HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Verona hostels
See all Verona hotels

Reviews of Franciscus Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Vicolo Calcirelli 25, Verona, Italy 37122

86.9% Overall Rating

76 out of 81 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/05/2013)

JULIETA ROMINA URRUTIA thinks…

"El lugar es hermoso, las habitaciones e instalaciones preciosas. Esta muy bien ubicado"

Read all Franciscus Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 41.40
  • Breakfast USD 13.80

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Verona?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Verona

Hotel Arena
60.03 USD

Hotel 1 star 68.2% 122 reviews
B&B Re Lear
33.12 USD

Guesthouse 97.6% 20 reviews
Ariel B&B
41.40 USD

Guesthouse 91.9% 49 reviews
Guest House Castelvecchio
24.84 USD

Guesthouse 94.4% 175 reviews
River House
41.40 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
B&B Alle Erbe
34.50 USD

Guesthouse 84.7% 44 reviews
Juliette House B&B
30.36 USD

Guesthouse 71.3% 87 reviews
B&B Navi
23.46 USD

Guesthouse 65.7% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

76 out of 81 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Franciscus Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
84.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 50 of 66 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marina Bychkova

Alone

City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Marina would recommend this property

Liked: All

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JULIETA ROMINA URRUTIA

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2013 JULIETA ROMINA would recommend this property

Liked: El lugar es hermoso, las habitaciones e instalaciones preciosas. Esta muy bien ubicado

Disliked: Cuando llegamos no habia nadie y tuvimos que llamarlos y esperar a que llegaran. Recomiendo pedirles un telefono para coordinar con ellos el horario de llegada, aunque nosotros lo habiamos hecho por e.mail

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and clean rooms. I would definitely recommend this b&b if you are looking for a budget stay in venice.

Disliked: The reception was closed between 1.30-5 meaning we had to carry our suitcases around the city for a few hours before our flight.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARIA AVERCHENKO

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2013 MARIA would recommend this property

Liked: good location, excellent atmosphere, clean and nice!

Disliked: MARIA left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KUAN-I LIU

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

13 December 2012 KUAN-I would recommend this property

Liked: The room is big, clean, comfortable! It's a wonderful!

Disliked: KUAN-I left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to train station (about 10 minutes walk) and within walking distance of the old town (about 15 minutes). Free internet. OK breakfast.

Disliked: The hours of check-in. I knew about the times they were open and was hoping I could reach the hotel on time. I got a little lost, and was 10 minutes late. Rang all the buttons, the maid heard us, and let us in (so very nice!).

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2012

Liked: This place looked clean but we had bed bugs in our room. It looked like they were very new and the place wasn't covered in them. But we were going to sleep and noticed them a few hours later. They were definitely on 2 of the 3 beds and the couch in the room. Luckily, the management was available checking in other guests. However, they didn't want to believe us at first and weren't going to give us a different room. In the end, the 3 of us were split up into 2 rooms. One room seemed like it was bug free but the other one was next to our first bedbug infested room so we were nervous to sleep on the bed. Instead we slept in the bathroom on the floor. The cleaning staff was sympathetic in the end but we weren't given our money back or any kind of discount after this unfortunate experience.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alexandru MARDALE

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

20 July 2012 Alexandru would recommend this property

Liked: very quiet

Disliked: the breakfast was very basic for a room that was supposed to be a deluxe one

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I LOVED the Franciscus Guesthouse! The staff were always helpful, very nice, and made me feel right at home. The rooms were beautiful and super clean, and the light breakfast in the morning were a great start to the day! When I go back to Verona, I'm only staying here!

Disliked: Nothing, my stay was 100% awesome!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice place and staff, really good value for money

Disliked: Nothing at all

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mariana Rossetto

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2012 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: Near train Station, near arena and julieta's house, clean, big room, lovely staff

Disliked: Mariana left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guesthouse is clean and has a great location. What I liked the most are parking in front and spaciousness of the apartment. We had a 4-person room, which was really great for the money.

Disliked: After the reservation, I sent an email with out expected time of arrival at the hotel. I clearly stated that ve will arrive at 10am. The receptionist was not there and the hotel was locked at that time (hostelbookers states the reception works 7:30am-1pm and 5pm-7pm). Later, he sent us an sms and we arranged the check-in at 5pm. It didn't bother us much, since we went to see the city anyway and left the luggage in our car, but it could be a problem to someone else.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2011

Liked: the room was large and clean with private bath. lift was handy and breakfast was decent

Disliked: no self-catering despite advertising on hostelbookers that there was, staff wasn't particularly friendly or eager to help. wifi was unreliable and very weak even a floor above reception

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything..

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff. Elevator for luggage. Nice location for arena / city centre. Major bus stop nearby.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dorota Sienkiewicz

With my spouse / partner

City break

22 August 2011 Dorota would recommend this property

Liked: excellent and very spacious room, helpful and friendly staff, good location

Disliked: breakfast was rather basic with old bread, coffee was undrinkable

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent situation within easy walking distance of Piazza Bra, Castel Vecchio less than 10 minutes walk . Good size room very clean. All staff very friendly and helpful. Good based Guesthouse for a city break.

Disliked: They didn't cater for tea drinkers. There were no facilities for making tea the drinks machine only had coffee or chocolate no hot water. I was glad I had taken my travel kettle and some tea bags!! Drinks from the machine had to be paid for after breakfast time.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosely Ernesto

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2011 Rosely would recommend this property

Liked: the room was really big and the staff was really kind. the internet is free.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large rooms, good breakfast

Disliked: Little difficult to find, if you arrived not to the railway station (by bus). Noise (you can hear everything from other rooms and kitchen)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

janine Duboise

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2011 janine would recommend this property

Liked: it is within walking distance from the train station and very close the the center of town.

Disliked: Nothing on the outside saying it´s a hotel. We passed it but then turned around to find it. Also it closes so you have to call the owner to enter, kind of wierd but once you get used to it it´s ok.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, staff very helpfulRooms were nice and bigFree wifi was greatGreat place to stay - but remember it's a guesthouse not a hostel, not a venue to meet people

Disliked: The directions on the website were not clear and were unable to contact them as they don't list phone number

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Krista wray

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2010 Krista would recommend this property

Liked: The location was close to the train stations and central squares. The breakfast offers yogurt, breads, cheeses, meat and cereals as well as a variety of coffees and juice. Very accommodating and helpful staff who let us continually book a longer stay and keep our bags a day longer as we waited for our night train. Will definitely come back!

Disliked: While a very friendly place, it is difficult to meet other travellers. It is more like a hotel rather than a hostel. Not a place for people looking to party.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Megan Titchell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2010 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: It felt more like a group of flats than a hostel, and the fact it was private rooms made a really nice change from the other hostels. And Tiger the cat of course!

Disliked: Megan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and good beds en spacefull rooms in a cosy house

Disliked: The breakfast could have been better, but then again, Italians do not do big breakfasts.


See all Verona hostels
See all Verona hotels