HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Aso hostels

Reviews of ASO Base Backpackers

Hostel | 1498 Kurokawa, Aso, Japan 869-2225

98.4% Overall Rating

55 out of 55 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

"Next to Aso train station. Friendly staff with helpful recommendations. Cozy athmosphere and much space in the common room. The day I checked out, I had to wait 5 hours for my train, the owners allowed me to stay in the…"

Read all ASO Base Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.98

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Aso?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
98.4%

Overall Rating

55 out of 55 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ASO Base Backpackers'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
100.0%
Cleanliness
100.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
97.6%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 47 of 52 reviews Previous   1 | 2
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lieke Emons

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

01 September 2010 Lieke would recommend this property

Liked: I totally agree with all the other comments: this is the most wonderful hostel you can choose. It is brand new, very clean, has nice owners, good pleace to meet nice people, only a one minute walk from the station and a beautiful surrounding. All I can say: WOW!

Disliked: Nothing at all.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

01 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: one of the best hostel we have found in asia

Disliked: no aircon

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this is an awesome hostel, for a ridiculous price. honestly, the location is just awesome (2 minutes walk from aso station), the staff is friendly and very helpful for organizing tour walking course, the dormitory feels like you're in a private room, and there's absolutely everything you could need (including an awesome kitchen, very nice common/relaxing room, laundry, etc)

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gerhard Liebenberger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2010 Gerhard would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very clean and safe place! Very friendly stuff. Very close to the train-station Aso and the bus to Mt. Aso. One of the best hostels I ever saw!

Disliked: Gerhard left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jose Garreau

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2010 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: I highly recommend Aso Base Backpackers, it's a really great place, perhaps the best backpackers I've been to in Japan. People there are so nice and helpfull. It's very clean with a lot of facilities. TOP!!!!!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place just opened and is fully equipped. The kitchen is the best I ever saw in a backpacker hostel.It has a very clean, neat and relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sander Hengeveld

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2010 Sander would recommend this property

Liked: - very nice kitchen- big double beds- nice and clean showers

Disliked: - this place is missing a soul, it is a big too clean and during the day it is not a fine place to hang out because they are all day cleaning.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This "backpackers" is more like a hotel it's so luxurious! From the several different types of tea on offer, the amazing facilities, great design and atmosphere...it really feels like a home after coming back from a days hiking.

Disliked: To be really critical: -only first 5mins on computers are free (not clear on website). -no air conditioning upstairs, but didn't have any trouble sleeping. -sometimes it feels like a big brother house with the two owners sitting at the desk watching over everyone.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good common room, kitchen is very well equipped

Disliked: Can be nosy because dorms are open

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was all very new and pristine! Lovely staff, lovely area, lovely beds :-) top marks!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Thomas

13 June 2010 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: In all our travels around the world this has got to be BY FAR, THE best hostel in the world that we've stayed at!! Absolutely everything is well thought out and designed (e.g. diffusers for the free liquid soap). It was incredibly clean and cosy - especially the downstairs common area with yummy free apple cinnamon tea!! I would come back to Mt Aso again if anything just to stay in this hostel!! 3-4 days would be very cosy. However, going up the volcano is the single main activity here.The food recommendations (e.g. the cake store) were also great and very tasty!!Just kept on saying wow at everything in the hostel!! Absolutely loved it and hope they maintain the quality of this place for a long time!!! The 2 owners were really nice and helpful! The doom rooms were through a sliding door with curtains (instead of doors) separating each 4 bed area. - Different but still very cosy!! AMAZING PLACE!!

Disliked: Alex left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the best hostel during my stay in japan sofar. Opened november last year; everything is new, very clean and a lot of extra's (e.g. Calvin Klein perfume free to use). Just a few steps away from the trainstation. Very spacious common room and kitchen, cheap laundryservice, I would definitaly recommend this place. We just called our stay here our V.I.P. day.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is very new and very clean. I liked it a lot and can recommend to everyone. Easy walk from the train station. Also they provide a lot of information about the town and its surroundings.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Possibly the best in Japan, friendly staff, great facilities.Mix of eastern and western styles, and beds big enough for taller people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is absolutely fabulous! First it is within 5 minutes walk from the station. Then it is the cleanest hostel I have ever stayed and so well maintained! I would recommend it to everyone, even to couples who prefer to stay in a hotel. They do have private double bedrooms as well. The staff is wonderful, very friendly and helpful. Because I am pregnant, they even insisted on bringing me to the station. The modern kitchen has all supplies needed. The living room has two separate parts of which a beautiful large dining table and a fireplace. The showers and makeup tables have soap, shampoo, cleaning gel etc. It is a recommendable place for all who love to hike in the mountain areas, as when you return a warm and clean home is waiting for you.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Newbury

11 April 2010 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: The property was first class - very well considered and planned - the whole layout of the common room and kitchen was spacious and logically designed. The incluspoin of balcony area upstairs is a very nice addition, toilets ans shower cubicles are neat and everyhting is spotlessly clean. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Very, very impressive and welcoming.

Disliked: Jamie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: brand new hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Boswell

15 March 2010 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Fabulous hostel- one of the cleanest and most well presented hostels I have ever stayed in. Thank you to the owners for caring so much about making backpackers happy!

Disliked: Karen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: new, clean, friendly staff, great facilities.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jesper gowers

14 January 2010 jesper would recommend this property

Liked: wow Felings of a top hotel.. but still a hostel wher you can meet people.. cost money do but you get what you pay for.. av fun

Disliked: jesper left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rhodri Jones

13 January 2010 Rhodri would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly owners and everything was amazingly clean and luxurious It has only been open for 2 months and all the facilities are brand new. Also the bed was by far the comfiest hostel bed I have ever slept in!

Disliked: Rhodri left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Honestly, I can't rate it highly enough. My favourite parts were the extensive library, open fire, pine fittings, samurai armour, tatami mats and trekking maps!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Aso hostels