HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Aso Base Backpackers Kumamoto Pref Volcano Aso Hostel

1498 Kurokawa,ASO-shi, KUMAMOTO-ken,, Kumamoto Pref Volcano Aso, Japan

Atmosphere 100%

Cleanliness 100%

Facilities 100%

Location 100%

Safety 96%

Staff 100%

Value 98%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.02USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kumamoto Pref Volcano Aso?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 100%

Cleanliness 100%

Facilities 100%

Location 100%

Safety 96%

Staff 100%

Value 98%

Showing 1-1 of 1 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Next to Aso train station. Friendly staff with helpful recommendations. Cozy athmosphere and much space in the common room. The day I checked out, I had to wait 5 hours for my train, the owners allowed me to stay in the common room that time - thank you! Very clean hostel and good facilities.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Easy to find.I could see their sign from the bus as we pulled in.This is like staying at someone's house.THere is a big,modern kitchen,lots of toilets,showers and sinks,a patio,and extra long beds with ample underneath storage.The owners were quick to offer directions or suggestions and very knowledgeable.

Disliked: I can't think of a single thing.This was perhaps one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This was the nicest hostel I have ever stayed at. Its very clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Only concern is security. They do not lock their doors.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very nice hostel, close to the station. A lot of maps and information on hiking in Aso mountains. This hostel is second in our hostel ranking in Japan after 2 weeks' journey, better is only old ryokan.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Amazing hostel. Super clean. Has a wood-burner and feels so cosy, excellent kitchen facilities, staff are lovely. More than I'd ever except from a hostel, we even had free musical entertainment one night! Much better than most hotels.

Disliked: Slightly thin walls between bedrooms.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The property design is a backpackers dream - the best backpackers place we have ever been to and we have travelled the world a few time backpacking. The facilities are second to none and everything seems to have been thought about to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. The folks who run the place are so really friendly and helpful. Would recommend them to anyone to see what a backpackers place should really be like. Just awesome

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The best hostel I have ever stayed in on all my travels around the world. I only stayed one night but I could have stayed a week. The place is so clean, the staff so friendly and helpful, and the common area has a big table as well as a Japanese style living room area. The kitchen is well equipped and looks a little like a show home kitchen. There are lots of manga books available to read as well. I stayed in a 4-bed female dorm although there were only two of us. The bed is very comfortable and I was so glad to have a proper pillow after so many nights sleeping on piles of clothes. Strangely the dorms have no doors but only curtains although this wasn't an issue as it was still very quiet. The bathrooms and toilet area is super clean and I really felt as if I could relax and feel at home.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It was the best hostel we have been! Location is great (near the train station), staff was helpful and speak good english and they know everything about Aso: where to go, good hiking routes, onsens, restaurants... The whole place was like big, warm home! Good feng shui ;) Sugoi sugoi!

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location. Great owners. Great English. Really friendly and helpful. Great fascilities. Can't recommend enough.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Sehr gemuetlich, Staff spricht super Englisch und ist sehr nett und hilfsbereit. Anlage neu und sher sauber. Stabile Betten und insgesamt gute Austattung auch in der Kueche. Supermarkt und Onsen direkt gegenueber.

Disliked: Nichts.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability