We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Reggae Hostel

Hostel | 8 Burlington Avenue, Kingston, Jamaica Kingston 10

93.9% Overall Rating

31 out of 32 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/05/2014)

"Good kitchen, huge hang-out area, lots of backpackers around and overall a very nice place."

Read all Reggae Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 500.00
  • Towel USD 200.00

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Kingston?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Kingston

Cozy Accommodations
27.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Cozy Accommodation
42.50 USD

Apartment 98.1% 3 reviews
Kingsworth Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 98.1% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.9%

Overall Rating

31 out of 32 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Reggae Hostel'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
96.0%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
96.0%
Value
92.0%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 25 of 30 reviews
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

30 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchen, huge hang-out area, lots of backpackers around and overall a very nice place.

Disliked: Prices in the bar, ridicoulous. One thing that really annoyed me as well is that I think they get cuts from when they book taxidrivers. I heard that even if people ask for other people to share a taxi with, they just book seperate ones anyway.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

02 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly welcome by the staff and really nice place. It's garden is spacious enough to either join other people for socializing or just enjoy a quiet spot to yourself. Very clean and rooms do not feel really tiny. Simple yet good breakfast. Kitchen with everything you'd need.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and clean good staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

raymund augustine

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2013 raymund would recommend this property

Liked: clean,safe,friendly and lots of backpackers around

Disliked: mosquitos

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cynthia t Ho

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 October 2013 Cynthia t would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff. Builds the group of those staying. Really excellent time.

Disliked: Cynthia t left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely helpful staff, breakfast was fine and free internet was great. Felt very safe here also.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property was great! We met so many people from all around the world. They have a very clean facility and everyone that works there is very nice. They watch out for your safety and care for you. They also have a kitchen where you can do your cooking.

Disliked: My sister and I walked from the Knutsford Express bus station to this hostel and we had no trouble find how to get there, but the biggest problem was once we got to the street, we couldn't find the hostel because it was not marked on bit. We got very frustrated that we couldn't find it and were walking around for an hour trying to find it. Eventually we got a local to call the number that was provided on hostelbookers and they told us that it was farther down. It was still difficult because both sides of the street have the same house numbers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joel Jaervinen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2013 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel in Kingston and good value for money!

Disliked: -

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

ilia flax

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013

Liked: The place is kept clean.

Disliked: Because of the bar the back rooms are noisy almost throughout the night. The private room is way overpriced for a room with a shared bathroom.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities. Good staff. Great atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Lachapelle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2013 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: it was nice!

Disliked: Alex left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Purvis Jackson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 Purvis would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. It's comfortable, open and airy, great staff, fun atmosphere.

Disliked: Purvis left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Judith Turner

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 Judith would recommend this property

Liked: Good friendly welcoming atmosphere Happy hostel

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and helpfull,nice staff.

Disliked: Location during night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Work / volunteering

04 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A fantastic little hostel - great fun to be here. Scotty the owner is really welcoming and incredibly helpful when it comes to advice on where to visit in Kingston. Lovely little bar outside makes for a fun evening even if you're not headed on a night out. We'll be back!

Disliked: Nothing really - but the location is a little out of the way.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Larry Kraus

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2013 Larry would recommend this property

Liked: It is super clean! Staff is very kind & helpful

Disliked: Larry left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: goood staff, clean bed

Disliked: bathroom

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Christine Pinzari

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

27 November 2012 Helen Christine would recommend this property

Liked: great way meet new people and travel with them, the hostol was close to shops and supermarket and restaurnts. the staff were very helpful, free wifi when ever , alot of chill out area's around the hostol, the bathrooms were nice and allways clean and the bedrooms!! all in all A+++++++

Disliked: Helen Christine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph McCorvey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2012 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: The people owning the property made themselves available regarding traveling to Blue Mountain.

Disliked: Excellent place to stay.....Very clean.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

hugo barclay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 hugo would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel is amazing! has the best staff, always on good form! super market and food 5 min walk away. plus good kitchen.

Disliked: hugo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luz Adriana Perez Reyes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 Luz Adriana would recommend this property

Liked: My room was a private one and it was kind of new i was actually second person to stay there..The manager Scotty is such a nice guy, and his staff they re great, I just love so much the cleaning lady oh gosh such a sweet person .I had a great time here.The bar is really cool and the common places are really comfortable and very well kept..it has a controlled door from the inside, so you will feel safe all the time.There is someone there to help you 24 hrs.I met some very nice ppl there from Uk we had fun times.I just loved staying here and of course will stay here again!!

Disliked: nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ansilla Paul

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

30 July 2012 Ansilla would recommend this property

Liked: The friendlyness of the staff and the opportunity to interact with the other guests.

Disliked: I experience some prejudice by some of the guest, in some instance it was total disrespect because they were not aware that I was a guest as they were because of my color I was looked upon as one of the house keeper

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Emm

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 March 2012 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Everything...the staff were very friendly and the all the facilities one could want were at hand to be used. Great atmosphere. Zana and Max were great hosts. Scotty who owns the Hostel has got everything right at this great Hostel

Disliked: Ian left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You feel safe, and the staff were very helpful.

Disliked: .