HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Aso hostels

Reviews of ASO Base Backpackers

Hostel | 1498 Kurokawa, Aso, Japan 869-2225

98.4% Overall Rating

56 out of 56 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

"Next to Aso train station. Friendly staff with helpful recommendations. Cozy athmosphere and much space in the common room. The day I checked out, I had to wait 5 hours for my train, the owners allowed me to stay in the…"

Read all ASO Base Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.96

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Aso?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
98.4%

Overall Rating

56 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ASO Base Backpackers'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
100.0%
Cleanliness
100.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
97.6%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 47 of 53 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Next to Aso train station. Friendly staff with helpful recommendations. Cozy athmosphere and much space in the common room. The day I checked out, I had to wait 5 hours for my train, the owners allowed me to stay in the common room that time - thank you! Very clean hostel and good facilities.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Gibb

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find.I could see their sign from the bus as we pulled in.This is like staying at someone's house.THere is a big,modern kitchen,lots of toilets,showers and sinks,a patio,and extra long beds with ample underneath storage.The owners were quick to offer directions or suggestions and very knowledgeable.

Disliked: I can't think of a single thing.This was perhaps one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marta Mikolajczyk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 May 2013 Marta would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel, close to the station. A lot of maps and information on hiking in Aso mountains. This hostel is second in our hostel ranking in Japan after 2 weeks' journey, better is only old ryokan.

Disliked: Marta left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was the nicest hostel I have ever stayed at. Its very clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Only concern is security. They do not lock their doors.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel. Super clean. Has a wood-burner and feels so cosy, excellent kitchen facilities, staff are lovely. More than I'd ever except from a hostel, we even had free musical entertainment one night! Much better than most hotels.

Disliked: Slightly thin walls between bedrooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I have ever stayed in on all my travels around the world. I only stayed one night but I could have stayed a week. The place is so clean, the staff so friendly and helpful, and the common area has a big table as well as a Japanese style living room area. The kitchen is well equipped and looks a little like a show home kitchen. There are lots of manga books available to read as well. I stayed in a 4-bed female dorm although there were only two of us. The bed is very comfortable and I was so glad to have a proper pillow after so many nights sleeping on piles of clothes. Strangely the dorms have no doors but only curtains although this wasn't an issue as it was still very quiet. The bathrooms and toilet area is super clean and I really felt as if I could relax and feel at home.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Proverbs

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2013 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: The property design is a backpackers dream - the best backpackers place we have ever been to and we have travelled the world a few time backpacking. The facilities are second to none and everything seems to have been thought about to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. The folks who run the place are so really friendly and helpful. Would recommend them to anyone to see what a backpackers place should really be like. Just awesome

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was the best hostel we have been! Location is great (near the train station), staff was helpful and speak good english and they know everything about Aso: where to go, good hiking routes, onsens, restaurants... The whole place was like big, warm home! Good feng shui ;) Sugoi sugoi!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kylie Dix

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012 Kylie would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Great owners. Great English. Really friendly and helpful. Great fascilities. Can't recommend enough.

Disliked: Kylie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Astrid Muennich

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 June 2012 Astrid would recommend this property

Liked: Sehr gemuetlich, Staff spricht super Englisch und ist sehr nett und hilfsbereit. Anlage neu und sher sauber. Stabile Betten und insgesamt gute Austattung auch in der Kueche. Supermarkt und Onsen direkt gegenueber.

Disliked: Nichts.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laurent MALBRANQUE

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2012 Laurent would recommend this property

Liked: A deux pas de la gare d'Aso(Kumamoto), établissement qui parait comme neuf. L'espace a été très bien pensé, grand séjour au RDC avec cuisine et coin machine à laver et un 1er avec chambres et SDB. Intérieur à l'ambiance chaude avec beaucoup de parquet et des lits en bois.

Disliked: Le seul point négatif vient du système d'économie d'eau des douches, c'est mieux que la pièce de 5min mais c'est embêtant d'appuyer sans cesse sur la poignet d'arrivée d'eau...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very new, clean and easy to find hostel. Good value.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful place! Ok, it is more expensive than our classical budget accomodation, but it is still cheap compared to most of hostels in Japan. And all is perfect ther : cleanliness, helpful staff, dorms, showers and toilets cannot be better. The plus: a great atmosphere with lots of books in many languages, hand and face lotions in the bathrooms, a wonderful kitchen with coffee at will... what else?

Disliked: --

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Danny Matson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2011 Danny would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, pleasant lounge room, nice beds, patio, services, helpful staff, location. All is good here.

Disliked: Curtains instead of doors for the dorm rooms = not so secure + noise travels from other rooms to wake you up in the morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great attention to details not found in other hostels - kitchen equipped with everything you may need; showers and washing area with lots of accessories.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

camille hilaire

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 July 2011 camille would recommend this property

Liked: it is a very quiet place in a lovely town 5min by train to myaji where there is a wonderful temple. the backpacker is 2min walking distance from an onsen, thanks to the backpacker, you can get the onsen for 300Yen. the staff is lovely, and there is a huge amount of manga to read over there. it is also extremely clean, shampoo, sopa, face cream, hand cream are furnished!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Better than some 5* hotels I've stayed in, yes it costs a little more than some hostels but it's completely worth the money. Best Kitchen I've cooked in, comfy beds, clean and new, welcoming and helpful staff. Ideal to come back to after a days hiking. Only a stones throw from the bus station which takes you to other parts of the volcano. My friend and I stayed here for two nights after moving around much during our time in Japan and thought it was one of the best hostel we'd stayed in!

Disliked: Of course recent events elsewhere in the country had made the whole of Japan deserted of tourists and travelers it seemed, and so there were few others to meet at the hostel, however this was our experience with all of the accommodations we stayed in and the cause is obvious. Saying that from pictures and passed comments we could tell that this hostel would usually be very popular and a great place to meet people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very new facilities, very clean and spacious

Disliked: A bit expensive for what it is.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Edelen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 May 2011 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is in a great location for hiking Mt. Aso. It is probably one of the nicest hostels I've stayed at in Japan and the staff are VERY helpful and friendly. The town itself is wonderful and the hostel is clean new and very well kept. There were not a lot of other travelers so it is very quiet and peacful.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the owner spoke english and really helped us with activities to do around the place. He even reserved by phone an hostel we could not book ourselves! facilities were really clean as well as the hostel itself. We had a private twin room; we had a great time. Kitchen was clean and the overlook of the hostel was very charming and comfortable. We met new people and everyone was friendly. Last but not least, the location was perfect for all of our activities. You even get discounts at the nearby onsen!

Disliked: the private twin room was a bit small and it was too warm on the upper bunk bed; I was sweating a lot...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Relaxation/spa

19 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Maybe the best hostel I've stayed at ever!!! The place is very NEW, very CLEAN and comfortable. It's very close to Aso station (max. 5min walk). It feels like in a hotel or even better. The staff is very helpful and gives advices to your (hiking) trip around Aso region. The common area is very huge and comfortable, a kitchen is also available. A nice onsen is very close to the hostel (maybe 5 min walk) which you should definitively try - family baths are available as well nearby. We would recommend this hostel to everybody (forget the youth hostel which is 20min walk from the station)!!!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

IVAN MLINARIC

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2010 IVAN would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel that I have stayed in Japan. Really nice hostel. Very new, very close to train station. Great staff. I would definitely recommend it to anyone traveling to this area.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful owners, helping with planning and return of rental car. Nice communal area with lots of books & games

Disliked: No locks on the dorms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Relaxation/spa

12 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and newand practically next to the train station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Aso hostels