Kyoto. Staff is not always present, mostly there is one girl that comes over in the mornings and evenings. She was however very friendly and helpful, not imposing herself at all but happy to be of help if needed. Good value for money. Would defintitely like to stay there again!

Customer review
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 15 November 2009

Great small hostel, good location, good staff. Good base for Kyoto, Gion and other areas within walking distance.

80.1%
266 reviews Book Now 
10

Kyoto Hostel Kanouya

Hostel
493-3Aizenjicho SenbonHisgashi, Kamichojamachi-st Kamigyo-ku, Kamigyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan .

242 out of 266 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Kyoto Hostel Kanouya

Atmosphere - 77% Staff - 90% Facilities - 77% Safety - 88%
Location - 74% Cleanliness - 71% Value - 81%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 13 February 2015

I went to Kyoto in early February 2015 and stayed in Kyoto Hostel Kanouya for 5 nights. At first I have only booked three nights in Kanouya but it was so good that I decided to extend for another two nights. Kanouya is a very interesting hostel to experience the authentic Japanese traditional living culture. It is a small old traditional Japanese house with wooden floor, sliding doors and living room with tatami floor etc. Despite being an old house, the toilets are very clean and bed room is equipped with air conditioner. Also, the hostel owner - Sayoko has made a great effort in preparing really comfortable futon (Japanese traditional bedding consisting padded mattress and quilt) and electrical blanket! I had such good sleeps even during the cold winter in February. Nonetheless, there are some manners to keep while staying in the old traditional house such as walking softly as the wooden floors are delicate and keep volume low during late nights as the walls of traditional house are thin and not sound proof. These are all completely understandable and it is part of Japanese culture. For me, being able to experience and blend in the local culture is the essence of travel! Kanouya is located in quiet neighbourhood in an alley off the main street of Senbon-dori. It is very convenient as it is just 3-4 minutes walk to the nearest bus stop (city bus is one of the better ways to explore Kyoto as it covers substantially most of the sightseeing spots). Alternatively, bicycle is also a great way to tour Kyoto. For 3 days of my stay, I have rented the bicycle from Kanouya for 100yen per day (really cheap!). I have cycled to the Nijo castle, Kyoto Imperial Palace, Kyoto University, Kamogawa River, Tenmangu Shrine etc with ease. If you like walking, you can even access to the Golden Pavilion (Kinkakuji) from Kanouya by foot like what I did! Also, there are lots of interesting cafes, traditional Japanese eateries, traditional art galleries and Japanese public bath around Kanouya which are marked on the map drawn by the hostel owner - Sayoko. It feels like treasure hunt to walk/cycle around the small alleys of vintage houses and look for those hidden gems and experience the most authentic Kyoto life. My favourites are the German bakery/cafe named HachiHachi, the traditional Kyoto omelette shop and takoyaki shop both located 2-3 minutes walk from Kanouya and the French chocolat chaud shop! Feel free to ask hostel owner for recommendation! Also there are multiple convenient stores, a 24hrs supermarket and McDonald around the hostel. Staying in Kanouya allowed me to experience the local living culture while having convenient access. Last but not least, another best part of Kyoto Hostel Kanouya is the hostel owner - Sayoko. He is a really nice and interesting person! He shared with me so much about Kyoto, interesting spots in the neighbourhood, and also topics on the cultural aspects such as the Shinto (the native religion in Japan) and the craftsmen in Kyoto. I can speak a little Japanese and he was very patient in listening and explaining in a mix of English and Japanese. After a long day of sightseeing, it felt so warm to come back to Kanouya, sitting on the tatami floor in the small yellow-lighted living room, chatting with other travellers and Sayoko about where we have been and what we have seen, sharing about our countries and cultures. Being a solo female traveller, I felt very comfortable staying in Kanouya. It is completely different from staying in a hotel or large-scaled hostel. For me, Kanouya is a home away from home! I'm actually considering to live in Kanouya for a month or so in sometime soon!

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 28 July 2014

Traditional building, friendly and helpful staffing to the extreme! Hired bike cheaply from here too, larger lockers than anywhere else I've been.

Kyoto

17 Hostels from 12.10 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Kyoto hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Kyoto. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.